Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Southern Comfort Guest Lodge 4 stars

27 Belmont Avenue, Oranjezicht, Oranjezicht, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#98 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 79 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Thanks to Maya, who made even a quite late arrival possible. And Denise was so charming, she was giving us a ride and many great advices. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Due to water restrictions the pool was not operative. This was not the fault of the owners but the drought situation in CT.

    Everything at the guest house was great. Maya and Denise always went that extra mile to make this stay special. Location, views, food, hospitality all 10/10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.Maya and her mother and the team cannot do enough for you. A classic example was they lent us a picnic hamper umbrella and waterproof blankets to enjoy a concert in Kirstenbosch and for once it rained. Awesome accom made better by the team and family. Thanks...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing they couldn't do enough for us

    Maya, Denise and Jesse (the dog) really made our stay at Cape Town, they really couldn't do enough as hosts. Excellent location, outstanding rooms and great breakfast. They even gave us lift to local drop offs and lent me a cap to stop me burning. On our last day they opened up the pool and let us hang out as our flight wasn't till the afternoon. Stunning views. My brother and I will be recommending this place to everyone we know which should get plenty of business as he works for an airline. Would not hesitate to go back. Thanks for making our stay so special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location is ideal for seeing a lot of Cape Town in a short amount of time, it's easy to get around to camps bay, up to lions head or table mountain or into the main downtown area. The view was picturesque from the roof and Maya and her crew cooked us up a big delicious breakfast everyday. The property is fabulous and beautifully furnished and our room had a cute private courtyard. Hosts Maya and Denise offered useful info and tips for our visit and the service we received was exceptional. We recommend this beautiful property to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, the stay was really awesome.

    We were given absolutely incredible hospitality, it felt like staying at a family members place. We were shown the entire house and went upstairs to the beautiful deck overlooking the mountain and the city. Thank you to the incredible owners Maya and her mum.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Southern Comfort Guest Lodge is beautifully located in one of the world's most iconic cities - Cape Town. This lodge defines comfort, elegance and style. It has wonderful amenities with very well kept rooms. Most of all, the host / owner, Maya, is a gem of a person. She goes out of her way to make sure that all of you're needs are taken care of. We highly recommend this place to all travelers to the mother city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Possibly on the on line advert there could be mention that there are quite a few stairs in the guest house. It didn't bother our group but might be a bit of a problem with less mobile visitors.

    Great care has been taken in providing you with everything you could need and more. The bed and cushions very comfortable. It was welcoming and relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble to the owners in making sure we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host was amazing, hospitable and very friendly. Fantastic location, you will not find a roof terrace with such a view anywhere else. We had a great stay and would love to return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners are extreme hospitable and welcoming.The location was perfect for us as we were mobile.The location is easy to get to just about anywhere in Cape Town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The viewing deck with 360% views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No kitchenware like pots & pans etc if you wanted to use the self catering facilities

    Bed was very comfy. location great too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very accommodating Staff excellent Very secure including parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise and noise from other rooms was a bit disturbing.

    Comfy bed and great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt welcome and at home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good, owner went out of her way to help

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners of the property were always on hand to offer advice and make your stay as easy as possible. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great comfy bed and lots of space

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect.

    The hosts are very welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maia and Dina were great! The place was so comfortably and clean! Thank you so much! We loved Jesse (the lovely dog)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved how friendly the hosts were!! The room was amazing, the view was stunning! I would definitely go there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything we possibly wanted they had, additional pots, glasses etc.. Very accommodating owner and her daughter. Had a superb stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything. Friendly people. Good service. Exellent view. Comfortable rooms. Exellent place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet was very very spotty. Could not get a consistent or strong connection which was unfortunate since I was in need of it for work related matters.

    Dogs were cute! And the owners are so helpful and friendly that they made the experience!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None.

    It was a very exciting experience for us. We like everything! We want to thank Dina and Maya for their hospitality and providing exceptional facility.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had paid for the room in advance but when we arrived we learned that the guest house didn't have any room left so we where sent to another guesthouse. Even though the host had my email address she didn't inform me until we had completely off loaded our luggage at her house. This was very disappointing.

    As the room I had booked and already completely paid for was already occupied and I cannot comment on things I liked

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have a bad back and getting luggage up the steep, narrow staircase proved a challenge.

    Breakfasts were very good with an introduction to local products. Very helpful in suggesting restaurants, making reservations and even providing transportation on occasion.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dogs, not mentioned on booking.com. At least 3 dogs, never in guest rooms but come up to you when entering the front door. Sit on couches and in breakfast area, so communal areas smell like dogs. No new towels on second day. Bedding was 2 separate single beds pushed together with separate sheets and bed cover. Not ideal for couples who like to sleep comfortably in same bed

    Best shower I've ever come across, never wanted to get out. Very clean rooms, spacious, lots of mirrors and natural light. Parking was on the street but always parks available. Area felt safe. Wifi fast. 10-15 mins drive max from anywhere worth visiting in Cape Town. View of table mountain outside room.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did I forget about the fly in the ointment? Guess not, if yes I wouldn’t tell...

    Southern Comfort Guest Lodge Nothing to complain about, much to praise... My husband and I stayed there for an entire week in March 2015 despite the fact that we initially intended to only spend 3 nights in Cape Town.. Hence, here’s five reasons to stay in the Southern Comfort Guest Lodage when in Cape Town: 1st The good location in Oranjezicht, a pleasant and safe neighbourhood in the Gardens District at the foot of Table Mountain. Bustling City Bowl, Kloof Street with its abundance of restaurants and shops and even posh V & A Waterfront are within walking distance. (take a R50 taxi back uphill after a long day downtown or elsewhere. should you mind the climb). Will’s cafe and deli for good breakfast and takeaway right on the next corner. 2nd Spectacular panoramic views of the cityscape, the ocean, Signal Hill, Lion’s head and Table Mountain from the roof deck upstairs, particularly impressive immediately prior to sunset. Have a glass of wine, relax and take pictures (those of you who are into photography)! 3rd From here Camps Bay, Kloof Neck, and the peninsula are easily accessible by car (compared to other locations like Bloubergstrand e.g.). Ideal starting point for day tours both within greater Cape Town (e.g. Kirstenbosch Gardens), to the peninsula with its striking scenery and manifold impressions as to the nearby winelands (Stellenbosch, Franschoek) 4th Nice spacious room with private terrace, immaculate cleanliness. Beautifully kept and tastefully furnished house with both African style and modern interior. Friendly unobtrusive and efficient domestic housekeeping staff. Small but nice pool and deck to cool down and refresh after a day in the heat.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful hosts and staff. The location is ideal for most of Cape Town's attractions and activities. The view from the breakfast area and the terrace is stunning.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities and the staff were superb. Michael and Hans were excellent hosts and nothing was too much for them. The accommodation was immaculate and to have Table Mountain in the 'back garden' was unbelievable. A first rate experience and would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much to dislike! The only improvement would be that the deluxe rooms have a terrace but unless you are on the end of the row, other guest walk right past your open terrace to access their rooms - privacy could be improved by adding foliage, trellis etc.

    Location - between the mountains and the sea. Parking on street right outside, very quiet and safe suburb of Cape Town within easy reach of the Waterfront, Camps Bay and the Mountain. Friendly, helpful and welcoming owners :)

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rudeness of Michael, who on arrival 'ticked us off' for booking with Booking.com, having previously done the same by email at the time of booking! The lack of any friendliness or warmth from the owners. The only time they spoke to us was to complain about guests! Overall a sterile and unhappy environment, which spoilt our time in Cape Town.

    Nothing, because the negatives outweigh any positive aspects.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pet dogs had the run of the house.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely place in a nice quiet area. The ladies that run the place are so very helpful and very friendly :)

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice friendly place

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best views of Table Mountain and the city from the rooftop! A fantastic and great selection for breakfast. Friendly and helpful owners!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very modern and beautiful environment. There was a lot of thought involved in making it a comfortable stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints at all.

    Great location, friendly hosts and very comfortable lodging, beautiful and well appointed home.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: