Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Group Selborne Golf Estate & Spa

Old Main Road, 4184 Pennington, South Africa

#2 of 7 hotels in Pennington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 411 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Clean,homely,stunning golf course.
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff serving breakfast seemed under pressure and did not respond when you spoke to them. Instead they busy having a conversation with their colleague,who is behind them,in their own language that we did not understand. Also most Indian people do not eat beef or pork. This was the only option at breakfast. There were many Indian people at breakie. We went to breakfast at about 9h30. There were no juices,fruit, and the eggs and baked bean containers were empty. We waited more than 20 minutes to eat breakie. Staff need training. The waiters were fabulous.

    Clean,homely,stunning golf course.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    We were extremely overjoyed when we found that our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were extremely overjoyed when we found that our expectations of the hotel far exceeded all that we paid for. It is a definite RETURN RESORT...SEE YOU GUYS SOON

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Very quite and comfortable and pleasant if you are only going to play golf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Most Hotels offer Jacuzzi and Saunas free of charge for Hotel Guests but this was a very big dissappointment that I was asked to pay for this facility.

    Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff are friendly and curteous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    We had a great stay, service was wonderful - keep it up guys!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner menu - The food was good however the menu is very limited - more variety would be great

    The service was excellent from the front desk, restaurant, the guy carrying our luggage. Very well done.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    fabulous stay, will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check out was a bit long. printers did not work and front desk was not ready for every one checking out. No water on Sunday morning, this was however resolved.

    The rooms are fabulous. Must stay in the Manor house. Absolutely stunning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Great Facilities, terrible Management and Food
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Fairway Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived in our room the aircon would not work on heat and it was 10deg outside. We phoned reception and were promised a heater. 90 minutes later no heater had arrived and we called again and it then arrived. We had the lamb shank in the restaurant and it was tough and completely tasteless. Obviously they get frozen and then cooked. The service and ambiance in the restaurant is great, apart from the kitchen service door slamming all the time, and the staff try very hard, but one gets the feeling that the Management just does not do enough training or leadership. Checkout was a disaster as I asked for a company invoice and after 30 min of waiting the staff were still battling with the computer system. I was promised an email with the invoice and I had to call back to ask where it was. I was then told to call the manager in order to resolve the issue. She duly called me back and promised to send me an email so that I can provide the company details (which I had provided before). I am still waiting for the email. This kind of experience is just so unnecessary, especially with the surroundings and ambiance. Clearly even the Management cannot deal with their customers properly and then how can they expect their staff to do so?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To whoever manages the restaurant: The service at the restaurant, especially at dinner, the quality and choice of food is a big minus. The cutlery and plates are dirty. They have unskilled waiters and the food takes forever. Seems like there is much better management at the Club House. It’s really a pity since it would be small improvements like attention to detail (refilling the bread at breakfast, cleaning the bread tin, making sure the food is arranged neatly, making sure that there are always new CLEAN plates and clean cutlery, refilling salt and pepper shakers and wiping them when they are dirty, providing filtered water, offering cappuccino, varying the choice of food at breakfast...). Oh, and please change the music: Vivaldi‘s 4 Seasons are nice but not on continuous loop;-), especially if the service is so pathetic!!! The Spa treatments need improvement as well (I had the worst massage ever) and the Spa facilities need a revamp.

    Beautiful setting. Stunning golf course and surroundings. Place definitely needs an upgrade.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Great feel about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast station is very slow. Even when there are only 4 people early morning.

    Great feel about it. Doesn’t feel like a golf estate and not as tight as a hotel. Perfect for a weekend away. Would actually recommend a few additional days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Will go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It stated that we can book in at 14h00, but no rooms were available (large group left late apparently), we only managed to go to our room at around 15h00, which was a bit of an inconvenience as we traveled far and wanted to book in with no hassle.

    Was very nice, staff friendly, breakfast was super

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    This was my second visit to the place and despite the shower issue, I still shall visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a real turn-off because its drainage system was somehow blocked. When having a shower, a a pool of water was order of the shower time because there would be water all over the bathroom area. Handyman could not unblock the drain that morning until we checked out. Lack of quick thinking by staff on duty then, to rescue the situation because they could have immediately moved me to the other room when they realized that the problem could not be quickly fixed. Swapping the rooms could have shorten my bad experience period.

    The room (except the shower) and premises were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful and affordable. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing to dislike. I did expect a private beach within the vicinity of the hotel though, something I read on the advert of the Hotel. I drove around to find one. That's okay though.

    The staff is very friendly from security at the gate, reception lady and the sweet lady who cleaned the room and replenished the choclate. My niece enjoyed her the most. It was a great holiday getaway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Tranquil and Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at the breakfast buffet could much more friendlier. Was stubborn and did not assist to her best ability as we had to ask other staff members for assistance in regards to a vegetarian bfast.

    Hi, I thoroughly enjoyed my relaxation at Selbourne Golf Estate and Spa. However I need to make a special mention for the reception staff member - Promise, she has made my stay all the more better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Stunning establishment
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are too many guests at this establishment and as a result finding parking is a challenge. The fan for ventilation in the bathroom is noisy and annoiying. Could the rooms have a microwave oven to warm up some left overs please. The laundry and ironing service is very expensive especially if one has to spend more time there. An attached iron and ironing board in the wardrobe could be of great help to the guests.

    The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The place and location is stunning with well kept gardens. The rooms are large enough with garden views. Very clean white linen and the coffee/tea making facilities and fridge are just what one needs before and after a business day. The complementary WiFi came in handy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Excellent resort if you into Golf & do not like staying right at the beachfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a tiny frog actually stuck to the inside of the shower wall which I think was dead but am not sure. Also the garden rooms lack any views.

    Breakfast & facilities available were great. The Spa & Golf course was good. Staff was excellent & room service were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    *****! Excellent quality service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s was not much to dislike everything was on par!

    The staff were so friendly and helpful, ever willing to assist.Rooms extremely clean. Privacy and quietness was excellent. Thank u selborne we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved our stay at Selbourne, we stayed in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved our stay at Selbourne, we stayed in the presidential suite and were treated really well, the staff accommodated our requests and saw to our needs impeccably well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Convenient for my needs and also relaxed settings and good...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was moved to normal standard from from presidential suite because they said they had a water issue and big cockroach in my room

    Convenient for my needs and also relaxed settings and good golf course

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Standard of food and service was poor did not see a manager...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairway Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of food and service was poor did not see a manager once in the hotel during our stay We chose to eat out at restaurants in the area rather then eat in the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    excellent stay ..meals were terrible..
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the meals are bad... Dinner ..chicken was dry ,..smelly breakfast chicken sausages tasted sourish . please prepare good meals !!

    the resort compliments the surrounds ..great stuff !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Awesome stay at Selbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gardener cutting grass outside our room at bout 6 40 am was a bit annoying. We wanted to sleep in a bit.

    Loved the friendly n eager staff. The comfortable rooms. Everything spotlessly clean too. Was an ideal relaxing getaway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Immaculate food,service,grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    After 7years,I still recommend Selborne. Incredible staff,food,(Thanks Regan) service ,facilities,everything is truly magnificent. Thanks for an incredible time ,once again. Ronel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel - shame about the golf course
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was lovely but unfortunately it didn't look clean - full of leaves and dirt. We asked Reception if they could ask someone to clean it so we could swim in it next day. This didn't happen so we didn't use it. Apart from that the hotel was lovely and we would recommend it which is more than can be said for the golf course which was an utter shambles. So my verdict is if you want a very nice hotel to stay in this fits the bill but don't bother with the golf.

    The location for the golf course. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. The food was very good and so was the service. Our room was very comfortable and the wifi worked very well. There was plenty of parking space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Older lady with charme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have seen their best years. Everything a little later but still on good shape. The room we had was quite dark since we had trees in front of the windows. None of the rooms which are within small buildings away from the main building do have good views, except a few.

    The golf course is very nice, a lot of nice holes and well maintained. The restaurant was good as well, staff very friendly. Breakfast was good to. We looked the quiteness.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Arrival and check in was excellent the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrival and check in was excellent the staff were very helpful. It was our 50th wedding anniversary on the 16 Dec and the staff made it special by decorating the room (especially the heart on the bed ) and the bottle of champagne really made our visit special, please thank the staff on our behalf

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Place was peaceful and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower had small creepy crawlies on the ceiling board they need to do something about that besides that room was very clean and comfortable would visit again Thanks

    Place was peaceful and beautiful.. The staff was friendly and welcoming. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Loved the view from our room the golf course stunning. The fresh breeze and being one with Nature truly beautiful appreciated every second there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful, scenic setting..Good for the soul! Thanks to all from reception to Hannes and Cedric!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no problems with anything except the Wi-Fi that definitely did not work consistently. This is an integral part to being a visitor in a hotel-especially for those of us who need to work whilst on holiday. Fortunately I could log into my router from time to time and get by!

    Bedrooms, lounges and dining area very pretty and comfortable. Linen and towels good quality and bedrooms well presented. Coffee machine was an added bonus. Loved the private patio where we could listen to the sounds of the night and watch the sun come up.The staff were awesome ! Hannes and Cedric assisted us with a demise when our car was damaged by a fellow traveller's vehicle. They dealt so professionally with the situation that it made this sad note for all so much more bearable. Curry night on Sundays at the Club was fantastic value for money. Every staff member greeted us and made us feel special..an accolade to the management indeed for getting this right!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    limited DSTV channels with poor quality. Property more suitable for older people. Limited eating places outside of the Hotel.

    Comfortable stay with beautiful surroundings , decor is dated though

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    will situated with a fine golf course.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was a mess up with the booking with our room initial, but Goodman the manager sorted all that out amicable.

    The croissants were very tasty. The staff all went out of their way to accommodate. Lovely service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful golf estate that's maintained its charm since 1964!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for the shower next morning

    Beautiful crisp white bed linen .... we requested a twin room were given a double but housekeeping immediately came to make up two beds ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Most plesant and the grounds are impecable
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvet was too heavy for the weather; the door (entrance) needs some attention and the light at the door was not working.

    The location. the ambiance and the privacy as required. Delighted to see that Mr Denis Barker is back home albeit not well. A great short stay and we shall return no doubt

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    It was nice but not wow
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking far away from room. No Kids Play Area... First night we ate at the restaurant i hardly eat and send the raw food back as nobody even asked me why.

    The rooms are beautiful and the SPA is fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Very disappointed with our treatment and stay ESPECIALLY after booking the Presidential suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A TV in the Presidential suite that did not work and replaced with a smaller one. Bathroom basin badly cracked and the second basin drain blocked. Not one real flower in the entire establishment!!! Having fake plastic rose peddles placed on our bed. Not even bothering to find out if we were diabetic and hence getting little chocolates on our bed which we could not have. No treats or rusks with our coffee in the room (NOTE IN THE PRESIDENTIAL SUITE) and bar fridge EMPTY. Downstairs men's toilet stank for two days and the hand basin was blocked. Used breakfast dishes not cleared from table, no cutlery replaced after it being used at breakfast. No lemon for tea. Used tea bags overflowing bowl. Waiters not making any effort to increase seating when extra family arrived to join in for breakfast. Restaurant evening steak only 10mm thick and looked like leather. Staff to know difference between lamb ribs and rack of lamb. Not impressed with restaurant meals very little choice on menu and poorly presented. (Overdone rack swimming in gravy after asking for medium). Had to ask for salt on restaurant table (would prefer pepper grinders instead of fine pepper shakers that we needed to clean the holes with using tooth picks also for the salt. When arriving carried own bags from car to reception even with staff standing around watching. Only at reception was offer made to assist with bags. No personal attention at all when arriving after on numerous occasions I mentioned that it was our 27th wedding anniversary and our honeymoon started at Selbourne 27 year ago. Staff that attended to us was wearing tattered clothes in desperate need of replacing. Apparently not paid by Selbourne SHOCKING SHOCKING..... They can't have any pride in their jobs. Dirty bathroom windows.

    The old history of the house and the surrounding golf course.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Luxurious stay, would love to stay longer next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit of a problem. Could not park near reception, and appeared to be limited for the number of guests at the hotel.

    Very comfortable bedroom and very clean. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable bed, quiet beautiful resort with great room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor selection and food quality at hotel restaurant. Very expensive and not much for vegetarians to eat.

    Comfortable bed, quiet beautiful resort with great room facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, with beautiful views around the Estate itself. We would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is nothing we didn't like, but felt that cleaning under the beds and lower bedside tables often would be useful. Only noticeable because we dropped an item a couple of times which rolled under the bed.

    Delicious breakfast and consistent. Extremely friendly and kind staff who made us very welcome from beginning to end. We loved the service, fresh fruit and delicious croissants and muffins, especially the blueberry ones!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    An unforgettable stay in a jewel on the South Coast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staying at Selborne Golf Estate was an excellent experience and unbelievable value for money! Everything from the staff to all amenities and facilities are exquisitely well presented, preserved and recommendable. Staff very professional and food outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Amazing place stay and enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place to stay, Breakfast was super awesome. Property has everything. bathroom is spacious, is surrounded by golf ground which has excellent views. Would like to stay again in this property. Shahabaaz

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Was an excellent stay just lack activities for kids unlike the other First Resort's
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No playground/playroom for my child. The only activity for my child had was the pool which she couldn't use has the weather was not very good. Would like to see something more kid/child friendly activities

    Rooms were very clean. Staff very friendly and accomodating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Staff were very friendly and tried to please where ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like the garden suites. Rooms felt cold .Being winter the rooms could have been a bit more cosier and warmer. Requested a heater to warm room, unfortunately heater was sent to room but was not in working condition. Breakfast very limited.

    Staff were very friendly and tried to please where ever possible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money on magnificent golf estate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lights in bathrooms & bedrooms didn't work properly They charged extra for filter coffee pods or to exchange one pillow

    Good food, accommodation, outstanding golf course & good Spa treatments

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Delightful holiday at Selborne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful surroundings, the golf course is immaculate and gardens lovely. Superb service from all staff members and everyone was warm and efficient. Very charming hotel main building, dining room, pub and outdoor terrace. The bedroom was in pristine condition and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely location beautiful and serene
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived an hour early and was greeted by receptionist who said your to early for check in . Instead it would of been better if she said il check if your room is ready as she could see I am pregnant it would of been more accommodating of her to have made that effort instead of me asking her if she could please check if the room was ready . But that was minor maybe she just needs a little more training . Overall lovely place

    Breakfast was great ,location was perfect for a weekend getaway .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    The Selborne Hotel - a gracious, well situated and comfortable venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The meals on Saturday evening, 3 June 2017. The orders took an hour to come to the table and were not as carefully prepared, presented or cooked as the Friday night meal. There were two different chefs.

    All staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel and its function rooms are graciously and tastefully decorated. Our 90th birthday celebration was held in the room off the dining room - forty guests were easily accommodated at comfortable chairs and tables. Details like ice buckets near each table for champagne or white wine, covered stand for the birthday cake and glass vases for flower arrangements were much appreciated. The natural, well kempt gardens and paths are beautiful - flora and fauna abound. Lovely trees and lawns.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Facilities are stunning, administration is shocking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairway Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    getting a confirmation for a booking and the applicable rate and being told I do not have a booking on arrival and then getting overcharged. I have emails and documents to prove this if Selborne is interested. Being told that the money was for the room arranged was still to be paid and when I showed the deduction on my phone I was told it was refunded then when I came to pay on departure I was told that I had paid. The payment deducted exceeded the booking confirmation rate. The seafood platter was not edible, in fact it upset my tummy, we gave Kyle feedback which he took appropriately and resolved on the bill for the dinner. The failure of the security system for entrance control and the codes sent to me on my cell did not allow me one entrance or exit from the estate without a rescan of my car license and drivers license. I tried to enter and exit at least 8 times. I know I left a shirt on room 23 on Friday morning 12th May before 10am, called the hotel to look for it upon which they promised to call me back. I have not heard from them since. (Wednesday 17th May 8 pm). On the forms that I completed I gave my email address and requested a Client assessment, this is being completed on one sent to my wife who made the booking, am I likely to get a request for feedback from Selborne? I doubt it so completing the form was a waste of time.

    The rooms, the buildings and the whole makeup of the facilities was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.5
    It's a Spa and golf estate, all Spa staff was on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a Spa and golf estate, all Spa staff was on training, we booked because of the Spa, very disappointing and we do not understand why all staff was on training........

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.7
    Location is good and I had a lovely dinner and high tea
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not great Broken toilet seat, such a loud extractor fan in the loo and the fridge was so loud. Hardly slept all night. Breakfast was uninspired fair 😦

    Location is good and I had a lovely dinner and high tea

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Family get together
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Meals in the restaurant was very expensive. Towels in the rooms were not replaced in time

    Breakfast was well catered for. The staff went out of their way to cater forour special detary needs

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful place and amazing staff. Pity the food let us down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Wifi in the rooms. Lack if choices with regards to the TV channels. The food was not excellent and the choice was very restricting. The food was my hugest disappointment. No variety, not enough vegetarian choices and of course nothing is Halaal. We had to drive to the next town to get food twice.

    All the staff were amazing. The men who served us all went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were willing to go the extra mile for anything we asked for. They made my stay worth while.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Just what we wanted. A quiet break in a lovely environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking needs to be better controlled. There was a function one afternoon and the participants double parked, blocked access points. As a hotel resident I had to use the golf course parking, some way away from the hotel. I did speak to the manager on duty who apologized profusely and offered to personally fetch my car after the function if I left the keys with him. I declined the offer.

    In respect of the view, it was a ground floor garden suite which had dense coastal bush in front of the patio, so no real view but this made our room very private which we liked. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We like Selborne having stayed on the Estate many times but never before in the Hotel, so we knew what to expect from the resort facilities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    4.2
    Moderate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities require extensive maintenance, eg. Shower flooded in room 51. Same breakfast for 5 days. The room was too small. Requested an extra bed for my son but did not get in on arrival until date of departure.

    The serenity of the environment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice atmosphere, safe and quiet even during Peak times
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tv was useless and snowy. We received a piece of paper that said ch 1 is SABC 1 and Ch 2 is SABC 2 and so on but they were NOT correct

    Breakfast was nice, room clean and comfy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Home Away from Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is often overstreched as they are not enough

    I have been to this hotel four times in 1 year. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is excellent. The breakfast is great and I get to enjoy golf on a beautifully manicured course.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    3.8
    We were offered a complimentry stay after checking out, howver we declined.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Manor Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our breakfast was included in our package. After checking with the dining staff, we were informed we could order any of the breakfasts on the menu. After ordering a breakfast, I was informed by the waiter that the manager said he could not serve us the beef steak that was part of the choice of the choice of breakfast. We found this attiyude unacceptable and after discussing this matter with the Hotel's General Manager, we checked out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tedious security detail @ the gate. The scanning of licences everytime you go in and out, there should be a better way. Thought the scanning of the code would be adequate🙄

    Comfy bed and scrumptious breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our phone did not work despite asking for it to be fixed.

    Really enjoyable for a young family. Loved the beach house - extra security for our belongings while we were at the beach. Hearty breakfast each day. Loved the golf course even though they were hollow-tining.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful but badly managed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairway Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management was appallingly lacking at all levels. We spoke to them all up to general manager and although they acknowledged the problems and said they would address them there was little improvement over the six nights we spent there. No wi-fi outside main building and therefore most rooms including the fairway room we booked. Hotel takes conference bookings and treats other guests as second class as they cannot cater for both simultaneously. Breakfast was a joke as conference had breakfast early and ate everything and then staff just turned everything off and we were left with no service and cold leftovers. Staff were more concerned about laying tables for conference to have lunch. Only instant coffee included in breakfast and fruit salad etc all uncovered and full of fruit flies etc.

    The setting, the main building, the size of pool and the golf course, all beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Comfortable and hassle free.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did the booking thru booking.com and the special included breakfast. However when the confirmation came thru, this was excluded and I had to spend time sorting this out. I suggest you ensure that booking.com get their facts correct. Free wi-fi should be provided in the rooms as this is a must for business guests.

    The staff did not quible about sorting out the problem re the breakfast. Professional and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WIFI in the room. Variety of food in the restaurant could be better.

    Excellent hotel for relaxation. Me and my wife stayed there for one night and it was highly enjoyable. We did not get the chance to use the golf course. Recommended.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.3
    Perfect getaway for a golfing couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if it rains then you may get wet walking to your room which is away from the main reception areas. Fortunately umbrellas are provided.

    the rooms were great and very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Great stay for the entire family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairway Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really; The yorgurt served for breakfast was not the best though.

    The service was excellent; all staff very helpful.Rooms very comfortable and kept clean at all times.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double link doors between separate hotel rooms not insulated well enough. Guy snoring next door clearly audible. Rubberise or upholster? We put a duvet between the two doors which blocked out some of the noise.

    Staff were very efficient and well trained. Grounds and pools immaculate.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    5.0
    No sea-view. The beach is 5 minutes DRIVE away. Golfers will like it; maybe a little overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a sugar ant issue in the rooms; they are everywhere, and the most help we got from reception was a can of Doom. We had to call reception quite a number of times because things were not as they should have been in the room. The biggest let down was that Booking.com says it is right on the beach- the beach is a 5 minute drive away.

    The bed was comfortable and the croissants delicious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    3.8
    Good Accommodation few improvements could make a hell of a difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Availability of Pool Towels Booking of Christmas lunch and names do not appear on list. Spa never available should have answering service. Long wait at pool for service

    Very Friendly staff Good food Clean Room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    4.6
    Great golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not shown to room late at night across open gardens, no water in room, no hairdryer in room, only one towel per person and shower flooded.

    Great golf course. Spacious room with garden view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.0
    Rooms, views and setting up there with the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening buffet meal was very disappointing. A bit like boarding school . Meat overcooked poor selection of vegetables and salads. The food selection provided, except for the soup which was very nice, was poor for the amount charged for the buffet. We were also given the impression by reception that the buffet was all that was available. [ Our fault for not questioning enough].

    air-conditioning in the rooms was great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Service ,staff very pleasant and professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairway Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food is really bland and repetitive. Like British boarding school stuff. a.Christmas night left over lunch food b.soggy Brussel sprouts awful. c.the menu need to be more vegetarian friendly d.better salads!! e. pasta with yummy sauce f. healthy options -

    Service ,staff very pleasant and professional

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    4.2
    Worst Hotel Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in a very bad condition. The aircon leaked water constantly. The bathroom flooded daily. The door jammed all the time. The television didn't work for 2 days. The telephone didn't work at all. It was the worst experience I've had.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.5
    Good stay close to Pennington
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was bady stocked and ran out of cocktails by 11PM. Also no cocktail menu.

    Excellent and fresh breakfast with suffecient variety. Beautiful golf course.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.7
    Mixed Feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre , chicken and prawn curry is avoidable, phone did not work, bathroom cleanliness could improve,

    Friendly and accommodating staff, Fantastic golf course, peaceful surrounds, comfortable rooms, excellent lamb curry, delicious burger excellent pool, tennis and kid play areas,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    It was a good experience. Thank you
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had an electrical spike in the hotel which resulted in some electronic failures In the room. Maintenance could not repair it in the time we were there, so it did not impede the stay.

    The breakfasts were great and the grounds beautiful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    5.8
    High expectations , a let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden room, had a dirty patio that had a fantastic view of a bush. No grass. The room was dirty,the furniture was dusted but around the ornaments. The shower soap basin was broken and a hazard for young kids. The extractor wasn't working. The front desk staff on our first night was least helpful and could get nothing attended to.On complaining about the rooms, she just smiled. Staff have let down this beautiful place and there isnt proper supervision.Even our toiletries were not replenished when the rooms were cleaned. We had to request more!

    The estate was beautiful.The chef at breakfast on the 25th was outstanding. He understood our dietary requirements and was most obliging to assist us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Wonderful Hibiscus Coast hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elegant country golf estate. Excellent restaurant and bar. Superb service throughout the hotel. The front desk clerk was one of the friendliest we've had the pleasure of meeting. Lovely manicured grounds. Private beach club with pool and picnic area. You don't need to be a golfer to thoroughly enjoy your stay here.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.8
    Superb value for money luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some electrical interruptions in the Pennington area. This was a municipal issue, not a hotel issue. The hotel coped well at dinner notwithstanding.

    The value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view at all from the 'garden room'. The floor was dirty and full of sand with a lot of bugs in the room. Although a separate business, I was disappointed with my spa treatment at La Vita spa :(

    Breakfast was lovely. The room was confortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful/accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Definately will be coming back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there wasn't wifi access in the rooms. We would also have loved to have bikes to hire.

    The bed was very comfy, the service the staff gave, I was very impressed with. Very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and it was an overall wonderful experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: