Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers 4 stars

Corner of Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo, Melrose, 2116 Johannesburg, South Africa

#35 of 90 hotels in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 756 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    This was my second time staying at this hotel and other than the soup, excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service was horrible. I ordered broccoli and Cauliflower soup, on presentation it was some grey salty goo served with an over microwaved sweet bread. Horrible. I was charged nearly R70, I paid a R100 and my change was never returned.

    My room was comfortable and quiet. I enjoyed the view of the bowling green.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Favorite place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning personal is a little bit loud early in the morning already.

    The staff is very friendly, hospital and helpful. Late check out was not a problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellence = Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff working in the room service were fantastic and very professional! The Reception staff were very friendly and efficient. Checking out was a breeze! They went the extra mile, having left our luggage in storage they delivered our luggage to the Wanderers Club to avoid us getting wet! That is service that makes you want to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay and the safe surroundings. The gardens are beautiful and green. We used the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress of the double bed was very wobbly. We will choose 2 single beds next time. The gardens are well kept but I wish they would cut and remove the old leaves of the palm trees to give it a new and modern look.

    The Shuttle service was very convenient and we appreciated the most. The hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    I like the hotel, largely for its location - I'm a cricket fan!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was the second Marriott Hotel I had stayed at within three weeks - and in both cases my points were not added to the Rewards scheme - despite my checking on departure that my membership number had been added on to the bill. There really is no point trying to build up rewards and loyalty if the customer has to do hours of work tracing old bills in order to prove that he actually stayed there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    goof
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed extra soft. Staff kind after the indicated that booking through book .com didn't let them provide room for me . But this sue was soorted

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable. The quality of your wi-Fi signal is poor not sure if you have fibre installed?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely poor quality of lamb chops on my second night room service. NO meat, tough, hard gristle very very disappointing compared to the night before. Complete waste of money! You also need to include a nut milk like almond milk for people that are lactose intolerant. This needs to be on offer at the bar as well for coffees and teas. You should add smoked salmon to your continental breakfast, not everyone enjoys roll mops.

    Vegetable selection available on Continental breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfy Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food took long, occasionally, in the restaurant and was a tad bland. I overheard at checkout that there was a courtesy bus service to shopping centres. This would hv been handy info at check in.

    The room was very comfy and clean. The staff were friendly and humourous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    The rooms are standard, quite nice, but not quite luxury...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was somewhat disappointed at a couple of things. I was surprised there wouldn't be an ATM in the hotel and would have to go a couple of kilometres to go to one. Also, the laundry service was impractical. If you go to reception at 11am, you wouldn't get your laundry back until 7pm the following day, which I think is way too slow. I had no warning of this. Finally, the two nights I stayed the house maids came in hours before the 11am checkout. Surely, they don't need to tidy to change the sheets for new customers until after customers leave.

    The rooms are standard, quite nice, but not quite luxury either. The restaurant downstairs was quite affordable that was a bonus, and the location was great for attending the cricket at the Wanderers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.0
    The fact that I couldn't charge my room service meal to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that I couldn't charge my room service meal to my room account. 3 phone calls later and some guy came my room with a cr card machine. Odd

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Would have no hesitation in staying at a Protea /Marriot hotel when I next come to SA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was all good.

    I thought the choice at breakfast was exceptional probably the best I have experienced. Staff were always engaging pity that SAA staff were at the opposite end of the barometer. It was so convenient to the Wanderers where I spent the first two days of my stay. Special regards to the reception staff especially Cherie and Bella. Yes an excellent stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was convenient and we found the staff helpful -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cobblestones were not particularly wheelchair friendly!! A more accessible range of brochures regarding Johannesburg attractions would have been helpful.

    The hotel was convenient and we found the staff helpful - especially Priscilla who did everything she could to help us, given that my wife was in great pain and in need of a wheelchair. All staff were extremely courteous. Some were a little vague about the services offered at Reception and in the foyer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    The place is good enough to relax and being away from the people. Not recommended for exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location is a far from anything you want to do in Johannesburg except some malls like Sundton mall. The complements tools as the water boler is very very dirty

    Staff are friendly, the place is good to relax for 2 days

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful hotel, always stay here for work because it is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please don't spam me over email until I answer your questionnaire. Thanks.

    Wonderful hotel, always stay here for work because it is close to my daughter. Will be back time and time again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    pleasant and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could have indicated it was a non smoking room when I said my preference was for a smoking room. Did not appreciate that I was only told upon arrival when I made my booking in advance and requested a smoking room

    Location and shuttle service was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Within one month we've stayed here three times.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Within one month we've stayed here three times. And guess why? Because it was love from the first sight! The area is amazing, the lobby is fantastic, the restaurant with its meals is just beyond, and rooms of course are very nice! The staff there is extremely helpful and friendly! We also liked daily shuttles to different places in town. So much grateful for our experience with this place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.0
    Good location, not a pleasant stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception personnel extremely slow. Took half an hour to check in at 20:30 at night. Chatting the whole time to eachother and answering phones. Doing 10 things at the same time with the results of nothing getting done. Room was extremely noisy, other rooms taking bath in middle of the night you could hear. And to top it of on Sunday morning 07:00 room service comes knocking at your door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing. They are charging 4-star prices and giving 1-star service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had used their laundry service to give some of my clothes for laundry. One of my trousers came back torn, but the hotel refused to do anything about it, and didn't even compensate me for the torn trouser.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Location superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOCATION was superb, especially for the cricket we attended. Luckily we had parking in the basement due to cricket match. Spacious bathroom with clean towels. Room suited us in size of bed and "working" table. We however only had one coffee packet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the magnificent wanderers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    See the possibility of adding toothbrush and toothpaste in the toiletries list replenishment

    We liked the varieties of fruits, juice and the breakfast was excellent. They have apples of superior quality and taste. We liked the idea of placing a fresh apple everytime they make our room, although they missed one day. Coffee pressing machine a great idea for coffee lovers!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    The bed was super comfy, the TV had more stations than most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i cant think of anything we didnt like ! other than i think breakfast was a bit expensive at R200 a head

    The bed was super comfy, the TV had more stations than most hotels offer , shower was excellent, even the apple in the room was crunchy ☺

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived very late on Sunday evening, the receptionist informed me that my booking had been cancelled because I did not confirm the booking. I made the booking earlier the week and went away to an area with no internet access until Sunday evening. This news shocked me late on Sunday evening and made for a restless night, even though I was checked in later.

    Friendly staff and great food. Very good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Linen in room was disgusting. Bedsheets etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at Resturant we’re not so friendly, especially when asking for swimming towels. Swimming pool was drained on saturday so no swimming. Linen is bedroom was disgusting. Dirty and stained. -

    Location was good and staff at Check in were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay. It was very peaceful.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one rude lady at housekeeping.and the parking was dirty of leaves, they were all over my windscreen.

    The staff at reception were very welcoming.the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant but spoilt by poor reception service on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is not good or their booking & payment system is in adequate. We were arriving very late on our flight from Europe, hence my sister paid for our rooms before our arrival. On arrival at midnight, the reception informed us that our room was no longer available and they made us book and pay for two additional rooms.

    The beds are comfortable and the children used the pool, which was pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Excellent stay and would go back again when next in SA.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can not comment as whatever we wanted was good

    All aspects our stay were fully satisfied during the 5 days we were at the hotel and we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Convenient, comfortable overnight / weekend stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower head was leaking at joint. Air conditioner was not working properly which resulted in a moderately uncomfortable temperature in which to sleep.

    Conveniently situated for our needs. Friendly reception staff. Comfortable clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.0
    Excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent, the only challenge was that, Booking.com did not disclose that the offer did not include breakfast and I enquired they did not reply.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Great hotel, but has room to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff must be better trained. While not unfriendly, there were numerous instances where information given by one staff member at reception was later proven incorrect or contradicted by another. Also, on one instance, after arriving back at our hotel, following a morning and early afternoon on tour, we were woken during a nap by the sound of our bedroom door closing. We found out that the cleaning crew had yet to have placed towels in our bathroom and walked into our room at 04h00pm to do this.

    The hotel is quite is lovely, in the sense that its decoration is simple yet inviting, and is very well lit with lots of natural light. The room we stayed in was incredibly comfortable and provided all the amenities that are to be expected of a four start hotel. The food at the hotel restaurant was exquisite, so much so that we didn't venture out for dinner on any of the nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and efficient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of the restaurant food was a little dissapointing. Breakfast in particular was rather expensive for what one gets.

    The staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Definitely recommended in Johannesburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideally would have wanted a double bed instead of two single beds but that's not too much of a worry. Not much to dislike about the place.

    The location is right next to the Wanderers stadium and golf club and is also very close to Melrose Arch and Rosebank which are two well known malls. The staff was courteous and the interest is very good. The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean with a neat desk for work. They also have a travel desk for transfers and city tours.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    A chill out place with lovely restaurant food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You couldn't really walk out of the grounds, but had to rely on taxi or courtesy bus.

    Courtesy bus into the shopping malls/restaurants around the area - 3 choices of malls. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Country Club opposite which had a restaurant/bar open to public.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Nice little hotel. Lots of privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were terrible still got a sore neck.

    The service was excellent. Great value for money . The food was very good, not too much veriaty though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money, not a great location for wandering
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area is not a safe place to wander. Melrose Arch is a much better spot if you want to be able to freely walk to nice restaurants in the area. Airport is a bit far, and car services are expensive.

    Good value for the money, especially using Booking.com Genius discount. Even though surrounding area is not necessarily safe, the hotel is very safe. No worries on the hotel property. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    To be honest , i am a little bit be disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the worst hotel restaurant i've ever been. We talked with the chief ,and the good part is that they agree not to charge us for over-cooked spaghetti.

    The staff is really helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful environment close to Sandton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, efficient staff. Great restaurant with a comfortable patio and pleasant view of the grounds. Hard to believe you are in the middle of the city!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    My stay was great,happy team at reception was welcomed with a big smile as well as send off.Keep up
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can your house keeping team come around at checking out time ,as its disturbing if u'll be leaving at 11 and at 09h00 someone is knocking at your door already. If u staying for extra days its understandable if they coming to change its routine .And no one is always on clock to remember oh do not disturb sign! At reception they know who checked out that's where they should start.

    Never had time for breakfast ,sorry

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Great, with a few shuttle glitches.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor communication of the receptionists when I requested for the hotel shuttle. On three separate occasions, they mislead me with information that clashed with how the drivers operate and I ended up stranded and delayed.

    The courtesy and professionalism of your shuttle drivers. They would appease me and apologise for the misinformation from the hotel reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they failed to keep my appointment whenchecking out. Almost missed the flught as a result. This was notwithstanding a confirmed booking the night b4

    Shower, beddings, free shuttles to the Malls

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel and clean and smelled good rooms were nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area is a little small

    Very nice hotel and clean and smelled good rooms were nice and clean including the toilet which for me is something that needs to be clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location... and apples!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym is located in the parking basement, which I found a little off-putting. But the Planet Fitness nearby is excellent, though pricey for a short stay.

    The location is excellent and efficient service. Close to Melrose Arch. Not too far from central Johannesburg if you have work that side

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    Frustrating to sort out the payment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They would not accept your guarantee of payment and forced me to a direct payment otherwise I would forfeit my booking. Numerous phone calls and emails.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Exellent location. Outstanding on-site private shuttle servjce. Highly recommend thjs hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was our room was too cold and we could not get the temperature up.

    The on-site shuttle service was excellent and very convenient. The airport pick up driver was very professional and was very patient and sensitive to our issue regarding a lost bag in baggage claim. The tour driver Phineas worked a miracle tour of all the sights we wanted to see during our very short stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.5
    A place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like idea of one apple and one bottle of water whereas i booked for two. In the instances where is couple in a room let everything be for two people instead of one person.

    The bed was superlative and I liked the Apple theme

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Good quality hotel very close to Wanderer's Club
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eggs at breakfast a bit greasy. Restaurant food expensive and not that good. Wine by the glass very expensive compared with similar hotels.

    Staff very friendly. Bar snack was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived to a room inadequately prepared - previous occupant's half eaten chocolate bar and bottle of water, used bar of soap and toothpaste tube not cleared away. Housekeeping responded immediately but the soap and toothpaste weren't disposed of. The kettle wasn't working either and turned out to have been unplugged from awkwardly situated socket. Possibly a training issue in room preparation.

    Comfortable rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Main reason for me selecting the hotel was their recommended...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Main reason for me selecting the hotel was their recommended gym facility. None of the members of staff knew the correct times and it puzzles me why the gym is not open 24/7. Opening at 9am on a Sunday is nonsensical.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel Excellent Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not informed at reception on arrival that all room service cannot be signed off onto the room billing but must be paid for on the spot. I found this to be extremely inconvenient and annoying.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Ambiance of the building is awesome!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    ALWAYS A PLEASURE TO RETURN TO THE PROTEA WANDERERS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I/we stay at this hotel often. Probably the only "complaint" is the cost of breakfast. We no longer eat breakfast at the hotel (despite its high quality) because it is so much more reasonable to eat at the adjacent Wanderers Club.

    Always enjoy the friendly and helpful staff. Close proximity to Sandton City/Nelson Mandela Square - and enjoy using the facilities of the Wanderers Club

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    the staff are willing and soooo helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff are willing and soooo helpful. a particular mention of the check in and reception staff were soo friendly and made us feel at home from the time we got there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Delivered more than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV channels and tea making supplies limited.

    Staff incredibly friendly. Room layout excellent. Full length bath and power shower a treat. Kingsize bed really comfortable. Shopping shuttle bus a real perk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.7
    Terrible staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very poor - couldn't advise on where to find towels for hotel swimming pool. Directed to 3 different areas and palmed off at all three. Very disappointed.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.4
    What a disappointment!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My accommodation was more expensive that my other colleagues who were attending the same conference at the Wanderers club as myself by R300. They justified it by saying it was because I had booked on line (!) My colleagues rate also included breakfast - mine did not. When I queried my rate the hotel manager she was were extremely unhelpful and didn't even try to settle my grievance over the rate with a complimentary breakfast. As a consequence of the way in which my query was handled I will hesitate to stay at a Protea hotel again.

    Not much about the hotel other than the location. To charge R58 at the bar for a gin and small tonic water is just a rip off!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.3
    Illovo Protea Wanderers Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    The openess and spaciousness of the room. The cleanliness and quietness of the place stood out for me. And most importantly the red apple concept, it encourages healthly and good living. The apples are delicious amd very filling. The shuttle drive Thomas and the night shift did an amazing job of transporting and arranging uber pickups for me.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arranged for 2 single beds since I booked a double room with a business colleague. The room was standard with queen bed. I also asked for a shuttle from gautrain station, this was not booked on the day I arrived.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    5.0
    fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DSTV package was very poor not suitable for tourists and the room was so crowded. No air freshener in the toilet.

    quiet and more relaxing environment at the hotel in general

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Family vacay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Toilet seat was not aligned well. Desk in the room was a bit wobbly.

    The room was just perfect for my husband and 18 month old son. The fact that the bathroom had a shower and bath tub was a bonus. Facilities in the room 10/10. Room service 10/10. Had dinner in the Restaurant and attention to detail was 10/10. Breakfast was also quite a big spread. Hotel foyer always had a beautiful fresh perfumed scent. Location was convenient. I would readily book in again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    3.8
    I'm still waiting for someone to call
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm still waiting for someone to phone my because the wifi was not working and the tv was not working and we had to have the person work on the tv for an hour. And it was stil not fixed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    5.4
    Not Worth the Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They run a shuttle service which is erratic, disorganized and unpunctual. Since this is the safest way to get around to the malls, it's unfortunate that it is so unreliable. The food at the restaurant took a long time to be served.

    The food at the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.3
    It took so long for them to clean our room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It took so long for them to clean our room and bathroom. We want out and came back at the end of the day and the room wasn't cleaned. We had to call for housekeeping to come and clean it while we waited.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Stylish hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was modern and clean with a very comfortable bed. The service was excellent, the hotel exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    Familiar Territory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was slow to answer , rooms took too long to make up, continental breakfast at R185 was sub standard and to channels were insufficient considering the to guide is located next to the tv yet only a few channels are available and no movies to purchase and view

    The staff were friendly , Jacob the doorman who I have known since my first stay in 2003 was as professional and welcoming as usual

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    Good choice for Rosebank and surrounding areas.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few things were a little flakey such as plugpoints failed for a while and the iron I borrowed from housekeeping leaked then died.

    Location great for me, lots of parking and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    6.3
    Fair but dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave a couple a twin room, only one glass between us, the sheets weren't changed when they had marks on them.

    Friendly staff, good location available to local areas with a shuttle you can use which is handy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Great stay great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for a quiet room which means that it is not road facing. This is significant as it was a leisure trip and we wanted to sleep in late. This was not provided. Besides for that, it exceeded expectations.

    This is a fantastic hotel with expectations exceeded.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.5
    A GOOD SPORT
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking-in is indicated as from 14:00. When we arrived at 15:00 the room was still not cleaned. We asked for a double bed in the room but there was two single beds.

    View and location especially if you into cricket and other ball sports.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    3.8
    Didn't get what we paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked two standard, twin, non-smoking rooms well in advance. Got two smoking rooms where the beds had to be separated. Staff were of no help and said it was that or nothing. Since the booking rate required payment up front/no cancellations, the hotel basically forced us to take a smoking room where we had specified and paid for something different!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wishes I could've stayed longer

    The staff was friendly. The shuttle driver was a jolly fellow. Interacted with passengers in a professional and friendly manner

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    6.7
    Helpful, efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture around pool area (deck chairs ) are unhygienic, ugly, and impractical. Furniture in room needed some renovation. Bathroom floor has a leak of water of undetermined source

    Helpful, efficient staff. Quiet rooms (if not overlooking the roads)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    The most children friendly Protea in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That our stay was just one day...

    The first Protea I had visited with a proper Disney Channel for the kids. The staff,from reception to the dining hall, goes an extra mile and the breakfast is very adequate, sometimes too much variety is a turn-off.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.1
    Great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms need a little more attention to detail. the toilet had a constant leak which I had to keep fixing to stop the dripping sound while you sleep at night & some of the bathroom fittings could do with a change. they are old and had their time! the

    It was a great location and close to most of the shopping malls and business parks. The room was clean and spacious, bed was really comfortable and I would definitely recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    A great central hotel with good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shampoo or conditioner in our room when we first went in. Apparently a delivery was expected later that day and the problem was resolved

    The bed was extra comfortable and the room was a good size. When we asked to change to a better view there was no problem and it was dealt with efficiently. Staff very helpful and efficient Had dinner one night at the bar and it was tasty

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Perfect location for cricket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for the cricket. The hotel also offers a free shuttle to Sandton. A huge thank you to the reception staff who were extremely helpful even to the extent of getting me a ticket for a sold out cricket match. Many thanks, Priscilla!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    6.7
    The cafe was nice with cheerful waiters.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager stayed at the back with no effort in trying to fix the problem that had occurred through their system. The front desk people tried their best to help but the manager had difficulty to move out of her precious place.

    The cafe was nice with cheerful waiters.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    5.4
    Fine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every single time I book for a double bed and for some unknown reason I get given two single beds. Was planning to use this hotel for my stay for the next two years but for this reason I will be looking for another one

    The wifi which is fast and reliable

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: