Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riversong Guest House 4 stars

14 Esme Road, Newlands, 7700 Cape Town, South Africa

#118 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 83 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast and very comfy bed and bedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the downstairs bedroom next to dinning hall and it was a bit noisy late at night and early morning, passage/dinning light shines through blinds in rooms

    Great breakfast and very comfy bed and bedding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    My stay was comfortable and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the homely feeling of the place. The lounge area upstairs was cosy for the cold evening. The room size is sufficient and the bathroom is huge. The fridge and bar was fully stocked. The place is quiet and feels like a home away from home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a very spacious room and very comfortable! The staff were very friendly and prepared a take away breakfast as I had an early breakfast. Really enjoyed my stay there!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall enjoyable, beatiful mountainview, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somehow it felt a little overpriced for me. Although can't put my finger on the reason why.

    Staff members special and personal attention to serving the breakfast the way each individual likes it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfasts were a bit disappointing. Little variety and the bacon generally dry. They should try and increase their variety.

    The proximity to everywhere in Cape Town. In general all was clean and neat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Very promising find for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room possibly the poorest as it was dark( ethnic room) other rooms looked much better if we come again

    Quiet good location for us garage parking . All staff very efficient and friendly Rooms clean and spacious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Recommended for business and leisure travellers. A very attractive property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our only problem was with the shower which is on a loose shower head fitted above the bath and leaked. This has been brought to the attention of management. Bad in a time of water shortages.

    Large well appointed rooms. Friendly helpful staff. Attractive outlook. Convenient locality. Excellent and secure parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Warm, friendly, beautiful setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a small suggestion, perhaps put a dustbin by the coffee station in the room.

    The rooms are very welcoming and very spacious. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The view of the mountain was the cherry on the cake. Very convenient and a home away from home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Riversong will make your heart sing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing the could do better. They're the tops.river

    The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. The mountain view is spectacular and Inri and her staff are wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    An extremely enjoyable stay. We would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because our room was connected via an inter leading door to the room next to us we could at times hear the couple in the next room, especially if they were on there mobile phones. Not a big issue but could bug some guests.

    Staff was friendly and the service was excellent - Especially Aaron who we interfaced with the most. Breakfast was 10/10. Very clean guest house. They go the extra mile to make the visit special. - easter eggs on Easter Sunday, room fridge well stocked, Tea station had more than sufficient teas and coffees, provided basic health supplies (Disprin,ENO's, Rennies etc) . The owner was on site to check that everything was okay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Riversong home away from home.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I could not stay longer. ; (

    All I can say is WOW. The staff made us feel so special. I have stayed overseas but nothing beats Cape Town hospitality. Charmaine and her staff are amazing. I would recommend The Riversong Guest house any day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    Great stay at Riversong
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Luxury Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location is excellent and the staff is friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was great. Overall I had a great stay and will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Thank you for your enormous help and support.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inri and Aaron and Artha all amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay. Would certainly return.
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a constraint

    Staff were very accommodating and ensured that our needs were addressed quickly and comprehensively

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Glass door to bedroom from the lounge area was a bit...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Glass door to bedroom from the lounge area was a bit strange .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    great stay excellent and helpful staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights

    wifi needs to be improved

    loved the breakfasts

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    A great three night stay. Very comfortable. Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower.

    The friendly, professional, diligent staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Disappointing no pool due to drought
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing no pool due to drought

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable,, great service and advice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly,helpful staff. Lovely room and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay- would happily stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights

    More attention to cleaning the room (fine but not perfect)

    Location and view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    it was the best
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Very nice and cosy.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and cosy. Everybody was very helpful. Convinient location, excellent view on the Table Mountains

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Great for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location Comfortable rooms Very friendly and accommodating staff Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all good

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Luxury Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of staff

    Breakfast was artistic and very healthy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.6
    Wi fi was a bit slow.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi fi was a bit slow. Reasonable filter coffee, but no decent cappucino!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Riversong is simply fantastic. The staff, facilities and services are of the best standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, attention to detail and the offer of everything one could need when away from home.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.5
    Good position for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good position for our needs

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Mini bar was great,as don't do evening meals,just lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Mini bar was great,as don't do evening meals,just lovely place ,friendly staff and very helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Amazing guest house in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect gorgeous place with the best hostess - wonderfully accomodating staff and just a feeling of home. I will be back next year!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Staff go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    n/a

    Staff go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and valued, and the rooms are very spacious and well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice big rooms, amazing view and a brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice big rooms, amazing view and a brilliant location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Well equipped, tastefully decorated comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well equipped, tastefully decorated comfortable rooms. Lovely lounge area and very welcoming and helpful staff. I will definitely consider Riversong again and can warmly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    8.8
    Liked it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was not a bad experience but the service booklet mentioned I would be able to find an ice-bucket and ice in the kitchen/laundry. There were none to be seen. A little suggestion that if these are no longer provided, to please update their booklet. Just a little constructive criticism!

    Liked it all. Breakfasts were great!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    We were delighted with every aspect of Riversong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were delighted with every aspect of Riversong. Outstanding in so many ways, but best of all are its staff. Unbelievably helpful and efficient, with no request too much trouble. Even to making us a picnic lunch, ready at 6am for a day walk. We will definitely be back and highly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was terrible

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    ONLY THE shower did not work in the room

    100%

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    7.9
    we did not like the bathroom as it was part of the bedroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we did not like the bathroom as it was part of the bedroom and no privacy.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    10
    All Good
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    All Good

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.8
    Lovely venue and everything was good except the wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection was not good with constant loss of signal

    Lovely venue and everything was good except the wifi.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: