Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rhulani Safari Lodge 5 stars

R49, Wonderboom Gate, 2884 Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa

Review score

Based on 34 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Amazingly great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Private Chalet with Private Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was amazing,the staff very welcoming and efficient and as for the ranger he was the best and gave us the best game drives.It is indeed value for money.Best experience ever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing food and superb staff in magnificent busy setting - fantastic safaris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Private Chalet with Private Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the price, very expensive for foreign tourists. But we felt it was worth it.

    Excellent luxury complex with lovely individual chalets, each in the bush, with dipping pools. Staff is superb, food is amazing. Good safaris. Overall a treat - perfect. People in Botswana and Johannesburg told us that if you want to go to Madikwe, Rhulani is a good choice. We agree.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.8
    Far too expensive for what you get!! There are much better alternatives in MADIKWE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Private Chalet with Private Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although all meals were included (as stated on booking.com, apparently they forgot about lunch.... No lunch foreseen.... beverages were not included. We never got a menu for the drinks or were never asked what kind of wine we wanted... Each time we asked for a glass of wine they brought us a bottle. The impression is given that it is all inclusive. It was a big surprise to find all this on a very expensive extra bill at the end. Outrageuos ! The meals we had were very very poor. The cheapest ingredients were used. This was not up to standards! We felt really cheated.

    The game drives were good, the room was nice and very comfortable. There is even a Nespresso machine in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Our field guide Alasdair was especially outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Private Chalet with Private Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our field guide Alasdair was especially outstanding. He’s knowledgeable and obviously loves the animals - a genuinely fun person to be around. Another field guide Sean deserves an honorable mention - although we didn’t go out with him.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Sensational Safari
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Food, location, service, rooms etc all faultless. Our Ranger Sean was incredible. Loves his job and that shines though in the service he provides. Amazing time and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    Many happy memories to take home with us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Private Chalet with Private Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wi-Fi did not work so was billed data roaming charges due to the connection being via Botswana (very expensive!) Although weather is out of your control, the ill fitting doors in the chalets whistled all night with the wind. The shop was poorly stocked so our party were unable to leave with souvenirs of the visit. The construction of an electric fence between the waterhole & the lodge during our stay was unfortunate in that it kept animals from approaching the waterhole. Unfortunately very dry, windy and dusty at the time we visited (10 to 16 Sept 2016)

    Our Ranger (Riaan) was excellent and really made our stay memorable. He made a superhuman effort to locate interesting sightings which we were privileged to see every day and mostly twice a day. Staff very friendly, helpful and attendant. Comfortable game drive vehicles. Rooms very comfortable and camp layout delightful and we received a bottle of sparkling wine in our rooms compliments of the owner - a nice touch & thank you. Food was delicious but almost too much due to the sedentary nature of or stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Liked the room, the view, our ranger Mr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Private Chalet with Private Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many many little insect (tor's) in our room, due to many open holes.

    Liked the room, the view, our ranger Mr. T, the staff and the location. Th game drives were superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Private Chalet with Private Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lunch option

    Home baked bread, dinners under the African skies, personalized service, the passion of our game ranger, list is endless

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Great bush holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Private Chalet with Private Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plunge was not heated

    Everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    One of the best experiences of my life, made all the more better by the people at Rhulani.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Private Chalet with Private Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breathtaking experience, wonderful people, wonderful facilities. We were relaxed and excited the entire time. Best holiday!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.5
    Guide Driver was rather rustic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Private Chalet with Private Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guide Driver was rather rustic Tips recomendation to high

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    9.6
    The lodges are big, with nice and authentic furniture (local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just that we had to leave!

    The lodges are big, with nice and authentic furniture (local style). We also had a terrace with a small private pool. The lodge is well integrated with the environment, without fences and you literally are surrounded by nature and animals. It was wonderful! The staff is discreet, with a great service. There are included two game drives a day, a small breakfast early in the morning, a nice brunch once back from the first drive, an afternoon tea (with nice food too) and a nice dinner. They took great care of us during all our stay! A special thanks to Francois, our ranger, who made us dream!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.1
    The lodge was very nice and game drives were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought the staff was a lil lack luster. No real personality with guests. The food was great, however the staff was not available to order the breakfast even though they would take others orders. Had to flag people down to order. When we arrived we were immediately given the rules. Mentioned we were hungry several times to their response there would be high tea at 3pm which was hours after our arrival. Just not impressed with the staff for being a 5 star rating. Game vehicles need to have better tires so that we are not worried to be stranded in the middle of the bush.

    The lodge was very nice and game drives were great!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Their administration is at best average to poor. Mentioned in 2 communications that we needed return road transport from Johannesburg (original booking and follow-up email). Although this request was copied into their confirmation documentation, when I following this up the day before we were to catch our flight I discovered nothing had been booked and our request had been completely overlooked - a bit slack for a purportedly 5-star accommodation.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Although they don't make this 100% clear when you book, there are 2 free game drives included each day (in the morning and afternoon). The game vehicles are open landcruisers with a canvas roof and seat up to 9 people each - we had between 4 and 6 people on each of our 8 game drives. Saw a lot of wildlife including all the big animals (lion, buffalo, elephant, rhinoceros) and a fleeting glimpse of a leopard in tall grass. Also 4 cheetah with a fresh (small) zebra kill. The separate thatched chalets or cottages are very spacious and private with 4 poster-bed, small coffee table and chairs, bath and both indoor and outdoor shower, a small desk area, private plunge pool, and outdoor deck area with loungers. Seeing elephant, zebra and impala at the waterhole from the comfort of your room or deck area lends an authentic and relaxed bush feel to the whole experience. The food is very good and the staff seem to put a lot of effort into serving dinner in a different location each evening including the outdoor boma. Wifi signal is strong although internet connection dropped out for 30 minutes a couple of times.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    8.8
    The ambience and the friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food at dinner. Little choice with too much game.

    The ambience and the friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    From the time we arrived, we were treated like we were the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the time we arrived, we were treated like we were the only guests at the lodge. It was perfect

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Guests also reviewed these properties: