Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Richards Bay hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Seagull Lodge

Reviews of Seagull Lodge

97 Via Cassiandra, CBD, 3900 Richards Bay, South Africa

#6 of 24 hotels in Richards Bay

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    7.5
    NO THE LADY AT THE RECEPTION OH MY GOSH SHE WAS EXCEPTIONAL...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO THE LADY AT THE RECEPTION OH MY GOSH SHE WAS EXCEPTIONAL SHE MADE ME ENJOY MY STAY, I FORGOT HER NAME BUT SHE KNEW MINE IT WAS LIKE SHE KNOWN ME FOR AGES.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    7.9
    Clean facilities , nicely located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -Microwave oven was refurbished with spray paint which smelt wet . Unsuitable for use. We did ask for another and were given a usable one. - toilet paper for 3 adults was in short supply. We had to supplement . - we did not receive fresh milk until we asked for it - the tap mixer in bathroom basin and kitchenette were diabolical. The cold water taps sometimes worked. The hot water taps worked too well and gushed alot. We burnt ourselves a couple of times trying to close the tap when it was gushing.. - the fridge made ALOT of noise : whining noise - there are no towel hooks anywhere .

    On site restaurant , friendly staff .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.1
    Large lodge in Richards Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maintenance could be improved. One cooktop was not working.

    Rooms with terrace or balcony are nice. The others in between are very small. Staff is very friendly and professional. Rooms were clean. Central location close to shopping mall.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    10
    Receptionist was helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could not find any on my stay.

    Receptionist was helpful and friendly. Their room keepers were absolutely good, helpful, ever smiling (friendly), bar staff was also good. Their rooms are beautiful and clean

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    It was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There isn't anything I would think of right now.

    The staff was excellent and we were warmly accepted. The place is at a secure and quite place. there is no racism. Also the rooms are clean with comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    10
    Fantastic experience and will go back whenever I am in the area again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff were amazing and friendly. The room was astounding and very very clean. The staff who cleaned it every day were also very friendly. Best milkshakes!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.2
    The environment, Seagull staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the fact that I was charged something like R1245.00 by bookings.com The main price per night at Seagull is R700.00, so I wont be using Bookings.com anymore I'm sorry.

    The environment, Seagull staff was amazing. Had access to almost everything. Security is super high there. Plus the owner is a devoted Christian.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    8.5
    It was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found pieces of hair from shower floor, toilet and bedroom area, I was not pleased at all! Unfortunately the cleaning staff was all on leave so there was no one to assist I had to clean it myself for my entire stay

    The apartments are completely self catering user friendly! That was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay - great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was lacking a bit, and could be better, but it's near a lot of shops and restaurants.

    Staff were fantastic - and I was made to feel very welcome - nothing was a problem. Room was great, and I had a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    8.8
    It was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Miscommunication about breakfast thot it was included

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    10
    Everything was superb!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can’t point out anything I disliked

    I loved everything. The friendly staff also made our stay the best! We will definitely go back there soon!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    9.4
    My stay was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed really need upgrade they still using double beds,will Preferre a queen size bed or king,

    Was close to the mall,food was not that bad

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    10
    Sportless clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I like everything about this venue.is very clean

    Staff is friendly special receiption lady n restaurant staff n rooms are clean n kitchen cutlery

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bottle of filtered or spring water in the fridge would have been great

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    7.9
    great7
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price was 200 more than the last time I stayed there

    the place was comfortable. just prices go up and down at times.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.5
    We have a lovely stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly ,Hubble, helpful receptionist Thandeka

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.9
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    hospitality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    9.2
    My visit was a short visit for one day and I just loved the place as per my expectation
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanest of the place

    The staff were very friendly making sure that we were comfortable and every thing was in place for us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    9.6
    Value for money stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Spacious, comfortable, well appointed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    Everything was superb

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    8.3
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The security was very friendly. We arrived very late at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    Great stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Great facilities. The staff was awesome!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    9.6
    The staff at the lodge and at the cafe were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a poor wifi connection

    The staff at the lodge and at the cafe were very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    7.5
    I had fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor WiFi connection

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff. Cafe on sight excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2017

    6.7
    My overall impression was that the place was ok, except for the nasty smell from the air conditioner
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an absolute awful smell coming from the air-conditioning unit, as if it was using the foul air from the toilet.

    The staff were lovely

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff. Comfortable, clean room and value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2017

    10
    super
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor wifi signal in rooms 38-40 , good signal in reception area

    people and accomodation , the go all te way to help you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2016

    8.3
    They said price included full board, however this did not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    They said price included full board, however this did not apply to the weekend (no dinner) which was misleading

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!