Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riviera Hotel Durban

127 Margaret Mncadi Avenue (Formely known as Victoria Embankment Esplanade), 4001 Durban, South Africa

#41 of 54 hotels in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 515 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Paid WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    What i liked is that the receptionist was very kind and...
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What i did not like is the water was always cold even in the morning around 7am and also did not like the white ladys attitude she jst passes u like you are nothing with attitude while shes a manager or stuff, and another thing we cant be forced to buy food at your hotel please change that.

    What i liked is that the receptionist was very kind and friendly , the rooms where very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.5
    Bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen wasn't clean Not tea in the rooms Untidy/ dirty iron/ the whole hotel have one Iron!. No Adapter..I fully understand that this is a budget hotel but they should work very extensively to improve the service. No DS

    A very majestic view of harbour

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    It was ok
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception was not friendly towards us there was no kettle and tea staff and the fridge in the room.

    The place was not bad at all it was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.2
    R599
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is far from the beach, the check in time is 14h00 I get there earlier where should I go with all my bags? On the rules and regulations they say we shouldn’t leave our valuables behind, so I should take my phones and laptops and my clothes to the beach? Please guys fix ur lift, get another one.

    The view and the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    GOOD PLACE TO REST YOUR MIND
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no one who welcome visitors at the entrance and also staff is not smiling.

    It very clean and house keepers are so friendly thay make you feel at home

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a very pleasant stay.Worse we were there for attending our classes the noise level was fine.
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only if you can service your lifts.

    Your place is having more than exceptional service.Your receptionist were more than welcoming(Zandile and Mr Mbeje,Zinhle and Thami).Your service is far more excellent than 5Star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    W
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I haven't encounter any dislikes.

    What a wonderful service.Loving friendly and well accommodative staff.They attend to any concern you raise to them.To the staff of Riviera you are an asset than a liability,Keep it up

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    Will never go back there or reccomend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathrooms were really old and the water pressure terrible with hot cold changing, the lifts were disgusting and unsafe, the parking was smelly and disgusting and where the cars parked smelt like urine, not safe to walk around with family (son) the reception area was insightly and plain, there was over the2 nights screaming fighting, arguing and drunk people in the hallways. Unsafe and permantly looking over our shoulders. Will never go back there again disgusted

    the rooms were clean not to bad,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Helpful receptionist
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible Wifi of 30 minuets only, as a hotel they must have an unlimited WiFi pls. If that can be changed I’ll keep going to this hotel.

    Helpful receptionist

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    I was happy so far
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast must also b served in.the rooms because if we go down we can b seen by people whom you dont like them 2 see u ..mayb they hafe also book n I didn't have our breakfast because of that

    How if u have plasma tv's so dt we take photos wit a fashionable tv's i.e.a plasma

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    no comment
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged extra, when i got there The lift was not working and i had luggage to go to the 4th floor my soap was stollen from the bathroom No room service

    The hotel was clean and near to all the stores

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    I have a great stay, the place is a good one to be, especial for that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view of boats and harbour was marvelous, Bed very comfortable and room was nice and clean. Also their breakfast was great. I wouldn't mind to come Again a nd again .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    we enjoyed our stay except that we had to tolerate ur terrible breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was totally out, no variets of choices, cereal is only cornflakes, when u opt for health b/f was also terrible...improve ur meals pls

    i like that its closer to both sea and cbd

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Rude staff, comfortable bed and great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every staff member does not have customer service skills. If you are working with people that are paying for a service, then the customers should feel comfortable. I was not comfortable. I'd greet the managers and get silence. I'd greet cleaners and get silence. I'd greet the receptionist and get silence. I am not happy at all that I am treated like I didn't exist once they got their money from me.

    I liked that we got a room as soon as we arrived before check in time and it was bigger.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    excellent people to mingle with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    to have Wifi in all floors.

    the room was perfect and the reception was exceptional..!! the location is best and has no safety issues. it is really a quiet place and one can relax good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of noisy pollution from the traffic on the main road, nothing the Hotel can do about I guess

    For a budget hotel it's excellent, loved the breakfast, secure, got airport shuttle got a safe to lock stuff in... For that price it's excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.6
    Will never return - no value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor parking arrangements - no direct access to hotel - had to walk far with heavy luggage. Too much noise from traffic. No air conditioning - fan was ineffective.

    Nothing specific

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selected DStv Chanel's,there was not Chanel 161,ss3,ss4,182 at least give us compact Chanel's.

    The view from my room breathing taking,and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was shifted to floor one and it was very noisy or shebeen environment. I slept around 2h00 in the morning and 4h00 I was already awake because of the noise.

    It was really nice and comfortable to stay at your hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    central to town, very clean rooms but no telephones. Restaurant not accomodative to food lovers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No phones in the room.. had to go to the ground floor everytime i needed something. No iron was made available to me. Ohhhh no the restaurants only sells light food. No full meals. Parking has to be included in the booking fee.

    The bed was very comfortable. it was laid nicely on arrival, and made the room looked like home. the pillows were comfortable. The hotel location is closer to everything that a person requires after work. the female receptionist that was working (14h00) was very kind and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    breakfast was good thankx
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no clear direction after you have jst park the car. And taking your money right away before i have just come and check the property.

    It is closer to the sea en safe also

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    The overall stay at this hotel was great, friendly stuff and situated in a perfect area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much can be desired on the hotel parking space, it is not convenient. One double bed instead of two single beds can be used. The room needed sockets to plug and charge phones.

    The hotel is easy to access, located close to the beach and attraction sites in Durban. The stuff was friendly, welcoming, helpful under the short notice booking; that was just fantastic. The room was clean, with a place to hang clothes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable. Clean. Sweet dreams. Close to our destination. MSC passenger terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The colour of the paint in the passage doesn't bother me but it doesn't give justice to what you're about to see/open.

    The hotel is affordable and met our immediate needs. It is clean. Linen is clean. For what we paid, we were satisfied. And you still get breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    I dont understand your question.
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You must improve your Reception. Its not on standard. Please upgrade your kitchen and They are food was not good (Breakfast). I think you put effort on marketing it on the radio but the standard. My bathroom was leaking.

    Bed was awesome and bedding was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    it was worth a stay,enjoyed myself at Riviera hotel would recommend this to everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing at all,theres honestly nothing to complain about, I mean the place speaks for itself

    very friendly stuff, cleaning ladies did their job exceptionally well, the view was exquisite. Breakfast was always on point even if the bar was closed during the Easter holidays but the stuff made arrangement to keep our drinks cold

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    If its in their budget let them paint the building and improve their breakfast menu
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside look. First impression always counts if they paint with a more modern and attractive paint it may overflow with clients

    The inside of the rooms are clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning,Durban is very hot,should they install modern air condition everything could be well perfect

    Location,the fact that it is situated near by all amenities like Durban harbour,a few minutes drive to beach,Ushaka and sincoast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    The bed was confortable and the habour view also nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room had a bad smell, the tv didnt have SABC 3. The cleaning lady was not nice when we checked out at 10:00 just screemed " dnt lock that room" without even greeting us

    The bed was confortable and the habour view also nice. Black male reseptionist friendly and helpful.The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    We survived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is old and need improvement to attract more visitors not only those who can't afford better accommodation.

    I didn't enjoy breakfast at all the set up and the whole eating erea was not so clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff,clean room and a nice harbour view....affordable prices mmmmm I'm looking forward to book
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking

    I liked everything about the place except for paying for parking while you said its a free parking...otherwise everything was wooooow

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone who was cleaning there on Saturday drank our whiskey that we left and on Sunday i left my juice and i wanted to see if I'll find it the way i left it or not and again someone drank it because we found a little left.

    The people who worked there were so friendly and i liked the cleanliness more and not forgetting the sea view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Twas a lovely place to be and would definitely recommend to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking facilities

    Even though the water was cold at night,it brought some uncertainties but was OK in the morning.It was quiet and welcoming area to be in there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    It was nice but there's room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet moisture smell, very restricted entrance and the restaurant hostile service

    The harbor view and definitely comfortable bed, the most appreciated experience was the hustle-free extension of my stay due to check-out time and transport arrangements clash, really appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    Riveria Rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Water takes forever to be warm or hot -There's was no variety of cereal. It was corn flakes only -only 1 egg for breakfast

    It's central of Durban. . You don't have t9 do alot of driving

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Budget hotel with hospitable staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than that, Riviera hotel is a budget hotel where you get what you pay for: rather noisy room with poorly lit bathroom, quick breakfast (no high quality and choice reminded us of lunch), free wifi only on groundfloor, 1st and 2nd - restricted to 30 min/day - if need of more, you need to buy it.

    Great staff at the reception which upgrades the establishment. Very helpful and willing to go the extra mile! Take time for your needs. Safety locker in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    3.3
    Horrible experience. Shower was cold. No hot water. Lift creaky and the free parking happened to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall service.Horrible experience. Shower was cold. No hot water. Lift creaky and the free parking happened to be R14 a night. It looked like a public parking with taxis and driving school trucks. Two towels. No shower mat. I have never had such a horrible experience for R500 n worse staff attitude. Not even a smile from staff personel

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.2
    It is poorly managed facility and staff are not welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor staff attitudes Small rooms No wardrobes Hot rooms (No air conditioning) Overall, it was NOT comfortable

    I had to cut short my stay at the facility. It is poorly managed and staff are not welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.8
    IT WAS HORRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ALMOST EVERYTHING> THE STAFF IS RUDE, SHOWERS HAVE LOUD SOUND, THE BREAKFAST IS BAD, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS POORER AND THE PLATES USED FOR BREAKFAST IS DIRTY THAT I EVEN TOOK PICTURES TO SHOW PEOPLE

    the bed only!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    The stay was good but can be even better wih a few improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Tv channels.a dstv will do. 2 Parking issue- not suitable @ all. Having to pay an extra amount separately not on for us. 3.Theclass stand on the basin a bit awkward n the basin itself too small. A small bar fridge just 4 drinks will do. We know eating is not allowed in the rooms but surely a drink won't cause any harm

    The place was clean n comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay,and I will definitely utilize your facilities in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been nice if the hotel was a self catering one,I didnt like the factwhole that theres was no bar fridge

    Most retail shops where within the proximity,hotel very immaculate and breakfast was delicious I must say

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The booking information says that guests are not allowed to bring food onto the premises. This gets a bit tricky because sometimes you want to get food from another place other than Buster's Diner. There are also no facilities in the room to allow for self catering

    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.7
    It was okay for the 2 nights, but not for more days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it did not have a fridge in the room and we couldn't watch TV the way it blurred.

    The fact that it was easy to find and walking distance to most places for example shops and the harbour!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Reveira hotel you are the best and I'll always visit and also I'll keep on sending my clients.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much all.was perfect only electricity tripping

    Peter where do I start the best of them all in fact the staff is A for a way Peter helped me from.the day I started booking he went extra miles for me.to be very comfortable this hotel has always came up for me both of my kids where conceived from.this hotel:-) I love this hotel so much an I'm.coming back again next restaurant should have variety of breakfaSt and cheese will do pls just to add on however everything is nice n tasty very neat I must day,as a travel agent I have never had a problem with my clients whenever I book the hotel for them.you people always come up and cover me even last dying minute I'm proud to stay in Riviera hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and great location at a very affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator broke down during checkout. We had to carry luggage down 5 floors. Also booking got mixed up as I had requested 2 rooms and only 1 was booked. However the manager arranged another room without any fuss which was cool.

    Quite and neat, value for money, polite staff, filling breakfast, clean rooms, good facilities and great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.2
    Better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have a microwave, no fridge, there were glasses In the toilet the was a lot of noise from the cars down stairs the bedding need some improvements.

    Clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.5
    They very considerate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They very considerate. They know their customers and they really look into special requests. Thank you. I would recommend this hotel. I was really happy. Great service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.1
    Comfy bed and amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working all the way to the ground floor, Ricoffy sachets in the room (at least get some Nescafe), breakfast area needs to be upgraded with juice options, better coffee and sauces like Chutney.

    Comfy bed and amazing view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Clean, convenient location. Good Value for the Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like paying extra for parking and I was hoping the room would have come with a mini refrigerator.

    The room was good sized, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was fine. The Air conditioner worked well. Free breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    In city center n near harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their service is very poor they using 1 lady at the break fast counter helping people coming for breakfast n at the same time cleaning the tables and preparing breakfast at the back...thus making their service very poor.... They should employ more people especially during this festive period.... We were bound to check out by 10am but the cleaning lady was at our door 9am telling us she have to clean the room..why so early n yet we were told check out is 10am?

    In city center n near harbour

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms and one room was without shower. It had bath, but there is no shower. How?? It's like a lottery, if you win shower or not. Electric socket worked bad

    Good location, perfect continental breakfast (you can choose). One I chose included bacon, eggs, toasts -- really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    I felt like I was on holiday the room had the atmosphere the bed the view.it was great & affordabl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding of the hotel made us uneasy especially when we had to get taxis to the beach...and reception area needs abit more lighting and character

    I loved the view of the harbour especially at night and the vintage elevator and the mouth watering filling breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast was good and the bed was comfortable, the view...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was going to be better if wifi was reaching all the rooms and their parking is not that great.

    The breakfast was good and the bed was comfortable, the view was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.0
    A hotel for the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a family room direct with the hotel and the toilet and shower were too cramped. The rolling entrance door was very small. The reception area was too dark and very unprofessional to my liking with old technology systems. The old OTIS lift with navy carpets was also too hot. The passage areas were too dark. The hotel needs renovations to meet the current trends.

    Helpful receptionist and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was freshly prepared and enjoyable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice place at the harbor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really loud in the evening and early in the morning. No shower in the bathroom, only bathtub.

    Nice place to sleep, directly to the harbor. Great parkplace next to the Hotel, which is really cheap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    My stay was so excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift stuck but it was good for me and it ddnt bother me dat much bcz it a unexpected error

    I like the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was so clean n the view of the room it was wow breakfast is too much,u eat for the whole day,it was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not Working Lifts*under maintenance they say*.... cigarette smell/smoke from the bar

    Everything I guess, no noise ,Clean room/bathroom, Affordable, definitely will be coming back.........(how about self-catering service?)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is frugal and poor-quality. You have to wait at least 15min for one tiny yogurt and a canned fruit salad! The parking is not included, nor is the dubious wi-fi. No restaurant around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    I would like to say if u put the telephone in the rooms so...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to say if u put the telephone in the rooms so if i want something at restaurant so I can phone thats all thanks

    I would like to say if u put the telephone in the rooms so if i want something at reustore

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Breakfast is excellent, Rooms are neat, staff is good well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar closes at 10 :( ,Cold drinks must be included on the breakfast some of us doesnt drink tea and coffee, suppose to be optional whether you like tea, coffee or any type of drink.

    Breakfast is excellent, Rooms are neat, staff is good well trained. Nice view facing the hubour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.4
    Better options available
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place felt run down. Yes, they keep it clean, but everything is a bit old and there are signs of decay and aging, especially in the bathrooms. Not a great location with lots of traffic noise. Walls and doors are thin. Also the parking is in a separate building.

    Nice staff and ok value. The bed itself was ok. Next time I would stay in a different part of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    2.9
    smoking of weed on my floor when it clearly said no smoking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    smoking of weed on my floor when it clearly said no smoking. Bath tub with no shower handle only single taps. Loud noise from extractor fans. Crap breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    we had a great stay at the hotel.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked twin rooms but they did not advise us that it is double beds and not two single beds in the rooms :(

    we had a great stay at the hotel. Thank you very much for the great service you gave us

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    A place i can go back to time and again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar fridges in the rooms..If you can organize bar fridges in our rooms

    The service was excellent.The staff was very friendly and very helpful.The food was very nice and we ate as much as we could...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    It was good,value for money accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts got stucked for almost 3 days and have to walk to 5th floor everyday.There were couple fighting during the night and it seem like management did not interevene as the noise kept on disturbing till early hours of the morning.No bathroom mat

    Easy to access everything even if not using a car.Rooms where clean and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for the Comrades Marathon
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    It was in close proximity to the ICC. Easy walk to register for the Comrades. It was an even easier walk to the race start. It was very good value for money. Beds and towels changed every day. Basic but clean and comfortable and the breakfast was better than you'd expect for the price. It was just a short walk to lovely beaches and to Wilson's Wharf which had plenty places to go for something to eat. Definitely a good choice for anyone daft enough to do the Comrades! There's a lift!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not allowed to bring food to the room, it was strictly forbidden, (it said they have the right to check all bags if desired!). That was not a nice thing, felt like some kind of prison rule rather than a hotel. Why not let people bring a sandwich or whatever, they are paying for the room including the cleaning, not a big deal to vacuum some possible crumbs. This was a first for me, there has not been a rule like this in any hotel/guesthouse/apartment I have ever stayed in. Everything else was great though, this was just weird.

    The room was beautiful, nice and friendly staff, tasty breakfast (you got to choose from a menu, there was vegetarian alternatives), location was great, nice view from the room. Overall very good hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    4.2
    Shabby security.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that there just ordinary locks to to rooms.You can buy these type of keys at any lock smith or hardware shop.I was very uncomfortable with this situation.

    Nothing really.It is in an unsafe part of Durban.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.8
    was okay but not my style. Its ok for young people I think.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy from the road and also the guests at the hotel.

    Staff were very helpful. Firstly the lift was not working. Being over 60 and having a room on the 5th floor was not very welcoming. The receptionist moved our room to the second floor which was a very nice room phew but the noise from the road and very noisy guests - so sleepless night!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    4.2
    The place needs complete revamp
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is too old and scary The passage walls too dark please change that paint Everything is too old for that place revamp. You have to spend money to get money.

    No comment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Easy to find convenient,the staff is cool too.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the food I bought from their restaurant. The pizza was very bad I ended up sleeping on a empty stomach because the pizza was burnt.

    Easy to find convenient,the staff is cool too.rooms are clean everything is perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Loved it with little to no disturbance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need a bar fridge

    The room was well kept and the view was amazing, guy in the restaurant was friendly unlike lady in reception during the day. Plus they had clean towels, shower cap and shower gel,small things that matter

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay at Reviera hotel, the staff and management were very helpful
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didnt like the fact dat I had to pay for overnight parking, and the free wifi was only at ground level.

    The room was perfect as I requested with ocean view.The hotel is very economical,and therefore we had a very limited breakfast as compared to Gauteng hotel where breakfast is kinder self service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.7
    the property seemed a little older than actual pictures, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    receptionist was not welcoming at all , and the advertisements said prices includes breakfast but we had to pay money every morning to get proper breakfast

    the property seemed a little older than actual pictures, the tiny receptionist was rude and not welcoming

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.8
    Reasonable budget accommodation next to the harbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The buildings adjacent to the property seemed a bit dodgy, making us feel uncomfortable. However, once inside the building you are fine. The parking facilities was ok, dirty but safe i guess - not to mention that some of the staff managing the parking was quite rude on the first day. However from the next shift on-wards it was ok. You have to pay on a daily basis for daily and/or nightly parking. As far as the room goes: 1. we had a harbor facing room with a balcony. The noice from the traffic down below was quite troublesome till late in the evening, and early in the morning. 2. The bathroom was very small - and not really ergonomically designed. For instance - the basin was so small and low that i couldnt really brush my teeth, without bending akwardly down. Washing your face is a big no-no - as there is a cupholder in the way that makes it nearly impossible if you are larger than 1.5m 3. There was this overwhelming smell like wet carpets in the passage - which was surprisingly gone when you in your room. 4. Not a big thing- but the TV was extremely small :-) 5. There was not enough power outlets (i think in total there was 3 - 1 for the TV, and 2 for the bedlamps). Which meant we had to unplug the TV to use the kettle (and i love coffee), as well as the bedlamps to charge our devices.

    Loved the breakfast, and the friendly staff THe room was quite spacious - and comfortably slept a family of 4

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    3.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation was not up to standard, the lifts is very doggy and frightening as well as the room had a bad odder. Didn't compare to what was seen on Booking.com. We were there for at most 30minutes in the room and decided to leave.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riviera Hotel Durban traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: