Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Palm Hotel 4 stars

6-8 Palm Boulevard, Umhlanga Ridge, 4320 Durban, South Africa

#12 of 54 hotels in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 783 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Resturant menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near all amenities. Real executive room with balcony. Excellent service.. Whole package was satisfying real value fr money

    Resturant menu. N service but it probably bcos there are 3000 other eesturants fod one to choose a walking distance away

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Breakfast is extra - it was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't anything that needed to change. I personally would've preferred an outlet adapter for the North American standard but we managed to get by.

    Breakfast is extra - it was excellent. Parking is tight - driving a SUV into the parking was not fun. Walking distance to the mall and loads of restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    The room was very nice and confortable, nice location with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the elevator is the reception door,too windy at night and feels like you are entering an external room and not hotel room.

    The room was very nice and confortable, nice location with restaurants and shopping mall right outside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly. Especially Julian. Room was amazing. Nice big size and clean. Love the Japanese bedroom. Proximity to Gateway Shopping was an added bonus. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    It was an average stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness was not up to standard. My Cups and utensils were dirty. The bathroom was not as clean as it should be. Mildew around bath tub and in shower. I had asked for clean towels twice because of the horrible smell of the ones already in the bathroom. My had 2 single beds put together which was very uncomfortable to sleep on. My TV remote did not work. no view from my room.

    Most of the Staff were very friendly. I was assisted with an extended check out. Room service was very efficient. Room was nicely decorated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    At the price I cannot really moan, but for R300 extra would rather stay at City Lodge next door.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not offered smoking or non-smoking and my room smelled very smokey. TV picture quality bad and very few channels to choose (no Sky News), room looked "tired" (picture missing off wall but nails still there).

    Good value, sheets and towels good quality, large room and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    It's comfortable and very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV remote did not work. The sliding doors didn't work. I order 2 things from the restaurant via reception and only received 1. There was banging and future moved later part of the night. Balcony was dirty with cigarette bugs.

    It's comfortable and very spacious. Beds are awesome. Love the ghd in the bath. Area you get 10 points.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    I doubt we will ever come back to this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was not good. It was made worse by the service staff who were rudely gossiping about me and my family thinking we could not hear the Zulu they were speaking. We didn't come back for breakfast again for the duration of the stay. The bathrooms were dirty with mould on the walls and cobwebs.

    The dinner was delightful. The hotel is right across from the Gateway mall which is convenient. There is a gym which although not big serves a good purpose for a quick workout.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Potentially a great hotel that's poorly managed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the receptionist wasn't exactly welcoming. Nothing in the region of a warm welcome, not even a smile and it just sounded like I was been given information from a rehearsed script. My room had a stench, not sure from what exactly but housekeeping had picked up on it earlier and came by to plug in some appliance that was meant to neutralise it. It seemed to have worked but the humming noise was quite an inconvenience. The Wifi is by far the worst and the definition of USELESS. One of the taps in the bathroom sink wasn't working, another inconvenience as we were a couple. The appliance that was used to sort out the stench had to be fetched, which meant another interruption by the staff as I had to let them in, all this in a space of a few hours upon my arrival. Pillow cases were old and worn out. You can literally count the pixels on the tv screen and the speakers sounded like a blown tire when you tried to turn it up. There was no rails to hang any personal items in the bathroom. I requested a checkout which they agreed to, but I still got a call enquiring about when I was planning on leaving, at their usual checkout time.

    Location was quite convenient and a stone throw away to the Gateway mall. Which is ideal for a night out and any shopping requirements. The suit had a luxurious feel to it and the interior well decorated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Overall stay was good but few things to sort out would have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    repair shower head loose taps on sink aircon was not operating back door does not lock properly paid for parking even though website requested free parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping left the room after cleaning one of the Days without Towels and toilet paper and left their key card in the room. The facilities red carpet in room 212 was burned with big holes from previous persons smoking. The bathroom should have a door as well if traveling with Companions other than spouse this suit is wide open so no privacy when bathing. Not feasible.

    Staff very nice and friendly and helpful they all went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and grows with everything Zola was so sweet and caring And the guys at recepion The security and porters

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Loved the set up and lighting very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub tap had a leak and was loose room was very cold and breakfast wasn't to standard it was more like 3star breakfast with regards to the tv i think more channels as well as a tv in the lounge would do

    Loved the set up and lighting very convenient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Home away from home!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a family of four in the 2 bedroom penthouse, 2 coffee mugs and limited tea/ coffee/ milk is not good enough...I had to buy my own...wasn’t a show stopper; i will still stay here again...👍👍

    Always good coming back to Royal Palm. Love the space...not like the shoe box size one gets everywhere else..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    The rooms are very big and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not good and the staff at the restaurant were not that helpful. The air conditioning in the room was not working and they had no blankets.

    The rooms are very big and clean. The room service was on point.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Superb holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower drainage had a problem, it took very long for water to go.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful breakfast. The room had a good view, clean and comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel to stay, but need to be easy on cleanliness as it is not clean. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleanliness was terrible. Towels with holes and someone's hairs, tubs broken, toilette with a constant bad smell.

    The location is perfect, just in front of the Gateway mall. Safe and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant, cosy, excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Concern, when I booked this room, breakfast was part of the package on the Booking.com website. At breakfast after I dished up and was about to eat, I was told my breakfast was not stated. I was MOST UPSET!!!!. Immediately after breakfast, I had to go to Reception to clear this up and was told I am the third person who has made a booking via Booking.com and breakfast was stated on the package but not reflected on the hotels confirmation!. They thankfully did not charge me!. Please note !!!, this is embarrassing as a guest - I have booked several times on your site and this was my first experience . Going forward I don't want a repeat of this. The Hotel was gracious and I have booked there many times outside of Booking.com and have never had an issue with their service. Royal Palms is a home away from home and I had a pleasant stay and will highly recommend to anyone and will always go back !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    I always stay at the coastlands in Umhlanga, and I booked it...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always stay at the coastlands in Umhlanga, and I booked it with them again , when I gone they charged me for the parking ,60 rand , I said I always book from Booking.com never been charged why now? And they say policy, I say last time staying here bye bye😄and I booked with This hotel and was nice and free parking cheaper than Coastland better position

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were very specious and very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a 4 start I think the staff need to be friendlier and warm. They seem to lack motivation and spark to bring the hotel to live. The reception furniture seem old and dull. Not sure if the theme is right for a reception area.

    The rooms were very specious and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    I got married and decided to dress up from the hotel and spend our first night at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't work properly. Used the tub and the hot water got finished. The one side lobby is closed at night which means we have to use the main entrance and walk across to the room I was in. There was no staff to assist with room service and when they allowed us to bring something up, they requested that we bring the dishes down on our own

    The size of the room was great. I had a nice kitchenette and balcony with nice furnishings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Greatvstaff..but not well maintained establishment .should consider putting teenage guests away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and loud youngsters occupying nextbdoorbto me.. having little kids listen to expletives and rowdy guests not on. Rooms not well maintained. Cracked floor tiles, loose door handles,unsturdy wooden stair case that's dangerous for little kids..supposed to be a family room ! Limited channel selection. Paid R3000/night . Stayed 2 nights .not value for money.

    Staff friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Please send me your specials every now and then.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going from the underground parking to the receiption area was a bit tricky until I parked exactly in front of the elevators.

    The room was big and the setting inside was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    It is great from different aspect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing all are excellent

    location is the best in Durban. it is just front of shopping mall restaurateur cafes..etc. the staff was helpful and friendly. the value of the room is great. the way of building the rooms is too generous which i really like it. the rooms was to wide and have all the facility that any one need. indeed next visit to Durban i will select it. by the way the shopping mall and the Durban people are too kind which is different what i read in Wikipedia about the city high criminals!!! restaurants around the hotel are great and you will not need a car to move to another area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    It is great from different aspect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing all excellent

    location is the best in Durban. it is just front of shopping mall restaurateur cafes..etc. the staff was helpful and friendly. the value of the room is great. the way of building the rooms is too generous which i really like it. the rooms was to wide and have all the facility that any one need. indeed next visit to Durban i will select it. by the way the shopping mall and the Durban people are too kind which is different what i read in Wikipedia about the city high criminals!!! restaurants around the hotel are great and you will not need a car to move to another area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    location is great, walking distance to gateway shopping mall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff forgot to give me the wifi password. bedding and towel is not clean. if you split your duvet and cover, you will see a old used duvet with some stains and hair. and basically when they clean up your room, they just toss your duvet on the floor.

    location is great, walking distance to gateway shopping mall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Rooms where nicely decorated and bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building & furnishing beginning to show signs of wear and tear.

    Rooms where nicely decorated and bed very comfortable. Access convenient and safe. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    My hotel stay was worth the money I paid,I can book the place again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Get rid of little flies during breakfast,though breakfast was good enough

    The room was prepared to my Expectation and the hotel Location was close to the Mall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of variety at breakfast, balconies were no cleaned therefore couldn’t enjoy morning coffee on the balcony. Consider including an iron per apartment, had to wait for an iron every morning and one morning we waited for over 30 minutes. The apartment wasn’t properly cleaned.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    It was an amazing, relaxing stay. It exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains in the lounge didn't want to close properly.

    The bed and cushions were extra comfy and it was a great, clean suite. It completely exceeded my expectations

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Fair n disappointing !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in need of a revamp, rooms especially !! There are other modern hotels in the area , for similar junior suite, less pricy and way better breakfast !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.4
    This was my second and last stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room we stayed in (Suite 301) was in dire need of repairs and maintenance. There were many small issues that needed attention: lights not working (globes needed to be replaced probably); general maintenance not undertaken; the curtain rail had come loose and was propped up by a piece of metal piping; cupboard door handles were loose; etc. The main problem was serious damp in the entrance to the suite and in the bathroom.

    The staff were very friendly. Particularly the Check-In and Front-of-house staff. Service in the dinning room (breakfast) was a bit slow on day 1, but did improve. Generally a good experience (although the room needs attention); and a good location - right opposite Gateway Shopping Centre for restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Like the porters at the foyer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit of a problem. It can be noisy in the middle of the night.

    Like the porters at the foyer. Professional and and friendly. Clean rooms that are spacious. Was impressed by security after we left the door not completely closed. He came over and checked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Hotel needs a bit more TLC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was overcharged for a bottle of wine I ordered as room service, no one seemed to know how much it should cost including the restaurant manager I had to refer to other places I've bought the wine before. Because of the wine issue my bill at checkout was not correct and it took over 40min to rectify and finalise my checkout. They don't provide gowns in the rooms as standard and you have to request it from housekeeping

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was tops .
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp smell.. carpet maybe .. balcony dirty .. aircon and remote for tv faulty

    Breakfast was tops .. very good well done .. even spoke and said so to kitchen staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.0
    100% I never use the hotel royal palm again even if is there no accommodation in Umhlanga
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty the worst breakfast Wen I arrived was no coffe in my room Not on next day as well bath was disgusting dirty and broken, had water all over

    close to the mall

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    You can never go wrong with Royal Palm , for years it has...
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can never go wrong with Royal Palm , for years it has always been my favorite. It’s a home away from home , just that it’s a bit pricey but worth every cent. You feel like Royalty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.3
    very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband and I booked an Executive Room at the Royal Palms. The bathroom shower had mildew so we were unable to use the shower. Had to use the bath tub shower and this end up being a total disaster as during a shower the bathroom flooded and it was a total nightmare. My husband and I spent at least an hour wiping the bathroom floor with the towels provided for showering to dry some portions to stop water from going into the bedroom. One would think that they would install shower screens or shower curtains in the bath tub. The room carpets were very dirty and faded. The air conditioner was not effective. The breakfast was terrible - toast burnt - no butter available, no cutlery available. Baked beans was extra salty, mushrooms were horrible-tasteless. The pork sausage was undercooked. Overall breakfast was terrible. We communicated all of this to the Reception upon our departure. Very disappointing :-(

    The bed sheet and pillow cases:-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only issue was that I wanted to watch the rugby on TV, but there were three channels set on football, two broadcasting the same channel! I asked that one be altered to channel 201. When I requested this , it was eventually done. Thanks. Then at half time some rocket scientist changed it back to the same football channel. Thankfully this was eventually resolved.

    Breakfast was superlative. Choices wide and well executed. Staff were courteous and efficient. Location was perfect for walking access to Gateway shopping, movies and a plethora of excellent restaurants. We'll certainly be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very friendly. Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a noise in our room not sure if it was from the aircon went on and off. Could hear a door outside the room opening constantly from about 5am

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Spacious, grateful staff but needs a bit of TLC to the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I used to book the Royal Hotel for conferences 10 years ago when I was working for Discover Health for conferences. AND LOVED IT! The space is comfortable for the family.From that time until now a lot has changed.The hotel rooms are in desperate need of some TC. The shower doors have soap fat at the bottom and black mould between tiles in the shower makes it appear unhygienic. Carpets do need deep cleaning, my allergies went crazy! the kitchenette definitely some upgrade to the doors, main couch is run down and the material on the glass tables have faded. The lift doors need attention as well. I understand that there is a lot of competition around the area, and business is saturated, revamps are also costly but you have the advantage of space. I stayed at city lodge 2 days prior then my family joined me so had to book your hotel because of your space.kindly let me know once you have revamped and will definitely make it my holiday home.

    The staff was amazing!I loved the breakfast menu, pay attention to the flies.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Not to bad ..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture,old tv ,,few Dstv channels ...old Carperts with dust ,they must deep clean their carpet quite often ..

    Linen and comfortable beds..Also located in convinient area ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service food not so grande. I complained as I did not eat what was ordered but received no refund for this, neither was it reported properly through the proper channel for follow up and feedback

    Excellent suite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    I really enjoyed that the room was very spacious, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. We had this offer inclued in our price for the night, but definitely not worth the price it was advertised on the menu. The waiter kept clearing our plates and coffee cups too quick and service was just to fast. Numerous times were we asked, by 3 staff members in a matter of 10min, if we were ready to order, and breakfast service was not busy at all, so i feel there was no need to rush breakfast. Over all i would gove breakfast a 2 out of 5, as service and quality overall was a bit of a let down.

    I really enjoyed that the room was very spacious, so definitely calue for money there. Overall even if it was just a 1 night stay, it was rather pleasant. My score 9.2, is high as the facility and over all room, location and front desk team was great. Just not breakfast service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    The restaurant was an epic failure and made the free breakfast offer with Hotel stay a gimmick..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff (waiters) was horrible. Asked waitress for room temperature water to take medication and received a “Glass” of boiling hot water. Asked for coffee and it was lukewarm. Waiters displayed attitude when asking for anything.

    Great location for first time visitor to South Africa. The reception staff was excellent, housekeeping staff was excellent room service was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    The room layout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. Access to the hotel is too easy, putting our safety and the safety of our belongings at risk. Need more privacy in bathroom

    The room layout.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    disappointed with the situation...unsafe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i was having a beautiful stay and enjoying my holiday when on the 2nd last night, my friends room was broken into 05-12-18...all his and his wifes clothing was stolen....the police were called in for a statement, at 2am in the morning..the next morning, the new shift staff were not caring at all,, not even a sorry was said. the duty manager behaviour was terrible..unsympathtic at the least..we decided to leave with 1 night still to go..really disappointed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    The rooms were big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was an annoying bell outside that went off every hour. It wasn't any monument of of any significance, it should just be stopped.

    The rooms were big.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, spacious, delicious breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, comfortable, spacious, delicious breakfast and convenient location. I’ve been to the hotel no less than 5 times, alone, with a partner, friends and family and recommend it for anyone who needs accommodation in the Umhlanga area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.0
    Not value for money 😠
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night. Long wait st breakfast. No room service. We paid a lot for accommodation and stayed in one of the penthouses Toilet smelled of urine. Extraction fans in the toilets did not work and no effort to fix when reported. Only 1 remote control for both bedrooms upstairs

    Convenient location to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Amazing place! Gives more than your value for money! I will only stay at the royal palm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really did not enjoy the break and breakfast area. Felt it was too small and couldn’t breath. The food was horrible. Only ate twice and plus I only had cereal and juices. Really did not enjoy their breakfast. It kinda made me sick.

    I loved the room, staff and the atmosphere that the hotel gave off. Upon my departure I was really sad because I loved the royal palm so much! Wish I could’ve stayed longer

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    It was awesome. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I paid a substantial amount for my stay and noticed that it was visited by many other muslim clientele. I would like to suggest that you endeavor to accommodate Muslim clients by keeping bacon and alcohol completely separate. I respect that non Muslims indulge in these especially at the festive time but would it really be a train smash to keep a bar that is to one side and set the bacon on that side of the room. Would it really be inconvenient to have a surface the prepare omelettes for muslim clientele? Looking foward this would be greatly appreciated.

    The staff were very accommodating at breakfast especially with my old travel companion. Thank you. Some staff could be more friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.4
    Not really value for money, over rated.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to find the Parking, Rooms are now outdated. No toiletries( Conditioner). The Breakfast area was too small, had to wait for a table, Breakfast staff not helpfull.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    The suite i stayed in was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 24 hr room service which im used to. No 2 pin plugs on walls. You have to call about 2 times before you get through to anyone, reception, house keeping etc

    The suite i stayed in was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    We ALWAYS have a pleasant stay at Royal Palm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ALWAYS have a pleasant stay at Royal Palm.. location, cleanliness, great food, friendly staff.. Everything about the place makes you always wanna go back..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable Will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon needed to be upgraded Rooms only get cleaned way after 12h00

    close to airport and shopping centre Staff were friendly Rooms nice and big Bathroom/bath nice and big

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    We loved staying there and will visit this Hotel again in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maybe a bell in the room when the staff wants to clean or deliver something? We could not always hear them knocking at the door? Our neighbours slammed their doors during the night, maybe there is a device that closes doors quietly?

    My mom and i had great time staying in this Hotel. Staff members were very friendly, when it rained they could borrow us an umbrella and when we waited at reception a while for our transport to arrive we were served tea!. Every evening the bed was turned down and we were supplied with a bottle of water and a choccie! Coffee and tea, milk and sugar were replaced if we used it during the day When we asked for gowns they also brought us slippers! That made us really feel relaxed and pampered. We also had face towels to use with good quality shampoos and lotions. The best was to receive our breakfast in the room ... when we could refrigerate leftovers and snack during the day as my mom could only eat little bits at a time. The bedroom was quiet and dark at night and some mornings we slept until 9h30! We could have afternoon naps when we used the screens in the bedroom to darken the space. Little touches like unwrapping our suitcases before taken to the room and the staff also downloaded Taxify on my cell phone which proofed much better and cheaper than Uber. The location of the Hotel is great as we could go to movies and do some Christmas shopping just across the road. The park was close enough for us to walk to. We also used the Spa facilities at the Hotel. Will definitely recommend this Hotel to our friends

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Underwhelmed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony is facing inwards with nothing to see. The decor is old, curtains cracked and the lighting too dark. The table and chairs on the balcony were dirty, clearly hadn't been wiped down for my stay.

    Location was great for the purpose of the stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.4
    How does a whole travel bag get lost and all surveillance couldn’t pick it up? 😰😡
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We lost a luggage bag and an iPhone 7. No surveillance results from cameras and the management was not so very forthcoming with information. Up until now we have no clue what might have happened to our stuff within the hotel premises. This really marred our weekend away and I wouldn’t set foot there again even if I was paid to! 😰

    I like the 2 bedroom apartment we were upgraded to. Spacy and lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Great Stay and Service at the Royal Palms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments

    The room we stayed in was spacious and cosy. The staff were absolute stars,friendly and always available to assist not forgetting the Hotel Manager who was a real Champion!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV remote didn't work properly, possibly needed a new battery and perhaps the housekeeping staff could do a weekly check? In any case the problem was quickly resolved by the maintenance man who brought me a replacement remote.

    The staff were welcoming and the General Manager made it her business to chat to her guests. It was a good experience for me overall and I would stay at the Royal Palm again. The breakfasts were wonderful and the breakfast staff were efficient and their mission seemed to be to make the guests happy. I had dinner in the restaurant twice and the meals were good and the service equally good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Really enjoyed my stay and will come back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the view from the room

    I loved the decor of the room..the service at the hotel was very good..will definately reccomend to family and friends

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    The attendance of my bag being carried in from the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub was dirty. The fridge was empty.In room dinning took forever, N when it came the food was cold..tastey burger but cold chips cold burger.n cold tempura on my calamari which became soft.horrible.. When I went in to confirm booking the staff pay no attention to who's first in a seated area. Instead they serve who they want. Which is so unfair especially if I was there before . N upon checking out they are so ignorant and can't be bothered to say thank u for ur stay. Nothing. Very disappointed. With staff. Only the man who carried my bag in was so good. As for food at breakfast ..overall good .except the salmon was old n tasted sticky.not fresh!! These things are so small. The establishment is beautiful sad that staff don't care.

    The attendance of my bag being carried in from the parking. The room size I choose was nice. An very Stylish. Location was great.thank u for the water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    It is good well run Hotel that we would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room was not the best.

    It is good well run Hotel that we would recommend to anyone. It was a second stay there and we will stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Penthouse apartment was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The warm breakfast can certainly improve.

    Penthouse apartment was fantastic. Very spacious and we had more than we needed. Beds were very comfortable an aircons made sure it was always nice and cool inside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Amazing but needs a little work with efficiency and modernization
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk took a while to bring ice to the room. The dstv bouquet/channel options was outdated. Breakfast was standard. Nothing to write home about. The furniture/ decor was as set up as it it was a conference. Please update.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    An Anticlimax!!!!😞😞😞
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist who looked like she was having a bad day due to other reasons seemed very frustrated with me. We weren’t offered assistance to take our bags up. I wasn’t sure about the parking and asked again but it seemed like such a bother! (I thought she was there to help). No bottled water available?!?! I mean we booked the Penthouse!!!! It was great that we could order our breakfast and it be brought up at a desired time,however it was very shabbily done. The food was divine but things like juices were brought up in paper cups?!?! I expected a jug,if I had wanted more?!?!? I clearly ticked yes for filter coffee ,however none was brought. I wanted hot milk but we got cold milk. Crackers were also requested,I’m still waiting.......it would have been too much of a wait had I called and waited for it to be brought up as check out is at 10,and we still had to shower! Also some salt,pepper,sauces would be great with breakfast! Everything else was good On checking out ,we had a much more friendlier and lovely lady who helped.

    The space in the penthouse was amazing. Very comfortable beds and pillows

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.8
    Very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction across that starts at 7am. Passages are very noisy. Aircons are extremely loud. Staff continuously bang the room doors. The laughing and screaming from Gateway restaurants is till 3am. Hard to sleep. Bathrooms and floors should be cleaned daily.

    Rooms are big

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    Location, we always stay here because of the location
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service was bad, Stayed for 4 nights, every night the room was serviced differently. Have to keep calling for towels, 90% of the time it never came. Different times of the day you might get not get hot water, At breakfast found hair in my food, showed the waitress, sent my food back, took 25 minutes for someone to come speak to us, wasn't impressed as everyone else finished breakfast, all I got was an apology not even a new fresh breakfast. After that we only ate there once more out of the 3 more breakfasts.

    Location, we always stay here because of the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location but hotel upkeep is poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpets and rugs are very dirty throughout the hotel, the sides of the coffee table in the room was never cleaned,the bed sheet had marks and the room overall did not feel clean, the lifts were slow and need a revamp, the restaurant kitchen is old and falling apart. Some days bath towels were provided other days bath sheets where provided, toiletries were not always replaced and no shower gel is provided.

    The location of the hotel is excellent with the Gateway being across the road and there are various eating places around the hotel. The hotel has a gym with a sauna, kitchen staff were great and very accommodating, the rooms are very spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Good place, great value, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bath water runs very slowly Carpets need to be vacumed No glasses in the kitchen in the apartment

    All staff made the extra effort with my kids. Very nice place and great location for our trip

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Everything at the property was good.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that after the property had confirmed that my booking would be extended by a day. It wasn't. I phoned the property from Miami to inform them that I was going to check in as booked and thank them for extending my booking. I was told on the phone that it could not be extended because of the price. I just feel that when I made the request I should have been informed then. Not when I phoned.

    Everything at the property was good. There was a problem with the Plumbing. After we complained to the front desk, it was fixed promptly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hospitality but dirty sheets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the parking. Entrance was at another road and the parking lot was limited and narrow so if you have a big vehicle it is difficult to park and exit properly. Everything else was excellent except for the bed sheet in our room looked like it had dried semen stains on it. We slept on top of the duvet that night since my baby was already asleep on the bed we didn't call hotel staff to change the bedding.

    The staff was friendly. Food was okay. Rooms were big and comfortable. Check in and out was fast and efficient. Location opposite a mall is great, variety of things to do.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Was great value for money and amazing ambience ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in the room is a bit old and have sinus so it affected me a bit .

    the ambience was amazing , the staff really on top off their game ... went out of their way to make sure everything was cool .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    What an amazing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the staff enetering my room during the evening time as I was jet lagged and would go out in the day n sleep the early evening, this disturbed me. The staff at the restaurant where not friendly and breakfast was a bit awkward, I was traveling alone and restaurant staff just stared at me, except for a very nice gentleman Steven who always struck up a conversation whenever he saw me.

    The room was beautiful. The reception staff was friendly. I enjoyed the peace and quiet after 30 hours of traveling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable stay in a spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no real atmosphere, not much of a hotel feel and the elevators were outside

    The room was lovely, bathroom beautiful and the bed comfortable, convenient located.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: