Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of River Manor Boutique Hotel

No 6-8 the Avenue, 7600 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#31 of 37 hotels in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Service was excellent, property beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed/mattress needed replacing, room was noisy. No iron made available to guests to be able to press a shirt. Only discovered the laundry room with a lovely steam iron next door too late! ;)

    Service was excellent, property beautiful. Location was perfect. Not in a busy street but a short walk to town and great restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Apart from the tea story all else was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely unhappy no complementary tea/coffe/ kettle in the room! I was told I could order whenever I wished but they failed to tell me I had to pay extra every time I did want some tea! In all my travels I’ve never had this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed staying here.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed staying here. The rooms are lovely. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds and pool area are beautiful and peaceful. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Room was not air-conditioned, only a bed and desk and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, rommel spartan

    Room was not air-conditioned, only a bed and desk and wardrobe, no decorating! No bar fridge or coffee making facility. Noisy from rommel above because of wooden floor. Staff was amazing though

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Swimming pool was lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 5 television channels - at the price asked at least full bouquet should be available. I would have appreciated an Afrikaans newspaper to be available in the mornings. Breakfast was not that great.

    Swimming pool was lovely. Lovely old Stellenbosch house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable - would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two electrical plugs in room. Hair dryer weak. Laundry costs somewhat high.

    Great breakfast and service to go along with it. Complementary port and sherry not the room. Very welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.4
    I would not stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, in the corner. No aircon, very small and quite poky. None of this is necessarily a problem - however, I think this is not commensurate with the rate paid. Lastly, I was leaving early in the morning and was parked in. The manager had the key for the car behind me, but the manager was off premises and only came in at 6.40am. I had been waiting for 45 minutes and as a consequence, left at 6.45 and spent 2hours and 40 minutes in traffic. If had left at 6am as planned it would have taken 1 hour.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Can highly recommend this lovely boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needed a little more spacefor storage of personal toiletries.

    A charming boutique hotel in Stellenbosch. The staff are absolutely wonderful. Many thanks to Maxwell and Moyo for the fantastic service and keeping us well refreshed with ice cold drinks during the very hot weather. Our comfortable room overlooked one of the two pools and we enjoyed relaxing by the pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and gorgeous place. Lovely friendly staff but lacking a little opverall management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of coffee making facilities in the room is a real downer. This is essential to us. They told us that we could request coffee in the mornings but frankly this was inconvenient (running around a hotel in pyjamas) and slow. Also there were a few small issues with the room (leaking airconditioner, the TV was not setup properly and so no stations available and one light out when we arrived).

    \the place is absolutely lovely- it has been beautifully furnished, has a fantastic layout with lots of places to sit comfortably and work or converse, the gardens and pools are spectacular. the location is perfect. The staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    The rooms are clean and the bed comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in was supposed to be from 3pm. We arrived at 3:30pm and our room was still not ready and was being cleaned. We didn't wait long but I would have expected this to have been done. We also had an issue with the wifi which couldn't be detected which we had to complain about for them to resolve. The building is very old (which is a positive) but this means that if you are on a lower floor you can hear every movement in the rooms above. I'd recommend putting a safety deposit box in the room so guests can store their valuables.

    The rooms are clean and the bed comfy. The omelettes for breakfast were delicious and they have great coffee too! The pool area is also gorgeous and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    We liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There I see nothing that we didn't like at River Manor Hotel.

    We liked everything. I cannot find any negative point to our stay at River Manor Boutique Hotel. The staff is very efficient, yet very discreet and most helpful and kind. Rooms are very comfortable. Furnished with great taste. Two swimming pools are a plus as it never seems crowded and busy. Delicious breakfast. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for excellence and quality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay with amazing people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is classic so you might hear some neighbors sometimes, but not really bothersome

    They welcomed us already with a nice smile and because we came back they had a special gift. The house feels like home with two very nice swimming pools, patios and eye for detail. It is close to the city center and the team will do anything to let you feel at home. Would highly recommend it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel and Perfect location to stay in Stellenbosh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very minor point our bedroom could have done with a full length mirror.

    Perfect location near all amenities. Our room was large with large bed and very clean. The building itself was charming, but must of all the staff were lovely and friendly, nothing was to much trouble. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Good but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are many issues this establishment needs to consider to make their rooms more comfortable and worthy of a 4* status. No luggage rack No hooks for clothing No tea/coffee/kettle in rooms - apparently owner wants guests to ask staff to make and bring to room...there is no phone in room so would have to go downstairs to ask then come back to room? In bathroom, small towels, No towel rails, one portable wooden - ok for 1 towel to dry. No hand towel hook/rail and no room next to basin so had to jam between wall and glass shelf No tissue box - 3 tissues per day in a glass Shower leaking all over floor, the panels were fitted completely skew so door did not close properly Could not get any local TV channels and only 3 or 4 others. No wifi in rooms, only downstairs in lounge area. Not a problem if you can use your phone as a hotspot. The above may sound pedantic but when travelling these are the small things that make your stay comfortable. This is an old converted house and has a steep staircase, to be considered for elderly and infirm. There is a building site next door. The noise was not overbearing during our stay.

    The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast plentiful and a good choice served until 10am. The room is large and bed comfortable. Location very good, within walking distance of town, university, restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room door is not very sound proof.

    Beautiful historic building, minuten walk from old centre. Simple, but very nice breakfast. I'd like to come back again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a bath - our room had just a shower but the room was big enough to house a bath - a beautiful claw foot one would suit the decor!

    River Manor was charming. Beautifully furnished with a real colonial feel. Staff very helpful. Loved the two pools and garden. Felt like being a guest in a very beautiful house. Centrally placed but in a quiet, leafy road. Would love to revisit one day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Little details
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not sure if the eggs and bacon was a extra or if it was included in the breakfast or not. It was not an issue but for myself this was unclear. The breakfast and the service was very nice- thank you

    Very pleasant and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Perfect stop in Stellenbosch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast. Clean and comfortable with an excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very polite stuff, convenient location, beautiful big room, good various breakfast, lounge zone with fireplace is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    - TV Channels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - TV Channels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly, facilities were very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very friendly, facilities were very comfortable and grand, breakfast was fantastic, pity it was too wet and cold to use the pools!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The friendly and very efficient staff made our stay comfortable and pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    OK, but...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very poor in the room I had. Someone stole USD300 from my bags. Had 500 and when I got home there were only 200 left. :(

    Location, cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very charming and well located would definitely go again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved this old manor house and chilling out on the stoep in the afternoon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms next to the pool are very comfortable and huge! Nice bathroom. Lovely garden with two pools. Extremely helpful and kind staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Amazing mansion with incredible staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff. Gorgeous place. Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay with lots of charme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfast and lovely team

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, clean and very comfortable yet within walking distance to everything!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, charming propery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, charming propery. The staff are super friendly and the service was superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed tea coffee in the room I think xxx

    Loved the large biscuits

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    The staff was great, the hotel was as stylish and charming,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great, the hotel was as stylish and charming, and the room comfortable. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, staff really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, staff really nice and helpful. We had a wonderful stay in this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No awareness for visitors about water restrictions. No towel holders in the bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money much better options available in the winleands region

    Good breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Excellent service with a personal touch !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service with a personal touch ! Thank you! Wests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Our stay was very relaxing and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it would be nice to have a kettle, cups, coffee etc in our room to make own coffee in room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Accommodating staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodating staff; lovely communal areas.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    No croissants or muffins for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet/breakfast.

    No croissants or muffins for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    5.8
    Staff extremely friendly and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom not practical, not enough hot water Toilet smelly Breakfast was ok but nothing special Overpriced rate compared to other properties in Stellenbosch, expected more luxury for price paid

    Staff extremely friendly and helpfull

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    10
    Truly outstanding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Need a fitness center for business travelers.

    Truly outstanding. Room, food, service.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location was fantastic. Rooms spacious with aircon. Breakfast lively sitting outside by the pools.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    IWe encountered no problems

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.2
    The friendliness of the staff was excellent & genuine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the staff was excellent & genuine

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    10
    Everything-highly recommended - will be back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything-highly recommended - will be back for sure

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    7.1
    The location and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facility is a little worn and needs updating and refreshing. Needs better Wifi service.

    The location and the staff.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: