Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Southern Sun Waterfront 4 stars

1 Lower Buitengracht, 8002 Cape Town, South Africa

#110 of 171 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 134 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    3.3
    Great location bad service and hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    No valet parking or porters. Carried our own bags. Breakfast is bad quality, staff helping themselves before guests even the deputy general manger, and other managers. Coffee is bad. Rooms were dirty, no turn down service. No water in the top. Hotel used to be amazing with previous management and now it’s horrible.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    5.8
    Johnson, head concierge was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist (Mbeteme??) was unfriendly and unhelpful. Based on his performance, we wished we were staying elsewhere. Not being able to charge anything against the room without depositing a “float” first is a nuisance,and makes one feel not trusted. Interestingly, this was not the policy at the Southern Sun at Johannesburg airport, where we were able to charge all meals etc against the room. Very few smiles from staff.

    Johnson, head concierge was great. Breakfast was excellent. Shuttle bus to the Waterfront provides an excellent service.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    6.3
    Average at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleaning, dirt on floor even after cleaning. Towels not replaced, dirty towels picked up from floor and hung up! No space for breakfast so moved to smaller breakfast with poor service. Asked 3rd time for tea.

    Location Some staff friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    5.8
    A good hotel in a good location, let down by poor attitude of most staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Air conditioning did not work effectively. Despite 2 requests it was not attended to. It seemed most staff were depressed by working at this property. I wonder about the hotel management's leadership style. At best they were disinterested, at worst, just rude.

    Breakfast buffet was very good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Our stay in Southern Sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. surprise charges ...e.g tourist levy charged daily 2. the fact that they did not provide extra blankets just incase, it was a bit cold some nights. 3. we had the same breakfast options every morning

    The cleaning crew was great. our room was kept clean and neat

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Restaurant was good overall, but although the slow cooked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant was good overall, but although the slow cooked oxtail I ordered had a great taste, two of the 3 pieces of oxtail were inedibility tough. I couldn't point this out soon as nobody asked if our food was fine. When the table was cleared I explained to the waiter and he later said that the chef was sorry and he'll give me an extra piece next time. Since I didnt eat there again it was pointless and they proceeded to charge me the full amount of the meal of which a third was edible

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The staff is very professional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really enjoy my stay there, I just wish the restaurant was open later. They make some good food there and it is often difficult to get a nice meal after a long business day.

    The staff is very professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    OK place for a short stay. There is no airport shuttle included - Uber more economical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bucket in the shower to collect shower run off, given the water shortages in the city. The concierge staff were not always helpful or polite.

    The rooms were fine for a short stay. Breakfast was lovely and all items were fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel,busy....popular...!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge was a little rude,we wanted a wake up call,they entered one,yet,we never got one.....luckily,our daughter set her Iphone alarm,else,we‘d have missed our 6AM flt (we got up at 03:00...!)....that‘s really a time,you depend on a little help....

    The shuttlebus drivers were very friendly....! Staff overall was friendly,more.the ones working in various places of the hotel,breakfast staff,maids etc.....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Ok. Not exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should be prepared and ready to receive clients with prior booking especially those that have made advance payment.

    Made full payment a month in advance. It took them more than an hour to finally trace the payment and give me access to the room. It's like they were not expecting me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    It was pleasant, the waterfront shuttle was always on time. My room had a stunning view ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    IThe restaurant staff, the one next to the pool had no sense of urgency when serving me. I waited long for a menu after requesting it.If there was an airport shuttle, then I was not aware of it,

    The waterfront shuttle was always on time, my room had a beautiful view and overall the environment was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property was all great but what made our stay special was the staff. The gave us a real taste of the amazing South African hospitality! Just so nice and welcoming and helpful and smiling! Thank you really! You made us feel so great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Adequate, convenient and comfortable for a business stay in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slamming doors in the passage-way - a bit noisy. Aircon had a leak on the third day - water dripping down wall and mirror. Maintenance were sent but used bath mat and hand-towels for mopping up that were not replaced. House-keeping should have been sent in after maintenance repair!

    Location is good for CTICC and Waterfront. Rooms small but comfortable. Would re-think if you were travelling as a couple.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Would book it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we were placed in a room opposite a busy road and didn't get a peaceful sleep. But we asked to be moved and they obliged.

    Their food was really nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Location was fantastic, the staff at reception and concierge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very ignorant and racist at breakfast time. The swimming pool was very cold at all times so the kids couldn't really enjoy it's about time the hotel should invest in equipments which can adjust the temperatures of the pool so it's much more enjoyable to swim in. Room size was quite small compare to what I expected and the pictures I saw online before booking. We couldn't use the bathtub due to the water shortage and my son is used to taking a shower in the bath rather than the shower.

    Location was fantastic, the staff at reception and concierge were very friendly and helpful including the Duty Managers. The Spa was Fantastic and so was the GYM. When ever we requested for someone to come and warm up our food they would come immediately.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    In general, our stay was good and in case we come back to Cape Town we shall book it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The swimming pool water was not clear and we did not use it (I'm a specialist in water treatment and I can confirm that the water was not properly treated).

    Hotel is well positioned. Staff is very friendly but sometimes they forget to answer your request. The breakfast buffet is international style and we found all what we expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    my children really enjoyed their stay and we will be coming back during the next school holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing except that I forgot the books in the room and still waiting for the feedback from the hotel as promised

    The food was tasty and the room clean, staff members were extremely helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Our stay was good and marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room view not too good and when booking we requested for airport shuttle but wasn't available when we got to the airport

    Comfort and the food was delicious and the desert was awesome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt too tempted to swim in the pool (too small). Rooms are a little tight. Dine in options / room service menu is limited.

    Very accomodating staff. Great help from concierge team (Rasheed & Faiq) and amazing tour guide recommended by the team (Mohamed D). Breakfast buffet is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Its was just a stay not so special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit small and double bed is small. I was there with my 10 years old daughter I paid for her as an adult fee, all we received was a tiny little drinking water. I did request to provide two bottles but never happened for my 3 nights stay. Not so service oriented though.

    The gentleman from concierge Mr. Farouq who drives shuttle bus and airport pick up was very kind to make our stay a memorable. We will always remember his kindness and friendliness. The freshly bake croissant at the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.0
    This hotel still has smoking rooms. Really?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spent my 1st night in a smoking room and they said i could get a refund for my last night and when i tried to claim it they initially refused.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The dinner was a bit bland for the price. We didn't get accurate information regarding the shuttle and therefore always used cabs. The pool water was a bit too cold (especially for the kids).

    The standard of the room was better than most hotels that I have stayed at in the area. The facilities for entertaining kids were excellent. They couldn't get enough of drawing, coloring etc.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    7.5
    Property in need of some maintenance - Ceilings in lift...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property in need of some maintenance - Ceilings in lift lobby were dirty. Breakfast time somewhat chaotic.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.1
    Close to central points in Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to central points in Cape Town. Loved the on the clock free shuttle to and from V & A Waterfront.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything in order, however front desk staff a bit unfriendly

    Every was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Internet limitations of 500mb per day & 3 devices only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location & breakfast

    Internet limitations of 500mb per day & 3 devices only

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    Acceptable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in city

    Acceptable price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    aaa
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    aa

    The clean toilet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    It was ok but the extra charges left a bitter taste
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airport shuttle

    The car from the airport charged me over R600 single trip. Total rip off.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Loved the breakfast, so relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the breakfast, so relaxing. We had awesome time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was lovely, great location and the breakfast was superb. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Our stay was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The pancakes were fresh and delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thanks for the short vacation. You really made it a lot better! Excellent hotel, will tell every one!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Will stay at this hotel when I next come to Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Met all my expectations

    Good comfortable room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, fantastic district, bus service to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpets in the room are unhygenic. The beds are very narrow.

    Excellent breakfast, fantastic district, bus service to waterfront

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Same breakfast menu for all the three days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Same breakfast menu for all the three days

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean and enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle got full at times then you have to wait for next shuttle

    Facilities were lovely and clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dissertation of information

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.0
    Needs more work
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet

    Good breakfast, Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    They must improve in breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neat

    The property is in a central. It makes life easier

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Everything was good, I absolutely loved their hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good, I absolutely loved their hospitality. I enjoyed my stay with them

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Location and the service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and the service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    GOOD 2 NIGHTS HOLIDAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    STAFF DIDNT SMILE EVER, A BIT UNAPPROACHABLE

    BED WAS COMFY, BREADKFAST TASTY!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Met my expectations

    Great service. Very helpful staff. Great meals

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    The front office staff was very friendly, the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front office staff was very friendly, the rooms were very clean and the shuttle bus to & from the V&A waterfront was superb convenience!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    The location of the hotel was convenient, the complementary shuttle and tours arrangement was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not monitor and control my internet usage

    Food was very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Customer service excellence

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    It was a wonderful stay and we had a good time with my family. Will definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing that I disliked

    Food was awesome. The hotel was beautiful and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are too prompt 😃😃😃😃

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serve cuppachino with breakfast please.

    CROISSANTS WAS TO DIE FOR...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.8
    The executive room was alsome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The executive room was alsome

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.5
    convenience to conference centre and waterfront
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    small room minimal storage slide drawers on carpet under bed- basic

    convenience to conference centre and waterfront breakfast and dinner buffet very good

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was centrally located to all amenities, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There could have been a heated pool.

    The hotel was centrally located to all amenities, and the complimentary shuttle service is an added bonus. Staff is friendly and hotel is very clean, neat and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    The attention to detail from the staff (the real strength of...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Only 3 devices could be registered with the wifi, which is no good when phone & tablet are required by 2 people each. It also dropped out at times. The swimming pool was a disappointing size compared to what was implied in the picture

    The attention to detail from the staff (the real strength of this hotel), particularly in providing a gluten free breakfast; and the friendliness & service from the concierges. The gym was adequate.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    The staff were attentive and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room was crowded with 2 double beds, not sure how we ended up with that configuration

    The staff were attentive and friendly The hotel amenities were good Security was good

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    7.9
    The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was very small for 4 people and 2 large suitcases for 3 nights. It became stressful and unorganised very quickly as there was no where to store the cases!

    The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    6.7
    Beds were extremely comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms were quite small with two double beds and very little cupboard space not really suitable for a couple with a young child

    Beds were extremely comfy

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly and were very motivated to making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor could have been improved a little more modern Pool bigger and more outside in the evening Bed size small

    Staff were very friendly and were very motivated to making your stay the best ever. Food excellent staff in restaurant had a good knowledge of wines. Bar staff always friendly and interested in your stay in South Africa. Rooms very clean. View from room very good. Good transport with mimi bus free to Waterfront driver very helpful. Reception desk always helpful. Hotel felt safe staff always available.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    6.3
    Courtesy bus to Waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First check in perfect. On return two weeks later, it was as if we had never been before. A special request on first visit was not upheld on our return. Hotel very busy and could not cope. We also requested a non smoking room which they said we had,but there was a smell of stale smoke in room,and receptionist disregarded.

    Courtesy bus to Waterfront.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.5
    Discrepancy with mobile bookings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Discrepancy with mobile bookings.com where breakfast included under room policy but not recognized by hotel. Be aware As bookings.com client the shuttle service 600m to water front is not complimentary but costs R20 per person one way. Otherwise enjoyable stay

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    The exceptional commitment of the staff and management in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An extra helping of milk in the room, allowing a cup of coffee at night and one in the morning upon waking.

    The exceptional commitment of the staff and management in every aspect, from the smooth running of the very busy breakfast to the welcome drink and sweets. they always seem to go the extra mile. Have stayed here for the past 11 years for the Argus and never been disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    9.2
    Position good,shuttle to the waterfront excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See above

    Position good,shuttle to the waterfront excellent. Comfortable rooms. Only one thing - didn't notice till later we were charged for full breakfast when we only had continental. Very naughty.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.5
    1.Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1. AC in the room wasn't efficient. Had to open the window at night as the room got hot and I was sweating. 2. Calling another Southern Sun hotel in Cape Town should be free. I made a call through to the switchboard to another SS reception, i was surprised that SS charged me for the call.

    1.Location was great. 2. Staff friendly when you approached them other than that they appear to keep to themselves

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    7.1
    Electricity Plugs were not working in our room.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Electricity Plugs were not working in our room. Guards were very unfriendly to us with parking, no friendly smiles received both at check-in and checkout. When we approached the entrance they didn't give direction only to force us to move the ar only after we disembarked.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    5.8
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - safe broke twice and had to get maintenance crew out to fix it. - water dripping excessively from light on ceiling. Nobody came to assess. - very small rooms.

    good location

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    5.8
    I booked a family room for 6days, 6days 4 guest and we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I booked a family room for 6days, 6days 4 guest and we had a room that was suitable for 2guests. everyday we had to ask for towels, toiletries, tea coffee etc for our room we also only had 2cups, & 2glasses in our room. We did not enjoy our stay at this hotel. For +/- R14k . I could have got best service We asked for xmas dinner to be served of your al e carte menu , took your staff 1hour to set tables , and eventually was told sorry kitchen closed after we placed orders We eventually had to drive around cape town CBD looking for dinner and found only a steers restuarant opened Horrible xmas vacation spent at your hotel Will not recommend I would appreciate feed back on this

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    8.8
    Great location close all attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room wasn't cleaned well on check-in, found empty water bottles under the beds.

    Great location close all attractions. Family friendly and value for money. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good modern facilities.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    7.9
    Good facilities, clean, good location and good service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Check-in was a frustration. I had to provide proof of booking, proof of payment (complete pre-payment was done weeks in advance), proof of room type (front desk indicated that room did not allow for children, until I showed printed proof of room type). Luckily I had all the proof available. Not very professional.

    Good facilities, clean, good location and good service (except for check-in).

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    8.8
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I suggested crème caramel should be added to the dessert menu - it had not materialised by the time we left. Maybe next time. The pool was small, perhaps only to be expected in a central location.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Particular praise for the concierge. The shuttle bus to the Waterfront was useful.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    5.8
    The staff did their best to accommodate us but as hotel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our first room had non working air conditioning. After first night changed rooms. Both rooms were "smoker rooms" which was unacceptable. We did not realise we had to specifically ask for non smoking room. The whole corridor had the smell of cigarette smoke.

    The staff did their best to accommodate us but as hotel very busy it was not possible to be too demanding!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    5.4
    Location was good - near V and A waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast Poor Service - I had to ask twice for most things particularly coffe and in many instances I had to approach the staff. It was difficult to get a refill as it was never on offer. I had to ask. Egg Chef - Poor at making poached eggs. On two occasions the eggs were broken when removing from the water and the water wasn't hot enough. In the end I gave up and had scrambled eggs instead. Room - On arrival the electricity was off in my room. I had to call maintenance to get this restored. - the fuse had "tripped" Room - The toilet leaked into the bowl throughout my stay I paid a similar price for a hotel in Durban the previous week and had a better experience

    Location was good - near V and A waterfront Room was clean

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    9.2
    Staff were all very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No real bad experience the swimming pool and area a little disappointing and small

    Staff were all very helpful....great location with a shuttle bus to the V&A Waterfront

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    6.3
    It is stated that the check in time is 14h00.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is stated that the check in time is 14h00. we were told on arrival that our room was not ready, we waited 2 hours to find out they had a booking for only 2 Adults in a smoking room. My booking was done through booking.com and it was very clear on the confirmation that we had booked a room for 2 Adults and 2 children non-smoking. This was only discovered after the 2 hours wait. We were very unhappy about this. Room was eventually sorted out.

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: