Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch 3 stars

Techno Avenue, 7600 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#28 of 37 hotels in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 268 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi in the rooms didn't work. Neither for me, nor for my neighbors.

    The rooms are very spacious and clean. Very nice breakfast buffet. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    The breakfast included is so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast included is so good. The best omelettes I’ve had! The staff were so friendly and made us feeel very comfortable. We felt very safe and the hotel was beautiful with an amazing mountain backdrop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Good family stay if cape townians are not wanting to go too far for reasonable value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had the rooms facing away from valley. Solar powered heated pool wasn't warm at all, could b due to season even tho weather was 20c. Gym closed over weekends. Small amenities were missing tissues, cutlery and cleaning stuff, altho was promptly provided when requested.

    The deluxe room's modern, comfy and spacious. Hotel feels secure. Good scrumptious breakfast with stunning views over winelands valley and hottentots hollands mountains. Braai facilities a plus. Prompt room service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    Was average, expected better from Protea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms terribly noise, WiFi in room poor. Mattress needs replacing Tv on wall could be on a swivel. Main bar does not serve cocktails, crazy When school sports teams are in same hotel maybe keep them together and put guests away from the chaos.

    Breakfast view great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    wish I had time to linger longer - would then stay in a room with a view and a king size bed!
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room contained twin beds instead of double bed requested via booking

    exceptional service excellence throughout by friendly and professional staff, wonderful location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    relaxing and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The black worms that crawled into the room, especially at night. I put a towel at the bottom of the door to keep them out but some still got in. Not very nice to experience.

    The bed was big and extra comfy. The room was spacious and had all we required. The room service and staff were ver quick to react.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, and somewhat more than average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some many small black worms every where in the room. I could get a De Lux room, and had to do with s Standsrd room.

    Friendliness and professionalism of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.0
    The size of the room was a nice size and bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the day of checking in the hotel's phone lines were down and there was no way to communicate with the hotel - this was not conveyed on any website or social media page. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was mediocre at best and the restaurant was poorly managed. Our room wasn't serviced at all and the cleaner only came at 13:40 to see if she could clean our room.

    The size of the room was a nice size and bed was very comfortable. Parking was convenient and the hotel went to a lot of effort to accommodate ways that guests could save water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Great foods and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room is on the second floor, which no elevator and small passage. Not practical if you have big suitcases or people from oversea. Better to take only what you need to the room.

    The foods were really nice, but the service was a bit slow. Not recommend if you have a limit of time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Quality stay in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much....

    Melvin was amazing in helping is check in at 1:30 am in the early hours on satirday morning - despite a delay in receiving the booking.com resservation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    saturdays breakfast was great and pastries and croissants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    saturdays breakfast was great and pastries and croissants freshly baked. Pastries however sunday was bit older. Previous day batch maybe? But will defenately stay there again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing time at this hotel, executive rooms were absolutely lovely, and the breakfasts were GREAT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't much I didn't like, but if I had to think of something, I would say that the pool had no atmosphere - which was a little disappointing. But, I didn't end up having much time to spend at the pool anyway.

    The executive rooms were new, and AMAAAAZING... beautifully decorated with a stand alone bath. Cannot recommend this room / this hotel enough. The staff were exceptionally friendly and were accomodating for everything - including pressing my suit, even though I had missed their laundry collection time, which I appreciated so much as I needed them the next day for a wedding I was attending.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    comfortable and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our room was disappointing as we expected to be in a room overlooking the vineyards.

    They respected that we ate halaal food and prepared the breakfast for us in a separate cooking area from where the non halaal breakfast was prepared. The view from the breakfast room was amazing. The staff in the restaurant were very obliging.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    I will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I paid in full for the accommodation they sill require a credit card for a further R 2000 in case I had a drink Breakfast was average no salt a pepper on table no butter available on the Sunday

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    It was ok.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I asked for 1-double bed and I got 2 single beds. I called reception. They said they no other room for us. And would push the bed together. So kept falling between the 2 beds.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Not as good as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very helpful, wifi was not working most of the time, big windows facing main alley and pool area - didn't feel comfortable nor private.

    Very good breakfast- loads of choices, fresh, buffet was being filled up constantly, quite good location- close to numerous vineyards, beautiful view from restaurant, rooms are clean and spacious- definitely met our expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    the stay was good , will definitely return in due cause , breakfast excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very little , could change from what i did experience, my first time at protea hotel , maybe upgrade on tv viewing ,wasnt so good

    everything was comfortable , good just a break away from everything and everyone

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    It was really nice staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beautiful view. Friendly staff. Nice room. We didn't asked for anything,but the staff somehow found out that we got married and got us Champaign and chocolate

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was a nightmare! Kept being logged off every few minutes and we had 3 rooms and stayed a week. They would give us voucher numbers whenever we wished- but you’d need to register for WiFi whenever you picked up your phone again! Breakfast was good but same every day. Reception messed up my mothers wake up call and taxi collection time: called her at 4:00am not 7:00am! Cleaners should collect dirty dishes from outside of rooms quicker. But other than WiFi this hotel is great.

    Comfortable bed, blacked out Curtains, AC worked really well, clean rooms, quiet rooms even though the hotel was very busy, staff at front desk and room staff were very friendly, the food in the two restaurants for lunch and dinner was excellent. Big shout out to Vuvu in the restaurant- a joyful way to start each morning was being served by her! Hotel is in a beautiful setting and short drive to main wineland hot spots.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.8
    Technically good but we did not feel valued as customers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had no hot water in the room for 2 of the 3 days. Technical staff only attended to this after 27 hours. Management did not respond verbally to this matter at all e.g. with an acknowledgement of inconvenience.

    Room / breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    My stay was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cocktails at the lappa at the pool area a bit pricey. Didn't like the shift staff having to find own transport at midnight.

    Like the buffet breakfast, love the many seating areas on the outside, love the music and cocktails at the pool area. Love how quick the front desk request turned into action. Love the view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money, large room (deluxe), friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A minor point: at my early check out (6:00 am) the receptionist was not able to cancel the deposit, so they had to call me back in the morning to provide credit card information

    Good value for money, large room (deluxe), friendly staff. You can park your car just in front of your room. The bar is offering a good choice of meals and a very nice view. The room was clean, but there might be insects getting into your room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    The facilities were quite good including an Olympic sized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We requested early check-in before arrival and this was not arranged by the time we arrived. We also requested a double bed but received twin beds. This was only fixed on day 2 after the 2nd request.

    The facilities were quite good including an Olympic sized swimming pool and a volleyball court. There are 2 restaurants on site which made for greater variety.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    The pool, breakfast and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was generally good though there was some strange smell in a room and the room decoration seemed a little so-so, meaning that it was not done with professional respect to designers work. Our major issue was that a hotel employee instead of blocking the total sum on the credit card accidentally charged it. When we checked out they made a refund but due to bad conversion FX rate from RUB to ZAR we lost approximately 25 bucks. We wrote an email to the hotel and they took 5 working days to deal with the issue, now they simply ignore our letters. Seems that Marriott will never be our place to stay anywhere in the world unless the issue is resolved. It is clearly a mistake of a hotel employee and it is strange that the hotel network thinks that it is ok to force a client to pay for it.

    The pool, breakfast and restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Wish we could stay longer, great hotel!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is very cramped, was afraid to bump into the cars next to you.

    The breakfast was excellent and the food in the restaurant great value for money. Great location with beautiful views and spacious rooms. Friendly, professional staff overall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights not working. Towels removed while at breakfast couldn't have a shower. Not even a towel to dry ur hands. No chairs on balcony. Other Protea's much higher standard

    The view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Very good. Will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff - from reception to waiters, etc. Everyone had a friendly word. Excellent breakfast spread. Centrally located to visit nearby vineyards and other places of interest. Family friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    It was very pleasant and will definitely recommend the hotel and keep going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ability to change my booking using my prokard voucher as I had not selected the correct booking site to redeem my voucher when doing the online reservation I accept that it was a mistake on my part but it was a genuine error which could not be corrected at the hotel

    Free Upgrade to Standard room to available Deluxe facility The breakfast has a wonderful spread 2 restaurants to choose from when having dinner Location in close proximity to local markets and wine farms and supermarkets

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    A last minute booking which saved the day as previous accommodation was not up to standard!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a bad experience with the transport but the staff once complaint was given were more than happy to compensate us for the bad experience we had.

    Friendly staff and very efficient, food was good and very reasonable and room was comfortable, clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    One of us got bitten by something in the room - we think...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of us got bitten by something in the room - we think something from the big pillow on the bed. We had to get medication from a chemist. After 6 days the rash is not completely gone. Our staff did give us another room (which we appreciated a lot).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Best Hospitality Ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing. Would love to get a view of an upstairs room next time.

    The friendly staff! From the Reception staff down to the Security Guards. The Chefs to the waiters. We felt really welcome. I am in awe of the service at this place. It's all about the patron. I needed some quiet time from the hustle and bustle of the city and I couldn't have chosen a better place. I would come back again,on my own if I had to. I've never felt so welcome at a place before. You guys are doing something right.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Your hotel staff at reception and at the cultivar restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only damper was,the guests did not have options regarding the dstv,it should be their choice. The hotel room is a little outdated for such a brilliant reception,the furniture needs to be changed and the room more colourful,was a little dull,overall experience,was awesome

    Your hotel staff at reception and at the cultivar restaurant was extremely professional and friendly,even up to your waiters as they seem to know how to bring the cutlery around,not over the cclient,but around your client,excellent,Byron at reception,was extremely the perfect person one would like to see especially as a first time guest,then Lionel at the restaurant was extremely the perfect head of house,. We will definitely book again at your hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Love this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet overpriced. Wifi poor.

    Loved the spacious unit, the embience, beautiful panorama, peaceful surrounding, atmosphere of Die Wynland, lovely couches on the patio.....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.3
    wont stay there in a hurry again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in was stressful, the staff were not very helpful and friendly, no one really knew what was going on, no hot water in my room on the first night. service was slow, asked for clean towels which i never received.

    I liked the comfy bed and tv in the room. the restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.9
    Great stay in Stellenbosch!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a long time to fix the problem with the safe in our room (L8). One night in the buffet dining room we sat at a table that was not properly cleaned (the dining room was empty at that time).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.5
    Things have changed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no welcome note - we had to ask for bottle of water from reception. We felt as though the hotel was not ready for us. The shower looked like it needed some upgrade. The stay was not like previous times at Stellenbosch PH.

    Location has always been good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    The location , size of the deluxe room and views were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deluxe room didn't have a coffee machine and there were only 2 sachets of terrible coffee provided for the stay. Similarly, the room was stocked with minimal toiletries for 2 people. We had to share one small shower gel. The breakfast was very average and the hotel does. not in fact have a gym. A gym offsite and a good 500 meters down the road (and also closed on Sunday) does not count.

    The location , size of the deluxe room and views were excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay in Stellenbosch for disabled persons
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disabled rooms are placed at the furthest point from the hotels facilities which to me is ridiculous as assistance has to be requested all the time to reach them. Bathroom facilities were not working properly which is always frustrating for me.

    As a disabled person the staff were very helpful with assisting me with various needs that I had.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.1
    3 day stay Feb '17
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was mediocre in size and there were no signs or posters about the poolside bar being closed. The patio area by the French doors could be vastly improved by providing some chairs and privacy from neighbours and security patrols.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and well resourced.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    5.0
    Terrible if you're after somewhere relaxing WITHOUT screaming kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place should emphasize that they are a FAMILY hotel - it's FULL of kids and the rooms are standalone townhouse type buildings. Not a standard hotel at all. Our room was facing onto a jumping castle that had kids screaming all day til about 10pm. Not relaxing at all.. go here with kids but avoid if not.

    Location in stellenbosch is great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    Great location but expensive and not include breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My rate was quite expensive and did not include breakfast. The gym is not within the facility.Had to travel out though not far...should have been specified

    The location and kiddies play and pool area for my son

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.8
    To clean the corridors and entrance of the buildings leading...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To clean the corridors and entrance of the buildings leading to the room. Train the staff in the restaurant a la carte. waiting 1hour for 1 pizza margherita is not normal

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.4
    Nice location shame about the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the food in the main restaurant was very poor. Quality in the a la carte restaurant was better but speed of delivery was appalling. We dont blame the waiters who were lovely but total absence of manager not acceptable. They seriously need to up their game: detracts from the Marriott name and reputation

    Location good for visiting places

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.8
    What a nice suprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. The place exceeded the expectations for the price!

    The room was very clean and spacious (luxury one) with a separate sitting area. It was well furnished. The bed (and a sofa!) were VERY comfortable to sleep on. The bed was large and had very nice duvets and for once really good pillows (I am always very picky abt too hard pillows). Cotton sheets, nice accessories. Overall very impressed (after staying the previous night in another 5 star establishment) and will definitely stay there again if on a flying visit to Stellenbosch.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    4.2
    the hotel was nice and comfortable, with everything we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at the time we stated we would be there, and nothing was ready for us. We had a wedding we needed to go to, but nothing was ready for us to check in and we had to wait for over an hour

    the hotel was nice and comfortable, with everything we needed and expected. Very happy other than our arrival delay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    5.8
    I asked for a double bed and we got 2 singles, this was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a double bed and we got 2 singles, this was changed later. The wind was bad in the afternoon when we got their and it made a terrible noice. The sliding door was off the railing and my husband fixed it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    6.7
    Nice location but the place did not impress me.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping was not brilliant. Dirty dishes standing on the floor in front of the unit next to us for a day, and the next day was replaced with empty water bottles and bedding which was just laying outside for a day. The place did not impress me.

    Well situated , out of town, in quiet area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    5.4
    Service lacking in an otherwise beautiful hotel setting
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate beds in room despite requesting 1 double bed. Breakfast supposed to start at 06:30am. On both days of stay the breakfast was not ready at stated time and we could not wait longer due to early morning meeting and did not have a full breakfast. Ordered room service on one night and the wrong meal was brought. The spa reception does not answer phone.

    Beautiful setting and view from room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Very good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    The process of making a booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The process of making a booking. And had requested something additional , no response was received if hotel is able to assist with my request.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Big rooms and geat facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Big rooms and geat facilities. Breakfast was amazing with a stunning view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    All in all it was a pleasant stay & ive enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs to be moped with water because you could actually see the dirt on the floor.

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely clean hotel with beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had calamari was a little tasteless!!

    Bed very comfy. Lovely views. Food portion sizes excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Clean nice rooms great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean nice rooms great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was disappointed that the swimming pool was not heated. I called before I booked and was assured that it was heated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deluxe room modern and spacious especially with for us traveling with children. Kitchenette also a big plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    The bed was lop sided - it felt like I was going to roll off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was lop sided - it felt like I was going to roll off when sleeping. The previous occupant used the trash bin to shore up the bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    I like everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like everything.... the staff , the food, the facilitites.... i had a very nice stay....Thanks Alot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    Below expectancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The set up of the hotel. Why are the rooms not part of the building. Bonani was extremely rude and unhelpful.

    View

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    3.8
    Horrible stay was very happy was only for 1 nightmares
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from the room to the restaurant

    Nothing the rooms are small and no fridge bathroom horrible was not impressed at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to bath I suppose that keeps us hummble

    Location Friendliness Help from parking attendants Room with outside stoep

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Thank you for a wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful setting loved the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Every thing was perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 stars

    Views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Pool
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Good stay but dissapointed with service levels in the al a carte restaurant and the bar..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sun umbrellas by pool area and bar not open.

    Nice laout

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in my room

    Good breakfasts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay and will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast very good. The room was clean and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Good relaxing four days. Good access to the vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet allocation

    Good, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    Was in a non-smoking room but it smelled like a smoking room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was in a non-smoking room but it smelled like a smoking room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Great room, awesome views & the restaurants were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for the shower!

    Great room, awesome views & the restaurants were very agreeable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    the room was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no bottled water in our room. Our room was not cleaned while we were out and we had to request clean towels and toilet paper.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Easy, comfortable, clean will stay at protea again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sour waitress at breakfast

    lovely reception staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Awesome Awesome...Could come back anytime..Love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....

    Beds comfy and a peacful place to be...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic large rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic large rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: