Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse

119 Hornbill Street, 3936 St Lucia, South Africa

#5 of 25 B&Bs and Inns in St Lucia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 86 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    The hospitality of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV size compare to the room size and the position not face to the bed. The A/C was having a problem and it was fixed the second day.

    The hospitality of the staff. Their assistance and taking care of our needs. Due to the border of the guest house Close to the reserve we got the chance to see hippos next to the piscine. This is one advantage of the situation of the guest house close to the reserve. We got a late arrival but Mrs. Debbie wait for us. She makes all her best to get all the comforts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing places, very modern .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing places, very modern . The owner and staff are very friendly. Our room near by the pool & Garden, a lot of animals around. We had a very good time to relax and enjoyed in this place. We will be back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Conclusion: I can recommend sebgh very much. I will stay there again and I will recommend the use of
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Luxurious with modern design - a perfect place to stay in St.Lucia This boutique guest house will be a perfect choice if your are looking for a 5***** bed&breakfast to serve as your base to experience and explore the iSimangaliso Wetlands (St.Lucia) and Northern KwaZulu Natal. I stayed for four nights at the Serene-Estate Boutique Guest House (SEBGH) in St.Lucia and can recommend it very much. Location: Very quiet location on the 'ocean-park-side' of town Overall impression of buildings and grounds: Well maintained, modern design - very well thought out. Rooms: I had the smallest room (which is still quite large) and I had a look at most of the other six suites/rooms. They are all most comfortable with excellent beds, enough room to set up laptops etc, comfortable seating and plenty of room for cloths ... I like the modern 'clean look' design of the rooms with no unnecessary dust-collection items all over the place (as in many other guest houses). Suites - 4 suites with direct access to the park side - 1 ocean view suite with own roof garden (on the park-side of the house) Rooms (lower rate) - 1 large room with own roof garden (on the park side of the house) - 1 smaller room with an own garden (street-side but very quiet) Bathrooms: Excellent with large showers and separate baths Breakfast: Very good and well presented - appropriate for a 5* environment. Excellent background music. The 'semi-outside' breakfast area is well designed for breakfast in all kinds of weather. Lounge Area: There is lots of seating available. It includes a small library and a piano. Nespresso coffee and an honesty bar are available. Pool: The large pool is well maintained with plenty deck-chairs. Parking: Under-cover parking with enough space to get in and out of the vehicle. Staff: The staff was very friendly and well trained. Debbie (Manager) was very helpful in arranging excursions and was very knowledge about everything around St.Lucia.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    The breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was great. We even had the option of purchasing a dinner on New Year's Day. We were so happy that we did. The food, presentation, and service was wonderful. It was a great place to stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. They booked all our local tours for us - smooth and easy. Bring warm sweaters and rain coats - when we arrived, temperature dropped from 38 to 22 degrees. We have had lots of fun anyways, when doing the night and day safari to Cape Vidal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    All in all a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The orientation talk upon arrival is a bit too long than necessary although it was appreciated. It's just that if you were on a long drive like us (about 7 hours), we would like to get checked-in into our room as soon as possible to have a bit of a rest before exploring the town. The room also smelled a bit of bad water. Breakfast was considerate and good but I can't help worry about the wastage since it was served directly on your table, like a mini-buffet. Wifi was offered but it never worked and there was also a problem with the card payment so we needed to sort that out by paying cash.

    The architecture and interiors are quite modern and not a typical African-style lodge or hotel so it's refreshing to the eye. That's also the reason why I chose this hotel albeit its price in comparison to the other accommodations in the area. The owners, who also live in the property were very accommodating and they made a point to explain to you some things about the area. It's a very good location as it is boardering the park. You'll see some wild animals visiting the grounds quite often. We were just hoping to see hippos not only there but also on the streets at night but we were unlucky.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    An absolutely stunning hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike except perhaps the troublesome greedy monkeys.

    Everything about the Serene Boutique Hotel is perfect. The breakfasts are to die for but so pretty it is a shame to eat them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    The breakfast was very good with a view over the pond and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was very good with a view over the pond and grounds with wild life viewing while enjoying it. It is only a short walk to restaurants we had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Modern hotel in a great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms upstairs are more lit and with better view than the ones downstairs.

    Fresh healthy breakfast, assistance with the choice of activities , modern style and great swimming pools

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful if expensive stay at Serene!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer a full breakfast as opposed to continental.aldso thought it was expensive compared to other guest houses in the area.priced in Euros?

    The cleanlieness and comfort of the rooms. The friendliness of the owners and manageress.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Modern design, good location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is nice and served per table (not a buffet). Serving time is however only to 9.00 and you must commit to a time the day before, maybe in vacation you just want to have it later.

    Clear and clean design of the place, nice pool and garden, good central location, definitely one of the better ones in St. Lucia if you like a modern style.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    4 beautiful days in St. Lucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serene Estate has not only an outstanding Architecture, everything is just on the point. We absolutely enjoyed our short time there! The pool, the room and Terraces are perfectly spacious and the Breakfast is only delicious! We felt extremely spoiled there!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Luxurious and relaxed stay at boutique guest house with chance to spot wildlife from pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious and modern rooms Interestingly designed boutique guest house Excellent breakfast Beautiful garden with pool, can spot lots of wildlife from your terrace/room Good WiFi Secure

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Loved the whole experience there, particularly the setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the whole experience there, particularly the setting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    very warm welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very warm welcome!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice large room Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second visit This time there was a lack of smiles

    Nice large room Great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Everything was good
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Rooms are big and clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rules

    Rooms are big and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    They had a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy aircon and they didn't a steam iron for clothes

    They had a great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Very high standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very high standards.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Stay here now, fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight damp smell in the bathroom, just keep the door closed

    Great design, fantastic place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    We loved everything about our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about our stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    A wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful place to stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic setting and architectical gem. Amazing breakfast and terras.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Comfortable bed, excellent breakfast, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin with Park View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable bed, excellent breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    10
    Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ----

    Excellent service. Breakfast is really nice and complete, incl toasts, fruits, cerials and a daily special. All on the table, no buffet. Animals around the house like monkeys, deer, hippo in the evening. Rooms are modern and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    Beautiful house especially if you like modern architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave!

    Beautiful house especially if you like modern architecture. Lovely room with lots of space leading into the garden but with lots of privacy. The garden and pool reflected the beauty of the house. Breakfast on the terrace was delicious- different every morning and super fresh. Elaine and the team could not have been more welcoming. This was a perfect way to wrap up our holiday. Exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    10
    The property is a beautiful example of modern architecture...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The property is a beautiful example of modern architecture which is maintained in immaculate condition by its owners. It is spacious, extremely comfortable - breakfast is an experience. Olga is all seeing and extremely helpful. This guest house fully deserves its high score

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    10
    We liked everything at Serene It was a fantastic house our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything at Serene It was a fantastic house our host Hans have designed A very tranquil place Fantastic breakfast Olga did ever possible thing to make us feel good

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    10
    What a beautiful place… lying by the pool one night, 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a beautiful place… lying by the pool one night, 2 bush-babies and a genet came to visit. The previous night there were 3 hippos on the lawn… it really doesn’t get better. Breakfasts are amazing, and the place was spotless. The hosts are also lovely warm, and genuine. Thank you for sharing your special place with us.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    Great friendly staff who assisted with booking,payment,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i didnt like the fact that i only booked for one night- wish could have stayed longer!

    Great friendly staff who assisted with booking,payment, activities, directions. The place is as advertised on the site which was very happy about. The room was PERFECT modern,clean & absolutely functional . FREE WIFI :-) that was awsome. oh and their breakfast is to die for...

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Modern accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi available. Advised would be fixed next day - it was not and no further comment from manager. We were leaving early in second day and no breakfast basket available which was a little disappointing. Told owners do not provide that service..

    Modern accommodation Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast is served in an Open Air space which is certainly great in summertime but much much less in wintertime. Wifi working very badly

    Nice location. Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.1
    We loved the modern architecture, the breakfast terrace and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We found the rooms a bit echoey. Also the headboards were hard to lean against and could have done with some extra cushions. The towels were small, thin and discoloured.

    We loved the modern architecture, the breakfast terrace and the wonderful bush in front of the hotel where we saw bushbuck.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.6
    It is easy to see that some effort is put into breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The cooking of the fried eggs needs improvement (burnt on the bottom and raw on top) but doesn't detract from the overall experience

    It is easy to see that some effort is put into breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    9.6
    breakfasts, gardens, helpfulness of staff, garden with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have loved a rug in the bedroom; the floor was hard & textured which made it a little hard on the feet.

    breakfasts, gardens, helpfulness of staff, garden with wildlife (of the safe kind), plenty of car parking,

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    7.9
    The pool was great, because it's not a small one and you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wlan is a catastrophe. In their info book they try to make St. Lucia city responsible for the worse Internet, but bizarrely there in our 2nd accommodation in St. Lucia - not far away from Serene - we had an excellent Internet. Given the situation they shouldn't name free WiFi in their booking offer. The rooms are furnished very modern, it hasn't seemed to us very cozy, but that's definitely a matter of taste. Same for the whole house.

    The pool was great, because it's not a small one and you are able to swim even more than just for a few minutes. The breakfast was also pretty good.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    10
    Swimming pool is awesome, just like the garden, the modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Poor wifi connection

    Swimming pool is awesome, just like the garden, the modern style of the rooms (Barcelona chairs in the room for one), great volume and luminosity, perfect breakfast and attention to details.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    10
    Everything was absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    To not have the time to stay longer.

    Everything was absolutely perfect. It is just a Little Paradise on his one. I for sure will come again. Olga and Hans are realy fantastic People to stay with.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    10
    Location and high standard of accommodation and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really.

    Location and high standard of accommodation and comfort. Excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    10
    the hyppo's in the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the hyppo's in the garden

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    The welcome and help from Elaine was brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The welcome and help from Elaine was brilliant! Thank you

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    Excellent breskfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The floors

    Excellent breskfast

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    The environment was so quite and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The environment was so quite and relaxing. The apartment was spotless

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    10
    the special hotel with the luxury equipment and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the special hotel with the luxury equipment and nice breakfast。

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: