Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pumula Lodge 4 stars

7 Lindsay Street, Hunter's Home, Hunter's Home, 6570 Knysna, South Africa

#34 of 79 B&Bs and Inns in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 60 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room spacious bathroom spacious, balcony opening to fresh air, cleanness , garden neat, clean and very large , the trees around. it was alive and refreshing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although not the fault of the owners - somebody took our beers from the common fridge grrrr.

    Highly recommended! Great breakfast, very clean rooms, beds and pillows VERY comfortable - we slept like babies,good recommendations of owners wrt things to do in the area, nice garden and pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a nice little B and B with a beautifull garden containing a clean pool and a BBQ place. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacey. From the balcony we had a nice view over the garden. The Hosts and the staff were nice as well and gave us some good tips, where to go and what to do in the area. We can fully recommend this Bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    I unfortunately arrived very late and left very early. It's beautiful. Rensia went went through a lot of trouble leaving keys for with amazing instructions. Breakfast was lovely which was also a special request for earlier service. All done with a smile. My glasses somehow stayed behind and I got phoned as soon as it was discovered. Definitely my new business stay over.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have a little more indoor common space to sit and read a book. However, plenty of outdoor space as long as the weather is nice.

    Neat and well-kept hotel lodge - Room small but suitably laid out overlooking a spacious backyard and pool - Private bathroom with traditional accommodations for a hotel - Private parking open and workable although on a downward sloping hill - Wifi average for the area (2-3mbps, slower in evening as is typical)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and I loved to stay at Pumula Lodge. It's a peaceful place, very clean. Rensia is a great hostess, very kind and helpful. We have no words to say how grateful we are. Thank you Rensia, for everything. We wish you the best.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt so welcome, Peter and Rensia make such an effort, they greet you by name and are incredibly helpful. A beautiful homely touch whilst being on holiday.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too tight and tv very small. We thought we could cook in the kitchen. The write up is misleading

    Very friendly people. Good breakfast. Nice garden area and pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly and welcoming owners. Lovely bright room with large balcony. Delightful swimming pool area in which to relax. The garden full of interesting birds. Sumptuous breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great B&B perfectly located in a nice quite area only 8 minutes drive to all the restaurants. The owners are very welcoming and serve a great breakfast. We liked the calmness of the location, with many birds in the beautiful garden. We loved our stay and would definitly recommend it when visiting Knysna kind regards Frederik and Romy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than a leaky shower pan I could not fault the guest lodge.

    Beautiful tranquil setting. Each room has a little balcony which overlooks a sprawling garden and rim flow pool. Lovely country getaway feel. Nice and quiet. Rooms spotless. Piet tge owner/operator went out of his way to organise an early breakfast for me.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    tv. channels.

    braai area. breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thin walls between rooms

    The friendly welcome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful hosts. Comfortable room with pleasant balcony and birdwatching

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the homely feel and I felt so welcome!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The garden

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, mattress was a bit not comfortable.

    The braai area with the pool side. Balcony of the room, beautiful.The hospitality was awesome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were made to feel very welcome and the breakfast and accommodation were excellent - Pumula will be our go to place when we are in Knysna again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More TV options would be nice. Water pressure in the shower was very poor.

    Close to all areas within Knysna. Welcoming staff-kind and polite. Clean and well kept with daily room service. Room had a beautiful view of the garden.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. We slept on two single beds which was not ideal. 2. Lots of noise in the afternoon.

    Accommodation was beautiful and Rensia was very accommodating!👋

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This little hotel is placed in a peaceful area. The house is very beautiful and the garden and pool are amazing. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and it was a great pleasure to sit on the balcony and enjoy the vastness of the garden. Resnia was very helpful on advising where to go, where to eat and what to see. Rooms were beautiful and cosy. Highly recommended !!!

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    I loved how peaceful it was. The owner was so lovely and helpful, she booked a restaurant for me on recommendation. The whole establishment is spotless and breakfast was lovely. Would def go stay again.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly manager, very helpful with arranging dinner reservations and helping us find activities to do. Room was nice and a cosy balkony overlooking the garden. Garden and poolarea was nice, unfortunately did it rain the day we stayed there tho so we didn't get to enjoy the pool. Breakfast was fresh and good. Location good, a short drive to the city center. We would love to stay there again if we come back. /Therese & Mikael, Sweden

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I do not like it when we would find staff in the rooms cleaning. perhaps they could communicate the times and ways that we could indicate when they can enter the rooms.

    The staff were very pleasant and informative. The location is very beautiful and relaxing. The generous breakfast is very tasty.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hosts Rensia & Peter, felt really welcome. A beautiful place, nice garden + bird-watching well organized. Rooms lovely with balcony and clean and well presented, our stay was so pleasurable the personal service and excellent breakfast offerings. Will stay there again and highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay was too short to dislike anything.

    Our stay was only overnight but from the time we were received on our arrival until we left the following morning we loved everything about our stay!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was virtually every facility (including access to kitchen area/fridge for guests) but for a long term stay like ours it lacked laundry/ironing which was a big no-no.

    Nothing was too much trouble for Reesia and Peter (as in I found the bed too hard and Reesia specially bought a topper to make it more comfortable)

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could not use the pool because the vacuum cleaner was in it all the time during the da The landlady kept coming to our room when we weren't in -to pool the curtains, to do the bed, etc. This was in addition to the cleaner coming in in the morning

    BBQ facilities The house and gardens are beautiful

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A friendly welcome and nice clean,comfortable rooms. Peaceful garden setting and nice small touches, like the bed turndown service in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room didn't reflect pictures on the site. Finishings outdated.

    Owner very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was a bit fickle.

    Great stay. AMAZING garden - even some birdwatching! Very relaxing and quiet environment.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Professional, Warm & inviting welcome. Very comfortable stay. Most enjoyable well prepared breakfast. Stunning setting & views.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were wonderful

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: