Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel 4 stars

25 Rose Street, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#16 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The Rouge on Rose is simply put an excellent hotel and great value for money. I am "fussy" and discriminating and there was nothing that even I could find to complain about! :) From start to finish, it's clear that the owners care and that they pay attention. Finally, I'd like to say that the breakfast was AMAZING. Loose weight before so that you can try the French Toast. Really that good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nicer if there had been a lift to the 3rd floor - but the exercise was good for us with all the delightful restaurants we visited.

    Large well appointed room. Hotel proprietor was friendly and helpful and made useful suggestion to enhance our stay in Cape Town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    When reviewers say the staff are friendly, it truly is an underestimate. I was able to arrange a shuttle straight from the airport, and Ursula & co were happy to suggest an itinerary after I finished my work meetings. Healthy breakfast was fab, coffee was lovely. Rooms are well decorated and the beds are comfy. Totally recommend! About a 15 minute walk to CTICC.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Ursula and Michel extrenely helpful with booking restaurants and daily travel ideas and plans. French toast breakfast ! Room 302 view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - we'll be back!

    We loved everything about the Rouge on Rose - our room was enormous and spotlessly clean, the location was great for exploring the many delights of Cape Town and the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The staff went above and beyond what we could have expected to have our room ready for us when we arrived on the early flight, and were always on had to give us advice on restaurants, local activities and routes up Table Mountain! The breakfast provided was also excellent - thanks for a really great stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thought there was a bar but there wasn't. Breakfast was excellent but would have liked a bit more flexibility.

    Our room was lovely - nice big bed, modern kitchen and everything you needed. The assistance we got from Ursula and Marcus was excellent. One of our best nights of the holiday was at Marco's African Cafe just round the corner. Do not, whatever you do, head for the Bar Keeper - we spent far to much on excellent local gins and nearly went over our luggage allowance haha! Location was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a good position. The rooms were a good size and the bed was really comfortable. The staff were so helpful nothing was too much and the whole experience was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location couldn’t have been better. We wanted to see the Bo Kaap area and take in a few walking tours from the Green Market and this was the perfect location for this. The staff and owners were all so nice and helpful recommending places to eat and booking them for us too. We had a corner room with views of the colorful houses and Lions Head. The breakfast was really good too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great

    Everything was excellent. Ursula & Michel, nothing too much trouble. Great room, facilities and location. The breakfasts were fantastic. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a little noisy early in the morning due to building in the surrounding area. An extra bottle of water or 2 would have been great for a 5 night stay.

    Very comfortable bed, peaceful with a lot of space. Breakfast was delectable, all options and hearty portions. Service was on point and the ambiance was trendy and well kept.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It was an unbelievably warm, hospitable experience. Ursula and Michel as well as all the other staff did their very best to make my stay enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious in the morning and gave me the energy to tackle my busy touristy days as well as the wealth of information on what to do in Capetown, local insights and safety tips were appreciated. Hope to come back next year for a lengthier stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was perfect

    The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. They had great advice to help us plan our stay. The breakfasts were fantastic! Really tasty and a great start to busy sightseeing days! The location is perfect for getting to all the tourist sites in Cape Town. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost no sound insulation in the walls. Clear words where audible between rooms and from the reception. Breakfast was very good, however I wouldn't limit to "a la carte" only. I believe the basics (coffee, cereals, toasts, jam and butter) should be available in a buffet. We had to wait 20 minutes before some breakfast was served. Coffee was finished before breakfast and the second round of coffee was served after the breakfast. Our room was nice, bright and big but in an open space. It resulted in the bath being too cold while taking the shower, the bed too humid after the shower, the bed too smelly after toilet :) I would have a door to separate the 2 environments. There are so many windows that the brightness of the open space would't be harmed.

    The design of the room (very bright and nice) and common area (simple but with style). Welcoming owners. Downtown is easily and quickly accessible, at the same time you are out of the noise and the high building. The area is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi was acceptable, but the neighborhood is getting fiber as we speak, so this may improve.

    I had stayed here once before and came back because it offers double the value of any place I have stayed - in Cape Town or elsewhere in the world. It combines really fantastic, elegant, artistic suite rooms with a pair of owners who greet you with warmth and treat you as a friend they haven't seen in a while. Also, the location is fifteen minutes walking (!) from the convention center and walking distance to other places, although after dark, it's always better to take a cab or an Uber. Finally, if all that wasn't enough, the breakfasts are fantastic. Even the coffee is really good. Finally, the neighborhood is very cool - it has great restaurants and bars a few blocks away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi was slow but everything else was good.

    The staff were very kind and helpful. The breakfast was great and the room was spacious and the facilities were great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service never replaced the water bottles after the first day.

    Owners are very helpful with any questions re sights, restaurants, services outside hours.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ursula, Michelle and all the staff are magnificent and true hospitaliers, attending to your every need, arranging pick-ups, safely securing my rental vehicle, assiting with getting a broken suitcase fixed, laundry, foreign exchange, etc. I was particularly impressed with the safe in the room which was big enough to put my laptop in. I won't stay anywhere else!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing lacking was a lift. But they more than make up for it. By carrying your suitcases up and bringing it down for you when checking out. The price was a bit on the steep side. But I suppose that is Cape Town rates. And over that time off year.

    Michel and Ursula are amazing hosts. So welcoming and helpful in getting you to see Cape Town. The location of the property is as amazing as it walking distance to the office of the hop on hop off city tour bus. WiFi on all floors.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely, filling and varied breakfasts. Great location, 2 minutes from the downtown Avis office if you're renting a car. Very safe area. Easy 20 minute walk to the Waterfront and 10 minutes to the Long Street sightseeing main office for the hop on hop off buses. Uber cars everywhere. Very cheap.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator, but so what. Noisy street below was unfortunate, understandable yes as it is a big noisy busy city, but couldn't open balcony french doors and enjoy the fresh air at night or daytime.

    We were greeted warmly and our car was parked for us in secure area. Our suite was immaculate, roomy, with kitchenette, exactly what we needed. Breakfast was superb. Staff was very pleasant. Ursula and sons (i'm so sorry I cannot remember names) were the epitome of helpful caring hosts. they knew where to eat and what to see and how to get there and made reservations for us and arranged a private tour. I couldn't have been happier or better treated. thank you so much !!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fits for us! The very warm welcome the pretty entrance the room and bathroom and offcourse the delicious breakfast - that was really an excellent stay. We also enjoyed the place where the hotel is located - Bo Kaap! The Roughe on Rose was a perfect start....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not assist with an aspirin after hours. Toilet bowl was cracked and loose. Room was a bit stuffy - air-con provided but no remote to it.

    Beautiful and stylish decor. Breakfast was really good. Good coffee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice individual hotel with large rooms. Very friendly owner who took an interest in all her guests. Lovely breakfasts. Omelette was totally delicious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared for stairs - the staff will take care of your luggage

    The room was huge and extremely well appointed. Great location in the Bo-Kaap area within easy walking distance of Greenmarket Square. Ursula and Michel are friendly and helpful - great suggestions on where to dine and what to see. Breakfast made to order with good choices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our flight from Germany arrived at 9 a.m. in Capetown, and even though check-in is usually not before afternoon, our hostess Ursula managed to have our room ready for us. A great relief after the long night flight. Our room was spacious with a sitting area, kitchen and big bed. It was no problem to place a third (fold-out) bed. Breakfast was a choice of five different dishes, unfortunately, we only had the chance to try four of them. Rouge on Rose is located in the very center of "old" Capetown, right next to Bo-Kaap and in walking distance of Shortstreet market, Greenmarket and the Company's Garden. No problem to find a restaurant in the evening. Michel at reception was great. He provided us with the weather report for Table Mountain and gave us the tip about the (blue) bus line to make a sightseeing round-trip to Kirstenbosch and Waterfront. Rouge on Rose was one of the few places in SA where WiFi was working without any problems.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    good breakfast, Michel was very helpful parking the car,which shops to look for that do locally made goods,and at night time good restaurants to choose from.place is ideal to explore the busy center of cape town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Immaculate spacious and clean room. A bathroom to die for! Ursula and Michel was extremely friendly, hospitable and informative. Thank you for having us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Michele, Ursula and their staff were more than accommodating during our short stay in Cape Town. They had great suggestions for packing in as much as we could do/see in 3 days. Their chef even prepared a special, nut free french toast! The room was incredibly spacious with fantastic furniture and a most comfortable bed! I would return in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could say was that we were on the 3rd floor and there is no lift.

    The room was clean and beautifully decorated.The breakfast was healthy and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was so friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They provided excellent recommendations for restaurants and places to vistit/avoid! Breakfast was the best!!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was perfect for exploring Cape Town and yet you were in amongst the city rather than just with tourists. The rooms were of an extremely high standard and the breakfast was absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a thing.

    This is an absolutely wonderful boutique hotel in a great neighborhood (Bo Kaap) of Johannesburg. It is close to great restaurants and shops. Ursula and Michel are wonderful hosts and see to your every need including restaurant suggestions, tour ideas and even calls for a cab. Large, lovely rooms on a fairly quiet street.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location, delicious breakfast and lots of good hints from Ursula and Michel. Thanks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for the Cape Town Cycle Tour

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Brilliant value and comfort

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner and staff lovely, my room was light airy and had great views. Loved the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious and presented beautifully. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful with tips. Thanks!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic Hosts. Great location. Wonderful breakfasts. Excellent place to stay. Would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better for me.

    The baked omelette for breakfast was the cherry on the cake for this boutique hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding family run hotel. The attention to details is amazing. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing -couldn't find any fault.

    Hospitality of the owners; Decor and the spacious rooms. Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE VIEW, THE CALL TO PRAYER , HEARD ALL OVER BO KAAP . LOVED IT !!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic room, great location and extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly, helpful, charming and a world away from sterile hotel chains.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing friendly beautiful rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noch fehlt der Aufzug.

    The healthy breakfast choice.Perfect host.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fantastic service, wonderful breakfast, rooms very comfortable and stylish. We were there over New Year and it was an ideal base.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not so good. Some homeless slept nights near the front door.

    Breakfast and very good instructions about attractions

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all good

    Large comfortable well equipped room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road was too busy and terribly noisy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and lovely hosts

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners and al staff were welcoming and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Service, thanks for all tips and the great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing room with views to one of the colourful corners in Bo Kaap Great shower, tasty breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast, room size & helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very comfortable room, and breakfast was great. The little contact I had with the staff was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Self Catering Suite with Sleeper Couch
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Best shower ever! Super friendly/helpful owners. Large rooms. Nice breakfast and close to city centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous breakfasts; Great customer service - insightful guidance on exploring Cape Town; Comfy and clean room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place, great support from the owners, excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect....lovely a good position, a perfect staff, the room is an apartment. Good taste... Perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Group
    • Self Catering Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Comfortable boutique hotel. Great location. Spacious room. Delicious gourmet breakfast included. Friendly hosts and staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were excellent. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Really merits the title 'Boutique Hotel'. Designed with flair and practicality, providing an abundance of space and in a most convenient and unique location, close to the city centre and places of interest. It reminded me of a Parisian apartment except that it contained about three times the space and was a fraction of the cost...and the owners were friendly, helpful and provided a lot of useful local knowledge. Highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Windows are not soundproof so all the noise from street is going in. Missing lift might be a problem of some people (not really a complain from me as I prefer walking ;-)

    This is really very nice accommodation. It is reasonably good placed to walk to city centre and even to walk to neighboring mountains. I had a great view from my room to Lion's Head. Breakfast is amazing - it is served and it tastes well and it also looks great. I had a small fridge, coffee and tea maker in my room. There was also a deposit safe in the room so you can put there your valuables to feel safe about them. Having both shower and bath-tub is nice especially after all-day hikes. If you need transport from/to airport, the owners can arrange it for you, just write them. I could stay in my room till evening before my flight, which was really great. You feel very welcome in the hotel, everyone is friendly. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some traffic noise from outside - ear plugs useful. Some might become disturbed, because there was no door between the room and bathroom. For me, as staying there alone, it didn´t matter at all - on the contrary, as a matter of fact!

    Wonderful, friendly and flexible owners and staff. Very big and modern room furnished with a big and comfortable bed. Lovely bath tub.Very good location almost in the city centre, in BoKaap, and a walking distance from V&A Waterfront. Felt almost like an invited guest.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Rouge on Rose helped us make the most of our 5 days in Cape Town. Ursula and Michel went out of their way, offering useful advice and helping with organising car hire, shark dives etc. This saved us a lot of time and their recommendations were always spot on. Their hotel room was spacious and had everything we needed with a small but serviceable kitchenette. The breakfast each morning was also exceptional, focusing on quality rather than quantity but more than enough to keep us going for the morning nevertheless. The hotel is in an interesting neighbourhood very close to an area with restaurants, bars and some great shopping.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing!

    Ursula and Michel and all the people who are working there are super friendly and helpfull! The room was big and clean and a Nice bed! THE breakfast is delicious and a lot of choice! We had a super stay and we defenitely recommend it to everyone to stay here!

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very accommodating owners and staff who took good care of us. Nice location. Room was spacious, nicely and efficiently decorated, and a comfortable bed with nice bedding. Good choice of breakfast entrees which were all tasty and nutritious. Good coffee!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had a completely open bathroom. It was beautiful but might be an issue for those traveling who'd want more privacy.

    The guesthouse's food was delicious and Michel was very helpful as we figured out where to eat during our time in Cape Town. The rooms are beautiful and updated.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Full points for all the physical stuff (comfort, cleanliness, style, decor, etc) - and extra for the ubuntu/human spirit. Ursula, the owner is an absolute gem. She outdid herself when after my friend broke his bottle of special rare organic honey bought at a market, Ursula took it upon herself to search for the supplier so a replacement could be found. #Awesome

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Very friendly and helpful staff (gave great trip and restaurant recommendations and assisted with booking excursions), very well decorated and maintained rooms, great breakfast. Freestanding bath in room and parking close by (guarded).

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I miss a hand shower, only rain shower - but that is a matter of personal preference. Breakfast sometimes felt a bit limited because you choose from a menu but sometimes you feel like eggs and fruit

    Large room with a kitchenette, and "living room". It's all in one room, but nicely separated so does not feel like a cramped hotel room. It feels like a complete house. Originally decorated, well equipped rooms, comfortable bed and shower, good air conditioning (can also heat). Although maybe not the safest area in Cape Town (residential so a bit more quiet at night) I have constantly felt safe, thanks to the 24hour reception, guards (not visible but they are around) and good entrance. Michel is great, super helpful and so friendly. We only met Ursula briefly. Location is good to walk around, within walking distances of Long Street, V&A (25-30 min), but would recommend Uber if you want to go around when dark. Breakfast was good, 5 options to choose from.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: