Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine 4 stars

Marine Drive, Summerstrand, 6001 Port Elizabeth, South Africa

#14 of 30 hotels in Port Elizabeth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 226 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Catering manager was prepared to open restaurant earlier the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Catering manager was prepared to open restaurant earlier the Saturday to accommodate the schoolboys staying over who needed to be at Grey college by 7.30am. With the restaurant opening at 6.30am, it was a rush on Friday and there were quite a few families staying over.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.3
    A hotel I will never return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service extremely bad, waited 2hrs for room service and order was wrong. Even 2.5hrs waited for boiling water because kettle was rusted in room. place very noisy, doors rattling. You hear people talking In the next room. Rooms drafty.

    The view of the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    Ok...would have appreciated better service and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't quite get the 2 bed, 2 bath family room that we booked. The hotel had to make an arrangement and provided a loft apartment. Although the kids enjoyed it, didn't quite have the privacy needed. The sleeper couch was very uncomfortable

    The views of the beachfront were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great weekend in beautiful and very comfortabel hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer a more flat pillow than the two I got, but Housekeeping changed it the second night.

    The best cuppucino in Marine drive is served at the Bar restaurant. We had a beautiful family room with everything and more we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Generally very good Hotel ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee needs a bit of improving and we had to pay for a cab even though the Hotel has a free Shuttle . The issue was there is no way of knowing where they are at the Airport & no identification of the Hotel Shuttle Bus

    Generally very good , had to walk appx 3/4 km to the swimming beach but that was a good stroll to stretch the legs. The pool was a bit small ie size of a large spa bath but overall quite good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You location and friendliness of staff were excellent! Good!

    Everything, food and bed was very good and I enjoyed the engagement with the staff and management! Will visit soon !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast table offers e.g. fresh fruit not up to standard of a hotel of the class and R125 for continental breakfast???? Had to ask for more butter Bar snacks expensive and boring

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    The stay was pleasant, balcony visits for drinks enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room stuck in a corner with a distant view of the sea over roof stones and so on being the main part of the 'view'. ALSO, I would prefer to be able to find the Hotel phone number (and NOT central reservations) to gain more specific information before booking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel opposite the beach
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 rooms both of which air conditioning not working. Informed reception and someone came to look at it and couldn’t fix it, said he would inform management to get someone out following day. We went out early 7:30 The following day and once again I informed reception. Got back 13:00 and my room wasn’t even done and air conditioner not even sorted. I phoned the manager on duty and told her that they not getting a good review on trip advisor. In all fairness she then immediately arranged for us to change rooms and got the relevant people to come fix the air cons.infortunately I noticed the cleaning staff spent more time talking than actual work

    Looks relatively new and rooms where spacious and close to beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Great stay at good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and hotel clean, the staff made us feel very welcome, and service was great. Location was good, close to everything. Our kids loved everything about it.

    Staff... awesome. Location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value and comfortable stay in good location in Port Elizabeth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is on roof and just a plunge pool. Our room was a huge family room with two levels (mezannine with king size bed and bathroom) - downstairs furniture dated and well used. Difficult to cool the room with aircon as floor to ceiling windows

    Good value, comfortable and clean accommodation in good location on Marine Drive, with own restaurant, but also right next door to excellent privately owned restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice Room & facilities. Enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had an medical emergency(wound started bleeding) and there was no medical/first-aid kit available!! 4 Star hotel should have that. Also against the law for a business not to have one!

    Did not eat there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    I have cancelled the 2 rooms booked for our stay next month in favor of the Raddisson Blu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff attitudes (in particular of the restaurant) was pathetic. We were told at checkin on the friday that the restaurant would be open at 06:30am on the saturday - when in fact its 07:30am for the weekends...which made the start of our day rather hard. The noise of the other guests "partying from 11pm through to 3am also did not make our start to the day all that great... My rooms aircon dripped onto my bed all night. My bathroom window had no privacy whatsoever to the house next to the hotel.

    Room size was bigger than expected, and hotel was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    THANK YOU FOR THE HOSPITALITY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room 733, the door on windy days makes a lot of sound underneath, we end up putting a towel to stop the noise and I forgot to tell the reception when checking out. Can the hotel try to make a moving stand for the TV set in the executive room for us to be able to watch the TV from the bed site.

    I liked your service in the restaurant, food was good, staff very friendly and willing to assist.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in Port Elizabeth
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was rather too small on the 3rd floor.

    The view at the Marine is super. The beachfront restaurants are nearby. We drove to the beach itself. Breakfast was really lavish. The staff at reception were knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfy bed, good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security at the back of the hotel from the car park could have been better. I think using our room card to open the door would be better than anyone being able to walk in.

    Comfy bed, good sized room. Staff extremely helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Super hotel for sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is quite a walk to the nearest swimming beach (Polock). We drove. The pool is a small plunge roof pool on level 3.

    The Marine is the only reasonably priced hotel with sea views - but you do need a room on a higher floor, say 5, 6, 7. Request them on booking. The breakfast buffet was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    WONDERFUL AND TREASURABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would like to ask your office to consider extending the swimming pool, which is too little and not in good standard according to your hotel.

    The service provided to me band my family by the staff was intelligently and diligently executed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in room 632 was uncomfortable. Evaluate the possibilty of replacing the matrass.

    The hotel is situated within walking distance from entertainment environment. Friendly staff who always responded urgently to my requests. Good breakfast and supper.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    The only thing I loved about the property was it’s beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was poor. We were suppose to check in @12 but we ended up having to wait because the room was not ready, we waited at the reception area till 3 to be checked in.

    The only thing I loved about the property was it’s beach view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking was incorrect. Very late arrival to find only 1 room booked but had already paid for 2. Night staff didn’t handle the issue well. I ended up sleeping in a disabled room. Day staff however made up for the night before.

    Day staff were excellent as was breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Potential to be excellent but falls short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertises airport shuttle but it's actually a taxi. (Listed twice on as paid and not clarified). Seemed understaffed particularly at breakfast.

    Very spacious room with a lounge area. Fantastic sea view. Nice location beside other prime properties in Summerstrand.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Perfect for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Location was lovely, particularly if you have a sea view room. Free parking was a bonus and location relative to other things is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Good view and location, room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were incredibly soft, with no firmer pillows available. Hotel breakfasts are always over priced, rather just go to a restaurant down the road.

    Good view and location, room was spacious. Right across the road from the beach, with a good restaurant across the road. Staff were friendly and accommodating, even providing a baby cot and microwave in our room for us (travelled with an infant).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    I liked the fact that staff were all friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast disappointing. Not much options for muslim clientele. I contacted the hotel directly for arrangement of the basket and it was there I my room on arrival however it was abit disappointing as I had asked if I should stretch my budget and I was informed no that my budget was alot. Was not bad. But my expectations were maybe maybe too high.

    I liked the fact that staff were all friendly and polite. They even upgraded mm y room and had accomodated my request with the basket I requested. But I was expecting more for the budget I had which was 800.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.7
    I ASKED FOR WATER AT THE THE RECEPTION 22.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I ASKED FOR WATER AT THE THE RECEPTION 22.55 AT RECEPTION SEND ME TO THE BAR THAT WAS CLOSED HAD TO PAY CASH R22 FOR A SMAL BOTTEL COS R6 AT CILCKS SEEM LIKE AFTER 23.00 AT EVENING THERE IS NOTHING AVAILEBALE AT THE HOTEL .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    4.6
    Very unsatisfactory stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    So much could have been better. The rooms really need an update. The carpets are clearly stained. The internet doesn't work at all. When we questioned this they tried to move us to a room half the size of what we paid for! Then eventually moved us to a room of the same size, with very poor spotty internet. The fridge froze everything and the temperature dial had been removed. The TV in lounge didn't work. The aircon remote in the bedroom didn't work. The previous occupant was clearly a smoker and the room reeked of smoke - never mind the masses of ciggarette butts all over the ground in front of the windows. The staff are not well trained to actually listen. My husband called to see if they had coffee plungers (as when we stayed there previously they did in the rooms) - housekeeping gets sent with extra hot chocolate - and literally says to me "you wanted more coffee" as she handed it across. All in all, for the amount of money I paid I would have been better off at a B&B

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    Once updating our credit card details on bookings.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once updating our credit card details on bookings.com we couldnt see it at the protea hotel. I had to call the company that booked me to get the card number directly. Would be good to get real time updated information so if credit cards are used the hotel can see the update.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    5.4
    Here for the Ironman event
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With one exception, our lovely waitress Maud, the staff ranged from bewildered and incompetent to downright rude and surly. The wi fi never worked - no doubt a ruse to make you buy the uprated version, and getting a drink in the bar first involved finding a bar person in whatever corner they were hiding and then standing over them while they slowly made a drink. Other guests were similarly frustrated. There is much more but suffice it to say this is not a Marriot! Maybe a Holiday Inn express on a bad day.

    The room was adequate albeit in depressing brown decor. The hotel was well sited for the beaches and to view the Ironman event - the purpose of our visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.9
    Cappucinos were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were a bit disappointed the first night, we checked in at 11.30pm as we drove fro JHB and we were booked into the wrong room. We booked and paid for an Executive Suite, I even requested a King bed online when I booked and we were put into a Club room with a double bed. When questioning it the next morning and asking to move the lady at the desk told be it was a down grade to go to an Executive Suite. So when we got back the next day we spoke to another guy who was very helpful, I cant remember his name but he had long dark curly hair, he immediately helped us out and moved us to our correct room. So thank you to him!!!

    Cappucinos were amazing!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    4.6
    Location and bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked executive suite. Looked different from the pics. Very old inside and the carpets looked very old and dirty. There was also no hot water

    Location and bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.9
    Our stay in PE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness & overall condition of room, bad wifi connection, breakfast overpriced and understaffed

    Big rooms & bathrooms & great location to beach & shops. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    Our stay was absolutely magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security failed us a little bit specifically the night shift coz we had a break in in our car and they did not notice or inform us only the people at day shift inform us when we were abt ti gou out,but we are thankful for the help they gave us

    The bed was extra comfy jst a bit big thank you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow in house keeping but there are those who are extremely exclusive in what they do

    The hotel and staff have now become part of us and have recommended to friends and family

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    Never to be repeated vjsit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allocated a non-sea facing room. Your brochure says all rooms are sea facing.Bed made up around 4pm on 2 days.

    Room comfortable. Hotel in a quiet areaaway from the bustle

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    6.3
    Improvements needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi coverage was poor in some areas of the hotel, so it was not guaranteed. You also have to log back in every time you come back to the hotel which is time consuming and it didn't always work. Our toiletries and tea supplies were not replenished everyday and I had to ask for extra supplies at reception. One day our room wasn't cleaned until 5pm and we wanted to get back in our room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    3.3
    Not value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are full of dust mites!!!! You can literally see them when the lampshade is on! Food was below standard, did not look appertising at all. Expensive room rate did not include breakfast.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.0
    Not so great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water from the shower was luke warm- almost cold. Rooms not properpely serviced. Housekeeping staff not professional. Security guard was unfriendly and difficult at our arrival.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    3.8
    make people happy not unhappy. cause we pay for comfort
    • Group
    • Loft Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That sleeper couch was SO uncomfortable. Please you can let people pay such a lot of money for something that's so uncomfortable. Please go check out 301, sleep on that thing, n decide for yourself. We had to take pillows n sleep on the floor. How disgusting for a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.3
    Right on the beach, great little restaurant next door wide...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel receiving an external makeover. Scaffolding up shouldn't be for long though.

    Right on the beach, great little restaurant next door wide choice menu with substantial portions!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Big spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water

    The family room was nice and big. It actually had 2 separate rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Large room and location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ordered room service and had to pay cash on delivery, even though reception had my credit card details??

    Large room and location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Truly value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disabled shower.....very slippery when wet. Almost broke my neck!

    Friendly efficient staff! Perfectly located hotel with huge comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    I had to shower with cold water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to shower with cold water!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    The people as workimg en the hotel irá very Friendly.
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people as workimg en the hotel irá very Friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was very expensive for food that was on offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very expensive for food that was on offer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Very central, with excellent views
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central, with excellent views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Protea hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was expensive but not so good

    The room was clean and we had great view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities and Wi-fi were very poor

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed my trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    It is all fine. Had a good time and comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi very week. It is available in a specific area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    It was a good experience and will definitely come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com did not notify us that breakfast was not included in the price

    The location and the secure parking!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    My stay was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool is rediculously small

    My room was clean and had sea view which i requested

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.5
    Had to log onto WiFi constantly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to log onto WiFi constantly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.4
    Protea never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner not working and not attended to when I complained.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    The size of the room was huge!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was huge! Felt like an apartment. Was spoilt for space 👍🏽

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't work.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and atmosphere of the staff on our first encounter with South Africans

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WiFi connection, couldn’t work because of poor connection.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic double suite, so loads of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out of town.

    Fantastic double suite, so loads of room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Room was just fine, but restaurant was appalling - roudy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant !

    Room was just fine, but restaurant was appalling - roudy and full of what could have been thought to be half of a football match !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    decor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    Ok but not a great standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast rather disappointing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the family room was very good. Far exceeded our eexpectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay, was fantastic!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was happy nothing to add just like mentioned the meal options.

    Maybe to offer a variety for halaal, kosher etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Amazing holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything actually

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay. Will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficulty linking Prokard with stay

    Excellent all round. Chef in training, Neville was fantastic! Breakfasts excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    The rooms was very awesome i like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms was very awesome i like. Stuff was so friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    GREAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I prefer my suite

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Should include more verity on the breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should include more verity on the breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Our PE experience at protea
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cleaniness and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    I didn’t eat at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room with Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t eat at the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    4.6
    Room was not ready at time for check in, was not impressed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not ready at time for check in, was not impressed, felt that the staff were not very perturbed that the room was not ready...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Refreshing and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was stunning all round from our loft. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    sea view rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: