Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of St. James of Knysna This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

The Point, Eastford, 6570 Knysna, South Africa

#8 of 28 hotels in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 148 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    'We will be back"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Happy all the way!

    All in all a great and memorable experience! Wonderful to know we have such a lovely special retreat on our door step! Many thanks to Abdel and all his staff members, Nkosi I am sure you will not easily forget this late arrival with all the strings attached! Will see you again, thats a fact!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely peaceful setting in a lovely manor house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom need updating. It was quite old and needed refurbishing

    Lovely lake setting with lots of birds . Lovely terrace for breakfast and the food in the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    Perhaps the most beautiful real estate on this planet. Excellent Hotel and Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of one single thing. Which must be some kind of record for me.

    Quality of management. Quality of staff. Quality of service. Quality of food. Quality of accommodation. All first rate. One of the best morning views I've had in my life. Breakfast on the Kynsna bay is almost a religious experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    9.6
    A welcoming comfortable weekend, our second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Lake Facing - 6
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Spacious public rooms, excellent breakfast with the lagoon view, comfortable well serviced suite, also with a lagoon view, helpful but discrete staff. Dinner menu and wine list both highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    7.9
    Nice little stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely location. Very clean, great staff. Overall an enjoyable experience. Just a little dated in approach and perhaps slightly highly priced. No complaints though, id go back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    excellent and beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    we liked everything. the place, the staff, the location, the view, the breakfast, the atmosphere, the good hostility of the staff. beautiful and very unique place. we will come again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay, amazing location, attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in looked a bit run down, the curtains were stained and it was very cold, the air con didn't do much heating up the room.

    The room was spacious. The living-room was sunny and nice, so was the amazing garden and terrace facing the lagoon. The breakfast was delicious. The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay at a beautiful and convenient property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property has no street address, so my GPS could not find it. The room we booked was not what we got, but it was still a great room and worked well for us.

    Very attentive staff. A large and very comfortable room. Breakfast and dinner were both great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    10
    Enjoyed overall stay. Booked for myself and mom, I ran the Knysna 21km, reason for our booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the Bar had no music/ atmosphere, guests were using this area to watch TV, more like a lounge area.

    Love the overall experience, the small intimate, beautiful place with friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    5.0
    NOT WORTH THE MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Eveeything but room size

    Food - Pathetic Room - Excellent Very scenic Looks like an old haunted house.No one to attend at the pool.V stylish but of what use? V expensive for the money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely cosy, yet old Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Garden Facing - 15
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You could hear the road a bit as its not far from the main road. The room is also not dark enough there are lights from the bottom near the pool that shine through the curtains at night.

    The staff are very friendly but do tend to disappear into the kitchen and then you may need more coffee or water or whatever and you need to wait for them to come out again before you can ask for something. The evening meal was particularly tasty I had lamb shank and it fell off the bone, the jus was amazing.....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    10
    A real pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Lake Facing - 6
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. Very well located with delightful rooms and a highly efficient and helpful staff. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. Everything about the hotel appealed to us and we hope some day to go back and spend longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dining room was chilly in the evening for dinner.

    Beautiful setting and stunning property. Staff were all helpful. Chef cooked me a meal with no frills at my request. Very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect breakfast on a nice terrace in te morning sun along...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our booked and confirmed room was not available for the first night. We changed to te garden room for the next 4 days which was perfect and enjoyed.

    Perfect breakfast on a nice terrace in te morning sun along the lagoon .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2017

    10
    Unforgettable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Garden Facing - 3
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food is good but there is no variety in the menue, so it is better if u jst have ur dinner at any near by restaurant

    Oooh oooh what i can say!! It was a fabulous stay in this hotel I booked there for my honeymoon and once the property knew that, they gave me a complementary upgrade to a very beautiful sweet The location of the property immediately on the lake with an excellent & breathtaking views u can see the knysna heads from the property and u can have a 20-25 minutes walk to knyasna waterfront The staff were very helpfull and friendly I would recommend this place to everyone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    9.6
    Great location very picturesque
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ideally plug sockets with USB would be helpful. Dinner was taken from menu may be an advance to have a special every day too.

    Had wonderful short stay, given a mini tour of premises when arrived. Fantastic views over the lagoon. Very friendly staff. Great location and charming hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    5.8
    The St James is a very comfortable old style hotel on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite - Courtyard Facing - 4
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What the advertising literature doesn't tell you is that the Property is situated just off the main N2 highway which is clearly audible in the garden facing bedrooms and in the garden by the pool. The hotel whilst very comfortable and good value for money, is looking a little tired and faded around the edges. The garden was a bit sad, flower beds weeded but devoid of flower, and the bathrooms in the suite we had, had seen better days- the tap in the bidet didn't work and the shower was showing black grouting and worn fixtures. Curtains were thin and let in the light. One of the reasons I booked this hotel was that the advertising suggested the availability of boats for excursions on the lagoon, tides permitting. Unfortunately no such entertainment was available and it was a 15 min's drive ( traffic permitting) to the Knysna quays or Theisen islands where boats might be available for hire by groups. Staff were friendly and willing, they even washed our car for us without our asking, but it would take 30 mins between order and delivery to get one's cooked breakfast.

    The St James is a very comfortable old style hotel on the outskirts of Knysna. It has a wonderful view of the lagoon and the rooms are exceptionally large and are very comfortable. The staff are very willing and anxious to be of service, unfortunately despite good intentions, the service doesn't live up to what ought to be expected of a luxury hotel. That said, given the size of the rooms it does represent very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay in Knysna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Lake Facing - 5
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi signal could be better.

    Excellent staff, was made to feel very special. Totally worth five star, sitting out on the patio for breakfast looking down towards the lagoon, who could ask for more. 😀😀😀😀

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2017

    10
    It's so good I don't want to tell you about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • George Rex Suite - Lake Facing
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing. There is nothing not to like about the St James.

    This has to be ranked one of the best hotels on the Western Cape. Great location, fantastic restaurant, efficient and friendly staff. The hotel is run exceptionally well and customers are treated as valued guests. Can't wait to visit again next year.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2017

    7.5
    Great location, average service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Lake Facing - 17
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is poor and the service not proactive. It is not a the level expected for a 5 stars hotel

    The location and the view on the laguna are amazing. Our room was clean and the terrasse very convenient to enjoy the sunrise and view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    9.6
    I enjoyed everyday of my stay. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite - Garden Facing - 15
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Add SA news channel e.g 404 or 403 and other chanels for ppl who dont want to go out .

    Omlette,spacious bathrooms, comfortable beds with electric blanket. Great outdoor facilities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful location at the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water was brown due to city problems. Hotel not to blame. But they should have warned us

    Beautiful location at the water. Nice pool with the best beds. Friendly service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2016

    10
    First choice in Knysna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is a fabulous hotel, it was a pleasure to stay there. Superb location, great views over water and gardens to wander through. Great chef who produces excellent meals.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    9.6
    Stylish, welcoming luxury hotel near Knysna with great restauarant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Lake Facing - 18
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a ten minute drive to the centre of town

    Both the boss and all of the staff seemed to take great pride in the place and worked as a good team. Extremely stylish hotel Excellent restaurant meals Wonderful setting by lagoon Great garden and grounds Solid wi-fi connection

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    10
    High quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool temperature in October was still a little fresh.

    This is a high quality hotel in a wonderful setting with very attentive multilingual staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2016

    10
    A home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The friendliness and efficiency of the staff and the excellent food. The cleanliness of the rooms was exceptional and we were made to feel very much at home.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    8.8
    Colonial luxury at the lakeside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Suite - Lake Facing - 17
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing of note

    We were in Suite 18 and it was a taste of elegant luxury for the entire stay, due to the fantastic lagoon view, the terrace, the sumptuous lounge and huge bed. The bathroom was also enormous and there was even a little kitchenette for making tea. But for those staying longer than us, it would be a luxurious self catering base. We also dined there and I was blown away by the huge lounge with lagoon view and minstrel gallery. The food was very good and to finish off a relaxing evening we had drinks in the lounge area of the bar, reading their selection of coffee table books on landscapes and birds. Do not miss a walk round the gardens and along the lagoon edge. The walk down the jetty also allows you a great shot of the front of the hotel. It was with great sadness that we had to leave our luxurious apartment and had to move on the next day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Lake Facing - Lady Anne
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No issues at all.

    The staff were excellent and very accommodating. Food was out of this world. Only downside was the national road that was in close proximity but it's a price worth paying to be so close to the waters edge.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2016

    10
    please yourself!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WOW factor. First class hotel, upgraded to a suite. Fabulous room with service twice daily. Owners and staff helpful with recommendations. Stunning views over the lagoon.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2016

    10
    Unforgettable Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    The breakfast was absolutely AMAZING!!BEST HASHBROWNS EVER!! And the staff was very helpful and friendly. Loved the fact that our car was wiped clean every morning.The room was LOVELY, and could not have asked for a better one!The view breathtaking!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    Beautiful,tranquil,country style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really

    Beautiful,tranquil,country style hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.6
    Food was great and the room was spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi in the room

    Food was great and the room was spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Fabulous 2 night stay in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was all good.

    Beautiful room overlooking the lagoon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant think of anything

    The staff extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms are really great the breakfast and setting if outstanding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    10
    Staff went out of their way to make our stay extra special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Lake Facing - 6
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff went out of their way to make our stay extra special

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    6.7
    Rude staff member abdel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The one staff member Abdul? Extremely rude!!! Spoilt our stay will never recommend this hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    10
    we liked the great lounge and sitting area, the books on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we liked the great lounge and sitting area, the books on the table and a good choice off whiskys.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Courtyard Facing - 4
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The service at breakfast was slow.

    Spacious rooms, quietness and overall staff friendliness.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    10
    Really good overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    10
    Best of the best 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Hospitality, location,very very clean and very peaceful Best of the best 👌

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    10
    Stunning view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was good.

    Stunning location.Beautiful views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    10
    Service and comfort with a smile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool wasn't heated.

    Large beds. Very quiet. Breakfast overlooking the lagoon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    9.6
    An elegant property with old-fashioned good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were treated like royalty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool temperature was a bit chilly.

    Staff were very friendly and competent and the food was outstanding

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2017

    9.2
    Absolute comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Lake Facing - 18
    • Stayed 3 nights

    service a little slow. Don't rely on advice where to visit.! Mainly retired folks like us !

    superb breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    10
    Stay here it is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Lake Facing - Lady Anne
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff are fabulous and did everything possible to ale us welcome and comfortable. The location is to die for.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Lake Facing - 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities are really dated and tired. Breakfast buffet was poor by modern SA five star standards

    Location. Super views across the bay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2017

    10
    Blissful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Garden Facing - 3
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Zilch

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    10
    Delightful relaxing Hotel in a lovely setting, overlooking the lagoon. Delicious food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful setting away from the bustle of the town. Well appointed bedroom with it's own garden area near the pool. Excellent food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    10
    tip top
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was first class

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2016

    10
    Fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Courtyard Facing - 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic views

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2016

    9.2
    Great property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Night receptionist was terrible

    Everything about the property; Views, location, breakfast, room comfort! Car wash was the cherry on top of the pie!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2016

    9.2
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location! Dinner ! Breakfast !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2016

    8.8
    Nice place friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Do smoking allowed inside even in the cold

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2016

    10
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The over all experience was great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Lake Facing - 18
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location Large Rooms Friendly Staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Garden Facing - 9
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Comfortable spacious room. Excellent breakfast. Hot blanket on the bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    6.7
    A nice comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Garden Facing - 15
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Plumbing noise

    Views, large and comfortable suite

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    10
    Confort with a very nice few
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Garden Facing - 15
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Confort with a very nice few

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location. Hospitable and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Garden Facing - 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the warm blanket which was very welcome. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2016

    10
    Room excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Courtyard Facing - 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room excellent. Electric blankets, open fire, bath tub & amazing setting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    10
    A beautiful property in a beautiful location overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful property in a beautiful location overlooking Knysna Lagoon, great service, they even washed the car!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2016

    9.2
    - Great rooms, great breakfast, great bay view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Felt the staff was a bit too cold (maybe because we stayed at very warm guesthouses on the same trip), but also very helpful - The place is on the other side of the main bay (5-minutes drive), so if you want to stay "in town" or walk from and to a restaurant, it's not the best choice (for us, it was not a big deal)

    - Great rooms, great breakfast, great bay view - One of the best beds we have ever slept on

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2016

    10
    From the room upgrade to the final breakfast and all else in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the room upgrade to the final breakfast and all else in between, including the daily car wash, it was a most memorable stay at a stunningly beautiful location. Our congratulations to everyone involved. Best wishes.

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful location on the water - we even went out for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location on the water - we even went out for a kayak one morning. Big spacious rooms, very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. It is outside of the town so you need to drive places - but for safety we would have wanted to do that anyway.

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    9.2
    There was a very friendly and helpful staff who contributed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the food was excellent for dinner and breakfast but while the dining area works fine for breakfast with outdoor extension it really isn't suitable for dinner and made it difficult for staff.

    There was a very friendly and helpful staff who contributed to a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2016

    9.2
    This hotel is really nice and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is really nice and comfy. The staff is fabulous as well. Sandy the manager is the most adorable person. Rooms are really comfy well equiped and clean. The view and the restaurant are really nice. I will come back.

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2016

    7.9
    the location was magnificent and breakfast on the terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing that spoilt our holiday though the laundry was not quite up to the mark.

    the location was magnificent and breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lagoon was a delight. we ate out every night because we enjoy doing that whilst on holiday but the in house menu looked very appetising.

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2016

    7.9
    Staffs are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    1. Room #9 is not up to the standard, old, smelly, toilet does not work, stand alone close to the hotel gate.

    Staffs are friendly. Overall atmosphere is good.

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2016

    9.6
    We stayed for a few nights in mid-December, and we're...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for a few nights in mid-December, and we're still talking fondly of our brief sojourn in this charming property. The front of house staff are absolutely world class. Nothing was a problem; we were treated at all times in a most cordial and open manner; staff were happy to engage in discourse or dispense well-considered advice about attractions and activities in the region. Location was ideal for us. A few minutes from central Knysna by car, and right on the lagoon shore We were impressed at the spaciousness of our suite, and the very well appointed bedroom, lounge and bathroom. The deck was large enough to host a dozen or more guests. To cap things off, the bed, settee and armchairs were superbly comfortable. We'll not hesitate to again stay at the lovely St James of Knysna.

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2015

    10
    Waking up to the extraordinary view of the water was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waking up to the extraordinary view of the water was a highlight of our trip. The restaurant is excellent and the staff is very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Knysna.

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful peaceful location right on the lagoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Beautiful peaceful location right on the lagoon. Good Wifi and breakfast options. Overall, nice scenic compact mansion to relax and unwind. Good interior decor. Very conveniently located close to the Knysna Waterfront and right on N2. Sit, relax and have breakfast on the lush green gardens of the lodge right on the edge of the lagoon.

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2015

    10
    Stunning location, great dining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Churlish to complain but in the spirit of giving feedback, I went to the bar after dinner for a nightcap and nobody came to serve me. The curtains in my room were not lined so light pours through early in the morning.

    Stunning location, great dining.

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2015

    9.6
    Sitting on our own private veranda looking out over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being woken up at dawn by the sun streaming in through the curtains, shutters or heavy blinds would have been better for those of us that are used to rising later.

    Sitting on our own private veranda looking out over the lagoon at the wildlife, Knysna and the Heads. Excellent breakfast menu, The food in the restaurant in the evening was really good though a little limited in choice if staying more than a couple of nights. We would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel with wonderful service and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel with wonderful service and the location is superb. Sunrises over the lagoon were the best I've seen. We will definitely pay another visit.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse St. James of Knysna Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: