Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Protea Hotel by Marriott George King George 4 stars

King George Drive, 6529 George, South Africa

#11 of 12 hotels in George

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 317 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    The Privacy which we had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast should be included in the price. we had to travel to the Mall for breakfast. The shower was a mess because the water leaked from underneath and we had to clean. The airconditioner did not work properly.

    The Privacy which we had. Friendliness of the staff. They were very helpful. Parking was secure. Good security at the gates and around the hotel, especially at night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    the chef at breakfast was very good and humble.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property isn't modern.

    the chef at breakfast was very good and humble...I asked for my eggs in a particular way after refusing every option she gave me and she very kindly obliged with a smile.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    The gardens was absolutely beautiful and neat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Suite was not propperly cleaned daily. The suite needs HIGH maintenance. The suite entrance door don't close properly and panels broken. The matrises is worn out and uncomfortable. The Suite were'nt vacumed and the coffee station not completely refilled.

    The gardens was absolutely beautiful and neat. The pool well maintained, bright and clear. Our Suite walked out on the pool and garden. Everyday the cussions on the outside chairs was put out. The hotel foyer neat, clean and interior design Good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    OVERPRICED ,STODGY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HOTEL NEEDS UPGRADING IN TERMS OF ROOMS FURNISHINGS,IT ALL LOOKS VERY DATED.THE PRICE OF THE ROOMS IS HIGH IN TERMS OF VALUE .I AM SURE BETTER ACCOM AND LESS EXPENSIVE AVAILABLE IN GEORGE.THIS HOTEL IS A RELIC OF BYGONE TIMES ,EITHER UPGRADE OR SELL IT OFF FOR RETIREMENT HOME !!

    WAS CLEAN.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    We left a day earlier than booked and will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioner did not heat the room at all. Door handle to verandah was loose and difficult to open and close. To run hot water in the shower took a very long time to get hot and wasted a great deal of water. All of these were reported early on the second day of our stay but nothing was done. We were told that there was a problem with the shower water but did not receive any form of apology.

    The position of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    A little dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was spoilt by ; On arrival the staff at the desk was very glum and not cheerful at all . No complementary juice or cherry as I am used at most Protea Hotels on arrival . Nobody to assist with our luggage , as we are both over 66 years old . Our shower drain was blocked , while showering the water was running out of the bathroom into the passage , we had to put our towels on the floor to soak up the water ,we did report the problem on check out . Dinner was nice and the plates were hot , but service was very slow , the waitress did apologise for the amount of time we had to wait .Breakfast tasted nice ,but was cold and the plates cold , the coffee was a nice brew .

    our room was spacious and smelled clean , The air conditioner was effective . Very convenient parking for my vehicle . security constantly patrolling the area . Easy check in and check out . Our room was ready for us at 1.00pm as we requested.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    Boring.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lights in my room were broken, missing lamp shades. Room is dated, didn't look fresh and clean. Rooms are too seperated from main facility of hotel lobby area.

    Location is quiet and convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    All the staff was really very helpfull and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was really expensive for children .Also I am still waiting on discount from my prokard vouchers

    All the staff was really very helpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no gym at this hotel, but that's a very small thing.

    Loved the quiet location, and easy access to all areas of George (if you have your own car). I was also cycling and was an short quiet ride to the main roads around the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    More than two weeks have passed since my stay and I have...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More than two weeks have passed since my stay and I have still not received my invoice for the accomodation. As this was a business trip, it is imperative that I receive this invoice. I have asked at least 5 times already.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice and relaxing in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner service did not start till 19-00pm, 18-00pm would be much better for the older clients.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very relaxing in lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Was average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needs updating. Curtains were stained. Pillows did not smell fresh. Breakfast was not included, yet for the rate paid you would of thought it would of been.

    Location is good, rooms and facilities are neat and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff; view of the mountain that was great; close to the golf course; Lots of things to do in George and surrounding area:George that's the place to go.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly including the security at the gate. This hotel is my favorite stay over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not so good as 3 to 4 years ago. The service was slow.......

    It was the best hotel bed I slept in and I have travel around the world. Big bed with sheets that where soft, you can smell the cleanness. The cushions where very comfortable and the next morning I could feel I had a good nights rest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Our weekend at Protea hotel King George
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good accept 1 or 2 things...the beef sausage had a sour taste, beacon cld have been prepared a different way but otherwise it was good. Our supper was very disappointing. Both meals were returned and the second meal was just as disappointing as the 1st meal

    I like almost everything about the venue.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay very much and shall definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the service on the veranda on saturday lunch time was poor - no bar service. we drank our own wine due to the scenario.

    the beautiful location and our room with stunning views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was perfect will definitely stay there again and recommend to friends and family

    The room was nice and spacious, very clean, welcoming snacks were brought to me when I checked in and the facilities excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    The staff were amazing however, the hotel rooms and bathrooms could do with modernising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I felt my bathroom was very outdated. The shower door was broken. When I mentioned this they came straight away to fix it. There was some mould in the shower. I think the bedrooms do need a lot of modernising. In my opinion, based on the bedrooms, I would say more a 3 star than a 4 star. Unfortunately, there was no fridge in my room. The carpets needed a clean or need to be pulled up and tiled for cleanliness. The cushions on the bed were also dirty. The bar area could also do with a revamp.

    The staff were exceptional and definitely made my stay more pleasurable. They were helpful and friendly. Nothing was a problem. I had left cash in the safe when I checked out and was delighted about the honesty and the fact all of it was returned to me. I requested an ironing board and within minutes it was brought to my room. The food in the bar area was lovely and the staff made it a wonderful evening in the bar. They would go to extra measures to ensure my stay was fantastic. The staff I would say are 5 star however, the bedrooms were more like a 3 star. Breakfast was lovely too with a great selection. Being a vegetarian I felt there was a good selection for me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Family friendly, tranquil and calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is not halaal freindly

    The location is perfect for a stop over trip It’s family friendly Breakfast is accommodating and easy for family or business

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    In General- brilliant service, good location, well kept facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could benefit from a revamp :) but it was not bad. You have to request a new wifi voucher every day - there has to be a simpler process to enable a daily allowance.

    The service ethic throughout the hotel is brilliant. We were offered help without requesting it. Reception staff called me on the second day to check if we were happy and to offer assistance if required. The cleaning staff came to the room on the first evening and offered assistance if required. The hotel is very child friendly with an outdoor play area and gated pools. It also feels very safe and secure. The parking bay for the car is outside the room which is very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    A good base from which to explore the Garden Route
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere in the restaurant was a bit "old world".

    The view from the room was very relaxing as it looks directly onto the George Golf club.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    The beds were good, the room was very spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't 100% clean (lots of little bugs in the tub); check in was messy (we initially got a room key that was already occupied, it was caught just in time and next the employee went to check physically if our room was actually available); storing luggage was possible but procedure seemed unclear to employee. Breakfast was ok (one could order fresh made eggs) but some of the buffet stuff was stale. Super friendly people all around, just very disorganized.

    The beds were good, the room was very spacious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Amazing stay at the Protea King George!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we feel the bathrooms can be upgraded as we were in room 501 and our bathroom had a leak on the right hand side of the shower there was always a puddle of water

    our room had a great mountain view with a very comfortable bed. our room was cleaned every day and the staff were friendly always checking up on us if we were ok in the breakfast room / restaurant. The location suited us perfectly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    3.3
    Would definitely not recommend a stay here. Overpriced for what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room decor was very dated. The fridge had a leg missing, wobbled. TV reception was poor. Bathroom tiles cracked and chipped. Toilet seat did not fit properly. Bathroom cabinet water damaged. The safe in the cupboard was fitted in such a way that there was very little hanging space.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.4
    Very average. I would not recommend a stay here nor would I visit again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gown, no slippers. Room was very noisy, I felt like I was sleeping in the car park.

    The chef made a plan and made dinner for me after the kitchen closed. The meal wasn’t great but the effort he made really made the stay better

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Misinterpretation on the advertisement. Room with a view on the mountains!.... no such thing -- the rooms were squashed in, clearly not planned--- not even a window in the room that can be opened. Dark place -- would have never stayed in the place if we have seen it in the day. We arrived late! Tariffs compete with 5 star places where we have stayed....

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    To be avoided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is old, the bathroom small and uncomfortable and the food is really awful and over-priced. Not worthy of a 4* status.

    The location is really pleasant!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Great overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the R195 p/p for breakfast were far to much

    The bar area was great with lovely food, we arrived late and the bartender had no problem serving us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    4.2
    very dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the food was absolutely terrible and pricey. the water stank like sewerage and had to be reportedtwice and it still stank the day we left. the room was not cleaned properly. and on one occasion the towels were not returned to the room, no coffee were replaced and outside was a mess. i was not impressed with the hotel's service or the food

    only the view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    Not a 4 star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived at the property with my adult chidren who assisted me on the trip as I am still recovering from knee replacement surgery. I asked for a room close to main building but was told nothing was available. Arrived in room 419 on the far side of the property. Room was smelly with very bad dirty odours, obviously previous guests were smoking in the room and I don't know what else. The only small dustbin in bed room was not cleaned and still overflowing with, amongst others, tissue paper and sanitary waste of previous visitors. Room 419 was the last room in the passage, with dirty room service tray on floor directly in front of my door. My children found the bad odour unacceptable and went to reception on my behalf and managed a room swap - Room 311 was now all of a sudden available and much closer to the main building! Mini bar fridge was found empty. Dustbin lid was found broken. No face cloths. Fresh towels returned only late next afternoon. I managed initial access to so called free 500MB WIFi. Ten minutes on news website and then disconnected with message that free access has expired. No luck in trying to sign on again. Purchased 1GB for almost R280! Can one really accept all the above as part of a four star facility? I mentioned to reception staff on check-out, who commented that they will report it to management who will look into it. Amazingly this is exactly the same training line that management also used without end on numerous previous guest's feedback on this website on similar issues, stretching almost a year back. I wish I believed the reviews before I booked.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Comfort combined friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is spacious, with a wonderful balcony. Nothing seemed to be a problem and none of our requests was too much to handle. The food was good and a good variety...supper and breakfast. And the newspaper every morning... a bonus!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    Quiet, with a stylistic nod to the British Empire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly. The surroundings and hotel were lovely, the bar with reference to old British Empire days. The golf course and mountains are added to a spacious, scenic feel. There's a gorgeous large chessboard outside, it felt a little like Alice in Wonderland with a cute bunny hopping across it one morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Food was tasty and rooms were bigger than expected which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise at 5:30am from other guests and the porters trolley making a noise at 6am on the paving outside the room.

    Food was tasty and rooms were bigger than expected which was a bonus plus the view was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I did not like

    Everything about the hotel was exceptional, and I don't give praise lightly. It was clean, stylish, roomy with excellent service. Room itself was well equipped and comfortable. I could go on but suffice it to say I was very pleased with my stay, and although short and sweet this time, I hope to be back for a longer visit in the future.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    4.2
    Not recommendable 🙃
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were filthy, access key to room did not work when we returned later after dinner (both evenings - had to drive by car back to reception for matter to be rectified😡, linen lying around in passage on floor and vacuum cleaner plugged into wall socket in the middle of passage at 10pm???

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Perfect short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have like a bigger bed, but other than the size, the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast could be cheaper. Although the food was very good, the price is just a bit too high.

    Lovely relaxing atmosphere. Quiet. Staff was very friendly and as usual the stay was the BEST. We shall come back again and again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, some of the reception/front staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were dirty, bathtub was dirty when I checked-in. We didn't enjoy breakfast and dinner. The restaurant staff does not acknowledge guests walking in! Wait for service is long at the restaurant.

    Nice location, some of the reception/front staff was friendly and helpful - especially the night staff and housekeeping staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    I last visited in 2003, train the restaurant staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant, staff untrained to expected standard. The food I ordered was 'not available' twice. The staff desperately need more training, they are willing.

    I travelled with my son who had the ajoinng room, lovely to sit out & enjoybthe view & peace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.1
    2 double beds which made it easier for me to sleep with my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet was slightly dirty and they did not provide a cot in the room, after they had confirmed that they would.

    2 double beds which made it easier for me to sleep with my baby and my husband to sleep on a separate bed but in the same room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.9
    OK if you need a clean bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible meal in the evening - no à la carte, only tourist busload passenger food. Very little fresh fruit for breakfast.

    Beds were comfy, as were the pillows.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    5.4
    Average for a strong brand!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort of the Room - it felt dusty and poorly ventilated. The television screen did not work - data charge is hidden costs - not worth the money spent.

    Parking facilities

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    6.3
    Great location, willing staff, very poor food, rooms average, not a four star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel Restaurant was extremely poor, both dinner and breakfast. Out of stock of 50% of the items on the a la carte menu, the breakfast buffet was very limited and very poor quality, not nearly worth the amount of money we had to pay. We will never eat there again, ever. The bar service was slow. The room had a good view of the golf course, however, the carpets were very dirty. The bath was very scratched.

    The location next to the George Golf course was great. Very tranquil. Staff friendly and willing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    5.0
    Stay was ok but not what we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the pool was always occupied due to it being situated in front of the rooms occupied by other guest.The guest who stayed along side the pool made use of it as if it was there for them exclusively.

    Te view of the mountain outside my room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.8
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been great to have room service available in the evening on Christmas Day as we arrived late in the evening. The restaurant was also fully booked.

    Loved the spaciousness of the suite

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    6.7
    The reception manager was very welcoming and the access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception and room service staff were good. The dining hall dinner staff were generally bad and as as result we only had dinner there once Housekeeping useless - told they had run out of blankets and would not replenish everything. Had to be asking

    The reception manager was very welcoming and the access to the pool of the room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean and fun little pool and staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Buffet dinner was a bit disappointing and dirty cutlery. Spa was not available for a week!

    Comfortable, clean and fun little pool and staff very helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    Would never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But one of the two rooms we were assigned had an unpleasantly strong chemical smell which remained even after further cleaning, and the one my friend was moved to had been used - dirty spoon, yuckily smelly pillow. Although we booked months in advance, both initial rooms were next to reception and the kiddie pool, and staff said they could not move us to better rooms even though many rooms on the golf course side seemed vacant. After my friend spent a sleepless night in the dirty new room, the hotel decided not to charge us for it - a much appreciated gesture, but two uninhabitable rooms in one night was inexcusable.

    Very friendly staff - great food, buffet style; the breakfast is expensive but worth it and the grounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools looked a little green but my grand daughters still went in.

    The rooms were excellent, we had a problem Booking.com had booked 5 rooms instead of 3 so consequently 5 rooms were taken off my credit card, but the lady in the office dealt with it very efficiently and quickly. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.1
    Not worth the money and not 4* level
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overpriced breakfast. WiFi is on a code basis and for work you have to keep getting a code as data runs out. Room service food not up to parr for hotel rating.

    Good Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.4
    Room was not clean on arrival. Overall not worthy of 4 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On three occassions I had to request toilet paper. There was underpants of the previous guest still in the bathroom. For a family room they only supplied two towels and two cups for coffee....

    Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.3
    Its a great place to be, i have been going to the same place for 3 consecutive years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a very rude tall light in completion cleaning lady who threw our clothes every where in the bathrooms on Christmas day. room 209. that was the only disturbing matter for me.

    The facilities and the staff are great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    4.6
    Clean, but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cracked tiles in the bathroom, stained mirror in the bathroom, bathroom ceiling stains, carpet stains, and dormitory feeling of the facilities. Very dated and old. I couldn't believe it was 4 stars rated.

    The beds were clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    5.8
    Stunning view relaxed atmosphere. Hotel definitely need a revamp!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took a two bedroom place only had 1 bathroom that ws dissapoiting. The linen didn't feel fresh yet it ws clean.

    Breakfast was lovely the view of gold course ws definitely amazing, overall hotel had a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Lovely stay, absolutely beautiful and stunning staff. Nothing to much for them.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I you had a booking for the extra night I had to stay due to work. You were unfortunately fully booked.

    This is an amazing gem. I am so glad everything was fully booked, otherwise I wouldn't have found you. Lovely and spacious rooms. I love the little lounge and the fact that you can go outside. The fact that there is a restaurant on the premises is wonderful. After a day's work one does not have to go find a place to eat some where in a town you do not know. Really enjoyed my short stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.3
    Awesome will be back soon !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need more hands on training No halaal breakfast on offer for muslim guests like myself

    Tranquil setting Lovely bunnys to play with in the mornings , superb mountain views

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    5.8
    The Staff was helpful and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door system constantly locked me out, Room was far from the main building. Would not have mind to walk but there no cover along the pathway as it was raining.

    The Staff was helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your intent keeps going off and the allowance you give for a traveller staying whole day in your hotel is too little. Have Internet available to your guests as long as they are booked until check out

    The rooms were good and spacious except you don't provide any lotion and your soap is too small

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Overall
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom door touching shower glass. Had to be extra careful not to bump glass.

    Bedding very nice and comfortable. Little extras in bathroom a nice touch. Loved heater being on when we got there in the cold and wet weather.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice and private.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee cups were both dirty and the shower floor needs to be less level so that the water can drain. The water runs all over the bathroom and into the hall at front door.

    Nice and private.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Provided a great stay during my work trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi should not be limited to a daily quota

    Prompt response to queries and great atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    The room was spacious and very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathtub did not have a stopper so I could not take a bath, had to just take a shower.

    The room was spacious and very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not applicable

    Clean and beautiful setting

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Exceedingly good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food and beautiful facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    The accommodation was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not worth the money...R195 per person? Had much better breakfast for less.

    The accommodation was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Easy access, convenient parking and security.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.2
    Terrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs extensive work and I cannot find anything good to say

    The friendly staff only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    View
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts very expensive

    View

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing everything was perfect

    Stunning view from the room, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    It was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no extra blankets in the room.

    The room was very spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unhappy face of the barman when we went for a night cap at 10pm

    Loved the huge bed!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for an overnight on garden route
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find initially.

    Wonderful view from the balcony across the golf course to the mountains. Very comfortable bed and spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: