Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Gauteng hotel reviews
  4. Johannesburg hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Reviews of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Whitely Street; Melrose Arch Precinct; Melrose Arch, Melrose, 2076 Johannesburg, South Africa

#45 of 117 hotels in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 555 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    7.5
    Good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt that some of the reception staff were rather, not arrogant (too strange a word), but I felt they thought they were doing me a favour when dealing with me. Also I didn’t like the hotel’s practice of charging a large sum on checking in as a “credit” and then giving the unspent portion back at end of visit. The account at checkout became very complicated and I was worried about being ripped off. I advise guests to only pay for basic accommodation on check in and pay for extras a you go. The only hotel I have ever encountered this system . Otherwise a good stay.

    Good safe location , upmarket shops I

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    10
    We stayed in Protea Fire & Ice only one night, but our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smell in the hotel lobby.

    We stayed in Protea Fire & Ice only one night, but our stay was really nice! Very very friendly staff at check in desk, nice and clean room we also got a connecting door so it was perfect for us as a family! Excellent room service with the best milkshakes I’ve ever had. Perfect location to stay in Jo’burg, there is a mall just outside the hotel with lots of restaurants options! Also parking garage just below hotel reception!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    9.2
    Ideal for visiting JB
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't really come up with something that I wasn't happy with.

    The service and welcome at the desk is always brilliant. My previous visits are acknowledged and every attempt is made to help with requests. Location is perfect, Melrose Arch is a lovely base for JB and has plenty of restaurants and shops within a short walking distance. Never disappoints me

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    4.6
    I book a King room 2 single beds, stayed in a standard room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I book a King room 2 single beds, stayed in a standard room 1 double bed. Went for a drink, 1 barman, too busy and because of the volume of request unfriendly. One overseas guest told to go look for food in the Melrose precinct. The pool area closes at 9pm.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    9.2
    Great location amd hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The netflix didn't work and the TV feed was on in HD but Analog so the picture was not clear. Also very limited channels - not the usual hotel bouquet. But if the netflix worked that wouldn't matter. Also, the toasted cheese I ordered from room service was horrible - it had thick slices of cheese and tomato in it that wasnt melted.

    The location is the best thing about the hotel. Also, the room decor is very pleasant and the room was clean. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful - when I checked in, my initial room had a view of the front of the hotel and the construction opposite it - I asked for a change in rooms and the staff immediately accommodated me. I was moved to a room one floor below (i.e. 2nd floor) with a pool view which was lovely. The security at the hotel is great - its not possible to use the lifts to go to room floors unless you have a room key that activates the lift. Also since I was moved to the 2nd floor which also has conference facilities on it, there is extra security in the form of a glass sliding door that also only opens with an active room key. By a certain time in the evening the front rotating doors and swing door are deactivated/locked and the only way to get in is if the guard (who is always at his station) opens the door for you - I felt very safe!😊

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    8.8
    No extras included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to pay for parking which wasnt covered by the hotel and it was expensive. We also wanted to sit by the pool.innthe evening because it had been so hot during the day but we were told to leave cos they close the pool area at 6pm. We disnt want to sit by the restaurant so we had to go back up and sit in our room

    The place is nice and clean. Not overly fancy but comfortable

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    5.8
    The rooms were beautiful and beds comfortable and loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was PATHETC !!i especially booked the breakfast as it was my hubby birthday and he is quite fond of hotel breakfast but this was disappointing as even though we are aware you are not halaal we were prepared to go the fish route or seafood or even vegetarian,but the fish was totally unappealing to even look at and when we requested prawns which the manager on duty agreed to at no cost the chef was not accommodating and refused to agree to the prawn request unless we pay extra ,so all we had for R195.00 was 2eggs and beans which I couldv gotten at any other normal restaurant .it was my hubbys birthday on the 26/12 and I’m quite disappointed that the highlight of the next morning was so disastrous..there wasn’t even extra clean glasses to drink juice from and the staff were not friendly at all to help ,when we looked for a pastry selection there were not even croissants left or muffins ..

    The rooms were beautiful and beds comfortable and loved the decor ..

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    7.5
    The location is excellent, within easy walking distance to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a room overlooking the garden and pool, but was given a room overlooking the street with no apologies or explanations. The service is slow.

    The location is excellent, within easy walking distance to several good restaurants, bars and shops.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, good size rooms, nice facilities, and 24 hour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's lots of construction going on at the moment, so my window opened up to a construction site. Not the hotels fault though, but worth noting.

    Good hotel, good size rooms, nice facilities, and 24 hour room service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.8
    I like the hotel and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower in my room was missing a drain cover. Also the shower pressure is too high for the drain. Water gets backed up and I was standing in water.

    I love the decor. The staff was excellent. The buffet had many options. I love the location with plenty of restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.3
    The bedroom was very comfortable and the staff at reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My door was broken and wouldn't close properly,had to report and them wait on it to be fixed, had plans that evening but ended up changing it as there was no timeframe given on how long it would take to fix. So would of been cool if a timeframe was given.

    The bedroom was very comfortable and the staff at reception were helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    7.9
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy neighbours. Room service trays stay in the passage for hours after housekeeping. Smokers outside were too close to the bar entrance at the pool.

    Location is great. Milkshakes are great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    7.9
    Attentive staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was rather disappointing. The fruit offering was very poor. There was a poor selection of breakfast dishes The shower in the room is not private.

    Attentive staff. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    6.7
    This hotel was extremely expensive for what was on offer.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel was extremely expensive for what was on offer. In particular the breakfast at R195 per person was terrible. Government bread to toast. No fancy breads or pastries. The jam pots looked disgusting. Plenty of staff but long wait for coffees etc. Renovations being done to the conference CENTRE not mentioned on booking. we would never stay in the hotel again. The competition is too strong and our second night in the Hilton Sandton was fabulous at two thirds of the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.9
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were not friendly and unwilling to assist us when our parking ticket was thrown away by the cleaning staff. We informed the desk who argued that our room was not cleaned, yet, I was in the room talking to my wife who was with reception. Eventually the ticket was found by the manager in the cleaning assistance's bin. The front desk could of been a bit friendlier to assist.

    Easy check in, porter was helpful to get our bags up to the room. Cleaning staff were friendly. Hotel is at a good location, with lots of restaurants close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    It was awesome
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I ordered dinner from the menu the portions were very small for that price.

    The service at a resturant was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.1
    Mediocre
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the dining area is limited. i had a guest for dinner and hate to say that the dinner was not up to standard. will not eat at the restaurant again

    Friendly reception staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    5.4
    Front desk excellent. Restaurant experience deplorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant facility staff were unfriendly. Many of the female staff congregated near fthe entrance and chatted. Personally, I thought they could have been better groomed. The service was horrible.....no one came to our table for coffee refills. Also prices need to be posted at the entrance. There was considerably confusion regarding the full breakfast and the much abbreviated continental breakfast for only 10 Rand difference. No one could explain this. This did not come up to Marriott standards.

    What perks? The hotel staff was very accommodating except in the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.8
    A good hotel situated in a very nice and secure location. Very good professional staff
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room service needs a bit of an improvement in terms of time, and quality of food

    Good parking. Comfortable rooms. Very helpful staff. Rooms are cleaned on time and nicely done

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.3
    The location is set on the edge of the trendy Melrose Arch...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is set on the edge of the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct. It feels like it intersects straight into the buzz if you choose to walk out the hotel and head towards, say, the Piazza. The pool deck and seating areas are quirky and fun. The various milkshakes on the menu are extravagant and fun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent overnight stay. Happy with everything, room service and reception very prompt and friendly. The made our room beautiful with roses, candles and cake on the house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    5.8
    Not transparent with pricing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They added charges to the bill that was not revealed when booking. Insisted on taking a £500 Holding deposit which also wasn't told when booking. Not impressed.

    Clean lovely location and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    5.0
    The food was exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the construction site in the opposite building made our stay uncomfortable. Room service took too long. The room was too hot because of the carpet flooring.

    The food was exceptional! The staff was professional, our room was kept clean. The view from the restaurant is incredible only wish we had visited in summer to enjoy the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    5.4
    Great location. Average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom in bedroom. Tired decor. Noisy pool cleaning every morning at 7am. Constant conferences in hotel. Tiny gym with limited space for number of people using it.

    Handy parking, handy shops, cafes, restaurants, etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    6.3
    it was unpleasant we were place in a room facing a construction site which was very nosiy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I books via bookings.com and got a booking conformation only to get to the hotel to find out there was no booking had to pay more money for the room I didn't even want.

    The restaurant stuff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    8.8
    Reception/Directions to parking lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking markings or directions are not easy to follow.The porter could have allowed us to get at the door of the hotel like they do at African Pride Melrose.Instead we were given vague directions therefore found our way to the parking lot by asking a guy down the road for directions.

    It's okay for a four star hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    7.1
    Pretty average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The above. Also slow service. Had to call multiple times to remind reception of any requests

    Breakfast was substandard especially for the price. No gowns or slippers in the rooms. Safe not working.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay but not the special stay I was hoping for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did not feel warm and welcoming, more clean and efficient. The decor seemed to have been designed at an 'acceptable' rather than an 'exceptional' level, as were the amenities. In-room tea & coffee were very ordinary and minimalist. One got the impression they had sought out ways to save costs wherever possible whilst maintaining acceptable standards. For that price I would have expected bath sheets rather than bath towels, Nespresso rather than instant. The duvet was heavy instead of fluffy. Had hoped for a special night out but came away feeling it was ordinary.

    Staff were friendly, efficient and most helpful. The room was smart and spotless, almost clinical. The view from our room was a above expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    5.0
    nothing is stated correctly when booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing is stated correctly when booking. the site does not tell you most activites are at an extra charge it would be great to know this when making the booking. wifi is unusable. chalet is way too far from everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.8
    Will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gym facilities need to be improved. Early check in or late check out policies need to be more flexible.

    Well designed hotel with spacious and comfortable rooms. Good pool, courteous and helpful staff. Location is awesome as its right next to many shops and restaurants in a very artsy area. Recommended for a comfortable and affordable stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    5.4
    Location is great, poor pool area, rooms dated and also communal areas and needs some attention
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are something out of the Hollywood 60’s and the place needs to be updated and the smell of fat from the restaurant flows throughout the hotel

    Location was convenient

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Awesomely good hotel! I will come back again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gym is a bit too small, otherwise it a beautiful hotel with a good vibe ! Very clean and good decor!

    Your staff were at front front especially Whitney, Busi were fantastic, awesome customer service. The night staff the two men at the friont desk( sorry can’t remember their names). Your waiters were so engaged and polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.9
    The location and decor make for a pleasant stay. Staff and processes need some work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaning staff opened my make-up case. Nothing was taken (I think) but it was definitely opened. I'm a little OCD so I know exactly how I leave things - I closed my make-up case and put it on the shelf (it's one of those where when you pick up the handle, if it's not closed properly, it'll show immediately). When I came back it wasn't closed properly. Also, R650 for a late check-out of 1 hour is pathetic and also not consistent with other protea hotels (At one of the other hotels I was allowed to check-out at 13:00 with no late fee).

    The location is amazing and so is the decor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    6.3
    Room lovely and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking in was ok but the staff were not to friendly and the travel desk not helpful or friendly at all. He was clearly not happy to be at work and made it well known. Given it was new years eve we tried to arrange a taxi but the travel desk guy got so irritated that we were interrupting his cellphone and was so expensive so we ended up getting Uber at a fraction of the price. Not what I expected from this type of hotel.

    Room lovely and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.2
    Our short, over-night stay at the hotel to celebrate New Year at Melrose Arch was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool closed rather early - well before dark on a lovely summer's evening, although it was still possible to sit in the adjacent garden area and order drinks.

    The variety of flavours (36) and the quality of the milkshakes at the milkshake bar was fabulous. The reception staff were efficient, professional and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I loved the Hollywood-inspired decor. The hotel is well-located - within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and shops - in a safe area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    Perfect anniversary stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to pay R65 for parking for the night!!!

    The staff were very friendly. This was for an anniversary so they had rose petals all over the bed and a lovely chocolate platter in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel and great surrondings
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Besides the used condom wrapper next to our bed and the dusty toilet paper holder, all was good

    The food, the location and the decor were such a delight.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    10
    Awesome city breakaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't get to try out the gourmet milkshakes as they were out on most flavours.

    Great service from staff. Lesedi and Whitney 10/10 for your efforts in making the stay so special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    6.7
    Poor in-room dining service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk was very helpful and professional. The in-room service was poor; we ordered a bottle of wine ONLY and it took over an hour for them to deliver it, this after phoning them 3x. You’re better off going to many restaurants within the vicinity than room service.

    The rooms are larger than most hotels and the location of the hotel is superb

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    6.7
    A pleasant stay but could me much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    .The Rooms were uncomfortably small and really HATED the fact the the bathroom was fully open and there’s no privacy. .The lighting throughout the hotel is poor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    6.7
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ran out of many items in the menu, not even chips available for an 11 year old. room service trays lay outside the hotel room door for 24 hrs making it unsitely to walk down the passage. Service is slow at the restaurant and bar. Cleaning service takes dirty towels but will only replace them an hour later which means my family had to borrow towels from my room just to shower . All in all, beautiful place but doesn’t live up to expectations in terms of service

    Decor is lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    6.7
    All was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The statements on amounts given on departure was dropped from R680 to R112.00 had I not checked the statement so this was off concern. Should I not check I would have been cheated

    All was fair options for for other food was good outside. .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    10
    Great stay full of roses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great location where you can walk around shop and restaurants without driving. The hotel exceeded my expectations by welcoming us with a big typed note displayed at the lobby. The room took my breath away with a handwritten anniversary message and rose petals everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay at this property again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    The location was in a very desirable area. Great restaurants and shops and the property was well maintained. We got a handicapped room which was great. Other rooms were open concept, with no wall between bath area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    7.9
    Despite the disappointing start to the stay, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I booked on Booking.com is not what I got!! When I asked to correct this I was told Housekeeping would come and convert the 2 single beds to a king size! It took nearly 2 hours - this was a romantic evening!! And the view - the booking said garden or pool view?? Where was the bathroom?? Very disappointing for a special occasion Despite the above I would still recommend the Hotel. We have stayed a few times before and I certainly will be back. Would like feedback from management

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely homely and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Menu options

    Comfortable bed. Beautifully designed and decorated all round. Great breakfast options, lovely staff and generally homely feel to it’s classiness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    9.6
    It was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No one helped us take our bags up or down. It was also pouring with rain and the guy didn't even come to the car to fetch my mom to take her inside, I had to tell him that we checking in that's why I'm dropping my mom off. I ordered cutlery from room service and that took over 20min to bring a set of knives and forks up.

    The bedroom was beautiful and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.1
    Great location but be aware of construction work directly opposite....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are major building works being carried out over the road from the hotel. We were given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the building construction. Not a great view for starters but worse was that they worked through the night. We needed pillows over our heads to try and reduce the noise level and get some sleep. I cant believe the staff are not aware of this & that these rooms are charged for in full.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    7.5
    It's a beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accessing the hotel was a bit challenging but the kind security guards within the Melrose Arch area assisted in this regard.

    We only spent one night so there's not much to comment on.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent and covinient surrounded by opulence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Explanation regarding parking at reception when ch checking in

    Pleas provide proper explanation and guidance for parking when checking in. Th explanation was terrible that the had to walk from parking back to hotel from r explanation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    2.5
    What is there to like, when simple instructions are not...
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had notified the staff on more than one occassion that the room I booked was for a honeymoon couple. I had requested flower petals for the room to make it romantic as this was their first night. To my astonishment, this was not done. How do people not follow instruction. When it was given to them more than once. It was quite embarassing on my part, as this was my gift to the bridal couple. How can a simple instruction not be followed. I would never recommmend, nor will I use this hotel again. Service is definately not up to scratch.

    What is there to like, when simple instructions are not followed by the payer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    4.2
    I WAS ROBBED!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I WAS ROBBED! AT THE TIME WE WANT TO THE CHECK OUT AROUND 16:30 THE ALL LIFTS WHERE NOT WORKING AND I HAD TO WALK DOWN 5 FLOORS, PLUS I ASKED FRONT DESK PERSONAL IF THEY CAN GET OUR BAGS, THEY SAIID IT WILL TAKE SOMETIME BECAUSE THEY WHERE BUSY BRINGING DOWN THE BAGS FROM THE EMIRATES FLYGHT CREW. ME AND MY FIANCÉ ASK THE FRONT IF WAS OK TO GRAB SOMETHING TO EAT MEAN WHILE WAITING, AND ALSO IF THEY COULD KEEP THE WEEDING DRESS IN THE STORAGE. ARRIVED AFTER THE QUICK LUNCH AND EVERYTHING WAS THERE, WE DID THE CHECK OUT AND LEFT TO THE AIRPORT. FOR MY SURPRISED WHEN WE CHECK IN OUR BAGS AT AIRPORT ONE THE BAGS WAS UNLOCKED. I LOCKED IMMEDIATELY. AFTER WHEN WE ARRIVED AT HOME AND UNPACKED, (BY THE WAY THE BAG WAS LOKECF) I NOTED THAT IT WAS MISSING FROM MY TOILETRIES BAG TWO PARFUMS, AND AFTER ALSO IPHONE HEADPHONES. ONE OF THE PARFUMS IS LIMITED EDITION D&G THAT I HAVE JUST BOUGHT ONE FOR ME AND ANOTHER FOR MY FIANÇÉ AS A WEDDING GIFT. I GOT IN CONTAT WITH THE HOTEL RELATIONS MANAGER BY PHONE, EXPLAINING EVERYTHING, THEN WE START EXCHANGING E-MAILS AND NOTHING. ITS TWO DAYS NOBODY RESPOND ANYMORE MY E-MAILS. THIS VERY STANGE ATITUDE, VERY FRUSTATING, BECAUSE I KNOW THEY ARE DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT, JUST WAITING FOR ME TO GET TIRED AND GIVE UP. I WANT EVERYONE TO KNOW ABOUT THIS STORY AND BE CAREFUL WITH YOUR GOODS IN THIS HOTEL.

    Location. Very conviniente because of the surrounding facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.3
    Quick stop in Joburg pre-safari
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a distance from central Johannesburg, which I didn't really appreciate before arrival not knowing the city and wider area at all - however, there is plenty around the hotel.

    Staff were helpful and the hotel is well located for shops, restaurants and bars

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    9.2
    Divine property and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More red wine choices by the glass

    The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.Checkin was easy. The hotel ambience is great and the decor is divine.Bed very comfortable.Good security.Meals were lovely.Salads awesome.Quite a way from airport and city but in a very safe area and across the road from the hop on hop off stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    10
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No early check-in guarantee because I am early flight arrived and landing, no flexible on this matter. It need wait until I arrived the hotel and ask to check. It can not plan for me properly, so I feel anxious before I come to the hotel.

    Good to accommodation and convenience to find a food and shop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    10
    It was the 2nd time me and my husband visited the Hotel and we loved our stay even more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe extra milk and sugar for another cup of coffee early in the morning

    Bed was comfortable. Loved making a cup of coffee at night. Staff was excellent. And place very neat and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    8.3
    Great and convenient location (good alternative to Sandton).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gym equipment quite basic and not much variety (no cross trainer). If you travel with friends be aware that the shower is incorporated in the room and transparent :-)

    Great and convenient location (good alternative to Sandton). The reception staff were friendly and check in smoothly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    10
    Romantic birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet flushing system wasnt as strong as it could have been had to flush twice each time.

    I asked for a whole bunch of extra's to make the night out romantic for my boyfriend's birthday, like rose petals and birthday cake etc and they were so accomodating, both the restaurant and the hotel. Very impressed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    8.3
    Well positioned contemporary hotel in buzzy shopping precinct.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small point, but the elevators are very dark inside and difficult to read the buttons. Card system to operate the elevators a nuisance. Breakfast was good but there is only one person cooking from the hot plate which means unnecessary delay.

    Excellent rooms, comfortable, modern and immaculate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    8.3
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    plumbing problems made room noisy at night (sounds of water dripping) when trying to sleep) staff in bar and housekeeping not that attentative

    location nice room with comfortable bed and pillows

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    5.4
    sun 1 experience for tripple the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed matress had springs through the side of the matress (my wife cut her leg on it). The bed was worn and uncomfortable. You have to pay separately for parking. For what is supposed to be a premium hotel, it felt old dilapidated and overpriced. Also we had to wait for a table at breakfast ( which was lacklustre and tasteless) as they "didn't expect to have so many guests", direct quote from the staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom set up was strange and the room had no bath. The hotel was very noisy and had paper thin walls and doors so you could hear other guests talking and moving, which led to a very disturbed night.

    Good location but small, disappointing room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    8.8
    The room was nice and the bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only problem was that breakfast wasn't included with the booking. It was cheaper to just go to Tashas for a nice healthy breakfast....

    The room was nice and the bed very comfortable...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    8.3
    Awesome for a getaway in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool deck closes in the late afternoon and then there's no where to lounge around outside, or have a late night swim, or a comfortable cigarette.

    The staff really went the extra mile

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    8.3
    Good Hotel in Great Neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little wobbly. Personally I would have preferred a separate bathroom instead of having the shower and washing basin in the same room.

    Smallish but efficiently decorated rooms. The location is great, a very safe shopping and restaurant area. Staff is very efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    6.3
    Did not like the fact that the shower is part of the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not like the fact that the shower is part of the room and only has a curtain to separate it. The parking was not easy to get in and out of. Other then that you get what you payed for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Walking distance to good restaurants. Quiet, safe neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioner was noisy and clicking. They said it was a bad switch and moved us to another room, which had the exact same issue. Third move finally worked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    7.9
    Delay and inconvenience during checking in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had booked two rooms, one for me and my wife and another one for our two boys. The staff could find a booking for one room only. We had to wait in the foyer for about an hour while they were trying to solve the problem. However, the manager on duty apologised for the delay and inconvenience.

    I liked the comfort of the room and its cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    7.1
    Good location, convenient and modern. Awful staff though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff attitude and service was awful on check-in and really rude. Maintenance of the room is lacking, problem with plumbing and locks.

    Great location, close to Rosebank / Sandton. Excellent amenities, gym, pool, bar and restaurant on site. Rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    7.5
    Disappointing customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I forgot three greeting cards in the room and called on Friday evening to enquire as to whether they had discovered it. I urgently needed them for a wedding the following day. I spoke to a gentleman by the name of Zanele who answered the phone. He assured me that he would check with housekeeping and call me back. After two hours and no reply I called him again only to have him reassure me AGAIN that he would definitely call me back that night!! Needless to say he never ever called me and I had to take a shuttle from the hotel at Emperors Palace to OR Tambo airport on Saturday morning to purchase a card for the wedding which commenced at 2pm .

    Loved the decor at this hotel! They serve the most divine and decadent milkshakes. Located in lovely Melrose Arch. Felt very safe walking to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    6.3
    The coffee in the rooms are not up to standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee in the rooms are not up to standard. A small machine with pods or similar would be convenient. The DSTV and tv options in the rooms are not very good. Better/more channels should be added.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2017

    10
    Great location, nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to be honest

    Was a last minute booking, nice room and nice hotel, the Bar area is a but Trippy and not my thing to be honest, however I would happily stay again and that's just my taste.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2017

    10
    Accommodation that can't be beat in Melrose Arch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You might have asked us if we'd like the mini bar stocked before being taken to the room.

    Service was excellent. Staff impeccable. Felt very at home. Very much enjoyed the Fire and Ice Bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    10
    All the staff were exceptionally friendly which seems to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bacon for breakfast at the hotel is a bit overcooked for European tastes--almost burnt. Other than that it was fine..

    All the staff were exceptionally friendly which seems to be the case in South Africa compared to travelling to other countries.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    6.7
    The room itself was nice, staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People order room service up till midnight and the trolley wheels squeak and rattle.... I was woken up at least 4-5 times by the trolley yet we had a room on the very end of the corridor.

    The room itself was nice, staff were friendly. Restaurant/bar area is lovely

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: