Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of aha The Riverside Hotel 4 stars

10 Kenneth Kaunda Drive, Durban North, 4065 Durban, South Africa

#19 of 54 hotels in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 994 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Pleasurable enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfy, the croissants were beautiful. I was not impressed with the scrambled eggs. I would prefer it scrambled infront of me. The baked beans needed a bit of chilli. Over and above excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    overall good stay at this hotel. will definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room was located too close to the pool and bar area so there was a lot of noise and activity going on outside my room which wasn't very pleasant as I would have appreciated some peace and quiet. I also feel like they could work on their pricing a bit more to attract more customers and holiday goers.

    The breakfast variety was good. Staff were always willing to help and were also very friendly. the location is central to a lot of tourist spots. It was definitely value for money and I will definitely be visiting again soon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    the room is very clean and the bathroom. the bedding is changed daily. The staff is very friendly. B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    need more milk,coffee and sugar to be placed in kitchen. When we took a shower,the water messed and ran into the kitchen,but this was atleast attended to when we reported it and the water running into the kitchen reduced.

    the room is very clean and the bathroom. the bedding is changed daily. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast was excellent,fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Went to use the gym at 06:00am, switched on the lights and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Went to use the gym at 06:00am, switched on the lights and they tripped. Went back up to reception only to be told that maintenance only starts at 7am and the issue can only be fixed after 7am? Most people gym early and the gym should be functional at all times

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.6
    Manager assisted by getting us a better floor but atill...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were sports groups of people living in the hotel and they were not isolated from the rest of theguests. Constant boise screaming thepught all hours of the night and early mornings

    Manager assisted by getting us a better floor but atill noise persistes

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Location is great and it’s clean and food is good !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Senior staff not great, and poor service overall and items that were not working in my room were never sorted out even after reporting on the first day

    Location is great and it’s clean and food is good !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room card loses it's code when in contact with a cell phone. Other guests on tour made a big noise.

    Excellent breakfast, good restaurant, very accommodating and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.5
    Probably won’t be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Specifically booked and paid for a room with balcony but didn’t get one. Carpets in rooms felt dirty and everything just seemed to have a layer of dust on it. Bathroom was also not cleaned properly after the last guest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    A great relaxation in one of the top hotels in Durban !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Water was not that hot for the bath in the morning.. 2. Shouting/fighting guests in the early hours of the morning in the room opposite. This was unfortunate, but an acid test for your security.

    1. Comfy bedding and linen 2. Delicious buffet breakfast 3. Helpful and friendly staff 4. An extra 1 hour check- out was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    We did have a great stay nonetheless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed wasn't comfy.The toilet was dirty,bathroom had hair from the previous client I suppose. There was a lot of noise from the passage.

    The hotel is situated within reach of all major attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    2.5
    waste of money and staff stink
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    bed is old and broken springs sticking out and bath towels are dirty brown house keeping staff stink breakfast manger is rude has a issue if u ask her break feast on the go and they do not reload the toliet paper u must beg for stuff this hotel is terrible plus very poor parking always battle for parking space

    bed is old and broken springs sticking out and bath towels are dirty brown house keeping staff stink breakfast manger is rude has a issue if u ask her break feast on the go and they do not reload the toliet paper u must beg for stuff this hotel is terrible plus very poor parking always battle for parking space

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    The bed was comfort,the meal was fabulous, very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stinking carpet and the kitchen unit.

    The bed was comfort,the meal was fabulous, very kind staff. please remove or clean thoroughly the carpet as they don't smell good and look very old. Also renew the kitchen units they are really a disaster. Bathroom is 100% good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breakfast. Its your typical hotel breakfast. It could be different, just as much as the aha Group offers a different accommodation experience

    Different accommodation experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is close to the beach and great location, close to City Centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunatley the walls are not very thick and the person in the room next to mine was watching TV till the early hours of the morning and I could hear it as if I had my TV on.

    Hotel was good, staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    surprised that cappuchinos esperessos etc are charged for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    surprised that cappuchinos esperessos etc are charged for where as at the same hotel in Umhalnga they aren't Small touches that happened in UMhalnga didn't happen here. Paid higher amount and felt that the service and property wasn't as good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    relaxed and enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    at breakfast the staff were way to eager to take our plates even if we were still eating, which is really quite rude.

    an enjoyable,affordable hotel. Great quick getaway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    I have stayed there many times and I can see minor improvements on all visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy guests. If they can contain that. It would be fine. Also the ill discipline of children in the dining area. Wastage of food is also a thing of concern.

    Staff in the dining room very friendly. Sometimes food is overcooked but generally there is ample food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They must improve their tv channels offering as some channels are scrambled HD TV will also be good thing Bath, shower and basin didn't drain water very well had to wait. Waiters need to improve their service, you need to raise your hand to get attention, not sure if they were overwhelmed by big numbers during breakfast on the 28. Menu prices need go be updated ordered salad which was R60 but was told its R70

    Security was good Room very nice Wi-Fi excellent Carpet wasn't cleaned properly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.2
    The staff is rude and unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is rude and unfriendly. The restaurant was dirty. Room service was atrocious. Their admin is atrocious. I would never recommend it or go back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Was okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices on room service menu was miss-leading. Prices charged on the bill was higher than the menu prices. Staff did not inform me that prices had changed when I placed my order. Was not pleased with this at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    It's a great and convenient venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms for 4 adults but the breakfast was only for one person per room!! We had to pay separately for breakfast for 2 persons.

    It's a great and convenient venue

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i don't anything to say on this one because i am pleased!!!!!!! very happy

    yes indeed everything went very well food was nice,the place exceeded my expectations very clean place and neat. i will become a resident of Aha

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    we will be back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady from reservations , who called to see if we were still coming , was rude and made us feel as if she thought we werent going to pay! We are retun guests and always pay! Also struggled a bit wth sheets that dont tuck in nicely so bed feels messy!

    Good food and comfy room. Very friendly, polite and well trained staff. Many remembered us from our visit over new year and were very welcoming!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Room was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cannot fault anything

    Room was fantastic Facilities was phenomenal Breakfast was a "HIT" with the family Overall Experience was Fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for international standards. coming from NZ I found this expensive. more expensive than our 4 star hotels. which is a bit weird considering.

    Staff were amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay - will recommend to friends.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant was average. Dinner - poor preparation + ran out of certain meals. Some niggles on arrival, e.g., locker batteries had to be replaced, TV remote not working. Parking limited.

    Cleanliness and the flexibility of the housekeeping staff was appreciated. Friendly and helpful staff - overall a pleasant stay. We were allowed to check out late - highly appreciated!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    we had a great time at your hotel , the staff was great , breakfast was amazing , nice bar & pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no bottled water daily in our room , no bowls , plates or cutlery in the kitchenette

    the room was clean , the bathroom was a decent size and the little kitchenette helped

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable and I would recommend the hotel to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The basins in the bathroom are stylish and modern but very very very small and not user friendly. The place tend to be too noisy in the mornings

    room was very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Pillows were extremely comfy, pool and bar area was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was ok but a change in meals every morning would be better, shower in the rooms are a bit small.

    Pillows were extremely comfy, pool and bar area was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay, check-in was quick, breakfast was delicious, room had a perfect view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do better with shelter for parking.

    Size of the room, cleanliness,breakfast was excellent. My room had a perfect view, Moses Mabhida and Blue Lagoon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    General cleaning staff were friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room service was ordered friday and the plates were not cleared till saturday night when i put them out the room. On check in no one knew what rate they needed to charge us and we were charged more than quoted.Putside bar staff were unfriendly and looked as though they always wanted to go home

    General cleaning staff were friendly and waiters/waitress's were amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Airconditioners are very loud but function well. Would be nice if the windows was soundproof due to the nearby road.

    Rooms are big with a nice view over Durban. Great having a kitchenette in room. The place is spotlessly clean. Very relaxed and quiet hotel. Good choice in Durban if you don't necessarily needs to be next to the beach .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Otherwise, my stay was good staying at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Corridor are very noisy with the cleaning staff. They talk very loudly and disrupted my sleep very early in the morning every single day that I was there.

    Wi-Fi connection was great! The area is nice and my room had a great view on the river. The breakfast is just great with good choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    everything was as expected or even more .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was as expected or even more . Location also perfect .. just outside the city center with possibility be in Town in two minutes and , at the same time easy to reach the beutifull beaches noth of Durban

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was very clean and beds were very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent. The location was central and the hotel was easy to find. What we didn't like was the fact that all the street names had been changed to unknown , insignificant people, so it was difficult to find your way around Durban.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Riverside Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riverside hotel is modern, clean and stylish. The rooms were spacious and the hotel restaurant and poolside area was an added bonus, the staff at the hotel were class A. Always friendly, ready to help and maintained conversation with our family for the entire period. The hotel slowly became our home and we will definitely return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Lovely and recommended for future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was not clearly marked for guests, as Bar at bottom of building had it's own parkings for patrons, who as normally can get rowdy or uncontrollable.

    Good Cleanliness and Facilities, with helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Cosy and laid back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfy bed. Stayed with the parents for four nights. Nice view. Durban centre is a cheap uber away. quite some traffic during the day, but you are not really meant to stay in your bed during the day on holidays really. The breakfast served in the morning is quite varied with lots of vegetarian options available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Rooms are neat, with awesome views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The waiters service are dismal, and at certain times non existent, even they were present. They walk pass without making eye contact so I waited and waited until i had to ask someone for assistant. I felt invisible, as no one offered us a drink or a meal. This was the only disappointment in an otherwise amazing establishment.

    Rooms are neat, with awesome views!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    A very pleasant and relaxing short stay at Riverside Hotel. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vegetarian hot breakfast selection can have more variety and perhaps be kept separately from the non-veg selection. Non- veg guests were seen to be mixing the serving spoons.

    Comfortable accommodation. Delicious breakfasts. A great hotel for a short getaway.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice overall, better than a lot of other Hotels in Durban
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music played too long, too loud. I think at 10pm it really should stop.

    The walls are far too thin. I enjoyed the sex noises a while from next wall...and i was happy for them. Some other would not smile..but it is their problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress did not have a cover. Staff in the restaurant need training, acknowledging visitor, they did not remove plates timously. Did not offer coffee or tea at breakfast. Ordered chicken peri peri for supper was terrible, the chicken was boiled and brushed with peri peri. Cockroach found in room on arrival.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that the hotel did not have my Booking.com booking especially since I had paid for my stay in full online. I suggest that you improve on your communication with the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Great atmosphere, staff, food, rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I can think about.

    Beds were comfortable, aircon definitly helped with the heat. The staff are all really friendly. Food is great and you can sit outside and enjoy your meal and some cocktails by the pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the aircon made a lot of noice, they should also consider aircons without blue standby lights, they make it hard to fall asleep

    the room was big enough to accommodate us as family.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    It exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not so great the first day but after complaining the next day you could feel the love and passion the food was made with. Truly amazing staff that take pride in they work. It was truly amazing 😍😍😍

    Very accommodative in more ways than one , from staff to facilities. It was truly worth every cent and exceeded expectations!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    The hotel needs to improve their service at the kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to improve their service at the kitchen. Most guests were complaining of shortage of cutlery and juice glasses. I ordered tea on the first day and i was told there were no teapots. The other days were the same.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    Great comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise made by other residents in early hours of the morning. The shower was flooding and the drain needed to be unblocked. When we left the security guard wanted a Xmas present which I refused to do

    The location was great and was easy to access. Security was good as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    I was very happy with my family and wished we could afford to stay more days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that didn't quite meet my liking was the double bed mattress on the floor,was there no proper bed available?But it was comfortable enough.The long queue during breakfast where the omelette and eggs are done was just hectic bUT understandable under the holiday circumstances

    Everything was just excellent from service at the reception considering that I had booked Late in the new year. I was impressed by the facilities,location that is close to everything ,the ambience of the hotel is amazing.How can I forget warm greetings at the gate from security and safe parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Awesome family hotel, my preffered choice of accommodation anytime I'm back in Durban.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    I moved from a BnB I booked becuase it was just not suitable for my family's needs, to this hotel. Aha Riverside had all that we needed, comfortable, spacious,and clean family room. The kitchenette was a lovely bonus! Though it was so busy during our stay with many guests, everything was orderly, from the front office, Solomon warmly welcomed us, to the awesome buffet breakfast daily! My kids loved the pool, and my husband loved the detached bar from the main hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.8
    Not what you would expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping department needs to be retrained. Rooms not cleaned properly or timeously. My bathroom had toiletries refreshed but the floor and shower had not been wiped. There were never enough towels. After complaining to management it did get better but being 4 star this should not have been the case. The breakfast staff was very rarely smiling. The leather runners need to be burnt as they are far from hygenic or properly cleaned. The staff is unaware of the meaning of halaal. The food and beverage manager is not very proactive or friendly. He never once spoke to guests or greeted. The property hires out the venue during peak periods meaning hotel guests can't just chill at the pool. Especially if you back from a day out and it's 2.30pm and your room has not been cleaned and you want to relax somewhere. There was vomit around the pool area that had not been cleaned from the night before.

    Loved the location. Close to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for the family, centrally located with great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I liked everything

    The breakfast was amazing, everything was very neat clean and comfortable. Hotel is very centrally located, we had a room with a great view! The pool is child friendly and the bar has a happy hour Monday - Friday buy one get one free :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Very nice setup but would not like to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very unfriendly and could be more accommodating. Bacon at breakfast for the 4 days was very hard and not very nice to eat. No information book in rooms. Showers leaked

    Nice sized family rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could be bigger or second pool needed. Long Q’s at breakfast. Staff very slow to respond.

    Pool was lovely but property could do with a second or bigger pool. accommodation was excellent crip clean bedding and clean rooms. Food very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    All was good except the above comments - we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The was not proper arrangement between booking.com and the hotel, hence struggled when checking in on our arrival. The correct number of people we've booked for were not registered. There was too much noise in the surroundings - the windows are not sound proofed.

    yes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    THE VIEW!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Probably a matter of taste, but found the room interior overly formal—had more of a memorial service feel than a holiday-at-the-sea vibe .... Would have liked a few colourful items or pictures.

    THE VIEW!!!!!!!!! The pool area, which allows you to be outdoors at night without the fear of being mugged. The variety of the breakfast buffet. Decor at the breakfast area provides a pleasant, cosy ambience. Staff were generally friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the customer service at reception could be more welcoming and helpful. Eg we were checked in system but the receptionist did not ask if we required a porter? Room was not clean at check in

    The luxurious pillow and the availability of towels

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    Great hotel facilities but rude & uncaring management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shalini telling us she had no room for us even though the family room had been confirmed by Booking.Com according to her all 4 of us could sleep in one bed and she saw nothing wrong with that. When challenged on that she shifted the blame on Booking.Com. What an inconvenience in a foreign city driving with children. We are so disappointed with this kind of treatment and undermining behaviour.

    Everything was good except the conduct of the staff who even claimed that they always encounter problems with Booking.Com saying all of this with a very bad attitude. Shalini who was a manager incharge fails in taking responsibility if their faults but blames everything on Booking.Com which at the end causes a lot of inconvinience to the clients. She simply does not care and undermines her customers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.4
    Aha Riverside Hotel #Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work for the 1st day. The room we got was poorly maintained. just general lack of proper care for detail for a 4 star hotel. Doors were stained and dirty. Shower drainage is designed poorly with both rooms that we stayed in. Fridge was broken but the maintenance guy was kind enough to bring another. There is a small kitchenette, sink, kettle, tea, coffee but no cutlery/crockery but empty kitchenette cupboards(not sure what that’s for. The eating area, ok but still needs to be cleaned properly. Lobby needs a refresh or a more welcoming entrance.

    The location was the attraction to book the venue, Great views! And situated close to quite a few amenities and attractions. The rooms were nicely decorated, seaside suitable color schemes. The Staff were extremely helpful and hospitable. Security team were also very friendly and hospitable. Concierge service, awesome guys! Microwave and fridge available. Rooms are refreshed when requested. Request for change of room was quick and efficient! Breakfast was ok, fair variety.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    New favourite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no light in the bathroom and the shower drainage system took forever to drain whilst in the shower

    It was very conveniently situated to the place we went to

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn't like, the sitting area out and towards the pools, too much flies, flying inserts.

    What I didn't like, the sitting area out and towards the pools, too much flies, flying inserts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they didn't have enough cups in the rooms and they didn't have jungle oats

    I loved everything about the hotel. The croissants were out of this world.👌👌👌

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Definitely a place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You kidding me the place is a 4 star.I liked every inch of it,breakfast was delicious. So as dinner

    Frankly it is of value to be there and am so honoured with my family.am definitely going to recommend to friends.Have enjoyed ourselves to the fullest and it was like heaven.Only wish that for family bedrooms should be separated however we enjoyed.Loved the place.kiss kiss

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.8
    A disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast are the same every day. Staff cannot handle large volumes. The egg station staff are not friendly nor know how to fry decent eggs. The room smelt damp and shelves in the fridge were broken. Lots of noise for guests as they walk down the hallway.

    Location was brilliant and very convenient. The staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is open but if you are late in the evening its difficult to get parking. Pool and bar area are good. Rooms are spacious very comfortable for 4 people

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    We left a reading book in our room, staff found and kept...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cappucino and espresso should be part of breakfast buffet. Hot chocolate too watery

    We left a reading book in our room, staff found and kept safe until we returned a week later to collect. Microwave and fridge great asset

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    My stay was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The bed was very comfy. The breakfast was really not too good. The manager was getting irritated unnecessary, he needs to know how to deal with people even under stressful conditions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.4
    Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff not very customer friendly. Had to que for the restaurant at breakfast time. When checked in - the bin in the room was not emptied and it had dirty nappies in. The fridge was over - iced and thus the door could not close. The curtains in the room was off the rails - very sloppy. I would not stay there again.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    4.6
    Will never use this Hotel full of con artists trying to rip you off your cash
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel not geered to receive guest, staff only too eager to over charge guest, No Wifi, Very noisy guests, No catering for muslim guest, Keys only work for a day, reception wont fix any problems given to them, aways interested in how to con you to pay more for your stay

    Its Central , Safe and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    4.2
    It was a disappointment did not save any money as they billed us so much .cost of better hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have mentioned all Above. Also They have to be informed if a deal is done they cannot alter and add additional charges why do we look for bargains on the net only to be cheated at the checkout.

    Kitchen was poor did not cater for Muslim visitors, Mixed pork with other foods so you could not eat. Location was the only good thing about Hotel. Apart from that it was not value for money. They started billing us for items that were included in our booking, There is no Wifi at the Hotel, Keys are only valid for the day you have to cut every day, There is no peace there very rowdy crowd of visitors and Hotel wont tell them to keep quiet. Fights break out in the corridor , people swearing at the top of their voices not a good hotel for family or to stay for business.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    It was very nice and i enjoyed my stay and wish to come back again next time.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was too small and the water was too shallow and its view was exposed to other people.

    I slept peacefully and the service was very on point,and in the breakfast was filled with Delicious food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty cushion covers were not changed until two days of our check out.

    Spotlessly clean. Quick service by staff. Caring staff would call your room now and then to check up on you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Customer Experience beyond Expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff of The Riverside Hotel were really amazing. They all were so warm and pleasant in all that they did. This Customer Experience was beyond expectation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Aha with my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resturant for breakfast was too small.you have to queue to have a seat for breakfast. And they dont even extend the time.

    Easy to find. The rooms are ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    My stay was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit of a.problem & the place is a bit far from the beach

    The place is quiet & the staff is helpful, the rooms are adequate and the breakfast is very good, the place is generally a nice place to stay at & it’s comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    The best family holiday so far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need boxes of tissue. Bar needs to add a better wine selection, some local guns and pink tonics. Our stay was too short.

    The Monday to Friday happy hour was a great way to unwind after a full day at the beach. The food served at dinner was great value for money and delicious. The staff were excellent! Which makes tipping very expensive! They were proactive: the porter would come to the parking with the luggage carrier coz they knew we were carrying lots of stuff when we came back from the beach and they made my son weetbix for supper because that is all he wanted to eat. They always went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible and to meet our specific needs as much as possible. THANK YOU!!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: