Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Roseland House 4 stars

291 Helen Joseph Road / Davenport Road, Glenwood, Glenwood, 4001 Durban, South Africa

#77 of 152 B&Bs and Inns in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 41 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room / Twin room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Welcoming and secluded. Cooked breakfast done really well. Rooms have lots of character with old style furniture. Nice area outside rooms. Parking right outside rooms. Just up the road from a whole of restaurants and stores., and a large park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instant coffee at breakfast. Bean to cup coffee would just be the cherry on top.

    Everything good quality: room, bed, linen, Aircon, breakfast, etcetera. This was my second stay and I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room / Twin room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We booked and paid for a room with a king bed. When we arrived we were given a room with a standard double (4'6) bed. Our hostess shrugged and said the king rooms were occupied. She didn't care. The room was gloomy and smelled of cigarette smoke. We cut our stay short because I found it difficult to sleep. The place lacked charm.

    The breakfast was good and our host who served it was friendly and efficient and remembered what we liked for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room / Twin room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think a landline phone in the room would help if there was an emergency and mobile phone was compromised.

    Friendly service. Helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room / Twin room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only missed good quality coffee. Instant coffee doesn't really go with the overall quality of the venue.

    Lovely room. Good mattress. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact that we had to make our bed and clean the room on the New Year's Day. Staff were on holiday I understand but the hosts could have done better by making other arrangements bearing in mind that we were also on holiday. The loft where we were put in was extremely hot and we constantly bumped against the wall/roof edges.

    Hosts were friendly and cooked nice breakfast with fresh fruit.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the end of breakfast time of 9am a little restrictive especially if one is on holiday. Suitable for business accommodation but less friendly for people on holiday. No time for a lie in.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the accommodation was tastefully furnished and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    same meal every breakfast. BORING. the rooms don't have a bar fridge and the bathroom light noisy

    the security is excellent and the cleaning staff is good. the position of the house in the area is not difficult to find, but the area is mountaneous. but beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property on a hill, if not accustomed walking or not physically fit.

    The whole property was super clean. Owners and staff went out of way to accommodate. Away from beach noise of holiday.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels were a little on the small side. Bathroom railing kept on falling down.

    Clean. Secure. Friendly people. Kettle in room. Good value for money as included breakfast & 3 family members were able to be in 1 room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs after comrades.Hahaha

    The hospitality is very.The owners have humility.Great people indeed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast hours on weekends

    Friendly hosts

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that there was no fridge in the room to

    I liked quietness the most

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was amazing and the hospitality was impeccable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast!!! hospitality!!!! and the courtyard

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room / Twin room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, comfortable and friendly hosts

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather.

    Ambience. Peaceful. Accommodating staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room / Twin room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything the owners are so friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    Great location, tasty and fresh breakfast, engaging conversations with the owners, silence!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn't get warm

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location!! And EXTRA friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm happy about everything

    The breakfast was awesome and the muffins were fresh.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    Breakfast was superb

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast everyday

    The owners and the staff are very nice and welcoming

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room / Twin room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place ever, friendly host will definitely visit soon again,rooms are neat & fresh, realy enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I have no comments

    Good location, safe place, personal attention, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the property and parking area.

    The owners were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner Delia did not provide a warm welcome, and was rude and hostile instead. I was so uncomfortable with her attitude upon check-in that I only stayed one night instead of the two for which I paid. I will not return to this place. Additionally, my shower door didn't close, and the pool area is right by the parking area and doesn't include any lounge chairs or comfortable sitting space.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They refused to give me an iron and insisted the maid will iron my dress. She burnt my dress which was new and when I reported it to the lady "Wife"I think she gave me such attitude and told me sorry there's nothing they can do. We dont let irkns in the tokms. The kitchen was so dirty where hey prepare breakfast. They didn't clean my room on the first nor did they tell me no one works on that day but the wife yet again claimed she did. Their mattress is so uncomfortable. It's the worst treatment i've ever received and it really ruined my holiday in durban. I think the wife is not trained on customer service. I would not recommend that place to anyone.

    The gentleman I think is the owner was very professional and really tried to make one feel comfortable.Wifi

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gate and driveway very narrow - you have to be extra careful if you are driving an SUV. The hosts seemed too overwhelmed during breakfast - even when they were taking orders it felt like you are being rushed... Maybe they need more help?

    Friendly staff. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and had a nice balcony. The place was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The landlady, Delia was very informative and advised about safety when travelling alone in South Africa. Also I needed an adaptor plug and she kindly lent me one.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast area can get crowdy if all visitors came for breakfast.

    Spacious room with spacious bathroom. Quiet surroundings and had great time. Lovely garden with two big swimming pools.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    1. Breakfast, the same every morning, do not expect much, Fruits are not fresh, its can fruits. The rest same every day. 2.Parking - Terrible, so narrow 4x4 will not enter. you need a guide to get in and out. 3. Safety - no undercover, when it rains you will get wet, my daughter is pregnant and she fell on a slippery tile and later my other daughter fell, no railings - when wet pls do not wear slops. For me, it was a last minute booking, hence there were availability, i will not not stay there again.

    Free Wi Fi

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    a little bit difficult to find the place.

    Very very friendly host. Beautiful place. Good communication. Wonderful breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The room was immaculate Staff friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

    Nice breakfast, extremely friendly, flexible and welcoming owners! Big rooms in a relaxed suburb of Durban!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    I liked everything

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Rooms were cleaned everyday. Hosts were nice.staff was so helpful

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly hosts and fine location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The quietness of the area

    The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location and the management and staff were very friendly

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly owners and staff, clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Owners were the best- responsive, engaging and fun!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly owners, helpful with directions and activities. Walkable neighborhood and easy access to main roads to get to different parts of the city.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hostess was not very friendly, rooms too small but would be perfect for business people

    Convenient breakfast served timeous lay

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: