Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5 stars

643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Arcadia, 0007 Pretoria, South Africa

#13 of 43 hotels in Pretoria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 585 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    The hotel is stunning .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn't stay longer ...

    The hotel is stunning .. beautiful view of the Union Building ... the staff is excellent .. super efficient ... thanks Sheraton for a wonderful stay ... you ROCK !!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    2.5
    Not happy at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for two adults and a child however they charged for our daughter when we dined also we paid for juice and water.buffet is not good at all.room is not serviced for 3 day.I paid for parking.I won't goto this hotel again. Checking staff is not friendly and not helpful

    Only d beds were comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Very Nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping did not understand what I was talking about when I called them to ask for caffeinated coffee pods for the coffee machine (they had stocked it with de-caff only). Not good to get the run around, especially before I have my morning coffee!!

    Everything. An especially nice touch was the coffee machine in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay, and will frequent more often for both business leisure and trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 422 was smelling cigarette and resulted to stuffy smell Carpet needs to be attended to Room 409"s shower wall tiles have white colour at the bottom that shows that its not cleaned everyday

    Breakfast was good bedding was very comfortable and warm. View to the Union Building for Room 422 I was moved to room 409 that doesn't have carpet Room 409 had fresh smell coz of wooden flooring.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Good Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Airconditioner did not work very well. At 21 degrees it felt as if it was warming rather than cooling. Only when we put it down to 18 degrees, did it cool ever so slightly.

    The rooms were great. Bed was very comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. Food was good and the Cocktails were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    I would like to recommend the hotel to my friends, family and work colleagues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ordered room service, half chicken and asked that it be well-done, but much of it was not, I had to throw away half of it.

    the bedroom was very comfortable, exceeded my expectations

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    good hotel no doubt..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) the handle on the shower was broken 2) i had asked in advance if i could check in early, it was agreed to but i still had to wait

    The bed was really good... the folks at the bar were very good staff members.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.5
    the hotel was quiet and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lighting in room was insufficient.

    the hotel was quiet and comfortable. the staff were excellent. i was travelling for business and needed office supplies at the last minute. the guest services went out of their way to assist me. will definitely come again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Well located hotel in Arcadia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping and the night check-in staff are non-responsive. The bins in my room where not cleaned out after the prior occupant and remained unattended to for the rest of my stay.

    The hotel is beautiful. However, the classic carpeting requires a good deep cleaning. The restaurant staff are excellent and very attentive. The food is fresh and great tasting. The bed was soft, comfortable and very warm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.4
    It wasn't as nice as I had anticipated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in took forever there was just one staff member. And how we are made to stand on the foyer queing to check in its not on. I asked for 1 key to be kept for my husband they have me both when I called they said they will send some1 to come get the 2nd key no one came and no one explained why. Their bedding when I walked in room was like someone was playing on the bed yet the bed was made. Coffee they only had machine which we couldn't operate. What happened to giving people normal coffee? I was really disappointed.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay at Sheraton Pretoria which can be renewed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning/heating system was not fully to my satisfaction

    I enjoyed the buffet. the room was cosy and the facilities in the room were very practical.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a meal in the bar and it took 40 minutes and was cold. Clearly the staff member forgot.

    Free upgrade. Excellent food. Staff excellent (with one exception). Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the restaurant should be increased depending on the guests at the hotel to serve better.. Also please the parking should be provided for Free not pay extra.

    The bed was comfortable. The staff on arrival was friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location with a warm welcome on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location with a warm welcome on arrival. the hot towels were wonderful. Staff helped arrange transport for us which was helpful. The decor is nicely done and the restaurant food and service is exvellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    OK for short stays
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast ok, but food choice in general for lunch and dinner quite limited and over priced. No mini-bar and only one bottle water (0.3l) provided.

    Good location, free parking, quite new hotel, shopping and restaurants in walking distance. Comfortable beds and pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Be warned-R80 per night to park your car in the hotel even though you are a guest-SHOCKING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area is not great so therefore you cannot park anywhere else other than the hotels parking lot. Thinking that hotels provide parking, especially a 5 star hotel...we parked in the hotels underground parking for our 1 night stay only to be informed that we had to pay R80 for parking even though we had stayed the night at the hotel. No where in South Africa or anywhere else in the world that I've traveled, have I had to PAY for parking at the hotel I was staying at. Found this absolutely shocking. When we went to query this at 6pm on the Saturday night, there were no staff to be found at reception as they were in the back having dinner. This caused us to be late for our event that night. The rooms need to be revamped and are quite dated. We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel as we found R290 per person totally overpriced. Won't be staying there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    Place to stay if absolutely left with no choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets and fabric furniture have seen their time. The smell of cigarette in the rooms was very unsettling.

    The location is great and accesible easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cocktail hour was out of this world. The receptionist on the 6th floor was beyond friendly, he treated us with respect and warmth. He explained everything about the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Memorable and definitely worth the visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No idea why the breakfast is not inclusive and I have to pay for parking whereas I am staying at the hotel!! Arranged for wake me up service and nothing happened

    Food was good. Dessert was heaven on earth😂 Good client relations with staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    The stay was a wonder
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bookings were done through online, and indication was made that we have 2 children under the age of 12 (11 and 4) and requested Classic Room as we had children but unfortunately it was not arranged, but however we appreciated the corrections as we were given a courtesy place to compensate for inconvenience and it was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    Bery comfortable bed, and a nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay an exorbitant amount for parking upon exit was offputting and scaly. The check in/reception staff were rude and unhelpful, and our rooms weren't ready upon check in. One of our party had to shower at the health club, because they preferred to allow previous guests in our room to stay longer.

    Bery comfortable bed, and a nice room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Rate promised room with a view of the Union Buildings.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rate promised room with a view of the Union Buildings. I looked over a parking lot and an office block. Restaurant: hung around st empty reception desk in restaurant for a long time before any came to me and seated me. Steak I ordered was overdone but not one ever came to ask joe it was and I waited a while but was starving as hadn’t eaten all day so eventually I ate about half of it. No query when the plate taken away. Had to eventually present myself at the desk to ask for the bill as no one came to me and then there was clucking and raised eyebrows because I didn’t leave a tip!!! Had to put my own wine and water all night, food wasn’t as ordered, what was the top going to be for???

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Spectacular and wonderfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldve been friendlier

    The bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious and the view was amazing. The interior decor was too wonderful and the cleanliness was up to standard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we couldn’t extend our stay as the hotel was fully booked for the rest of the week.

    My Daughter is in the Junior SA pageant and is a finalist for Miss Mini Teen South Africa, We could not sit for breakfast due to her hectic schedule, the hotel arranged breakfast packs for us to take away to make it in time for the competition, for that I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family, I also would like to come back and enjoy the hotel with no rush for the pageant, big up and keep up the great service!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    i would be extremely happy to stay there again
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints

    the staff was extemely helpful and friendly...one could see that the staff was quite obliging especially that my mom was elderly and had unusual meal requests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay and beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty bin next to TV set. And the fillet steak I was served with was a bit off so we slept hungry. Please improve on quality... Also please include parking to daily rates ( if possible).

    Yes lovely and very comfortable beds and bedding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place but improvement needed on restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wait for the restaurant was way too Long for a 4-5 Star accomadation. On two occasions we had to wait over one hr for simple dishes which pointed to under staffing in the kitchen

    Location and staff were so friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    It was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking charge of R80??? Ridiculous. Location wise Acardia is a bit busy but once youre in the hotel its cozy enough. The carpet throughout the hotel doesn't smell that good. Breakfast is expensive there. No DSTV? That's a bit backwards.

    Comfy bed, properly cooked food, tea coffee and cookie goodies in the room. Clean and enough towels and toiletry. Rooms are spacious enough, wish rate was breakfast inclusive though. The staff members are very professional and welcoming. 12H00 check out is the best.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor quality picture from most of your channels. I think if you can look at that and try to fix it. I also booked the room with the view of union building, but I was given the room which is facing another direction

    I love the place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping team is good but should make sure they change the bedding all the time after someone checks out. The bedding if it ten clean but not all the time.

    The bed is very comfortable and the hotel is beautiful and has great facilities. It’s a great place to relax and rest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    >Room service was very poor, even when asking for water or extra towel nobody cared to bring it ( I tried twice/two days in a raw) >Food: not much to choose from, this other time there was pork sausages only (breakfast) >Dinner no taste at all and while eating no waiters to give you water etc >No telephone directory in the room, I had to figure out on how to contact Reception etc >Fact that parking is not complimentary

    Bed was big enough and Comfortable helpful Security Team (excellent service) Telephones all around the room for emergencies Spacious Room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Restful, and comfortable and sell served.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    One thing is for sure, the rooms are roomier and even way better than some five star hotels in the United States or Europe. They have buffet breakfast with an elaborate and assorted choices to choose from. Dinner, is just fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    4.6
    Unfriendly check in staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly check in staff. No assistance with luggage. No proper hand over between shifts (had to ask 3 times for my pre arranged order to be served to my guests). Not the same quality as before. Not good value for money. Some of the dishes we had for dinner were re-served for breakfast. Broken shower head, shower door does not close properly, leaking shower door. Carpets were not vacuumed, floors were not cleaned properly. Hole in duvet cover. Iron was dirty. The other room that I booked was also not properly cleaned, there was a pie left behind by the previous occupant that was not taken away by house keeping. The hotel and basement have an unpleasant gassy smell. My last stay there was in 2015 and there is a markable decline in overall quality of food, service and cleanliness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    My sparkling birthday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing because the view was extremely good. Viewing our Parliamentary properties as if I was there. Ooh! Even the checking in was with one of the MP's Mr Bantu Holomisa. It was great and lucky day for me indeed.

    I like hospitality of the staff members and their Ubuntu principle. The treatment is equal to all visitors. I did ask the receptionist that is my birthday,then they decided to celebrate it with me by bringing a decorated delicious piece of cake that made my stay extremely wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff at reception desk were amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good but not for the cost.....some of the foods just tasted very mass produced - like the smoked trout, bread, etc. However, the spread is very impressive. I would offer less variety and concentrate on quality. Shouldn't have to pay for parking, etc if staying in hotel When I booked it said breakfast included, when I received confirmation of booking it showed charges for breakfast - did not appreciate this

    Staff at reception desk were amazing. Waiters in section where you can buy late night snacks were excellent. Food in this restaurant was really beyond expectation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    The location is close to everything and the staff is...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security at the basement made me pay money for lost card while I paid money at reception

    The location is close to everything and the staff is excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The waiters in the dining hall were not helpful especially during the dinner, you'll order something and you'll wait until you remind them.

    The room was nice and very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, professional and extremely effective...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shame that the hotel had not arranged anything fot the New Year eve, even the piano at the lobby was silent. Not well cleaned swimming pool

    Excellent location, professional and extremely effective staff, especiall at the front desk and the concierge, less at the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    everything was superb.
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My expectatons were exceeded to the extreme.

    everything was superb. excellent , friendly environment and the staff wee very much caring, receptionist had great sense of humor and paralyzing smile. The security is well trained. the cleaners too are superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing with good amenities , great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a la carte dinner menu not extensive and food took a while. Children playing area not available

    The hotel decor displays relaxed ambience. The location adjacent to union buildings gardens and walking distance to main areas. Shallow pool good for children and non swimmers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable, but a couple of snags
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was closed for "chemical cleaning" my entire stay (the pool was one of the reasons i stayed here in the first place). lights in bathroom were a bit dodgy. when I checked out at 4am to get an early flight, there was nobody on the desk so the security guy had to run around for a while trying to find somebody as my uber was waiting.

    Lovely room with a very comfortable bed (one of my best ever). Decor in hotel was nice. staff friendly and very attentive/helpful. buffet lunch very good. Views of the Union Buildings from the pool area are stunning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    It was good
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You paid for room, but we do not use the refrigerator.It was closed for the seller . No microwave to use. About the transportation, I was very disappointed to see that the taxi called by the hotel staff, for a trip in the city was very expensive (R 280) than the one who go to pick up people in the aeroport (R 650).I was chocked to see one lady who supposes to call and take money for the taxy in the hotel declared that it depend on the company. From the hotel to MacDonald only in Pretoria she wants me to pay for one trip R 280. And trip aroud R 560.It is very bad to do that for the foreign people. The hotel must to review this situation.

    The staff who receive the people is nice. The baggages were very good carried

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    We had many problems with the check in to the six rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had many problems with the check in to the six rooms. It was embarrassing and insufficient and involved many phone calls to the main office. We will not book rooms through booking for the business.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Improve the dinner buffet and things will be perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy - there was a private event. The dinner buffet was a bit boring, with few choices.

    The atmosphere was great - with live music during dinner, excellent surroundings and a beautiful view on the landmark Union Buildings from the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast was ok, location was ok, room was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine and air conditioning in the room did not work. Restaurant and bar were closed. There was supposed to be a 24 hour room service but they never answered the phone. Hotel in general is pretty outdated.

    Breakfast was ok, location was ok, room was ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at dinner in the restaurant was not of the very high standard we have come to expect in South Africa.

    Well located hotel with nice area to sit out on with a small pool. Good sized room. Perfect for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.9
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great value for money. Room, breakfast & dinner buffet included in the price. Reception staff were very friendly & helpful. Lots of variety at both buffets. A short taxi/Uber ride to shopping centre. Rooms were clean & a good size.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    had to change hotels, so noat a very good experience more especially I am a regular traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    first put in 5th floor, no balcony so asked for room with balcony and was then put in a room on the first floor, this room was dusty . seems like was cleaned properly. we then asked for this to be changed and was given another room which was better.

    The room service was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    Will not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Check in staff disinterested, slow and no customer service orientation.

    The waiter who served me coffee on the patio each morning was excellent. Great memory of his service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    The bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the dining hall was totally unprofessional I had to wait 10 minutes while someone went to get a pen so I can sign my slip

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor Stale

    Staff was the best part of my stay. They were courteous & helpful. Reception staff Excellent. The hotel though needs a definite upgrade & it would be excellent. Some facilities & decor were old & stale.Nonetheless the staff made my stay good. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    Room very spacious and furniture modern and love the african...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving from Stanza Bopape street into wessels was shocked to seehow dirty the place looked in front of the hotel. Inside though front staff very professional and helpful

    Room very spacious and furniture modern and love the african paintings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    The stay is definitely not worth what you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking unreasonably expensive at an extra R80 per day irrespective of your length of stay, not to mention the breakfast also at an extra R280 per person. TV signal a complete disaster. Was moved to another room which was just as disastrous. Would never recommend staying there when its cloudy.

    Bed reasonably sized and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful hotel and location, service needs improvement.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food was way below average. Very poor breakfast and buffet dinners. The staff service in the restaurant is very slow. Wines are extremely overpriced. Guests need to pay for parking R80 per day. Friends who visited me paid R80 for 3 hours which was ridiculous.

    Beautiful hotel with an old type of style and feel. Good wifi internet in the hotel. Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Brief but enjoyable enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints with regards the hotel itself. Shuttle company needs to work on their admin though.

    Had problems with shuttle service from the airport initially, but it was sorted out quickly and efficiently. Personnel were extremely professional and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    The bed was super comfortable and the food at the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That guests have to pay extra for parking! I can understand non-guests paying, but guests should have this service included as the accommodation is quite expensive.

    The bed was super comfortable and the food at the restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Very convenient and comfortable but levels of service have dropped. Big time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were tiny little flies in the lift to our floor. The ice bucket in the room was full of the previous guests' rubbish. The window was so badly finger marked that it was not possible to take a photo through the window. Also, it couldn't be opened so felt a bit stuffy and claustrophobic. The check-in clerk was rude and obnoxious. She gave us a hard time about saying we had requested 2 single beds when it was not on her system. We would have loved to have had breakfast but at a rate of R300 per person we just couldn't justify it. Parking was not included and cost R80 a night. A little pricey and unexpected.

    Very comfortable beds. Amazing coffee machine in the room with Lavazza pods - crema on top and so delicious (but no teaspoons). Spacious room. Beautiful reception area with lovely flowers and high ceilings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Generally,it was value for money and friendly people snd Staff,ready to serve and help.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the Restaurant,procedures for Room cleaning.It took too long,had to wait at the Lounge for a long time to wait for my Room to be cleaned the following morning after i night.

    It was ok and not bad.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    On site restaurant and staff that worked in the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking at R80 a night. The aircon did not work very well neither did the reception on the TV.

    On site restaurant and staff that worked in the restaurant were excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.9
    Aprt fro the pooor receiption I had a wornderful stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff not so friendly. Not willing to eagerly explain where I did not understand. I do not know if she was tired or just had a problem with my personality.

    The room was clean and bedding well arranged. Food was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i did not like that one of the parking attendants wanted to rob us and didnt punch in our parking and took the ticket we had paid with for the weekend and made us pay again

    Loved the room and the bathroom and the service in the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    Change the above for comfort.
    • People with friends
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold had to ask for a heater..Not enough drinking water.I had to ask for Vanity kit theyvdo not have.Plus no room foot wear.

    The Breakfast fruits and more fresh fruits.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.2
    Airconditioning wasn't working efficiently.
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning wasn't working efficiently. Dinners were very low grade. I had to request our room be cleaned with four different staff which was eventually done whilst we were eating dinner (after 7:30). We checked out two days early and moved to another hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    The hotel and the hotel rooms were very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the service from the staff was terrible. You have to ask for anything and everything, they will not come on their own accord. The service and exorbitant price of breakfast and supper were the only downfall of the hotel.

    The hotel and the hotel rooms were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    A very comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was just a little evidence of tiredness in the decor and bathroom fittings. Otherwise not really anything to fault.

    Very comfortable bed and a nice spacious rooms with good level of cleanliness. The restaurant staff were very friendly and front desk staff courteous. The hotel has quite a grand feel to the lobby/ entrance, a nice hotel generally.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good location, very relaxing room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not impressive food quality breakfast and dinner at Magnolia restaurant

    Fantastic views, spacious room, pleasant atmosphere, effective front desk staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.5
    Was a good stay but not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub wasn't properly cleaned after previous guests. The tablecloths in dinning room didn't fit properly and looked shabby.

    The bed and pillow was super comfortable. Food delicious and the outside entertainment space beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    a great start to our holiday in South Africa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night so difficult to say

    We had booked online and after booking asked for an early check in, on arrival and, as the hotel was full, we were up graded to a lounge suite. This included excellent benefits, the hotel is perfectly positioned, walking distance of the centre of Pretoria. The suite was on the 6th floor opposite the park and historic Union building with the amazing statue of Nelson Mandela.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    5.4
    Not too happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping is done sometimes as late as 10pm. My brother and his wife were also staying at the hitel and money went missing in their room after housekeeping had been in there to 'clean' at 10pm

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    excellent weekend city getawny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking -rather include it in the cost of the room

    Friendly accommodating staff Good breakfast spread live band was entertaining free wifi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    The Comfortable Sheraton Pretoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a quiet room, but there was some audible noise outside around 9pm. It did cease soon after.

    The bed was extremely comfy. The coffee machine wasn't working correctly so they replaced it with a new machine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    5.8
    Good size room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff generally did not seem very happy . Our room was a good size but the basin took a long time to drain . It stated in the booking to toiletries supplied all we had 1 small shampoo and shower gel for 2 off us there were no slippers and 1 gown. It stated the rooms were sound proof but even on a Sunday afternoon you could hear the traffic Monday was even worse. We were meeting some friends traveling from the UK to Cape Town there dinner was not included but ours was so I went to find out was ours a set menu . I saw the lady in the restaurant who asked for the room number she looked on her sheet of paper but she did not no . She then had to ring a man called Justin this seemed to take for ever then I was told in a rude sort of way "yes your food is included but not drinks" then I still had to ask was it a set menu no i was told it is a buffet which was average. Out of all the hotels I have stayed in South Africa the buffet breakfast was by far the worst the chicken , pork sausages were either cooked in microwave or were Vienna's the bacon was rubber stir fried vegetables looked old the baked beans and hash browns were mixed together , I could not believe the were no mushrooms or scrambled eggs . But you did have the option to cook YOUR own poached egg !! For 5 star hotel it was very very poor

    Good size room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    6.7
    You sleep good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is really bad - both the buffe and the a la carte menu. The gym is worn down

    Good service regarding rooms and a fairly ok romm. The service in the lounge on 6 floor is very good!!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.1
    Good value, but not really 5*
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extractor fan in bathroom not working Over priced breakfast Room decoration more expensive than tasteful e.g. desk cluttered with two lamps, coffee machine, kettle etc. all plugged into extension suspended in mid air Wifi access was cut off immediately on check out - I needed to meet with a colleague in the lounge for an hour or so still. Ridiculous telephone charges Minibar not properly stocked.

    comfortable room. Friendly staff. Basement parking with easy access. Good rate for 5*

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    6.3
    Noisy Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is the noisiest area ever! The staff are not of usually Sheraton quality. It is not a place to go if you don't want to be disturbed multiple times every day.

    The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sheraton Pretoria Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: