Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5 stars

Corner of Rivonia Road and Daisy Street, Sandton, 2010 Johannesburg, South Africa

#43 of 90 hotels in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1290 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic comfortable hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We actually stayed for 3 nights under 2 separate bookings (A 2-night booking and a 1 night booking) The location was fantastic, just a short walk from Sandton Gautrain station which was very good for us wanting to travel to other places like Pretoria. The concierge staff were very helpful in assisting us organise a tour to Soweto with a local company. The breakfast was excellent with lots of variety and healthy options on offer. Would certainly return in futrure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Satisfsctory
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of direction from staff or instructions to move around. Access items or give guidance throughout stay. For a 4 star hotel we expected more

    Comfort

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back definitely.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like having to pay for parking as always and we do need to train waitrons took to long to attend.

    Excellent stay as usual, and I'll keep coming back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Well located hotel giving good access to Johannesburg and OR Tambo airport whether by road or rail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tour I booked through the concierge was not actually booked. The hotel, in their defence, scrambled and came up with a solution which met our needs, tops marks for that effort

    Good location, big clean rooms, restaurant on site, room service available, gymnasium available, good proximity to Gautrain.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No visible support staff to direct enquiries to, only at reception. The lifts were slow, Concierge was slow and not attentive

    The business loung was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were clean and the gym was lovely.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in personnel weren't very helpful. This is despite the fact that we were a delegation of 5 visiting from Zimbabwe. Took over 30mins to check-in.

    The rooms were clean and the gym was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing hotel for the rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the main elevators was inoperable. One of the 2 pads to operate the elevator was broken on my floor. The safe wasn't working on arrival, but resolved quickly. Never got my requested wake up call. Duvet cover was open at bottom and pillowcase had a tear, not enough plugs.

    The location is very central to sandton. Overall layout of room was good and modern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, easy check-in, check-out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, easy check-in, check-out. Very comfortable, large room with a good view (19th floor). Sandton next by, either reachable afoot or by shuttle (every 15 minutes). All in all, got what I've expected from a Radisson.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice business type hotel with big rooms but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the night's accommodation when we turned up in Rand was significantly more than quoted in Pounds on the booking.com website. I am not sure I would have stayed if I had know it was going to be £30-50 more.

    Good location in Sandton. A 5-10 minute walk to Nelson Mandela Square but the hotel puts on a free shuttle bus to take you there and back. Room was huge. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    Location n staff were good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were items missing in bar fridge that i was subsequently charged for.this also happened to a coleague.so do check..my request for a shower seat was not met.guide book in room was in shreds.disturbance from guests after midnight.taps loose n turning around.no one answered phone in hotel for more than an hour.so frustating.its what u would expect in a 3 star.1egg 1 slice bread n cuppa tea cost 90rands.Expensive.

    Location n staff were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    1 night in jozi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having 2 pay for parking figured should be free seeing as we stayed the night. Sheets were torn and the bath water was luke warm not hot so had to take a quick bath.

    Breakfast, room service the room was clean and liked the fact that the mini bar was stacked with goodies as well. Otherwise the experience was lovely and the money worth it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Extremely satisfied!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was enormous. It was so good and not expensive at all. Room service was so fast and the food in the restaurant was amazing. Everyone was very nice and in all I was extremely satisfied.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Generally OK for the business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The room cleaning is OK but can be better especially for bathroom. - The hot water is not regular, sometimes you have to wait to get regular hot water. - The price of lunch and dinner is little bit expensive than outside restaurant prices nearby.

    + WiFi is strong and working properly in all areas of hotel. + The brakfast is good and has good options to choose. + The room cleaning is OK. + The room size is OK if you travel alone. + There is a well equipped gym that you can spend time. + The Turkish General Manager of hotel always keep in touch and in communication with all guests. You can see him at lunch tasting the food and ask about your feedback. He is highly professional manager. + The staff is smiling and mostly hospitable & kind for approaching guests. + The location is one of the best, near to Mandela Square for shopping and food options. + They have free shuttle options for nearby and Mandela Square with a time schedule. + The security is good and at high level. + They have lunch and dinner everyday. It is good if you do not want to go out of hotel or if you want to have the meals quickly. + The price is OK for Radisson Blu level.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Great Location, Great Breakfast and Awesome Fitness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room didn't have big towels when I arrived. They rectified that. Staff was a bit slow to help me out initially and transferred me around. My room was facing the hallway and I could here some noise coming from the bar below.

    Excellent Breakfast and as always the Planet Fitness gymnasium is world class. Location is a short walk from the Gautrain for the adventurous. I was able to check-in early and take a shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Weekend Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The ambience and everything was on point. One of the highlights was the complimentary surprise birthday cake for my partner. We really had an awesome week getaway, will definitely visit again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money 4/5
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle service is not good on time. Concierge staff are moody. You have yo pay for parking which is not good if staying at hotel.

    Rooms are a good size, good space. Bath and shower. Late check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely bed!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a better reception from staff at check in and a more complete orientation. We initially struggled to find the parking ticket pay station and couldn't find someone to ask without standing politely in the check in queue for an unnecessaryly prolonged amount of time.

    Lovely bed! Very clean. Quiet at night on the top floor. Good views over Sandton. Good food at Vivace in-house restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    My stay was a bucket list that i’ve Planned for over a decade with my best friends. Great Services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I could not stay longer.

    Great location! Friendly atmosphere and staff are always in tune to the customer needs. I had a wonderful and restful stay, and will definitely be back with my family:-) Peace and Blessings!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    My Radisson experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't impressed with vehicles that dropped of clients/ people at the hotel entrance and then spend time there; chatting making it impossible for other vehicles to pass.

    I liked the fact that the hotel provides a shuttle to the mall every 30minutes. Also it is very close to the mall. Very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic product and service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Security, comfort and location

    The security is second to none. Though if your room card fails to work and you are between lift and room (outside) you have to call for assistance to get to reception. Other than that top notch hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a problem with Pre-Authorization. I stayed at hotel from 6th of June to 8th of June. During check-in “Pre-Authorization reserved the fund from my credit card”(R 4.131,00) . During Check-out the hotel again I gave my credit card to make payment. (R 4.251,00) But, until now(19.06) this pre-Authorization amount didn’t cancelled from my credit card. “still pending operations” I called hotel and informed the people there. They told me that they will talk with Bank and send me the mail. Up to now, there is no feedback from their side. Hotel is a branch of Radisson Blu and it’s 5 Star. I believe that customer service should be at a better level.

    Breakfast was very good. There is also closed park area reachable from elevator.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Shower was weak.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was weak. No pressure. Shower door couldn’t open fully. Phone in room didn’t work properly. Remote didn’t work and took Management 2hr to fix/replace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    An okay hotel, but I expect more for the price and the chain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Parking - simply put it’s a shambles. Not possible to call and reserve a space as suggested. It’s first some first served, often full (then blocked off with minivans) and the entrance to the hotel becomes gridlocked. Pay each time you enter/leave, not just once off. 2) The staff do the job, but just not quite to the level you expect when paying this amount for a room. 3) Decor, it’s fine but getting ready for a revamp I hope. The room felt slightly dated.

    Fantastic gym with huge feee weight section and endless machines. Great bathroom with shower+tub. Overall you’ll get a decent enough night, but my expectations were higher given that it’s a Radisson Blu Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and rooms but not so good staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff need to learn mannerisms and how to talk/respect guests. There is no point of having great facilities when staff can spoil the experience with their attitude.

    Rooms were very comfortable. Also, the breakfast was great and the location of the hotel was good too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Beyond expectations - great work-out
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    + friendly, flexible staff + spacious, comfortable room + 3 stories high gym with 25 meter swimming pool + excellent kitchen + safe neighborhood, safe hotel + free shuttle to Gautrain which takes you to the airport in 15 minutes + no problem with early check-in and late check-out + good, fast enough free wi-fi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    My previous two stays ware super, but the third stay wont make us go back to the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist that checked us in that night was really judgmental and gave us a room that I believe even him wont stay in it. We were probably not dressed nice enough or we couldn't afford cause we booked online according to him, but then one individual just spoiled our stay.

    The hotel is very good, but our third and last stay was really disappointing and spoiled by a member at reception who really looked down on us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Paying for the parking lot everytime we went out, it would...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for the parking lot everytime we went out, it would be nice if you could add parking money on the account and give guests access card or something

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shuttle bus to Nelson Mandela square stopped running too early. At weekends the shuttle should run till midnight.

    room and Bed neat and comfy. Great location. Warm staff. Good place to stay at Sandton.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Good overall, but cleanliness details NEED work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Overall the place was very nice, but cleanliness details need work: the first time I sat down on the toilet I noticed opposite me a giant booger, complete with hair remaining in it, affixed to the wall opposite me. That's just, well, gross, and not something you want staff missing. Also, the business lounge upstairs always runs out of food before the posted times. Always. It's not a long dinner window posted: just 90 minutes. But every night I went people (all who had paid more for an upgraded room) showed up disappointed nearer to the end of service. Having enough of the tiny mini buffet to last 90 minutes when it is listed as a feature of the biz class room does not seem to be an unreasonable request.

    Good breakfast, nice gym, easy walking distance to Gautrain station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful place to stay in Standton (Johannesburg)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the bar is amplified by the courtyard design - the rooms facing in towards the courtyard can be quite noisy.

    The service was superb, the shuttle to Mandela Square was very convenient, and the fitness center was fabulous! A special thank you to Thomas and Andrew for making our stay most enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast ends by 10.30, which is not a problem. But the waiters could have informed guests that were already eating that they were about packing up at 10.30 so guests can pick any other item they still wanted to eat. Instead, guests that were eating just looked up and all the breakfast was gone.

    Very nice and comfortable room. Soft pillows. I particularly liked the fitness area. It was very well equipped with friendly trainers. It was an overall lovely experience staying here and I will recommend it to anyone visiting Sandton, Jo'burg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Second time. Even better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was slightly "underwhelmed" by the service in the restaurant, having to leave my seat to get hold of a waiter as some stage. I can, however, recommend the restaurant for its incredible view and good (albeit pricey) food.

    This is my second time I have stayed at a Radisson and I am as impressed as the first time. The exterior of the building is gorgeous. The interior of the building is even more beautiful. The elevators are awesome. Check-in was fast and friendly. The room is spacious and the view of Sandton city is absolutely wonderful. (I got a room on the 22nd floor). I would like to go back to enjoy the breakfast (which I didn't have time to do this time).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Seriously need to up there game on service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged R45 tray charge on top of room service prices for “in-room” breakfast and also brought a salmon steak instead of smoked salmon. It was cold and very unpleasant and even without the diabolical tray charge was overpriced.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    very nice hotel, comfortable rooms and good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was no problem at all during my stay.

    The security staff were extremely helpful - after checking out I found I had left something in the safe - they found and kept it for me - very much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    It okay for the price , breakfats in room terrible , all things un room is cheap and not 5*
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor could , everything is room is cheap , seems to me geust steel everything in hotel the way tjo gs are protected

    Only the location , close to Sandton

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Not as good as previous visits I will choose another hotel for future visits
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The attitude of the reception staff. The staff in the restaurant are too busy on their cell phones than picking up melon on the floor and the wait for getting eggs prepared is a unacceptable considering the breakfast seating was about 10% full.

    I was not charged the rate that was offered to me by Booking.com except for one night on check out I was informed y=that the hotel has a variable rate per night! Not according to my booking! I have a Raddisson card which should allow 10% discount on food and I am reliably informed by the Duty Manger that Breakfast is NOT food, That is news to me and I'm sure Trip Advisor will love that comment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    A relaxing night away, with a view to make you appreciate Joburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were charged to watch a movie in our room, and for other particulars, such as a charge for your tray when you want room service. That was unncessary.

    The bed was very comfy, and we liked how there were gym facilities and a spa in one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice chain hotel out of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception on 13th floor and having to change lifts for gym and exiting the hotel. Also had no reply to emails that I sent, prior to arrival

    Excellent gym and spa...on a par with Virgin Health

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    It felt like home away from home.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the breakfast wasn't included in the payment.

    The comfort and cleanliness after a busy day of meetings was a real pleasure. Will definitely come again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    RADISSON BLU DEFINITELY GAVE US A MEMORABLE FIRST ANNIVERSARY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    IF IT IS POSSIBLE TO OFFER CLIENTS A PILLOW MENU.

    THE BED WAS VERY COMFY.VIEW WAS INCREDIBLE, BATHROOM WAS SPOTLESS. WE HAD AN AWESOME EXPERIENCE SPENDING OUR FIRST ANNIVERSARY AT THE RADISSON BLU.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Good for business travel in excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay an extra R60 per day for parking which is slightly annoying.

    Location is very good, and everything is as you'd expect standards-wise from a good business stay hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Great facilities in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure that the room does not face the construction side. The Ventilators in that direction are extremely loud. The hotel has to do something about there card reader system. The cards are often not functioning. This is extremely bad if you are at the pool deck (8th floor) and nobody is there. The only way back to the lobby is down the emergency stairs. Why don’t you repair the Telefon or better allow access to the lobby floor without a card?

    The pool and gym are great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Awesome gym
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacks the service of the Gautrain Raddison, everything seemed to be a issue for the staff. But I wanted the gym! No attention to detail at this hotel.

    Awesome gym

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Was quite comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not at the standard of a "Radisson blu" hotel.. i stayed in the Radisson blu of Gauteng...but this one cannot be compared at all .. I was dissapointed ...when i reached the hotel and went in my room..

    Was quite comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.3
    Was pretty good just need to work on delivering a consistent approach around room service etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consistency on how the room was serviced (#towels, face washers etc). Room service on one day took our card to make the power work & also ate a chocolate that had been left from the previous nights turn down service...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    A very big disappointment !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t look at the reservation Didn’t know how many people we are Didn’t have enough towels for the shower and even after calling 30 min later we needed to go to the desk and asked for it (the day of arriving-at 9pm with a small kid). I asked for something for my husband 40 birthday (with payment) and it didn’t happen. The business lounge didn’t open on time in the morning-1 hour after.... The shatel didn’t work in the time as the hotel commitment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    It’s a nice location with an amazing gymn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was not regularly available at the pool and it took ages.

    It’s a nice location with an amazing gymn. U can easily spend the day in the hotel, which provides spa, pool and fitness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    The room size
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of entrance, could hear all the noise from the restaurant, bar and kitchen in room. Also got checked into a room with someone already in it - awkward! Also room service was very poor.

    The room size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Hi-Fi with no Wi-Fi
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi stopped working and no one could figure out where the router was to reboot...the entire IT is remotely supported.. Couldnt get any work done.

    The Rooms are spacious and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    I had a beautiful birthday weekend at the hotel with my partner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I could not order food while I was relaxing at the pool deck because there were no waiters by the bar. When I called the kitchen they refused to take my order saying they can’t deliver at the pool deck ☹️

    The bed in my room 😍

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.2
    The only two good things about this five star hotel are:...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel's interior is pretty dated, thick, old carpets, dimmed light, darker colors. The service is absolutely ot up-to-standard for a 5 star accommodation: unfriendly, confused, chaotic, shuttle not on-time (stranded at night in Sandton), not really helpful. Booked a room for two, the room was not prepared for two, but only for one person. Calling the reception two times to get it right (bathroom amenities, towels etc.) and in the end still not the right amount of towels. Room cleaning sub-standard: when arrived fat stains on the window, asked several times for getting that cleaned, did not happen. Overall strange and sub-standard room cleaning patterns, like putting used towels (from the floor) back on the rack, throwing the fresh blanket on the floor to change the sheets of the bed etc. Then several times a day service people in room, which bring water, close or open curtains, put mats on the floor - no recognizable pattern, just "something new" everyday, thereby just confusing the guests. Hand-held shower in the bathroom etc. Really, really not up-to-standard. Cannot recommend at all.

    The only two good things about this five star hotel are: nice views (on the upper floors) and a tasty breakfast - but then the breakfast and food in general is nearly everywhere tasty in ZA. Which leaves only one positive thing: the view. For a five star hotel that is not enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.4
    Overall the hotel is Ok but could do better with a little touch ups
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food not very tasty even the fruits were bitter some of the dishes were cold juices were bitter.

    I like the free wifi, room size, coffee facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.0
    Old hotel bad service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old. Service and restaurant for dinner are terrible - bar and hotel pool are dismal with staff openly ignoring the guests. Hotel taxi service is a way over priced

    Good location and WiFi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom scales didn’t work and the coffee machine could have done with instructions.

    Very comfortable. Excellent facilities. The breakfast selection was one of the best ever.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Good quality, convenient for business with amaxing gym
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee/ water in the room not refreshed consistently

    Access to Pkatinum gym in same building. Hotel very accommodating on early arrival from overnight flight. Quality, diverse breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.0
    Awful, old, needs a serious makeover - staff are average and unfriendly- not what you expect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty Lacking furniture Old curtains Smelly Postitutes allowed in reception( witnessed a business ex courting a postitute to his room at 10.30pm- staff turned a eye to it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.1
    Cheated!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They added a cost in my final bill which I didn't incur. This was after check-out officer asked me I used anything in the bar which i.repkied in the negative. Only for her to smuggle a cost of red wine which I didn't consume in the bill.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    The staff is terrible. They need to offer all of them hospitality training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason, I think this is the only hotel I’ve been and feel all the staff members weren’t nice and accommodating; concierge/reception, cleaners etc...

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in the breakfast room poor. Could do with WiFi at the ground floor. Enables communication when someone is waiting down there. More lighting on the 13th floor lobby- a bit claustrophobic during the day

    Very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Satisfying.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were billed for movies we did not rent. We were not in the building at the time it was claimed that we rented the films. This was then removed from our bill.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no teaspoons in the rooms. A towel was lying on the bedside floor. One of the towels was not clean. I suggest more cutlery at the dish up stations at breakfast. It was difficult to dish up things like jam, pesto etc without a spoon or butter without a spreading knife. I had to go back to the table to fetch some. It's no biggy, but one can expect from a 5 star hotel to have these simple things in place.

    The hotel is beautiful and the staff are excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    It was ok. Not Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was on the 21st Floor and still on my first night I could hear people screaming at 22h30 coming form dining area. The meals ordered from the restaurant were definitely below par compared to last month, very disappointing.

    The location and view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    My stay was event free. Excellent Service; value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Consiarge should keep traffic moving at the hotel entrance. My access was blocked a few times by double parked vehicles

    The Business Class Lounge and the Fitness Centre Excellent. Great panoramic views of Johannesburg from the 23rd floor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Good business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room cleaning was not consistent with towels and turn down service.

    The access to the gym was excellent benefit to this hotel. Hotel organised a conference room on short notice for a business meeting and was great service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is excellent gym is grubby and facilities don’t always work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym is not clean either !

    Itt seems lthat every time I stay the Sauna and Jacuzzi are not working and I’m told that they hardly ever do work. Why not get them properly fixed and not have one guy wirking and the other just lying on the bench in the sauna ! It’s an on going saga

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    Bedding crisp, beds comfortable and rooms clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered the peppered steak with gorgonzola potatoes for dinner. The cheese used was blue cheese but definitely not gorgonzola. This did not meet my expectation. The TV remote batteries seemed flattish. It was difficult navigating with it. The lifts were all out of order when I urgently had to leave to go to a meeting. I was staying on the 22nd floor and had to take the stairs down. Needless to say, I left the hotel to go to my meeting in a sweaty state...

    Bedding crisp, beds comfortable and rooms clean. I enjoyed access to the Planet Fitness Gym facility where I soaked in the Jacuzzi after a long day. The waitress that served me at dinner was very attentive, thoughtful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel, but could do much better for a 5 star rated hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not cleaned properly, this went on for my whole trip. Limited selection of foods at breakfast. Did not live up to the 5 star expectation.

    The in-house gym was awesome. Friendly concierge staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Great experience except the guy at the enterance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one of the ground/valet staff who was extremely rude and uncourteous and did not even assist in parking. He was making horrible faces all through out. He needs to be trained on the basics of hospitality. Unfortunately (or fortunately) we came across him right at the enterance prior to check in, post which everything was just perfect.

    Location and the we also got bumped up to the business class suite by the receptionist at the time of check in which was the best.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Nice experiece except for diner time, do not go there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant at dinnertime is managed very poorly. Three persons nearly constantly behind a computer terminal having very little focus on guests and cleaning the tables.

    Nice breakfast and great gym facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Large, well appointed rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, well appointed rooms. Very friendly staff who were attentive to small details. Also, the shuttle bus was very handy for getting around Sandton quickly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    NIce big room, great food at the restaurant, good sized pool...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double lift situation to get to your room is annoying - seems a little unnecessary, but hardly the hotel's fault! - Just poor architectural planning

    NIce big room, great food at the restaurant, good sized pool and deck for a drink in the evening

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    3.3
    DISAPPOINTING!! Get your act together please.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing. The allocated room was not made up to the surprise of the check-in staff. I had to carry my bags all the way to the room and back to reception, and had another room allocated. The new room was not up to scratch - used facecloth lying in the bathroom and at least five interruptions of staff to do various things in the room while I was working in the room. Waited for lunch in the restuarant and left after 20 minutes of waiting for service. Overall an extremely disappointing experience. Would have loved this to work as I frequently have to to travel to JHB for business and love this location. All this can be remedied with more attention to detail and more focus on the customer experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    average stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't acknowledge club carlson members, there is no one attending to the club carlson desk, they don't offer perks for members such as upgrades etc. Room service quality is below average.

    quick check in, nice big room, free wifi, quiet and peaceful hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Another great Radisson Blu hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm becoming a big fan of Radisson Blu hotels, and this one didn't disappoint. Unfortunately, we only stayed one night as Johannesburg was just a stopover for us, but the one night didn't disappoint. The staff were very helpful, going out of their way to help us with our tickets and flight arrangements. The view from our room was also spectacular. Like the one in Cape Town, breakfast was also a good reason to get up in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Was an excellent stay, will recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but by the third day eating the same thing wasn't. Maybe changing each day with different options will be good. Elevator doors close too quick. Bathroom shouldn't have a window into the bedroom.

    Service of staff friendly and accommodating Rooms were neat Facilities were good

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: