Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Seacliffe Lodge 4 stars

2 Seacliffe Road, 7806 Hout Bay, South Africa

#23 of 30 B&Bs and Inns in Hout Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 26 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Paid WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 Star Luxury (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only downside is fish processing factory across the road. A little smelly if wind in wrong direction!

    Excellent location, a little over 20 minutes south of Cape Town. Ideal for exploring the Cape Peninsular. Next to harbour for boat excursions to Seal Island etc. Two excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. Close to long sandy beach. Great welcome on arrival and good breakfast in kitchen/diner. Small complimentary decanter of Port in room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 Star Luxury Family Room (Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located opposite a fish factory (loud noises day and nigh tand sometimes bad fishy smell) Felt unsafe in this area (at main road but not closed off by a gate)

    Very friendly staff Walking distance to beach and HopOnHopOff-station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 Star Luxury Family Room (Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy location (fish factory in front), no sea view, shabby and run down establishment, bad smelling and rotten bath towels, stained chairs, WiFi not working at all - just not what we expected with that high score of "8.8 points and luxury accommodation!"

    not much positive coming to my mind!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 Star Luxury Balcony Suite (Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All round excellent holiday accommodation, comfy bed, good breakfast, excellent host (ess?) Good size room overlooking harbour, short walk from really good restaurants and a short, scenic drive to cape town, whatever route you take.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vehicle security would have been improved by a gate

    Owner friendly and most helpful. Helped me to get out of Argue route - before cancellation. Great breakfasts. Moosa is a gem. Close to excellent fish restaurant, guided by owner. Very convenient for touring the Peninsula. Lounge was pleasant amenity.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 Star Luxury Balcony Suite (Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is easy to find and there is enough off-street parking. The room we had was huge, and the entire place is spotless. The owners are an absolute joy too. We had fun listening to their stories at breakfast and they were super helpful in every aspect during our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 Star Luxury Room (Non-Sea-Facing)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room but the owner soon provided us with a fan for our stay.

    Our greeting and introduction, from Musthafa the chef, on arrival to the property was very warm and welcoming. The lady owner was also very friendly and helpful ensuring you had everything we required for a comfortable stay. The location is perfect for the harbour, beach plus Mariners Wharf and the Look Out restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 Star Luxury Family Room (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pity there was a high wind during the day which blew fine sand everywhere. JCBs were brought out to clear the roads.

    Seacliffe Lodge was all we expected & more. Shuttle to & from airport booked as arranged Lovely room & view from balcony over Hout Bay. All mod cons. Suegne is a great hostess & her staff are friendly in a homely environment. Chef stands in the open kitchen cooking the breakfasts on demand. Great fish restaurants in the area which we visited twice. Happy to stay again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 4 Star Luxury (Sea View)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer the property to have access control to secure the cars in the parking area.

    The service was personalised and the reception very homely. It was a humbling experience, confirming that it was value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 Star Luxury Balcony Suite (Sea View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room.

    Very nice place, nice place to chill out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 Star Luxury Balcony Suite (Sea View)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    establishments dog's barking until late at night; old fishy smell wafting from the harbour

    proximity to the harbour

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host gave us an amazing breakfast. The room was huge, incl the bathroom. Had a balcony too! Loved the cats and the honesty bar is a great addition :)

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's no AC, so we found it a bit hot at night.

    The owner is lovely and clearly cares about making guests feel comfortable. We had an issue on our first night where the water pipes were making noise, and she apologised and moved us to a new room right away. The breakfast is great.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived in a middle of sand storm which was a pity, but a good portion of sea food and glass of good Sauvignon saved the evening.

    It is a great location, with very good restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only downside is that this room faces an ice making factory, the constant noise of the fans is rather intrusive.

    On arrival we were upgraded from the self catering cottage to a room in the hotel. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast excellent

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Incident in evening at guesthouse. Although this was not proprietor's fault the guests were not advised what was happening and had to endure an evening of torches being shone in rooms. My children were placed on the adjacent property and were terrified when woken at 00:30 by a torch being shone into their room. The guests were kept completely in dark and not advised what was happening. I would not recommend the accommodation

    Position

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great location close to Hout Bay beach and wharf, the facilities very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Aircon in room.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Warm welcome And how the staff went out of their way to meet all my needs

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is easily accessible and the homely atmosphere really made us feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Neat, tidy and welcoming hosts

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: