Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Game Guest House 4 stars

42 Essenhout Street, 1390 Phalaborwa, South Africa

#16 of 22 hotels in Phalaborwa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 60 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Was a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids didn’t have their own room. I think maybe a dinner menu would be great as the places to eat in the area are very poor.

    The breakfast was great and staff always friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Convenient. Nice breakfast. Not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late at night and made a last minute booking on booking.com as we don't know the area. The lady questioned why we didn't book directly with her. She also charged me an additional R250 for my son.The ceiling was full of mill dew, the TV not full screen, broken mirror in shower. Nice place but not a 4 star as indicated.

    Ground staff very friendly and helpful. Nice pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, well situated when visiting the Kruger NP
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom a bit small. Although a braai (barbeque) area is available there is no suitable crockery and cutlery for self catering.

    Modern, comfortable room with coffee making facility and a small fridge. Large bathroom. Very well located to the Phalaborwa gate of the Kruger NP. Friendly staff at reception. Air conditioning and fan.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    To improve on cleanliness , meals and employ a friendly receptionist or facility manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property did not meet my expectation, the pictures shown on the internet are misleading there is no game at the property is just a small house turned into a guest house. The room was not clean as the toilet had funny smell did not smell fresh and shower was dirty. My request made during the booking "Strictly no pork, meal should either be vegetarian or sea food" was not taken into account, for breakfast we were given an option of bacon and egg despite my request. When i told the receptionist he was difensive

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting

    It's not the first time we have stayed there and have always enjoyed our stay. It's very close to the Kruger Park which is our destination.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean, overall very comfortable & will return again. Friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed mattress...too soft

    Double bed mattress soft so moved to single beds in room.. firm & comfortable. Spacious suite. Eggs served according to our request & very well presented...with care. Proper fresh fruit sales served i.e. not out of tin

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a confirmed booking change from you but the Royal Game Lodge did not. It was only by happenchance that they had a room for us. Could have been a disaster. Because we had no booking with the Lodge, we were too late to order dinner and Hester the receptionist was totally unhelpful and inhospitable in not making "a plan" for us

    Location to the Phalaborwa Gate of the Kruger

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    Overnight stay on ones way to Kruger National Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    overall nothing to complain, wifi and TV was sorted as it was not working on arrival. swimming pool is good but needs to look more inviting and sparkling blue.

    Excellent location in and out of Kruger National Park. Clean rooms, spacious and neat bathroom, fantastic value for money. A solid 3 and a half to 4 stars AA accredited accommodation. They will happily pack you a breakfast hamper in morning if you visiting Kruger Park. Friendly people.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.5
    more comprehensive vegetarian breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more comprehensive vegetarian breakfast. Not a repeat of same items on every single day. Many receipes available on the net. I can also provide some of my own.,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.6
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet not having a door

    amazing staff, super friendly, we felt right at home. So near the Kruger park and other amazing places to visit like Echo caves, and God's window. Also the amarula place is quite an interest

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    Rotal Holiday home neat and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a plug to charge phines next to the bed Not wheelchair friendly

    Amazing big rooms and enough plugs fir everting. Pitty I was on criuches an all the stair but it still is a homely place. Free wifi awesome

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    It was ok to stay for few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast timing and options were small to choose.

    The location which is very close to Kruger National Park and wifi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    The B&B has an excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The best was extra comfy. The breakfast was well prepared and well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The room was good for family

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    I will be coming Back soon!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The receptionist is a STAR !!! She made us feel so welcome!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.8
    Most disappointing part was breakfast. Bad tasting artificial juice, no Italian style coffee.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen staff unprofessional and unskilled.

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Genuinely caring

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly.The place was in the process of renovation so it should improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little far from our room, it wasn't easy to get our suitcases into the room. Also dishes were not very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    A very nice Africa style guest house, staffs are very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No shower gel and shampoo provided.

    The staffs are very friendly. Towels were changed everyday. The owner is also allowed me to use their bowl.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    It was perfect. My child always tells of the memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The rooms were well ventilated with conditioner.because it's a hot place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall good and very warm reception,I would go back
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected a better breakfast

    The room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to main road. Open swimmingpool if you have small kids.

    Clean spacious rooms. Neat venue. Very helpfull and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Wifi, room very large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope

    Wifi, room very large and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    We'll positioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good shower design Good Braai area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn't available as far as my room.

    Very competitive prices, well trained staff. Beautiful decor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    Everything was excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    The pool area and the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The pool area and the view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    5.0
    Will not stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is glimpse

    There was no door between the toilet and bedroom so the odour is not good. It needs an upliftment

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    Right location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no door separating toilet and bedroom

    Right location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Angel presence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great I saw Angels in the room the presence of heaven was there

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    We absolutely enjoyed our stay, and not only will we stay there again, but also strongly recommend y
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    Everything was f

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    10
    Friendly staff, went out of their way to make sure we were...
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Happy to drive us to local shops and airport. Very comfortable and clean room, laundry provided. Great varied breakfast. Nice area to sit outside by the swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.3
    The location is good , very convenient to go to Kruger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For breakfast only starts at 7 so means if you want to go to Kruger you will never have time to wait for the breakfast. What's worse they remove all the things inside the room to another room without waiting for me arrive to the hotel. Really bad like this .

    The location is good , very convenient to go to Kruger national park

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    7.5
    Staff was friendly and facility has everything you need, has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived our bedsheet and pillows was not changed, it was full of grease from food and foot prints from previous guests, we had to ask 3 times to get it changed. The patio chairs outside the tv were smelly and dirty, wifi was a bit weak.

    Staff was friendly and facility has everything you need, has enough parking with secuirty guards at night for peace of mind.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    3.8
    It was close to Kruger Park Phalaborwa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1St room didnt have a bathroom door room very small, no comfortable chairs to watch tv. I send an email and we were moved to a bigger room. The reception area is not accessible for guests. The next day we left at 7:15 after the 7:00 breakfast was not served. This is not a 4-star lodge it is a 2-star guesthouse.

    It was close to Kruger Park Phalaborwa. Airconditioning in rooms.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    9.6
    The position of lodge is very good, near to the town centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    maybe it is necessary the mosquito net. For breakfast it would be appreciated the addition of hot milk and express coffee.

    The position of lodge is very good, near to the town centre and Kruger Park Gate. Owner and Staff are lovable. In general, breakfast very good with delicious jams! Accomodation very comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Great location not far from Kruger Park Gates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was abit hard and our ensuite was small

    Great location not far from Kruger Park Gates. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was fantastic. The staff at reception were also very helpful on where to drive in Kruger.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    5.8
    The room was too small for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was too small for the money.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    Management, staff very helpful, good value for money for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Management, staff very helpful, good value for money for an overnight stay prior to going into Kruger

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast excellent. Proximity to Kruger

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    Very nice and Friend staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and Friend staff. Good position to visit Kruger park

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    To be honest your place it's clean, nice and affordable.
    • Family with young children

    To be honest your place it's clean, nice and affordable. Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Friendly, polite & helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly, polite & helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.3
    The location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is great

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.5
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Soap holder in the shower would be handy. General cleanliness of the bathroom should be paid attention.

    Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    8.3
    Ideal stop over for an early entry into Northern Kruger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ideal stop over for an early entry into Northern Kruger National Park. Staff very helpful and no need to unpack car as parking is secure.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    7.5
    The staff were very attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were very attentive. Dinner was very good, as well as the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    9.6
    Staff friendliness, helpful, excellent breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    Staff friendliness, helpful, excellent breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    7.9
    All was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool was a bit dirty

    All was good! Nice breakfast

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: