Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Red Mountain House 4 stars

Market Square, 9707 Clarens, South Africa

#23 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Clarens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor and finishings are old (but still perfectly acceptable and comfortable). The location is right on the square, above a brewery and restaurant, so it can be noisy (although it didn't bother us at all).

    The rooms were well equipped and very clean. The location was excellent. Great breakfast options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - we liked everything

    Red Mountain House is excellently located, right on the main square of Clarens and within walking distance of the whole town - we just park the car on arrival and walk everywhere from then on. Violet at the front desk is so friendly and makes you feel at home as you arrive - such a pleasant experience on arrival and departure. They give you a voucher for breakfast that allows you to choose from one of three restaurants in town. The amount allows you a really good breakfast at Courtyard, right next door. We really enjoyed their food and there are a lot of options. The rooms are beautifully decorated with nice antique furniture. The view we had from our room, over the mountains, was spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street parking. Not covered. Rooms cleaned very late. No in house restuarant Reception not available during working hours. Spa staff not available. Spotty wifi and only 1 gig valid for only 2 days. Poor dinner and breakfast recommendations when I booked but my investigations revealed a lot of places available not mentioned by red house. Would not have booked at this establishment if I was made aware of street only parking. Their website stated covered parking. NOT TRUE!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because its on the square and there is a restaurant downstairs, it can be a bit noisy until about 10pm. They are very popular, so we often struggle to get a booking

    Red Mountain House is excellently located on the main square of the town, meaning you never need to get in the car again after you get there. You are right by all the restaurants, art galleries and shops, and there are excellent of all of these in the town. The in-room decor is amazing, with a lot of antique furniture, including a four poster bed and a small lounge area around a fire. The bathroom has both a decent size bath and a shower, and good quality toiletries are provided. All of this was very clean. They offer you breakfast at a choice of 3 nearby restaurants. We ate at The Courtyard, next door to the property. The value provided was more than enough to have a hearty and filling breakfast - really tasty. Good Wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were extremely uncomfortable. The shower was meant for short, thin people only. All the men complained about this We booked 4 rooms and had to cancel one room and lost our deposit even though the room was rented out to someone else. We were a bit disappointed with that.

    The room was comfy and very clean. Violet at reception was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a lounge to sit and read with a view. Sorry you have a supermarket in Clarens. We did not shop there. Really spoils the place.

    All was good. staff room. And service. The food at every place we ate was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in the corridors kept us awake at night. No block out curtains and light way too bright

    Good location nice fire place relaxing and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noice noice noice to pay se much money to have a room at the entance and out side sitting for rest was terrible could not sleep until the rest closed we were on holiday and a sunday afternoon nap was a no no we book at fhe spa rude ladies never put our names in the book absolute no a nice experience so sorry we went there next door at The Courtyard absolute fantastic

    Lady at reception fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service and attitude of the Management at the Courtyard which provided the breakfasts was disgusting and disgraceful and will probably prevent me staying at Red Mountain House in the future.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad smell because of an extra room that was very dirty. The sofa was so uncomfortable and hard and there wasn't even a dubbel bed it was 2 single beds combined. I feel my stay at The Loft in Clarens is cheaper,modern and 100 times worth my money.

    The view was stunning!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast voucher is only R90 which only allows for a very small meal and one cappuccino which is tiny so we ended up having to pay in to cover drinks and accommodation is on top of a restaurant which can be noisy.

    Staff was very hospitable and friendly. The view is stunning and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was delightful with four poster bed and log fire. Breakfast is outsourced to a nearby restaurant and was perfectly adequate. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large apartment, fireplace, right on the main square steps from all the shops, restaurants, and the brewery. Excellent and tourough housekeeping, heated floors. We were very comfortable here and found it to be a great value.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fireplace, the Old Brown sherry and the small blankets on the chairs!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect.

    Our 2nd stay. Used the fire place, was so romantic. Perfect amount of space for a couple with all amenities. Home away from home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Awesome Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great staff. Location right in centre of town,within walking distance of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating wasn't working and we needed heating.

    It was large and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy.

    The rooms were very clean. Lots of hot water

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodations were fantastic- a 10 all the way

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant room and comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan makes too much noice. Matress - old style - too hard.

    Close to everything. Rooms made up daily. Very helpful and friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The waiters at Vitos where noisy and couldnt sleep past 8am

    I loved the closeness to everything and the lovely view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room with great attention to detail. Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast venues only opened after eight which made timing a tight squeeze as we had to be at course by 8:30

    The fire place was a welcome extra

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vito breakfast was poor and staff still mopping floor when we arrived!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast, Great place, Great location and great staff...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boat trip was wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not a lot

    Position and comfort.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was a really super 2 days

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central location, beautiful room, everything we needed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not comfortable and Noise

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    The location relative to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the general feel & location is great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking, Noise

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is noisy at night and if you are looking for peace and quiet this is not it.

    Its central located! And rooms are not cramped

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had problem with TV . No carpet in one room Would of preferred a back room- bit noisy in front

    Friendly staff , location .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was on the street side above a restaurant which was a bit noisy.

    Nice under floor heating with wood fire place. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The one thing we didn't like was the noise from the resturant down below. But we did understand that it was a long weekend and people were out to enjoy themselves. It just doesn't help when you want to sleep at Midnight.

    The friendly atmosphere and how well equipped and comfortable the rooms were. Violet was so friendly and helpful. Always had a smile on her face.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the service in the restaurant

    the beds wee extraordinarily comfortable. the service especially of the Vito restaurant staff was wonderful. The Manageress was also outstanding. Upon our arrival everything was ready for us and we felt good to see that we were expected . The food was very good

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room service could be better timed. When you return from sightseeing around lunch time, you don't expect the cleaning staff to still be busy in your room.

    Very innovative breakfast menu Prime location within walking distance of all the art shops and restaurants Complimentary sherry

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to eat breakfast at the Highlander which was very good but would not have been so pleasant had it rained and we needed to walk there. No refridgerater in the room

    Accomdation was good

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location. In the centre of town, close to all the bars, cafes and restaurants but the "House" lacked any atmosphere - just a few rooms above some shops and a bar.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central location, everything in town just some footsteps away. Friendly reception. Breakfast was in a restaurant below the hotel and not too great. One could choose from several set breakfasts, most of which were quite greasy. Probably the best fare is the classical breakfast with fried eggs, saussage, tomato, ham etc, but also that was average.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning in the middle of a heat wave. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, there wasn't much of a choice. The shower was mouldy & not properly cleaned during our stay.

    The location was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are no air conditioners in the rooms!! Only a very slow ceiling fan. It is summer and temperatures of 33 and 34 every day. The long life milk they left for the coffee would go sour in an hour - also there was no fridge! Could not breathe in the room and sleeping almost impossible.I left a day early due to this situation. Windows had to stay open to breathe and due to its position noise was very bad. Most disappointed.

    quaint rooms. nice bathroom facilities.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somehow a Jack Russell made its way outside our door early Sunday morning and would not stop barking at the birds. It was 5am, which is early enough to drive anyone insane!

    Violet is a true gem! The rooms are lovely, and the views terrific. Viots offers a yummy breakfast. Overall, excellent!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we did not like being in the rooms at the front ( there was two couples ) the staff for restaurant below arrive early morning ,stand below the rooms chat & smoke, then you hear them putting tables outside ,also there are table on balcony ,the woman in room next to us sat right outside our room smoking ,I would advise anyone to book room at the back ,where its quiet .

    we liked the easy access to shops restaurants , rooms were clean ,staff friendly .

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast can be improved upon. Hot breakfast was overcooked and fruit salad had an onion flavor ( the probably used the onion knife and chopping board).

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast arrangement should be addressed, i.e. timeslot, billing, etc. in terms of a group booking. As a group of executives the breakfast arrangement definitely influence future bookings negatively.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had room no 5 which is facing the square and right next to the steel staircase that makes a lot of noise inside the unit. Rooms 1 - 4 I think is a better option than rooms 5 - 8.

    Location is brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Red Mountain house in a prime position in Clarence, the accommodation was very comfortable, bath and shower, with heater in bathroom made a huge difference, walking distance to everything, lovely views off the balcony, heated flooring also a bonus if you go in winter like we did

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Please let us have more than one cup of coffee and one juice at breakfast without charging us separately.... "bottomless" coffee / tea and juice would be a great improvement!

    The staff were friendly, rooms were really nice (underfloor heating, fireplace), we had a great time. We will be returning!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant where breakfast is served is dingy. Reception area and access to room is rather off-putting. So called balcony is a passageway providing access to room.

    Loved falling asleep listening to the wood fire. Violet seemed lovely but was not on duty when we arrived.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pillows were very floppy and flat. Noise from the hotel's restaurant patrons and kitchens below drift up to the rooms above.

    The rooms we had were spacious, the fireplace well prepared. The bathroom is generous. Thank you for the complimentary coffee and tea, port and chocolates.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit warm without air-con but the sealing fan helped a lot.

    Neat Clean Friendly Walking distance from shopping and leisure walking So nice to order Dom Pedro and other drinks from the restaurant down stairs to our room.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Furnishings such as the shower door and front door blind a little tatty...also on being called to be told we'd left a phone charger (which we appreciated) they asked if we'd taken a blanket which was a little disappointing

    Lovely breakfast, amazing location and a great stay

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit of more detail on smaller issues

    The location

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Super friendly reception staff - had a great time there

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A small fridge in the room

    First visit to Clarens and staff could not have been more helpful

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could make better use of the view from the rooms.

    It's location in Clarens. Comfortable bed. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wash basin needs fixed soap dish in bath needs fixed no proper plug for hairdryer

    2

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit over rated and over priced for what it is

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room too hot and fan was ineffectual. Choice of breakfast venues not good.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Frendly and helpful staff, great location

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AC or fridge to keep water Coldplay at nights fan are not helping

    Location and staff was great and breakfast was 100% rooms are very neat

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Central and well situated. Rooms were spacious and clean. Service was excellent and staff made us feel most welcome.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The duvet, way too hot for summer., Towels smelling bad

    Well decorated, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great, central location, very relaxing stay

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situated above a restaurant and pub. Very noisy if there are people getting drunk.

    Very friendly staff, room clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Being above a pub and restaurant it tended to be a little noisy.

    Great location and very clean and tidy. Happy, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems

    The heated floor, fireplace, and giant tub were great!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast served down the street ... Voucher system doesn't work

    Nice rooms ... Fireplace

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Chairs in the room was not very comfortable.

    The fireplace is great.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning views in rooms 1-3 Friendly staff, fireplace in room with cherry, underfloor heating.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: