Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of River House Lodge 4 stars

27 Visarend Street, 1320 Malelane, South Africa

#10 of 16 hotels in Malelane

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    The b&b is quirky and reminds one of a museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine is an absolute rip off. Their house wine is a blend ( they couldn’t tell us what it was) Worst wine we have ever had!!! The second shock is the price - there is no wine list and they Ask 260 rand per bottle! Where it’s not worth more than 40 or 50 rand. Don’t get sucked in! The owner doesn’t care and we heard them speaking quite poorly about guests who had experienced something like us and complained . Would not recommend this place at all!

    The b&b is quirky and reminds one of a museum.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Authentic cozy place, nice dinner, friendly hosts, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take notice that you will have to pay 10% service fee (noted on booking.com), bed was too short for anyone taller than 175.

    Authentic cozy place, nice dinner, friendly hosts, breakfast boxes are a treat! Hippo/river viewing deck is really cool - try out the lights! Ambient night sounds if wildlife = great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous lodge in a great location - would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Firstly the warm welcome The decor and uniqueness of the property The view of the crocodile river and resident hippos The extremely polite and helpful staff and owners The food The welcome pack in the room (fruit biscuits tec topped up daily) Travel and activity advice Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Welcoming, friendly staff. Able to see elephants, hippos and crocs at the bottom of the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not great. We were not asked for our preference and just provided with a plateful which was more like a mixture of lunch and breakfast.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was a beautiful building full of quirky antiques to enhance the atmosphere. We were able to see hippos and elephants right at the end of our garden which was spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    A great getaway in a very special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices quite excessive

    Beautiful setting and view. Interesting decor. Friendly staff. Thanks Johan & Pierre, we had a chilled and relaxing getaway

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    A great place, but needs to be renovated and modernised. Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional 10% gratuity charge. Expensive bar costs. Set menu no options. Lighting dining room was very poor as in bedrooms. No WiFi in rooms. No TV in rooms. Locked in at night with no way to depart early in the morning. General feeling: run down and in need of upgrade.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Relaxation and wild life experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is lovely, and the staff cannot do enough for you, their local dress uniforms are a great idea, and Johan makes your stay so relaxing and will help you organize any trips you require with the minimum of fuss.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    beautiful view and garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beautiful view and garden. Nice breakfast, they suppllied with breakfast to go if you left earlier. dinner was good and they helped us with the bus back to johannesburg. Friendly place, definitely would reccommend it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Quirky and charming accommodation decorated many antiques...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the proximity to the river has the downside of having unpleasant insects in common area, bathroom and room. no mosquito net provided made me feel a bit uncomfortable as beatles would fall from the ceiling and other nasty insects can enter in the bathroom if you leave the window open while at dinner (stupid of us I know!) Insecticide is provided in the room.

    Quirky and charming accommodation decorated many antiques and collectibles. High attention to details, many details will make you wow! Beautiful exotic garden,amazing view, lovely pool with a view. Hippos and Elephants are coming in the river in front of the lodge to enjoy the water! Great experience Food is very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all - just loved it!

    Once I started looking for an accommodation, the River House Lodge caught my eye right away. Upon arrival, the greeting was really nice. We got shown around and brought up to our room. We have gotten the room, with the best view, looking right at the river and Krueger National Park. The room was very big. As a welcome, a fruit basket was waiting for us. The River House Lodge is decorated with so much love. A lot of things to look at. A refreshing dip into the pool was great, especially looking right at hippos in the river. Dinner was very yummy and service really friendly. Night spotting for animals from the deck was great and adventurous! Perfect night sleep, really quiet and felt super safe. Breakfast as well was really good and a lot to eat. Also had a nice conversation with the owner, which was really pleasant. Such a pitty, we had to move on, but if we are going to be back, we will be back at the River House Lodge for sure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Perfect location at Kruger Park
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 5 days in this guesthouse and had a great time. The location is absolutely perfect. Sometimes animals walk from the Kruger Park at the opposite side through the river to the lodge. Just in front of the lodge there were always hippos in the water. You could observe them from the deck or from your lounger seat at the pool. Every evening we got a lovely 3-course menu, delicious. We also found it very convenient that we didn’t have to go out to a restaurant in the evening. In the morning they serve traditional South African breakfast, too much for me, however, as a Belgian I must admit the fries were very good. (lekker!) The bar in the guesthouse is very cosy. The owner and his staff are very friendly and helpful. This lodge is top value for money!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit expensive this time round

    This is the second time we have been to River House Lodge, however this time bringing my parents. The day we arrived there were about 15 elephants in the garden and 12 hippos bobbing in the water - it was truly a magical moment. Johan and his staff are very attentive and will offer up some fantastic tips on where to go next. The hotel itself is not your typical luxury hotel, however it is authentic offering lots of character - which is much more preferred by us. Thanks again for a fabulous stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.4
    Learning experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners made me wait for him to wake up when my clients were having complaints about the room and wanted to pay and leave. He is a great person but you could honestly do better and pay better attention to your clients

    The view from the hotel across the river was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful setting with a great view over the Crocodile river. A place where you could watch away the day- super relaxing and friendly. We only stayed one night, and do wish it had been longer. Thank-you wonderful hosts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Unique place to stay when visiting the Kruger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The hotel has a unique style, both in the communal areas and the bedrooms. The garden and deck areas are beautiful with good views of the river and opposite bank. We really enjoyed having a drink and chat with Johan.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Our stay was comfortable - will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A coffee station at the viewing deck would have been great.... for those early mornings

    The location was amazing - very well situated for the Kruger National Park and an amazing view from the viewing deck overlooking the Park. The meals were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.2
    Never again - really take exception to being ripped off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being ripped off. Adding 10% "tip" to EVERYTHING is in my view is a dishonest way of charging more than advertised. There was no indication of what drinks cost so it was a shock to be charged R 285 (plus an additional 10% TIP) for a bottle of wine that sells at the local SPAR for R 47! 600% mark up is excessive. Breakfast is served between 8 and 9 whereas Kruger Park guests like to get an early start i.e. You don't get breakfast. Dinner was mediocre and no variety offered Air con did not work even after I cleaned the filthy filter - this is in an area where daytime temperatures can reach 40 degrees. We travel locally and internationally and rate this as a lousy experience.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time ever we have had a 10% addition cost changed on our final account. I would agree to 10% on the dinner bill. This added cost should reflect on the initial quoted price when making ones booking.

    Wonderful deck, great to see Elephants, Hippos, crocodiles, buck and eagles, from the deck. Really nice dinner, congratulations. Well situated as you have a sort drive into Kruger Park.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    The Riverhouse Lodge is located at the Banks of the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Riverhouse Lodge is located at the Banks of the Crocodile River allowing to watch wild life directly from the teracce. The house is decorated with so much attention to detail. The Restaurant and breakfast area is just awesome. Both dinner and breakfast were just delicious. Definitely a place to come back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Kruger on your doorstep - LITERALLY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are so used to sleeping with duvets, it took getting used to to sleep with sheet and blanket, but it is purely personal preference and not a complaint.

    The establishment is wonderfully quirky and interesting and one can feel and see the personal care and attention to detail put in by the owner Johan. The food was marvellous and very good value for money. As to the location: wow, wow and wow!! One needn't even go into the Kruger Park- as it is RIGHT THERE!! One can sit for hours on the deck and see just about all the game species. We were made to feel very welcome and special, thank you very much! We will most certainly go back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant........Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't really say there was anything we didn't like............Apart from leaving!

    The staff were really friendly and efficient. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Location, location, location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Johan is the perfect host. Stunning setting overlooking the river. You get a true feeling of authentic Africa which is captivated by all the interesting furniture in the public area. I saw hippos, elephants and much more, all within 100 metres!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.8
    View, hippos in river, the swimming pool and kruger trips...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks were over priced Bed a bit uncomfortable The place needed to be dusted

    View, hippos in river, the swimming pool and kruger trips very accessible

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Location brilliant have elephants in the garden is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking. Owners smoke and being a non smoker it's not very pleasant as the whole property smells musty

    Location brilliant have elephants in the garden is amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More options in terms of meals. Set menu for breakfast and dinner and not any options to choose from.

    The management staff were really caring and went out of their way to accommodate your needs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    4.6
    Misleading description...............
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I consider the owners description of the lodge interior and facilities on their website and other sites as misleading and believe a 2-3 star rating more appropriate. The interior of the lodge is very dark and packed with various artefacts dating back at least 60 years plus. The interior is shabby and looks as if it has not been refreshed for many years. Some may find this style captivating, however I would rather go to a museum for a few hours than live in this environment. Had I known this, I would never have booked this accommodation. The bathrooms are very basic but functional and the bathroom sliding doors are heavy and troublesome to manoeuvre........poor DIY! Bed linen is clean but well worn. There are no fridges in the room to store water and if a request for ice is made to the owner a charge is incurred based on the owners assumption that your intention is to cool and open your own alcohol rather than use their 24 hour licenced bar. If you do take in your own wine the owner will charge you corkage of £10 a bottle whether you drink your wine or not; this is added to your bill. The breakfast is adequate but be prepared for chips everyday with your cooked breakfast! I would not recommend this accommodation to any of my family and friends.

    Location on the river opposite the Kruger National Park was wonderful and as expected. The outside of the lodge was beautiful and the gardens well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    3.8
    Misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking throughout the whole guest house and the river view is ruined by the view and noise from the industrial water tower and gantry not shown in the advertisement (understandably) Breakfast was included in our rate and was mince and chips no choice. that was it they managed to serve us toast and preserves /your website gives good reviews why?

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.5
    Just don't dine here!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are "offered" a dinner that you not asked for, called to come to dinner because "people are waiting for you", have to take the only existing one dish (not imported if you are veg. and eat sweet and sour together and all tastes mixed) and pay a surprising high bill at check-out. Our suggestion: Don't dine and beware when you are offered drinks!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    2.5
    Terrible!!! Do not recomment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading advertising 5 star? Last rates 2008 The place is dirty, dusty and not work R1800 per night Full South African breakfast two eggs only! Buns had couple of days mold growing. Disgusting! Room 5 star?!? Aircon cools to 26 degree only! Bedding absolutely shocking. Matras so old springs digging into you! Bathroom absolutely shocking! Dirty, shower in bath with an old shower curtain. Hairdryer only show doesnt work No bottled water only a jug with dirty glasses and who know how old the water Fully stocked bar?!? Limited stock to choose from Restaurant not open during stay unable to open for us Upon checking out owner refunded us on full without asking for a refund purely asked how they can be 5 star! Makes you wonder how many other people complaint and was refunded. Owner knew place not up to standard as matter of fact worth no rating!!!

    If it wasnt for the views the place would have closed down long ago!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Our favourite in SA..Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The two hosts are simply amazing the setting and design of the lodge could not be better, the rhinos and elephants right in front of your door, we felt at home within minutes and watching the animals sitting at the pool is breathtaking, we have stayed in a lot of luxurios resorts in SA but this is the lodge we will remember and that we would love to come back to...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    A step back in time that reminds you of your grandmother :).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Johan is very accommodating and able to provide game bookings at a short notice. The breakfast is substantial and the beer is cold :). Only meal provided is breakfast, but they do point you in the right direction for a restaurant and able to provide transport if required. The rooms are a good size, comfortable with balcony overlooking the river with daily hippo guests and many more. I am spreading the word to my friends on how good this place is! Also, it is a museum, as Johan is a collector or many things over the years. A timeless place that will take you back to your childhood.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    A perfect place in a perfect setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The damn church choir practice next door late Saturday afternoon.

    A perfect setting and despite the drought, we saw plenty of animals, including a herd of Elephant, 80 strong. The place is quaint and there are lots of very interesting memorabilia. The deck on the river is brilliant and one can spend hours there. Johan was the perfect host and kept us entertained. Will definitely return!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    This warm and cosy castle is a perfect viewing spot for Kruger animals and to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of restaurants is very limited in malelane.

    Johan, the host, immediately makes you feel at home! Spotted a lot of wild animals from the deck!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    A gem overlooking Kruger Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfectly and strategically located on Crocodile River, overlooking Kruger Park and equipped with all comforts and in a beautiful fashion. Dauffe is a lovely, caring host with whom we spent more than one moment of pleasant conversation. In the morning you can spot elephants, rhinos and other wild animals just in front of you, fetching water from the river... how beautiful can it be? Highly recommended to couples, families, individuals, especially those coming from or heading to Kruger Park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    8.8
    River-side Excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a little small (but nevertheless comfortable)and could have done with another pedestal beside the bed. Wi-Fi was available, but signal strength and bandwidth could be stronger.

    The location, which offers the ability to relax on the deck, or on the lawn around the pool, and watch the animals (elephant, hippo, etc) beside and in the river is a huge plus. The personal service from the owners is superb. The Staff service and attention to our needs was equally good. Breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    The location was incredible and I loved sitting on the deck...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was incredible and I loved sitting on the deck overlooking the river. Staff was very friendly and helpful in arranging a tour of the park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    7.9
    Excellent viewing deck but room a bit dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, although adequate, was not 4-star standard. A 10% gratuity was included in the invoice (never experienced that before) and although we were asked if we agree with that, it was awkward to have it removed because the hosts and personnel were very nice. A better way would be to ask the guests first before including it in the bill!

    The hosts were very friendly and helpful and made the stay very pleasant. Serving ladies also very friendly. Relaxing on the deck watching the animals in the river was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about River House Lodge. Within half an hour of arriving we saw elephant, rhino, crocodile and loads of hippos from the deck. Johan was lovely and made us feel at home (I wish this was my home!). I also loved having the window open at night and falling asleep to the noises of wildlife. This place has created some really special memories for us. I look forward to coming back and will definitely be talking about/recommending this place to my friends and family.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.8
    will definitely stay again as hosts are very welcoming Location very good for Kruger Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice for breakfast limited Beds too small Bedding needs upgrading Shower cubicle needed not a bath with curtain

    hosts very friendly and helpful Viewing deck amazing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    best place to be - awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything perfect

    This is probably THE most lovely place we have ever been to, everything in this house was done with love and passion. Johan and daf are the most friendly hosts we have wver expierienced and its perfectly located! If you want to go to kruger you HAVE TO o there!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    The best kept secret in Malelane
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The passing show on the deck. You do not need to go to the Kruger, the Kruger comes to you. The owners are laid back and leave you alone when you want to be left alone. Johan is the best host, Daffue is the very knowledgeable owner. We felt like family.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    Brilliant Location for Wildlife Viewing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast 1st course beautiful but 2nd course with mince and hot chips was not a typical breakfast more like lunch. Otherwise overall good

    Owner very accommodating and excellent host. The location is excellent as you see the wildlife on your doorstep. Staff brilliant. Room very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Great place for staying and relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    view was outstanding and the staff very accommodating food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Awesome stay.. will be retuning..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the parking was on the road and not behind a gate.

    Meals were delicious. The deck was a surprise and the view was spectacular

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Relaxation and wild life experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing not to like when having the pleasure of visiting the River House Lodge, Johan is a gracious host and everything runs so smoothly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay with great view and exceptional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was spectacular and the staff was superb!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    2.9
    Not at all worth the money we spent. Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was inedible. The linen was old and dirty.

    The view was nice but that was about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable. Loved venue and service and location. A must visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bunker beds for teenagers not most appropriate

    Location and service/food was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Johan and Pier were excellent hosts. The food that is prepared is very good. The staff are friendly and willing to go the extra mile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    We will be back, and certainly will be recommending to all our friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous little bit of South African Paradise, very friendly, helpful hosts. Breakfast and evening meal was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Might consider to upgrade beds in the near future

    Hospitality was excellent. In general a wonderful experience. Thanks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realise extra 10% for daily cleaning. I would expect this to be included in a hotel price. Buyer beware.

    Location and friendliness

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.0
    Deck overlooking the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal....breakfast...quirky but too dark.....bedroom window and doors need attention...locks and painting!

    Deck overlooking the river

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    a tranquil environment to relax.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all good

    lovely hospitality from the hosts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place outside Kruger
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deck to the river was amazing Had buffalo and elephant herds passing by

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.8
    Meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Nice stay at the Crocodile river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view over the river towards the Kruger Park. We spotted alot of animals.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Enchanting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was too small and generally the place is dark

    The deck overlooking the river was amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    I really felt at home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really felt at home. Spectacular environment and nicest people. Unforgettable weekend off from business in Pretoria.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    If you haven't been staying at River House Lodge yet, go see for yourself, its amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay at River House Lodge very much, it was extraordinary.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    The hippos coming by the amazing deck at the end of the day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hippos coming by the amazing deck at the end of the day and the great dinners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    6.3
    Beware of gratuity charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Devious 10% gratuity charge on top of an already overpriced rate for a basic room

    location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.8
    Dinners lovely and a friendly bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Dinners lovely and a friendly bar

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Breakfast was fantastic, takes you though the whole day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fantastic, takes you though the whole day. Brilliant view of the river and park from our room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    the place is lovely, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place is lovely, comfortable room. I loved the style of the whole lodge. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    loved the game viewing balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good breakfast,well run hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing, this place is heaven and Johan is so nice! Couldn't recommend more!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    We loved the quirkyness, excellence in Service and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the quirkyness, excellence in Service and the location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic view on crocodile river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view on crocodile river

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    It was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Seeing animals when I woke up.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.8
    A home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quaint, charming lodge. Beautiful location against the river. Warm,friendly approach to guests - feel very much at home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful stay with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome location and view. It is just across the Kruger park and we could see many animals at the lodge.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Excellent lodge for the special going away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to leave.

    We liked everything, the owners went out of their way to accommodate us. The view and beautiful rooms was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    Comfy and quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner smokes in the bar and being a non smoker I did not like that.

    It was pretty comfortable and quirky

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: