Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4 stars

Cnr Somerset & Ebenezer Roads, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#90 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 596 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    A very nice and clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was very poor. Difficult to connect and then slow when on-line. As I was travelling on business, this was quite an inconvenience.

    A very nice and clean room. Helpful staff. I had to leave a day early due to a change of plans and even though I didn't check-out until after 13.00, I wasn't charged for the night, as other hotels might have done.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Very new and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi really does not work. The staff were not helpful about it. Breakfast is not included and is expensive.

    Very new and clean. The location is reasonable and close to the waterfront. Right outside the hotel it can be a little sketchy. It is a good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    The service was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two single beds that were joined to make a single bed didn't work too well. The bed was uncomfortable at the join of the two beds. My requests through Booking.com did not filter through to the hotel.

    The service was great. Room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    One of many Protea Hotels in Capetown that is located in Vic Junc area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location can be dangerous at night, so be vigilant. Some criminals may try to profile you when you enter. Breakfast is monotonous. Restaurant has meager selection. No dedicated concierge service. Beds are quite small. No complimentary water everyday. Request to open a tab for all your incidentals. They dont do it automatically.

    Hotel and room interior are very nice-industrial modern. Hallways are big and beautiful. Very close to some nice local stores, restaurants and clubs-literally walking distance. Chauffer and taxi service is reliable and safe - Please consider using them.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Acceptable, but things can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, poor windows don’t help, the most important - internet doesn’t work which is a killer of the whole stay.

    The colors of the room, bed is very comfortable, restaurant serving nice food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Location to water front was great, shuttle bus to and from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a twin room and the beds were pretty much pushed together due to the bed side tables being fixed to the wall. A little more space would have been nice.

    Location to water front was great, shuttle bus to and from is very useful. Maybe another time slot needs to be added for a return to hotel considering it’s only 5 mins away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Reasonably clean, comfortable but faily expensive eg stayed at Beacon Island for similar price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    water wastage - takes ages for water to warm up (shower) - carpets tired and cement floor dining room a bit cold in terms of ambiance

    Comfortable bed -

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Weird
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel need to be audited. My statements were in a mess and the receptionist tried to convince me that she did not take a R10 000.00 hold on the account. They then called me to demand that I pay immediately when I extended my stay. It was only when I told the duty manager that I will report this that my account was sorted out. This really spoiled my stay and I may not use the Protes Marriot again.

    The location and cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    I was booked into a two separate single beds room and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I can recall.

    I was booked into a two separate single beds room and I approahced the reception desk for an exchange into a double bed room - it was done with no hassles and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    All in all a lovely stay, particularly made special by the lovely hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool facilities and we needed to be mindedful of water usage.

    We loved the location, room, facilities and customer service offered by the hotel staff, however the fact that Cape Town is currently experiencing a drought, and we could not use the pool facilities did not make our stay as special as we would have liked. We will book the hotel again in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable rooms, great location for business, recently...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a little irritated by the staff who didn't know how to connect to the wifi. Got transferred from pillar to post without anybody knowing how to connect. When I finally got connected the internet was little slow.

    Comfortable rooms, great location for business, recently revamped.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.2
    Absolute not worth the money and stressfull. Could not even eat breakfast - must pay for it upfont?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Already done

    Absolute nightmare week end! Absolute not worth the money 0- street noise was something no one can be comfortable with - absolute stressful situation. After we asked for a non street room 1 year ago personally in person visiting Cape Town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    The position is very good in between the Waterfront and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was very weak and kept disconnecting. It was almost impossible to use it without getting interrupted by the absence of signal multiple times. The position is a definitely a plus but it happens to be on a street where it’s better not to walk at night unless you like to be constantly harassed by people.

    The position is very good in between the Waterfront and downtown making it easy to walk to many interesting places

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Not impressed !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Definitely not value for money !!!! Paying Nine Thousand rand for three nights, with NO meals included is an absolute rip off !!! What did I get for my money ?Not IMPRESSED

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    We loved being so centrally located and were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not provided with a TV remote and asked twice to get one...still didn’t get it! Thought it was strange that we were placed in a wheelchair access room - didn’t like the low sink etc!

    Location was tops. All the staff were so polite and friendly such a credit to Victoria Junction. Loved the cuppacino!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.7
    The location is excellent as a base in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Check in process got off to a bad start. The lady had a terrible attitude and was not engaging at all when I asked questions regarding my stay.

    The location is excellent as a base in the city. It's close to many of the attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.0
    Overall average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not being told swimming pool was out of action when we had booked this hotel 6 months in advance. Also being told it was stated on the web site when is was not and booking.com not telling us as well.

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    What I expected for the rating and money - not exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I knew it was on a main road but it was still a bit noisier that I expected. Had a few problems with the shower.

    The loft room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. I also liked the location - within easy walking distance of the V&A. Being able to book the hotel shuffle for transfers was also handy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel for a work or business trip. NOT for a romantic weekend away. Booked for my anniversary and the pictures don’t show you that the rooms like sort out like an office with a formal Desk and chair. For the price of the hotel there are many better hotels to accommodate MY type of stay.

    Location was good. Clean rooms. Easy access to main roads. Check in was prompt

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Met my expectations and more!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Loft Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast. Needs improvement. Food bland, not much options especially if youre Muslim/Vegetarian/ Vegan/ Jewish etc. Also one station for omlettes where bacon is fried on. We skipped breakfast on most days, definitely not worth R195. Coffee was really bad.

    It was my birthday and the hotel sent some champagne and cake up to my room, loved that! Staff were friendly and helpful. Especially Papa at the bar. I loved the wasabi mash served at the restaurant. Its a must try! Ordered it thrice with the steak. Delicious. The loft apartments exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Will come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Love the place and will come back, eating diner inside the hotel was a pleasure, great Food. Staff also have been very cheerful, and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing suite! Everything was provided and we had a lovely time staying at the hotel! We arrived earlier than check in time, which made it a bit tricky but the hotel were willing to let us check in as soon as the room is ready.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Good overall stay. Recommend loft rooms but not many available!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in very slow and not very helpful. Eventually got into the room at 2.45pm. Not the hotel’s fault but we had arrived into CPT on a very early flight and were quite tired. Had asked for an earlier check in but not possible. Check out efficient.

    Loft room spacious and airy. Bed very comfortable. Rooms and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.4
    all in all the place feels claustrophobic with staff that do not really care about the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is lack-lusture. You have to ask several times for the same thing. They closed the swimming pool due to water restrictions, but the did not pre-inform us even though we booked well in advance. The lounge area is a sad area. The Internet is beyond pathetic. Every time you have to go through a long log-in which fails most of the time. When it works it is super slow an constantly disconnects.

    Good location an great parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.8
    Ok city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They let us wait when we arrived. When you’re on the first floor you have a lot of noise from the breakfast room. Swimming pool facilities supposed to be great on the picture, but in reality rather poor.

    Location is good and the beds were very good. Also the breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely go back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but far too pricey.

    Location is great, walking distance from the waterfront and long street. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. Because we stayed over a week, we got a free upgrade and had a cool loft on the top floor. Overall, a great experience!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.0
    It was a shelter away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Room Keys kept deactivating thus had to go downstairs everytime to reactivate everytime I return 2. Restaurant on the facility did not have variety 3. On arrival, parking was not clearly visible 4. Breakfast was overpriced 5. The pool was not working 6. The bar had 0 ambiance

    White sheets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Would recommend this hotel to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On this hotel nothing, Loved everything.

    The designing of the hotel was amazing something very different to other hotels. The air corn of the passages it was very nice, the stuff very polite and professional. Everything was just on POINT.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Everything was fine except for the confusion in the morning regarding breakfast discount.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communication between staff when changing shifts especially in the morning.There was no clear direction regarding the breakfast discount whether it was for the entire stay or once off and whether it was per room or per family. Every morning you get different story from the staff members and have to wait for them to confirm with the supervisor.It was annoying and confusing.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    4.6
    Hotel was clean, conveniently located in a nice district...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I found the Front Office staff quite unhelpful especially during check in. I had booked two rooms, and I had a print out of the reservation with me. But despite that, I found that the rooms were under different names, mine and my wife's (intended for our teenage daughter), as a result of this, the staff had booked us on different floors, and they were quite unhelpful and acerbic. We took over 30 unhelpful minutes to sort all this out. We finally got two rooms next to each other that were interconnected, great, but the receptionist kept saying they are not interconnected. We literally had to beg for drinking water every day to be brought to the room. Same case with shower gel. Multiple calls for simple things spoil a vacation. Rooms have no space for two suitcases, so one had to be on the floor. We could not even agree on whether I had booked for breakfast, although I had sent a separate email to have this on my room. I thought the staff was rude and unhelpful.

    Hotel was clean, conveniently located in a nice district close to the Water Front. Also clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Beuatiful modern room with modern clean bathroom. R20 for an uber to the waterfront. Nice and close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you had to keep connecting to the wifi each time you got back to the hotel. Other than that, nothing!

    We were walked to Beluga for dinner on our first night there by one of the staff. Very nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for someone who wants to just relax & have "me time" away from day to day busy schedules
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would change nothing so far

    Their burgers were succulent Beds comfortable and the rooms gives u that "lay down & relax feeling " the moment you step into it,I wish I had booked for more than just 3 nights.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff at the hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    RE bookings.com: I arrived at the hotel without a booking. Under very personal conditions I had nowhere to go and have been at this hotel before. This time tho it was insanely expensive. The gentleman at reception help me get a booking for 2 nights.m through bookings.com. After i had paid a friend called abd said i could stay with them. Could not have been 10 minutes later. When i went back to the reception for a refund they said they could only refund 1 night and not both. I feel like bookings.com should have at least a grace period to allow forcsuch situations. I will not be using Bookings.com again.

    Friendly and helpful staff at the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Good Location & Bad Housekeeping!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    towels were yellow, even the new clean ones WiFi is terrible Staff are not up to the name of Marriott from performance and focus specially the front desk people

    Location is good Room is good fitted

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    Bed very comfortable, big room, nice desk, clean bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited internet capacity, and even that not always available. It took more than a day to get a European plug adapter. Breakfast overprised for those used to have small continental European breakfast. No toilet brush.

    Bed very comfortable, big room, nice desk, clean bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    warm well come, very polite and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the expensive rate of the breakfast the wi fi is limited

    warm well come, very polite and helpful staff the location and the shuttle to the water front

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    We stayed in the loft rooms as we had stayed in them some 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loft Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the loft rooms as we had stayed in them some 4 years ago. They are lovely and spacious with a lounge and kitchen area. I would definitely recommend them. The location is within walking distance to the V & A Waterfront and the hotel also supply a free shuttle there and back on a first come first serve basis. Loved it and will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    Disturbed sleep in an 'office' rather than a hotel room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not well designed, the rooms are not sound proof at all. There is a useless large desk in the middle of the room with the hair dryer plugged under the desk. The hair dryer cannot be moved and is nowhere near a mirror. No vanity station either.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Complete Rip Off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV and WiFi were not working. No one bothered to inform us why they were not working. When we phoned the reception to enquire, the lady who answered the phone was extremely rude and not helpful. On check out day we asked for late check out but when we returned to the hotel after the race, the room was locked. The receptionist activated the key and confirmed that we had requested late check out but the room had been cleaned etc. For they rate the hotel charges per night, it was a complete rip off:(

    The room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    Has potential. Not there yet !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly at reception. Had to ask 3 times if we would get an additional bath towel. Not to bothered. Don't know where this Marriott part fits into as it's def not a Marriott standard. We travel throughout Europe and stay at Marriott this is not one!!

    Clean rooms. Comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Good location, nice property in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loft stairs are very noisy, you can even wake up because the people in the rooms next to you are using them

    Good location, nice property in general

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Room lovely and spacious, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like a bar fridge in the room which is useful when traveling for personal food needs

    Room lovely and spacious, very clean. Staff very polite and helpful and patient! Restaurant provided good quality food and good variety.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Too short but Sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor we stayed on was non-smoking however i could smell smoke every night when entering the floor.

    The Room was clean and the service and friendlyness of the staff. The Hotel is really nice and located in the heart of the city so easy access to everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    great location and reasonable property with poor management
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi not working in this hotel !! bed is uncomfortable and pillows not good , staff is pushing at the entrance to take taxi .

    location , clean , friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close location to attractions shopping and good restaurants. Food at hotel was excellent and staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Felt out of place and stared at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I'm 6'2. The mattress was too short. There seemed to be lots of people in business attire. ie long pants and nice shirt. I was on vacation and was in shorts and a tshirt. I felt as if I was stared at every time I came in.

    Steak in the restaruunte was horrible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Loved the bed - so comfortable
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was poor for a superior priced room. I specifically asked for a nice view . That we had to pay R390 for two breakfasts when we had a bowl of porridge and a cup of coffee

    Loved the bed - so comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.7
    Satisfactory
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trash can in bathroom had not been cleaned!rubber gloves & cleaning material left in trash can (photographs available if required).

    Location was what I required.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location to explore Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only issue is that there were no visible marketing in the room to inform guests about the water crisis in Cape Town, and to request for water to be used sparingly. Please rectify this soonest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.8
    Great Stay in Capetown!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    Nice clean Hotel in a good reasonable location. Not far from the V&A Waterfront. The Check in staff were excellent. The Breakfast was Luxurious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place in CT
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Breakfast was good but expensive - Service and Staff perfect - Rooms amazing - Special Thanks to Shandre at the Bar - she made me feel like home !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    Our lovely stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction in Cape Town
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish it was very clear upon booking that the amount excluded breakfast like some other hotels do. I booked assuming breakfast was included. Also I had brought our swimming costumes, though the water problem is beyond their control, we were disappointed not to use the pool facility I wish they have bar fridges in the rooms

    On my initial booking I did not indicate that we were staying with our 3 year old daughter. Upon request of a cot and bath, the staff swiftly secured us another comfortable room. Our returning boarding tickets were printed and swiftly by Siyanda and he brought them to our room. That was awesome service and room service at evening replenishing coffee/ tea supply was very lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    5.8
    The location was great and proximity to the places I had in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception from the hotel employees could have been a lot warmer. However the location was great for my trip. Very accessible and convenient.

    The location was great and proximity to the places I had in mind to visit worked well for me.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) Rooms next to Somerset Street is not soundproof but when you switch the aircon on it help to soundproof outside noise. 2) Currently the swimingpool is closed due to drought in the area 3) The closet is a bit small to store suitcases

    1) Hotel is near the Waterfront 2) Beds is very comfortable. 3) Its located at a MyCity bus stop called Gallow Hills make it easy to reach by the My City bus from the airport. 4) The ipod docking station is great if you have an old IPHONE4 (newer iphones uses lightning adaptors)(if you travel with a newer model Iphone take and old to new adaptor along) 5) The writing desk is very comfortable 6) The look and feel in the room is great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    We loved our stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lack of service when it comes to the staff in the dining and bar area.

    We were upgraded to a loft which was great. The rooms are nice and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Overall very lovely experience , its was my first Protea hotel stay, and I enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was terrible, and to make matters worse u have to pay for it.

    The service as absolutely amazing, the gentle who welcomed us at reception was brilliant , oh and Bonolo at the bar , superb servicce

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor carpets were not clean. The services of the rental car company linked to the hotel was terrible. We missed our flight because of their delay and i have not received the refund for the rented car

    Breakfast was good especially on Saturday

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    Great location and very trendy feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service breakfast was a little disappointing - bread not toasted (we had toaster in room luckily) and no butter. Poached eggs overdone and all just lukewarm.

    Lovely spacious loft room !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.1
    Main plus was location close to V&A Waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedding always had a damp feel to it and certain members of the reception staff could do with some training in how to speak to customers.

    Main plus was location close to V&A Waterfront. Rooms were OK and breakfast buffet was very good. Basement car park for security and keeping the car cool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent discovery for a premium Cape Town stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I missed having a bar fridge in the room. Unusual for a hotel of this grade?

    very convenient and easily accessible location, modern and well appointed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    The bedrooms are lovely and the cocktails nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited at the Victoria and Albert Waterfront to be picked up at the designated time for the free shuttle. It did not turn up. We jumped a taxi which was easy but we wasted 25 min waiting for the shuttle.

    The bedrooms are lovely and the cocktails nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.1
    If convenience of location is your main priority then this is a good option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very slow to respond to requests, the rooms were noisy, and the towels and toiletries were not of a high standard.

    The location was very convenient, the beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.9
    Needs to be renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old type noisy and poorly regulated air conditioning. Very poor wi-fi access and you must pay for you traffic after first free 500MB.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    5.8
    Hotel beautiful. Location great. Service need improvement
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited 45 minutes to check in . Room wasn't ready at check in. Waited in the bar area as requested by front counter staff to call . They did not come at all . I had to go back to the ask .

    Location is good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.8
    Likeit a lot, will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast expensive like on all other Marriot Hotels I've stayed on

    Fantastic design, like an old factory. The room with two floors and a view of the harbour was fantastic. Nice with minikitchen so we could make our own breakfast. Short walk to grocery stores, restaurants and V&A Waterfront with all the shops and harbour with many possibilities for sightseeing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.8
    Close to waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit impersonal, but it is a fairly large hotel.

    It was fairly close to the Waterfront where we went regularly to eat, although walking at night was not recommended. We could walk to a couple local shops and coffee houses.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to put clothes if staying more than 1 night . no drawers in room at all. Hair dryer under desk and you have to sit on the desk to see into a mirror.

    Bed was good,thought room was clean till found cockroach beside bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    There are better options in Cape Town. I would not book again this hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wi-Fi connection is a lost case, no more than three devices are allowed connect. The connection procedures is complicated, takes ages, Then even before finishing updating my phone applications I run out of connection and credit. I never use the Wi-Fi connection.

    Breakfast was never offered or mentioned upon arrival. Despite I had copy of my confirmed booking including Ref. number I was waiting quiet long for the receptionist to crosscheck and give the key of the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    We have stayed at this hotel before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wished to have the breakfast plan included in the price of the hotel. Since the figure that Booking included was in terms of rands , I did not realize that the plan was not included until I checked out. There was an additional charge of 990 rand added to my account. I was not pleased.

    We have stayed at this hotel before. It was a pleasure to be back again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.5
    Great location but they could have done better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests are given 500mb of wifi to use but during our 3 day stay we could not access the wifi as the process was so complicated. I heard other guests having problems with the wifi as well. Considering the location we didn't have a nice view and looked onto a parking lot.

    The location is great and really close to the waterfront. The beds were comfortable and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    8.8
    Grease
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The look and feel of the restaurant, just needs a bit more upbeat feel considering rest of hotel is great!. The fact the shower took ages to get to a warm temperature on turning on, but did get there!.

    The facilities within our room. The friendliness of all of the staff and how happy they were. The price of food and drink at the bar. Location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.3
    You can walk to the waterfront from there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both lifts not working, swimming pool poor, smoking facilities poor, breakfast very expensive.

    Not a lot. A lot better value for money out there, would not stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.1
    Staff were very customer orientated and helped us with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome letter was for someone else.... and I didn't get the room that I booked. I booked for a queen room and got 2 single beds.

    Staff were very customer orientated and helped us with booking local attractions

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Perfect position, very close to the VA water front. Parking lot is adequate. Room space is enough, with a small balcony. Even by the street is still quite.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in the heart of Capetown
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Paid parking Limited Internet Our room faced the main road which is very noisy.

    Excellent Location in a modern hotel with all we needed for our stay. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: