Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Southern Light Country House 4 stars

24 Hohenort Avenue, Constantia, 7848 Cape Town, South Africa

Review score

Based on 90 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice accommodaton but disappointed that alcohol was not allowed on the property.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Southern Light Country House is located in the Constantia winelands. The accommodation being Halaal, did not allow alcohol on the property. We would have appreciated knowing about this in advance of our booking.

    Beautiful gardens and the staff was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable room and friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only discovered on arrival that the guest house is Halal and therefore no alcohol was permitted on the premises. Not an issue on this trip as we were there for the 2 Oceans Marathon. Would have been though if we were there for a time out from Johannesburg and fancied a gin and tonic on our patio. I have checked and this info was not disclosed anywhere that I could find except on other guests reviews, which I neglected to check at the time of booking.

    Very comfortable room and friendly staff. Delicious breakfast on the patio overlooking the stunning garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that I had to go out for lunch or dinner. The management should propose a Two Ocean Marathon package with lunch and diner. Early full breakfast for runners should be arranged.

    This is one of the best hidden secrets of Cape Town. Beautiful and peaceful. The perfect place to relax

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent breakfast. dissapointed to have a room that was very dark and overlooked the parking area. beautiful garden. were greeted by a member of staff at check in who was unhelpful(watched us struggle with bags, ice was an issue, clueless about payment). should be clear on the booking/website that is a halaal establishment and that alcohol not allowed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Roamantic stay in Constantia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was a constant noise in room No. 2 (upstairs) an we moved to No. 1 which was way better and no noise at all..thanks to the management.

    Constantia is one of the nicest areas in Cape Town and very quiet! The guest house is certified as Halal, but for non-muslims it doesn`t bother you (no bacon, just "macon"). The room (executive) was nice and quiet and we had a comfortable stay here. Some ants in the room are caused by the ivy outside the rooms...so just pure nature. But as this B&B is so beautiful (e.g. romantic terrace for breakfast) all other concerns are eliminated! Breakfast was very good and with a variety of joghurts and warm sides. Enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Not well maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not have hot water Ants all over the toilet We had a king size bad but the bad was covered in a single bad blankets

    The garden is beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Very good breakfast, friendly straff och a beautiful garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location requires a taxi, and sometimes er had to wait some time för it.

    Very good breakfast, friendly straff och a beautiful garden. Perfekt for persons WHO seek tranquility.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    It's all about the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Room 7 had no aircon, just a noisy fan. Other rooms do. Also no chair, table whatsoever, TV remote did a sporadic job. - the announced WLAN did not work for me, neither in the room nor in breakfast area - just one little communal room. In the evening all doors closed such that I got the feeling it is not wanted to go there.Not very inviting - Booking.com describes the guest house "halal certified". It schould be made very clear what that means: strictly no alcohol at the premisis. They let you sign this at check-in.

    - Great quiet location, very good breakfast. - I could leave luggage after check out time and even have the opportunity to shower and change before departure. Very much appreciated

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    I enjoyed the berries and yoghurt the most .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed the berries and yoghurt the most . Breakfast was very good , the staff were excellent. And the setting for breakfast ,overlooking the gardens was the cherry on the cake. I will recommend this to all my colleagues

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Milo the friendly cat, and the tortoise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was quite austere. The only international TV news was Al Jazeera!

    Milo the friendly cat, and the tortoise. The staff were v good. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    Somewhat disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was advertised as breakfast included which influenced my choice and, on arrival, was told breakfast would be R150 pp!! Needless to say, we ate somewhere else. We arrived at 5pm as stated on our booking, but the staff member on duty appeared to be inconvenienced as it was cold out. These two facts sadly hastened our departure in the morning.

    The room was beautifully appointed with great attention to detail. The Charlotte Rhys toiletries were luxurious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    its a beautiful villa with a garden surrounding it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When arriving home after sunset there was no one in the villa- but quite a few locks and warnings. This did't give me the warm welcome feel& made me quite suspicious to leave a window open etc. Also: the matras has this protective cover- some rubber type sheet to keep it clean but which is at the same time sweaty.

    its a beautiful villa with a garden surrounding it

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant, comfortable hotel in lovely surroundings but, future guests note, alcohol free!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had not spotted this was a "no alcohol" hotel so the sight of male family members watching one of the England rugby matches sitting on a sofa drinking fizzy water was enchanting! In one of the rooms the decor was a bit overwhelming bling.

    The garden and swimming pool were lovely and the staff really kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Perfect location for a relaxing getaway close to nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By no means a negative but keep in mind they don't allow alcohol on the premises.

    Absolutely beautifully kept property with an amazing swimming pool, the swimming pool is very private which is a bonus. The cleanliness was superb and staff were very friendly and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and tv and wifi was working without hassle. It's situated in a beautiful part of Cape Town and the guesthouse is in a lovely quiet road isolated from the busy city life.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    A hidden gem in the paradise of Constantia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking quite tight for some spaces.

    Outstanding. Helpful and informative hosts and great breakfasts. A gem in the paradise of Constantia with Kirstenbosch and vineyards moments away. Easy acces to town but far better to take the hop on bus leaving every 15mins from Kirstenbosch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.1
    The location and setting/gardens were lovely and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a staff managed property with an absentee Owner. There was no 'after hours' contact with staff and one felt somewhat 'abandoned'. The result was that it seemed 'soulless'.

    The location and setting/gardens were lovely and the facilities were fine. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent venue for a short stay in lovely surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    External airconditioning unit was a little noisy the 1st night but we got used to it!

    Service was excellent, breakfast was good and staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely views from our room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Perfect place for a stay in Cape Town, away from the hustle and bustle of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missed black-out curtains in the room.

    Guesthouse is beautifully located in the wooded Constantia area, beautiful big garden and swimming pool, view on the mountains from our huge room (ask for room at the second floor on the garden side, with big balcony), sounds of the birds and peacocks in the morning, very friendly management staff, simple but good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The staff was extremely friendly, had a lovely relaxed time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely friendly, had a lovely relaxed time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    We had a comfortable and pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, while beautiful, was a little remote

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    A 90%er.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Different ground steps are not highlighted! Particularly departing from the front door!

    Staff and the fruit salad at b/fast - outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little small.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Halal food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Halal food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    The location is just so peaceful.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is just so peaceful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Ricoffy in rooms?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ricoffy in rooms?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.3
    i like everything , it was amazing for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i like everything , it was amazing for me. beaches, shoppings, mountains, foods.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice sloping garden and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have loved to have a nice bath and there wasn't one in my en suit. Also there was a child crying.

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.2
    Tranquil haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful garden and pool. Lovely balcony and very friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.5
    Very nice room with balcony and view to the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room with balcony and view to the garden. Friendly owner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff, beautiful pool and garden. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast Nice environment Great rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.6
    Piece of serenity amongst the trees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small.

    Lovely position with friendly staff and a peaceful garden.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Well worth the cost as the location was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay, facilities lovely, staff extra helpful in every way. Gardens just beautiful, location delightful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Everything was on point, the bed, the location, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was on point, the bed, the location, the facilities, the food,liked everything about it. A home away from home

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    7.1
    The staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In our room, it was a bit nosy at times and we did not have a safe. Our room could need some freshening up.

    The staff was great The garden was simply amazing The location....

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    5.0
    The staff were very good considering the place had changed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms had poor light, plug sockets were over loaded.no air conditioning only a noise fan, no place to put your wash/ makeup things in bathroom. No alcohol allowed on premises. The place was not what we expected

    The staff were very good considering the place had changed hands. The breakfast were good with plenty of food.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    10
    The Southern Light was truly superb in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The Southern Light was truly superb in every way. The room was extremely spacious with a wonderful balcony overlooking the well kept garden. The swimming pool area was fabulous and the breakfast on the patio scrumptious.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    10
    The guesthouse is set in an picturesque location in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The guesthouse is set in an picturesque location in the heart of the wine country. Marinda and her staff were very helpful and the room was perfect with a patio overlooking the countryside. Perfect location for Newlands cricket although a bit hard to find in the dark after a few beers!!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Stunning hidden gem in the heart of Constantia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi was a little temperamental. Other than that, nothing bad to report.

    Stunning hidden gem in the heart of Constantia. Truly beautiful rooms and surrounding gardens. The staff were very welcoming and kind. Will definitely recommend to those who are looking for a quiet stay amongst the natural beauty of Constantia.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    Everything was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It may be useful to check with the property regarding their policy on alcohol sales. I understand that the new owners may not permit the sale of alcohol on the property.

    Everything was good. The host, Marina, was fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice and big. The location is great. Nothing to complain about.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    Great location for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for us. We were very interested in seeing things down the cape, Table Mountain and Kirstenbosch Gardens so the location was perfect. Pretty setting, friendly staff, great breakfast, free wifi. No complaints at all.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Host were very relatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They could do more effort with the coffee stand in the room, the product were old. maybe a better quality coffee would be nice.

    Host were very relatable. It was clean and comfortable. We relaxed and enjoyed the garden. The surroundings of the guest house is also beautiful. We enjoyed everything while we stayed there.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    3.8
    Garden rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Garden rooms. They are small, cheaply furnished and not in keeping with a 4 star guest house. Contrary to the website which states: “Relax in the guest lounge or choose a bottle of wine from the wine cellar”. On arrival we were advised that “new management” had requested that NO alcohol was to be served or consumed in public view within the premises. When I expressed my disappointed to the manager regarding the room and house rules the atmosphere immediately became icy and uncompromising. I was immediately quoted the T&C’s of my booking and I would be charged the full booking fee, even if I were to leave early. The only choice I had was to upgrade to another room for a fee. It was only after Booking.com intervened, were we able to leave after two nights.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    In all everything was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Their was nothing to dislike in it. Everything was just perfect.

    In all everything was excellent. The location, room, facilities, breakfast everything & best part it was value for money. I just paid ZAR 1000 when i wasn't get any room in whole Cape Town because of Jazz Festival.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.2
    Great breakfasts, WiFi, friendly management, peaceful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower alcove needed a toilet door and the TV was very outdated

    Great breakfasts, WiFi, friendly management, peaceful setting, manicured gardens and bed comfort.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    6.7
    Breakfasts were well presented and served.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We upgraded to a suite with a balcony as the room was quite small. The linen and towels were tired. Had to ask for extra pillow

    Breakfasts were well presented and served. Staff very friendly and accommodating

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay for many reasons including the great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We enjoyed our stay for many reasons including the great breakfasts, the friendliness of the staff and the playground and swimming pool that our daughter loved.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Bed extra comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV reception

    Bed extra comfy

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    10
    Paid attention to Detail
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Paid attention to Detail

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    6.7
    Rooms were airy & nice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Reception was limited by odd hours.

    Rooms were airy & nice. Breakfasts lovely. Staff nice & friendly.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    10
    Had a lovely one night stay over.
    • Couple

    Had a lovely one night stay over. Enjoyed

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    9.6
    Quiet and peaceful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet and peaceful. Beautiful surroundings. Marina was a fantastic host who ensured everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    Wonderful location, beautiful grounds and great and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful location, beautiful grounds and great and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    10
    Food and venue
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad 3 G coverage

    Food and venue

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and flexible personnel in relaxing atmosphere with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly and flexible personnel in relaxing atmosphere with beautiful garden (most rooms have garden view)! Located in good neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    7.9
    the location was marvelous , the environment is just amazing...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    no signage at the gate

    the location was marvelous , the environment is just amazing and the staff are ver friendly and helpful .

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: