Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of See More Guest House 4 stars

14 Montrose Avenue, Bunkers Hill, 5201 East London, South Africa

#10 of 66 B&Bs and Inns in East London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 94 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Last minute unplanned stay and owners very accomodating when I had to unexpectedly extend my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, comfortable room with a big shower. Nothing lacking! Breakfast very good - perfect start to a long day of business. Owners were very helpful with information about shops and facilities in the near vicinity.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming when i was there with my parents for viewing the place,the manager has told us the truth,yhat he is not responsible if anything can go wrong,because we were grade 12 learners,we new that we are responsible.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    The honesty bar was the best, I literally cleared their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were sharing a bathroom and toilet with other guests, almost missed my flight in the morning because I had to wait to take a shower. I couldn't even iron my clothes because the iron was with another guest. In booking.com they were not clear about the sharing, I wouldn't have booked the place if I had known.

    The honesty bar was the best, I literally cleared their stock.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Second time in this guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time in this guesthouse. Great rooms with very good beds and very personal attention of the hosts. As we were there for the second time it was so nice to see the hosts again such nice people. Breakfast super and the location is great with secured parking and very close to the highway. Certainly we would book again next time

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    It was a good stay, safe and standard Room with an nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet only has a slide door which can be uncomfortable. Also the Host gave us the wrong room without us noticing wich is more expensive and at the checkout we had to pay an upcharge of 400R eventhough it is his fault giving us the wrong room.

    It was a good stay, safe and standard Room with an nice Patio and Pool. A lot of movies to available for free to watch in the evening. also a fridge with all the drinks you need for reasonable prices

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    The guesthouse was well kept and the staff was great and...
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unknowingly upgraded and then expected to pay the extra cost even though we had not consented to the change. After arguing our case, we did not pay. The expectation to pay was quite unfair and unpleasant.

    The guesthouse was well kept and the staff was great and friendly. Great WiFi access and facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    The balcony
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is too small The shower flow is weak and varies The wash basin does not drain properly No mirror at vanity No space for your toiletries

    The balcony

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of something i didnt like

    The breakfast was well prepared warm buffet of many options, the pool was clean and room comfy, spacious and airconditioned. The staff was friendly and even upgraded my room for a very minimal minimal fee. Very relaxing environment and would stay there again and again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    It was awesome!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We were offered room upgrade without having asked. Special arrangements were made for us to have full breakfast before time as we were leaving early on a long trip to the Transkei. I got a call within minutes of leaving because I had forgotten my android tablet on the bedside table.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place, I recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free wifi was not working although advertised. Also, my wife lost her expensive Clinique "make-up" stuff, which she had just bought to take along for this trip, and the staff said they have not seen it even though she claims to have specifically packed/hide it away from prying eyes, meaning they must have went through her stuff to get to it. But overall, great place & facilities!

    Privacy is great. Food was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    This was just a wonderful experience
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We truly have no complaints. Even there staff. You what was so amusing? The way they owner's and workers interact.

    The best part was the owner's. The way they meet us. Especially coming to a funeral.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.6
    it felt like home....the warm and friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the time for breakfast its too early...atleast 9 to 10...,bathrooms are small.

    With breakfast you have more options to choose frm....breakfast by the pool was the best

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    6.3
    Staffs are helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was available, but it cost R180 per person, and hotel staffs recommended us to order delivery service instead.

    Staffs are helpful. Our kids enjoyed pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    The hosts are a credit to the industry!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was OK

    The hosts are a credit to the industry!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Cleanliness and kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and kind staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Great Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Tranquility
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The excellent wi-fi connection. The bed was supper comfortable. You can come in and out as you like without disturbing other guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Great stay!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quite

    Clean and professional staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    It was a fantastic stay with great staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and accommodating staff, made sure I was happy and had exactly what I needed especially breakfast at 3am before my marathon

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and homey atmosphere, lovely large pool and kind people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bit cramped in the bathroom but still value for money.

    Friendly and clean environment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    WILL RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    IT WAS CLEAN THE BED WERE COMFORABLE. THE MANGER WAS VERY FRIENDLY, IT FEALT LIKE BEEN HOME. THE BREAKFAST WAS LOVELY. WILL GO BACK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    We will definitely visit again and our expectations will surely be exceeded again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The honesty bar really impressed us! The staff was super friendly and so welcoming!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    My second stay - even better than the first. Looking forward to next year already.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They let me use the guest shower after 14:30 before catching my flight even though I had checked out at 5:30am

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Loved the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the bed....it was huge..really enjoyed the sleep

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was great, the staff excellent and the bed very comfy, the room is very spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    It had all the things we wanted and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had all the things we wanted and more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they a greedy and full of racism

    nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    The are is very quiet room very comfortable. The hospitality from owners and staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower caps to be available.

    Room has crokery and kitchen utensils for use.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Very clean and smelled nice. Spacious n comfortable. Breakfast and service great. Owner pleaseant and warm person

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    We will be back!😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    Very comfortable and cousy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Clean,beautiful and great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean,beautiful and great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    would recomend itto everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    managers ere very accomodating & the breakfast was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts are very kind and help you with everything you need. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    It was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great Value for money! Super fast wifi, breakfast was always great and the hospitality in general waa on point.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Bed comfy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    the hosts are very gracious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hosts are very gracious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    N/A

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    everuthing as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent and friendly hospitality

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    bREAKFAST WAS AMAZING AND THE HOSTS EXCELLENT.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bREAKFAST WAS AMAZING AND THE HOSTS EXCELLENT. THANK YOU

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    It was a home away from home feeling
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warmth and hospitality of the staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Great family accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large cottage; great value for money. Great facility.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    Friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Friendly people

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    The owner was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    See More Guest House exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing I didn't like

    I loved everything about this place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Honesty bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honesty bar

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.8
    Hospitable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    Home away from home

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.6
    Warm and friendly hosts makes you feel so comfortable. my kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was not of 4 star quality. that can be improved.

    the pool and breakfast and the friendly hosts, very warm feeling and very accommodating

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    i enjoyed my stay,i liked every thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i enjoyed my stay,i liked every thing. the staff was friendly. I will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    9.6
    the facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    upon my return I wanted to do some ironing but couldn't locate the iron where I would have expected to find it. I knocked onto the manager/landlord's office but with no response. I called on the provided numbers eventually the manager opened the door looking a little agitated as I was too. I then told her that I was looking for an iron but she said that the iron is where it supposed to be with a bit of showing signs of being annoyed, only to find out they'd build a cardboard where the iron is and put the iron inside and I did not know that. Otherwise I am not making an issue about that other than the fact I was a bit irritated at the time.

    the facility

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast was awesome, reception very pleasant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I'm not one to complain, but Our room needs a bit of maintenance, the Aircon remote didn't work and was replaced, only to find the aircon was no more than a fan and in need of service. The curtains didn't cover the sliding doors properly, and a broken window handle, but otherwise a very pleasant stay

    The breakfast was awesome, reception very pleasant and professional

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.2
    Tranquillity, quiet vicinity,warm welcoming atmosphere,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I didn't share the same bedroom with my 2 kids since I booked a room for 2. A provision was done thanx.

    Tranquillity, quiet vicinity,warm welcoming atmosphere, neatness, friendly staff & owners. Delicious Buffet Breakfast & leisure accessories for the whole family. Thanx guys.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    7.9
    Location, facilities and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast time is too short. While we understand that there were other guests booked in the rooms we were allocated, we were hoping for an early check in. Maybe we may have used the lounge facility to rest a bit before heading out as we were tired from having come on an early morning flight. Otherwise we were happy with the hospitality and friendly staff.

    Location, facilities and the view.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    10
    Super friendly staff, perfectly clean rooms, comfy beds,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I am a tea drinker, the room only has coffee creamer which is beyond horrible with tea. What about those little triangular boxes of long life milk instead?

    Super friendly staff, perfectly clean rooms, comfy beds, great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    I love their make-it-happen attitude, the homely feel and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking is a little awkward if the guesthouse is full, but the staff handle this brilliantly and I had no issues at all.

    I love their make-it-happen attitude, the homely feel and that they cater so well for business folks. They allow early breakfast times, they have DVD's available for everyone, and they have a great snack & drink cash bar. Yes - this spot is a WINNER.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    I am comfortable, safe, like the out door balcony.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wish they would stock more variety in their loyalty system. For example a good quality wine in the fridge. Even if it is box wine, just a Sauvignon Blanc or dry white. All options were mostly sweet wines. I managed to squeeze the last of the wine out of a dry white box. No other snacks besides chocolates.

    I am comfortable, safe, like the out door balcony. Loved the particular room the most. I like the pets and homely atmosphere. I always look forward to staying there.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    7.5
    Very neat -excellent cleaning staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not enough parking space - had to park my car outside the property twice and that street area is not secured at all.

    Very neat -excellent cleaning staff

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    8.3
    1. Rooms were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking area - not covered so it was inconvenient packing our luggage in the rain the following morning.

    1. Rooms were very clean. 2. Beds were very comfortable with clean fresh linen and beautiful décor. 3. Selection of DVD's to watch in the comfort of the room. 4. Honesty bar - very rare in today's times. 5. Clean utensils, Kettle, Microwave etc.so that meals can be consumed in the comfort of your room. 6. Warm welcome and shown being shown around the place.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.9
    Clean rooms, nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are rather small. Breakfast was missing fresh fruit and nice yogurt. They do fixe you up with nice eggs though.

    Clean rooms, nice pool. Safe neighborhood (but you'll need a car, just like everywhere else in SA). Friendly staff. There is a large collection of dvd's you can choose from and take to your room to watch. Nice pool to cool down in summer.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    8.3
    The bed and room was beautiful the breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water pipes in the bathroom make a knocking sound when used

    The bed and room was beautiful the breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.3
    wonderful breakfast, clean pool, nice to have DVDs to pick...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wonderful breakfast, clean pool, nice to have DVDs to pick from at night, quiet

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    10
    The hospitality was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nil

    The hospitality was excellent

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    8.8
    The owner/manager Peter was a great host, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owner/manager Peter was a great host, the receptionist (Apples) was very friendly and the kitchen staff equally great!

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    Just about everything, I've been in BnB's all around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just about everything, I've been in BnB's all around SA, this has been the best, in fact the very best

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom a bit small for comfort

    Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    Fantastic friendly staff, hosts couldn't have been more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic friendly staff, hosts couldn't have been more helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.3
    Vie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View room privacy

    Vie

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    8.3
    The breakfast and swimming were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dog barking on my window was a little weird.

    The breakfast and swimming were amazing.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    8.8
    Everything was absolutely awesome.
    • Couple

    Nothing bad experienced

    Everything was absolutely awesome. Room was upgraded without having asked for it and the food was excellent too.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    I liked almost everythng the Guest house is just super
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    I liked almost everythng the Guest house is just super

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    The place is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place is nice

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    Very clean rooms and nice decor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very clean rooms and nice decor. Staff very nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Had supper there for the first time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had supper there for the first time. Food was excellent and brought to my room with a smile.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.5
    all the rest was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Garage was opened/closed 3 times during the night and that was very noisy. Room with no vieuw.

    all the rest was ok.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.2
    Friendliness of staff and comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendliness of staff and comfortable room.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: