Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Shamwari Long Lee Manor 5 stars

Shamwari Private Game Reserve, 6130 Paterson, South Africa

#1 of 7 hotels in Paterson

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 131 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the beginning ‘till the end; this was a wonderful stay at Shamwari Long Lee Manor! The staff is very friendly, the service is perfect, the scenery is gorgeous, and the food was really great. The room was very comfortable with huge beds, shower and bath! The schedule of the programm was good, we enjoyed every safari trip. A big thank you to our ranger Celetje! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. What a magical few days. Every element of the stay made it amazing. The staff were superb, the room was beautiful and spacious, the safaris were unbelievable, every day we got to see something new. James our guide was superb, so knowledgeable and great fun. The food was great and lots of it. Well worth the money. Thank you so much

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    The problem is that lodge is a bit old and requires...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem is that lodge is a bit old and requires matintemance and there no ogher acticities to do except safari..no cycling..horse riding or ant activitiy that keeps us busy after safari

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    The most memorable three days away with my family
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to go home.

    I liked everything, from the first welcome to the comfort of the room, the choice and quality of the food, the service and hospitality, our friendly and experienced game ranger,Tyrone and the excitement of the game drives. We were treated like royalty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    We loved our game drives with our ranger Dylan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge Superior Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night it was pretty cold in the tents and we were lacking some heating. The rooms had a small jacuzzi which was not heated either so they were mainly nice to look ok at. Aside from that there is no complaint to be made, the place is well run and all the staff is very professional. However one could say it lacks an authentic feel to it...

    We loved our game drives with our ranger Dylan. We saw plenty of animals and were given in depth details about the behaviors of the animals. Our guide was very knowledgeable and took time to answer all our questions and tried to find the animals we were hoping to see as much as he could. We couldn't have asked for a better first safari. The accommodation was gorgeous. We loved the decoration and the outside shower. We spend the evening eating bbq outside with our ranger and the other guests on the Jeep with us, this was a fun evening. The food was pretty good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Eagles Crag Lodge Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service, facilities and spa at Eagles Crag. Especially enjoyed the Game drives which were adventurous and very informative. Excellent ranger Dave!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Our stay will live in our memories for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Absolutely amazing place and wonderful location. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Excellent food, good choice. Beautifully prepared and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    A great taste of Africa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food, although, good needs improvement for the price!

    The focus on conservation and of course the animal stars. The staff were very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Trip of a lifetime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge Superior Tent
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is absolutely amazing and one of the nicer safaris I have been on. We had such a wonderful time and every little detail and member of staff was amazing. From the food to the safari drives, to the details in the room. . You cannot fault this experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Bayethe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge Superior Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Days are action packed so next time we will stay longer

    Fantastic 2 night stay, a treat in the middle of our Eastern Cape trip. Game drives fantastic, tented lodge private and luxurious. Not cheap but 5 star quality and considering all inclusive including game drives not bad value for money. We would love to go back to Bayethe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    We stayed at Eagles crag and it was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Eagles Crag Lodge Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at Eagles crag and it was outstanding. Food was delicious and service great. Our ranger David Fraser did a great job and showed us all the big 5. He was very knowledgeable of the animals and their behavior and showed them great respect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    A lovely stay at a 5* Game Reserve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eagles Crag Lodge Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in room 1. It is right across from the kitchen which is really noisy with staff chattering and working in the kitchen. Unfortunately I do not see how this can be changed but for you to avoid being in room number 1. Their rates are very steep. They are on the verge of a much needed revamp and upgrade which is absolutely necessary for them to continue asking these rates as it is in line with some of South Africa's top notch lodges in Sabi Sand Game Reserve.

    All the staff were really friendly and helpful at all times. The food preparation and menu was excellent. The gamedrives were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Long Lee Manor, a slice of heaven!! I can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! :-)

    I cannot say enough about Shamwari (specifically Long Lee Manor). The place is simply incredible. It just may be the best 3 nights of our lifes. The general staff are brilliant. Always going the extra mile and ensuring you stay is the best (all with a gleaming smile and feeling that nothing is a challenge for them). Our ranger, Abel made the stay all the more special. His wildlife knowledge and passion are second to none. What we found amazing was his enthusiasm for wildlife which makes it all the more enthralling and exciting. Abel is a credit and asset to Shamwari game reserve and we cannot wait to travel back and have him as our ranger again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    An unexpected oasis of elegance in Shamwari Game Reserve that we will always remember.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sarili Lodge Luxury Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was rainy while we were there so many of the animals were hiding. However, this is not anything the lodge can control and we still had a fabulous time!

    Sarili Lodge is like a touch of elegance in the South Africa wild. The staff are all super, especially Jean, our ranger guide. He was very passionate about his job and knew all the animals, birds, butterflies, bugs, and plants. He had a great sense of humor which added to the experience. The quality and quantity of food at the lodge was unexpected. It was gourmet food, delicious and plenty of it. They also catered to our food allergies which was welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Perfect!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sarili Lodge Luxury Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A 1800 number to call since I live in the US

    the reserve is totally natural and has no captivity .. this is very important for the animals. Also, with Bayethe lodge tent you are literally in the middle of nature with deer on the patrh as you walk to your tent, I loved it!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice relaxing holiday in the "jungle" with all the luxuries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eagles Crag Lodge Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great food. Great ranger: Frans. Great room: the room is spacious and clean with every luxury you could think of like private plunge pool, inside and outside shower, bath with a view and more...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous safari park with wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverdene Family Lodge Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely staff - very helpful and the game warden John - who accompanied us throughout our Safari was excellent. The food was very good and our whole experience was truly memorable. We saw plenty of animals on the superb 25,000 hectare estate. We simply loved the experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Quality, quality, quality
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge - Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Unbelievable place with service, views and facilities too match. If your budget allows, this is the Shamwari experience to do. Couldn’t have asked for a better safari

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Incredible safari with an important conservation message
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eagles Crag Lodge Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing! We stayed at both eagles crag and lobengula- both were perfect. Couldn’t recommend more. Cedric (waiter at lobengula), SJ and Aymuk (guides) were particularly fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A wonderful experience. We stayed at Long Lee Manor, the rooms are huge, the staff are very attentive and with the right balance of 5 star service with a relaxed feeling. The food which was included was superb and the barbecue evening a lot of fun. Our guide, Jan, on safari was brilliant! He was so enthusiastic, knowledgeable and a joy to be with. We shared the truck with two other couples and had a great time with them. We saw lots of animals including lions, elephants, rhino, giraffes, buffalos etc. and we enjoyed stopping off for hot chocolate on the morning drive and something stronger in the afternoon!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    An experience of a lifetime. There is only one place for safari in South Africa. Shamwari.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eagles Crag Lodge Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better!

    The tented lodge and Eagles Crag were fantastic. All meals are superb. The game drives are excellent, rangers are enthusiastic and engaging.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    Good game viewing, David very friendly & knowledgeable, food not too great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lunches/Dinner often did not cater for teenagers - not enough "normal" food. I found the salads ordered for lunches to be comprised mostly of salad leaves and very little else. I have also never encountered olives crushed and heaped on a pile the salad - very unappetizing. Some of the staff were not very friendly. Breakfast before a game drive - not a good idea on a full stomach. Must be the first 5* lodge that I have had to pay for cool drinks, wine - not to mention the times that mine are not packed in during the game drives. Condiments were not replaced during the days we stayed.

    I enjoyed the game drives and David was very kind and knowledgeable Breakfast was nice, especially the smoothies Lovely waterhole

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Amazing experience in Shamwari.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing experience in Shamwari. Our ranger was amazing. The accommodations were just perfect and very confy. I really recommend this place if you want to enjoy a wonderful time in South Africa with family and friends. I hope I will be back one day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Unforgettable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge Superior Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a shower out of the room: there should be one inside it, besides the bathtub.Beverages (soft and alcool) should be included, up to price limit.

    Room was very spacious, bed enormous!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eagles Crag Lodge - Suite with Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Lodge is somewhat of a distance form where you start to see animals in the south.

    The staff were exceptional, really friendly and helpful. The property could maybe do maybe a little update. Maybe open up the upstairs outside patio and open up the dining room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.5
    A dream come true.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sarili Lodge Luxury Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ranger, Wesley, was very knowledgeable about both fauna and flora. We were well looked after by friendly and efficient staff. Only max 6 guests per game drive. Sarili Lodge only has 5 rooms, providing peace and privacy. River facing rooms are best.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in wonderland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sarili Lodge Luxury Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's rather expensive

    Beautiful view - nature and wildlife Very friendly staff Excellent ranger Small gestures - welcome drinks, towels, ... Sarili lodge

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.9
    We'll go back to Shamwari any time again. A great place 🐆🐘🦏🐒
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riverdene Family Lodge Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the weather. It rained a lot and we got a bit wet...., ha,ha. We saw all the game, fabulous!!

    We had a great time a wonderful ranger, Sarah Rooms beautiful, beds very comfortable, food very nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge - Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shamwari Bayethe Lodge is just spectacular! Food is very good, great guidance and experiance on game drives, very good massages - we enjoyed ourselves a lot. Especially we like to mention ou Ranger Headman that was the best.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful safari experience at Shamwari and I would thoroughly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge Superior Tent
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very comfortable. The food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we was not able to watch a re

    Kind staff. Good food.professional guide.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    I would love to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    The game drive was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put more diversity in your meals

    The game drive was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    The Safari experience was incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Safari experience was incredible. As was the hotel itself. Definately 5 star. Jean our ranger was soo knowledgeable. A great 4 days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    One of the best experiences I have ever had.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge Superior Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi could improve.

    The guide was exceptional and all staff made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Best experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge Superior Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eagles Crag Lodge Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    A brilliant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sarili Lodge Luxury Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, although BBQ could have been better

    Breakfast cooked nicely. Bed great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Sara our guide was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverdene Family Lodge Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sara our guide was excellent. Staff lovely but animals were stars of the show

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    An overall wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On occasions dining room service exceedingly slow

    good experience Good ranger

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Best holiday experience ever, it will stay as a wonderful memory forever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eagles Crag Lodge - Suite with Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all perfect

    Beautiful accommodation, everything you could need and more, excellent food, best rangers imagineable- France and Leon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Highlight of the holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults, we had the most amazing time.

    Just outstanding!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellent service, huge rooms, saw lots of animals on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sarili Lodge Luxury Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality could be better for the price (quantity too much though)

    Excellent service, huge rooms, saw lots of animals on the drives

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eagles Crag Lodge Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not fussed about the barbecue food

    Excellent game drives

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    The animals!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge - Luxury Tent
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor

    The animals!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location just the best place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sarili Lodge Luxury Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was 10000% fabulous

    Excellent location just the best place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayethe Tented Lodge Superior Tent
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All exceptional I wish we had longer

    Everything-our guide the service winderful experience.Not accomodation an experience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Top notch game reserve with 5 star accommodation and services. The food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sarili Lodge Luxury Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything!

    Stayed in February 2017

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Shamwari Long Lee Manor traveller photo gallery