Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rosendal Winery and Wellness Retreat 4 stars

Klaas Voogds West, 6707 Robertson, South Africa

#9 of 13 B&Bs and Inns in Robertson

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 304 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was big, but very dark. And the walls seem very thin, one can hear what the neighbours were doing in the room. Also the WIFi cut off every few minutes. The restaurant didn't have a very nice atmosphere, empty, we were only 2 parties, no people from outside came to the restaurant. The menu is limited.

    The Pool area was nice, great views into the valley. The bed was comfortable. It's on a quiet street, not much traffic. Breakfast selection was standard, but yummy (well except the coffee).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could do with some maintenance They cancelled the massages that we had pre-booked because they couldn't figure out who had booked despite them confirming the room number at the time of booking Curtains don't open so room was claustrophobic

    The dinner was excellent Staff were friendly even though they were inefficient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was behind expectations and felt short of the good accomodations. WiFi connection could be better.

    Nice , spacious rooms. Beautiful location and scenery.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was just slightly impersonal in that we did not get to meet owners or managers of the hotel. Would have preferred a personal touch of some kind

    Nice views and good swimming pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the food was terrible! On booking.com the restaurant was described as French cuisine but it was very basic and definitely not French! there was no king clip, no ostrich and no prawns which was most of the menu. The steak also was not seasoned at all - it was the first and last time we ate there (not cheap either at R175 for the steak which was basically the only thing available).

    Tina was amazing - she ran the place and made sure we were happy at all times - such a lovely lady! Beautiful place too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A fridge would be helpful. No TV (but that's not necessary) no radio, CD player. On the Saturday night (2nd night) the restaurant served a barbeque with little or no choice menu (lamb chops or Boerewors) and only Milk Tart Desert (although an alternative was supplied on request).

    Lovely swimming pool, friendly and attentive staff comfortable and spacious room. Good Wi-Fi. Great restaurant (with 1 exception)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, although it’s slightly out the way, it’s easy to stay happily and comfortably for a long weekend

    Lovely quiet location, attentive staff, great food & wine, and the pool and spa both great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did miss not having a TV in the evening, but as an alternative benefit I got some much needed sleep instead! Also there is Wifi which allows you to stream via cell or tablet.

    Small enough to feel like you're a welcomed guest, but big enough not to feel smothered. Rooms were decent size and spotless. Spa treatment was good. Venue is very clean and well maintained. Supper was great, and the make-your-own breakfast "buffet" was plentiful. We had a very chilled and relaxing overnight stay which was exactly what we were looking for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was good but couldve been better. Sometimes things that had been part of the dish on the menu were not part of the dish on the plate. Communication between hotel and restaurant staff should be improved.

    Great place to relax - best views and perfect massages in the Spa :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and quietness, beautiful rooms very romantic setting, staff is very friendly Reldrick was an excelent host, good food, great wine all and all a great spoil!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting is poor in the room and there is no TV. As much as it's a retreat, u would think your room would have a TV

    It was very peaceful and relaxing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went to the restaurant for dinner but the food was overdone (lamb chop) or underdone (risotto). So that was a bit disappointing.

    The exclusivity and service was top notch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa staff need more training and more staff so we can have treatments at the same time.

    Staff mostly. Spa lady was a little to unfriendly and not interactive on questionnaire and felt rushed. Menu little limiting if you are lunching and dining in. Otherwise great service staff and relaxing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath water took a long to time to get hot. Shared geysers.

    Great stay! Warm rooms, warm beds, great spa! Wonderful views. Best desserts ever! Try the mousse dessert!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When they booked us in nobody told us about the underfloor heater or warm blanket or any ficitity . It was mid witer and VERY cold . The next day the cleaning lady told us about all the above. So it was beter the second night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly but slightly inexperienced service in restaurant, assume this was due to low occupancy in low season?

    Welcome glass of wine on arrival a very nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been great if there was a bath in our room. Not the best layout. All rooms should look like the Spa Rooms!

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. Always there to help. Food was amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place seems run down with no management.The room was ordinary to average.At breakfast they had no more milk so the guests had black coffee [someone had forgotten to order milk].

    I didn't like anything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door lock stuck. No warm water after 10pm. Called reception twice for maintainance. No result or reply. Next morning still no hot water. No signage in room to notify wifi password.

    Tranquil area. Cleanliness. Good quality bedding. Great breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the shower could be bit brighter.

    Comfortable bed, loved that there were underfloor heating, electric blanket,and staff was friendly, helpful and very accommodating in all our requests. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast options are limited, but passable.

    Rosendal is a gorgeous little getaway spot in a spectacularly beautiful part of the Western Cape. Staff are friendly and welcoming, and the rooms are well-appointed, with stunning views of the mountains. Sitting on the balcony, drinking wine and looking at the views ... what a life. I'll return every time I'm in the Cape.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had water hammer in our taps, but when I told the staff about it I was told that it would be fixed in the morning (we were only staying 1 night). Visiting in Winter was obviously cold, and it would have been lovely to have electric blankets in all the rooms, not just the luxury rooms.

    A stunning location. We could sit outside our rooms basking in the sun while sipping our complimentary drink and listening to birds and frogs. A wonderfully peaceful place. The restaurant staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything thing was great. The room was nice and heated so it was very cozy when we got there. Room was very neat and clean and it smells like a wellness retreat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place seems to be in trouble. No sign of any management. We booked their Slow Food and Wine special dinner but the staff did not know about the offering advertised on the Robertson Slow Food website. They eventually recovered (after confirming with their owners in CT?) and served what was advertised. No decor to speak of - depressing!

    Untrained staff tried hard. Food good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My Girlfriend and i booked a 2 nights stay for our 15 year anniversary in one of their spa rooms. The room had no hot water the Friday and Saturday night. We couldn't have that romantic bath or even have a shower. We had to leave our room in the dark and cold and to go shower in the spa sauna. We booked a half day spa which was meant to be 120 minutes The ladies that gave the treatment were in such a rush that there was nothing personal or special about it. I had to wait in the waiting room for 10 minutes whilst she moped the floor. The whole experience ended after 70 minutes. What a big disappointment.

    The service and the restaurant Food was amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would be good to tell people who are sharing a twin room that the bathroom/toilet is open to the bedroom. maybe put umbrellas in the rooms during winter as it's a bit of a walk to the main building and car park

    very comfortable and well priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is absolutely nothing not to like....😂😂😂

    The place is amazing. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They went all out to ensure that we had the most romantic anniversary and it was definitely very special. It is very convenient as the restaurant is on site. Breakfast is amazing with menu and buffet options. Lunch and supper are fantastic. The food and wine are excellent. The spa, that is on site too is sooooo amazing. Best massage we ever had . I would highly recommend this place to anyone and I myself would definitely book here again in the future. Many thanks and love to Tina. She was the highlight of our stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant was very tasty but our first choice was not available at supper and breakfast.

    The rooms were clean, warm and cozy. The gowns and slippers were a lovely touch. Tina at reception was very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Background music, (which were played through a laptop) at breakfast is not necessary, silence and sounds of nature is preferable at such a beautiful place!

    Beautiful views, special touches in room, helpful and kind staff. Tina is a star!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived, found an astray full of stompies on our balcony, not very nice for a non smoker. Bad lightening in the room, no light in the toilet or shower. Needed to use a torch or cell phone at night in the loo. No water pressure, when your neighbours showed you had no water, could hear everything through the walls. Towels smelt musty. Lights in the rooms were full of cobwebs. Service in the dinning room was shocking, one waiter to service about 10 people. Did not have any of the wines we wanted from their wine farm, (only had their wines on the wine list) could only have the wines opened during the day for wine tasting, so had to have a glass of wine, then they ran out of the Shiraz and had to go onto another wine. Ceiling in the dinning room was also full of cobwebs. Waiter did not tell us the specials for the night, nor did he know what the soup of the day was. (small menu of 4 starters, 4 mains and 3 desserts). Plates left on our tables for 20 mins after we had finished our starter. Dead flowers on the table in the evening plus they where still there at breakfast. Waiter took 15 minutes to find us brown sugar but that time our coffee was cold. Over all very bad experience, will definitely not recommend this place.

    nothing............

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival we were told not to drink the tap water. Rosendal provided one bottle of still water on the first night and then did not provide drinking water. Think a bottle per person per day should be provided until their drinking water is sorted out.

    Excellent breakfast , with lovely views across the valley.. Service good and staff very attentive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Variety of food offered for dinner and continental breakfast options could have been more diverse and could have changed every day, as this would have encouraged us to eat more frequently at the restaurant at night.

    We have stayed at Rosendal before, and chose to return due to a previously good experience. Very comfortable room, with all the creature comforts for winter-electric blanket, underfloor heating, and wall heaters. Beautiful, serene location, perfect for morning runs and walks, or just a tea or coffee on your veranda. Great wine tasting on site and within walking distance to one wine farm. Very easy drives to other restaurants, an olive farm, Robertson town, and surrounding towns. Staff very friendly and welcoming-even invited us to local activity at the school within walking distance. A great experience for a short break away! Thank you once again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large comfortable bed in a very clean and well equipped room. Bathroom was as big as the bedroom with a huge tub to have a long relaxing bath. Very quiet area to relax and it was near all the main attractions in Robertson. Breakfast was lovely. I highly recommend Rosendal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very close to each other and therefore we could hear everything happening in the next room. Felt like we had to whisper all the time as we didn't want to disturb others. The Spa was extremely disappointing with one of the therapists not showing up for our treatment a couple's massage. My husband and I shared our concerns with reception as the owner was no where to be found. Sadly seems that they had heard all of these complaints before or dealt with the same issues in the past(like the spa )

    The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No manager,no hot water, was placed in room with no under floor heating,although informed otherwise, breakfast spread not as per the menu ie. only one tipe of cheese and pork sausage old and tastless, so dissapointed compared to service and standard before,no attention to detail. No therapists at spa. Will defnitely not go back or recommend Rosendal unless hugh changes happens. Locals aware of service issues and standard deteriating. What was a beauitiful experience before,was now a bitter taste in the mouth

    The scenery and layout

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps consider Televisions in the rooms?

    The rooms were heated, lovely in the winter months. The staff were extremely helpful,accomodating all our extra needs. Wine tasting was a lovely experience and we thoroughly enjoyed our spa treatments.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes

    Rosendal is a delightful oasis in the countryside. Stay there to enjoy peace and quiet, have a swim, use the spa and watch birds by the small lake from the restaurant terrace. It's heaven on earth.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the temperature of the room was not the best but acceptable.

    The location in the middle of nowhere and the personnel making everything much more like home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An air-conditioner in the rooms and spa.

    All the staff were well trained, friendly and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We soon felt like close friends. Sitting out on the verandah, overlooking a farm dam where the red knobbed coots, black crakes and moorhens were continuasly busy doing there thing. Wine tasting - the bordeaux blend was highly favoured. Long walks on nearby gravel roads through fruit and olive orchards and vineyards.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe pastries at breakfast :) nothing is bad about this place

    The venue is beautiful, dinner is amazing, wines are really nice and overall a great experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is an old one so there was a few ants near the tables by the window sill in the restaurant, however we simply switched tables.

    The wine tasting was great our waiter and all the staff were excellent. The food was fantastic, we really enjoyed our stay the place is cut off from the rest of the world it is so tranquil and peaceful there a great place to unwind and enjoy the natural surroundings

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen staff a little noisy and the music in the restaurant sounded terrible (bad speakers).

    Service from staff is world class. Food from restaurant was excellent. Setting and facilities fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that negatively effected our stay, but here are some things that could be worked on:The breakfast service could be better in terms of speed to action.The Spa rooms should be heated and should have heated towels.

    A little piece of Heaven nestled in the middle of untouched mountain ranges. I loved the dinner service, the staff and the wine. The staff made all the extra effort to make our stay unforgettable. A shout out to Anne, Athi and Tina. THANK YOU!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, the visit was excellent.

    Fantastic Property. Gorgeous Location. Very helpful and attentive staff. We had 3 rooms as a family, and each one of them could have been the honeymoon suite. Gorgeous rooms, overlooking an infinity pool and lake, with individual patios. We wished we could stay longer. We arrived a little late in the afternoon, too late for a wine tasting, and we were leaving for the airport the following day. Very kindly, the manager offered us a special late wine tasting which was a really informative and enjoyable session. We didn't realise that we should have booked this session prior to our arrival - which is a useful tip for future guests.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were noisy in the kitchen area.

    The swimming pool area was beautiful and relaxing. Stayed in one of the farm rooms which had a nice large room and bathroom. The staff were very attentive and hospitable. Just a short 10/15 minute drive into the main town of Robertson. Had a good 90 minute massage. Had dinner in the restaurant all three nights of my stay and found the food to be good and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound proofing isn't great (crying baby next door that woke me up one night) but it is an old property so I'm being picky.

    We had a lovely 3 night stay here at Rosendal. It's a lovely setting with a view of the mountains located off the beaten track between Ashton and Robertson on the N1. Reasonably priced as some of the wineries are really very expensive for accommodation. Very quiet (it really is in the middle of nowhere), no tv's, and wifi is limited so it really is a lovely place to get away from it all. The wine is delicious. The food is very good.....the home made bread and chutney served with the snoek pate are delicious! The staff are all very helpful, pleasant, smiley and courteous. We had a Spa Suite which is a bit bigger than the other rooms and has a nice view over the pool. There is a lovely free standing bath with curtains and candles in the room which is very romantic. There are also robes and slippers. Shower is great. Area with 2 sinks in the room. Toilet and shower separated by opaque glass doors. People who book here must bear in mind that it is a guest house so there's no bar or anywhere communal to sit apart from outside on the balcony so if that's something you like and will complain about afterwards don't go! But all rooms have their own patio with a view. Also there are only 8 rooms so you won't get an extensive choice of menu - it's a guesthouse. We found it just lovely, small, intimate and quiet and we hope we can find time to come back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not know much about the wines or the menu, they had run out of wine and chocolate tasting, run out of some wines and the loungers were tired and needed replacing.

    The view was great, lovely spa room friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was very average as well as the service of the staff. The spa treatment was actually a joke. Hot water kept running out as we showered

    Fantastic "spa' bath rooms with great views across the pool area into the distance. Manager was very attentive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet door not sealing off from the bedroom. Glass does not work Air conditioning would have been an added bonus

    The staff and service were superb. Especially Christy. The infinity swimming pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the room poor. Long way to haul luggage with no help. Room spare with small dimly lit bathroom and ++ mosquitos. Very disappointing room for the price

    Lovely country setting

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant food was delicious although a little bit expensive. No baths in the inter-leading family rooms (we had a small child so had to go and buy a plastic container to bath him at night) - this is obviously not an issue if you don't have a child but did mean we had to improvise a little.

    Staff were friendly, and fairly attentive, and offered suggestions of things to do and see in the area. Great swimming pool which was a welcome relief considering the 40 degree heat. Breakfast was good, and food from the restaurant for dinner was also tasty and fresh! Location was perfect for the wedding we were attending at Pat Busch Nature Reserve which is a short easy drive from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We taught the farm is closer to Robertson. We missed a TV in the bedroom.

    Lovely , peaceful and tranquil. Definitely the place to go to relax. The food was good and the chef came to talk to us, just that little bit of personal attention.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If it hadn't of rained one night to cool it down aircon might have been useful in the room.

    The room and poolside area were lovely and the staff very professional but friendly too. A nice and secluded feeling spa area offering a great range of treatments. Food was lovely but don't be put off by their set menu - if you can't eat something in particular talk to the owner earlier in the day and she will sort something else out for you. Their wines are really rather lovely and go brilliantly with the well cooked food. You'll need a car or a bike to get around as Robertson itself is a couple of miles away. Nearby treats include a wonderful family run Marbrin olive farm (with their small children just popping olives in their like they were bon bons!) and Owl's Rest Lavender farm who's cordials are a real tonic for the wine weary!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lady doing my treatment was not motivated at all, did not say thank you for my tip and was totally bored by doing her job.

    Die pool area ist der hammer, lunch buffet, tolles zimmer

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    at such a nice place there should be airconditioning at the rooms. a few ants at the room

    3-4 th time we're there, really nice place, very frindly staff and a superb location, will deffenetly come back

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very limited water supply in bathrooms, it was almost impossible to take a shower... Lodge not easy to find, nice, but remote place. Wellness Retreat?!? Where?

    Nice and relatively large room, a little bit too warm (no aircon), helpful friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were terrible - nobody has double beds any more - certainly not in South Africa. Electricity supply was not working so we could not do anything but switch on an overhead light - just not good enough at any price.

    The only good experience was the friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there were old marks on the bed linen on my husbands bed (mine was clean) , there was a dead chongolola under my pillow. We suggested staff check before guests arrival as other than this all else was perfect and our stay most enjoyable

    The gown and slippers, and fresh flowers in our room, the complimentary wine tasting , delicious meals and helpful friendly staff. The location is good on the wine route and the setting and views are lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One evening restaurant basically closed and if you did not want a Braai(Barbeque) then you could starve no choice one lamb chop and one sausage, no starter and no dessert.

    The views and the bird life

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to do a wine and chocolate tasting on arrival, but was only able to taste wine im the reception area as staff was having a meeting in the tasting room.

    Very clean, beautiful location, restaurant on-site, ticked all our boxes

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small. Bathroom wall doesn't go all the way to the ceiling, so one can hear absolutely everything inside the bathroom and also the rooms on the right and left. Walls between the rooms are made of paper. Poor cold buffet breakfast selection.

    The location is beautiful. Wine on arrival is surprising and it is good wine. Staff is polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath had only a trickle of hot water...couldn't use it. Restaurant didn't have 2 of the meals on offer. Waiting for suppliers to deliver. Poor management. But helpful staff doing their best.

    Nice place to unwind and relax. Loved that they didn't have tvs

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our booking was incorrect when we arrived and we were told we are lucky an extra night is available. The supper was a disaster. It took 45 mins for the food to arrive which was cold with no taste! As a wellness retreat I expect the spa to be open every day OR be told that the spa is closed on a Thursday. WiFi did not work in our room until the last evening. This would be less of a problem if there was a TV in the room. A pity that the wine tasting is not a little more 'sophisticated' for the guests to enjoy.

    Beautiful location. Rooms were comfortable and perfectly warmed to fight off the winter evening cold. The hotel has the potential to be fantastic. Breakfast was tasty with a friendly, helpful waitress serving in the morning. We were forced to relax which is a HUGE bonus! The wine from the farm is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, after notifying the venue of my arrival time, I got told by the front desk staff that she was about to go home and I was lucky to catch her before she did. Very unprofessional. No wi fi in rooms, no tv, water pressure was abysmal, no inside parking. No security either with access to the hotel and all rooms from the street. Definitely not up to scratch in my view

    Nice room and beautiful views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of sewer outside your room. Place seems abit run down. The meals were dry and loaded with sauce. Not appealing at all. The accommodation was not the most appealing and definitely far from feeling like a wellness retreat!

    The massages were great (Pay additional)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were all friendly and helpful.. The room was fairly basic but very comfortable and the views were fantastic.. The tranquillity of the place and the lake with all the birdlife was a big hit. I've stayed here before and will return again next year. My wife and I also had a wonderful dinner there on our first night. . The house wine was pleasant but as they neither have a vineyard there and have their wines made for them in Stellenbosch it is misleading to call it a winery.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast on the first day when we were the only guests was very nice the second day when there were many more guests we felt was pre-cooked & kept warm by the time we received it the food was tepid

    staff were very helpful & polite

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating doesn't quite overcome the Cape cold. Small things like replacing the drinking water in the room on the second day were missing. Dust from some interior decoration drilling was in the bathroom when we arrived and still there by the time we left.

    The food was excellent. Under floor heating in the bathroom was very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only bottled drinking water on the first day and we had to use beverages to take our medication as the water on the premises was not drinkable as we were told. As a basic need, this should have been supplied by the establishment throughout our stay. Unsecured parking was not on the premises of the establishment and was at guests own risk.

    The quietness and serene atmosphere as well as the spa facility was great. Breakfast was good and the heated under blanket made for a comfortable night as well as the heaters to warm the room throughout the day.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the staff was extremely friendly and professional. I would like to specifically name Chrissie (she was our waitress for dinner during our stay). She is a real asset to Rosendal.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It lacked personal touch and it seemed like the facilities needs attention. The breakfast was disappointing, out of the four tables some people waited 50 minutes for their food. Lots of items on the menu not in stock. Staff not convincing for a 4 star establishment. Someone needs to get a personal touch on this place. Will not recommend that you stay here. There is some amazing hospitality in this valley elsewhere.

    We liked our room, with a huge bath behind the bed and a heated floor in the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough hot water for a bath, when my kids wanted to shower the next morning the water pressure was really like non existing. No comfy seating in main area next to the fireplace or anywhere else. The room can do with a carpet underneath your feet when you get out of bed, no long mirror in rooms when you get dressed.Overall not a comfy place to stay in winter. Maybe better in summertime so that you can sit outside and enjoy the views.Parking is also on the other side of the road without any security , you park at own risk. The wi-fi is not working in the rooms at all and very poor in main areas.You can also hear your neighbor snoring in the room next door.Overall not a good experience and I won't stay at this place again.

    Stunning view, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It lacks a personal touch

    Beautiful setting and tasty food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Farm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing wine, massages and great staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice room next to the pool. Really friendly staff that gave extra wine tasting after office hours

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: