Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sandals Guest House 4 stars

4 Napier Road, 6312 St Francis Bay, South Africa

#6 of 9 B&Bs and Inns in St Francis Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 58 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    A very enjoyable and comfortable stay. Lovely and clean an quiet. V. good breakfasts. No complaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little warmer in the room but I expect that was due to the unusually cold weather. Not a complaint.

    The breakfast and service was excellent. Because the weather was unusually windy and cold, I didn't have a chance to experience the beaches as they should be. The room was very comfortable just a little cold but that was because of the unusual weather. Everything was very good and actually excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in our room was not powerful and could do with upgrading. I'm not sure if this was just our room but I suspect it is a general thing.

    Location was great. St Francis itself is quite small but Sandals was walking distance to the main street with 2/3 restaurants. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    A delightful place to stay and hope to go back some time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the family room with 3 single beds - would have liked to have had a room where you had a balcony or terrace for some privacy.

    Loved the setting and staff were very welcoming. Breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    4.6
    Not a place to repeat. Tired accomodation in need of refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food hygiene at breakfast. Uncovered fruit, hams and cheeses with birds hopping over them and eating bits. Uncomfortable bed and pillows like bullets. No air con and fan not working.

    Nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    2.5
    Could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not available to carry bags Advise on restaurant or talk on a personal basis. Owners never there other than seen to carry food shopping in from the supermarket. Breakfast had one plate of chopped up fruit and poor selection of boiled ham, cheese from the day before poorly presented. Bread,thin slices of sliced loaf.

    The property needs completely updating.No idea why it still has any stars at all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    A lovely b&b with great access to amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay. The only thing that could have been better was that we had arranged to stay longer.

    When we booked we didn't realise there was a small pool and a lovely garden with sunbeds which was very pleasant to sit in. The honesty bar was also a bonus with access from the garden area. The location is perfect for the beach and for local restaurants, shops and bars, all within walking distance. The staff were very helpful and offered to book a table in local restaurants for us as the village was very busy due to the time of year we visited.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.5
    Food and service was very good and we were made to feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt that somthings needed updating Poole furniture and chairs were tired

    Food and service was very good and we were made to feel welcome and the staff were always helpfull.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that they state only alcohol purchased from the property is allowed on the premises and make you sign a declaration (along with other things)regarding the same. Although I did not adhere to this rule I don't think it should be in place to begin with. Other than that I didn't like that I wasn't there long enough to enjoy it more.

    The whole place is lovely. very scenic. very clean and everything is wrapped with straw and a flower even the toilet roll haha. outdoor private shower and patio area to the back and to the front a shared garden/pool area. Breakfast was really nice with a good selection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant place in a very pleasant town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant place in a very pleasant town Lovely breakfast Outside shower a nice touch and airy, light filled rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quiet location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    could have been more vegetarian conscious at breakfast
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could have been more vegetarian conscious at breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mixer taps in bathroom basin instead of 2 separate hot and cold taps.

    Good overall

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Breakfast was horrible 2.My tv was not working propely with only 4 channels 3. There were no extra blankets or even cleaning of the room

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    It was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV in the room...poor channels. The electricity tripped and we couldn't iron clothes.

    The balcony and the area around the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice guest house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Honeymoon Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit hard and small for two people

    Nice garden, pretty rooms with view and balcony, good breakfast, good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location just a couple minutes walk to the beach. Very tranquil

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Excellent stop over for a few. Nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great comfortable stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Quiet and Peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Sub tropical garden and large room with lounge and outside shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    We all enjoyed staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tess and staff are very nice and professional

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable stay in a really good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sign of Prorietor ( senior staff were good)

    We had a very comfortable room and were well looked after

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    5.8
    breakfast was nice and people friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2, not the best... St francis was not so attractive for tourism.

    breakfast was nice and people friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.9
    Good, warm welcome and a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't really appreciate the birds flying around and landing on the breakfast buffet

    Good, warm welcome and a nice place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    4.6
    I had made a request to check out later as my flight only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had made a request to check out later as my flight only left at 8pm. I confirmed this on arrival. On the day of my departure, i was asked 'when are you leaving cause we meed this room'. I wanted to stay as much as they wanted me there. I wouldn't be back and I do not recommend. The front of house staff made my stay unpleasant.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.9
    The room was comfortable and the staff nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was not good in the room.

    The room was comfortable and the staff nice. Breakfast was good and the place was close to the major attractiveness of the area.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.2
    The rooms were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We should have spent more time there - no complaints

    The rooms were wonderful. We were offered a choice of an upgrade. Each of the rooms we saw had large, bright and clean interiors and really nice outside patios/spaces to relax. Some of the rooms also had a choice of inside and outside showers which was novel. The breakfast was great. Fresh fruit, juices and yoghurt. There was also a hot breakfast included that guests could choose from a menu. Staff were very welcoming and gave us some good tips on what to see and where to eat.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    The Guest House is in a great situation, a very short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Guest House is in a great situation, a very short walk to both the beach and to shops. You only need a short drive to great restaurants. The staff are fantastic, friendly and so helpful. They make you feel at home straight away. We would definitely visit again.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff and good choice of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bath toiletries didn't lather. TV only had a few channels and breakfast was so quiet. Soft music would have been nice.

    Friendly staff and good choice of breakfast. Nice location with parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    7.5
    5 minute walk to the main beach, lovely little B&B with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beaches and outdoors were lovely but a little underwhelmed with St Francis itself.

    5 minute walk to the main beach, lovely little B&B with lots of greenery, tasty breakfast with hot and continental options, warm welcome and insight into best things to do.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    7.9
    The staff were great, beautiful place I would stay there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even though the sheets looked clean, they had stains and there was no one at reception at night to request to change them.

    The staff were great, beautiful place I would stay there again

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    3.8
    A very good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was Raining

    A very good Location. Very fremdle staff

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    Rooms spotless and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms spotless and very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    6.7
    Very friendly staff offering very good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No int TV news channel Wifi in room lacking connection and speed

    Very friendly staff offering very good service

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    9.6
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    9.2
    Staff and rooms in main house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 10 is in an annexe on road, with no view. Avoid. All other rooms are lovely.

    Staff and rooms in main house. Outdoor shower.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    10
    Really lovely guesthouse, very welcoming and helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Really lovely guesthouse, very welcoming and helpful staff, beautiful rooms, lovely pool, incredible breakfasts

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: