Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Steenberg Hotel 5 stars

Corner of Steenberg and Tokai Road, 7945 Tokai, South Africa

#1 of 11 hotels in Tokai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 149 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Best hotel we've stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing :)

    The setting of the hotel was absolutely gorgeous! The staff were incredible, they made us feel welcome and attention to detail was fabulous! The food and drinks were delicious and everywhere we went all the staff were so friendly and lovely! We stayed here for 2 nights and ended up extending for an additional night as we loved it so much, it was the perfect end to our trip. The rooms were beautiful and the beds so comfortable. I hope we'll be able to go back in the future!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Staff, accommodation, was really great. Dinner not good at all.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    preparation of the food

    breakfast was good but food at dinner was indifferent. kingklip not good and stuffed chicken horrible. fillet was satisfactory.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Simply stunning and tranquil. When we return the stay will be longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn’t anything that was not liked. Breakfast was meant to be served in the room however the card was not received, so a short stroll over to the restaurant was no hardship and the food was amazing.

    From the moment we arrived until departure the staff could not do enough for you. The tour of the hotel and room was informative and useful introduction to your stay. Anything requested was dealt with swiftly and efficiently. Even when mistakes were made these were rectified and quickly and compensated for by the exceptional service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    The staff were the friendliest I have met in a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were the friendliest I have met in a long time. We would have preferred if the bistro was open later as we would have liked to eat in it, but if you are out all day 7/7.30 is too early. We were there during our Easter holidays. Breakfast muffins were a big hit with everyone!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Dinner at Bistro 1682 was good too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding function at the main restaurant which resulted in some noise. Asked to be moved but no availability. Having said that, the noise was not too intrusive and the manager checked in, offered something complimentary for the inconvenience and the noise ended at an acceptable time. The manner in which the staff and manager handled my concern was exemplary

    The entire staff compliment were incredible in terms of knowledge, efficiency & service focus. The property and setting is beautiful on its own but the incredible service is what made for a fantastic stay. The team is a credit to the establishment and I hope to visit again - SOON!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautiful grounds and staff who went above and beyond to make our stay special. We forgot our memory foam pillow and the staff managed to find 2 Tempure pillows for us. We were very impressed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed the stay at your beautiful estate with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner at Catherinas was good but the atmosphere lack. The lightning was very very bright for the evening. Breakfast was good. Staff friendly.

    Friendly staff. Loved the Lemongrass products in the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    The room was nice, good shower and nice balcony area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was average and food disappointing for dinner. The breakfast buffet was covered in flies which made me feel sick!! They ran out of almond milk so I couldn't have porridge or a coffee in the morning so we left without having breakfast on the 2nd morning. Of course they apologised but sometimes this is just not acceptable for the amount of price you pay for a room!!

    The room was nice, good shower and nice balcony area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect break. Will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Repeat visit. Would always come here above anywhere else in the area. Staff are outstanding and make feel very at home. Travelled with my daughter who is 9 and they looked after us exceptionally well. Have travelled all around the world and if I had to choose only one hotel this would be it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Very relaxing end to a great holiday in the Western Cape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great

    Love the classy atmosphere of this hotel, and the Catharina restaurant, where we ate 3 times ! Our room was upgraded, and very luxurious, with a huge comfortable bed. Very relaxing, and great service. This was not our first visit, and we will certainly be back again. Thank you !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Elegant hotel, good service, excellent restaurant and nice golf course
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was with the golf course, which though a separate entity was one of the reasons for booking this hotel. My husband was given a specific tee time, which he observed but found himself in the middle of a ladies' golf competition. Even though he was playing alone and quite quickly the ladies were unwilling to allow him to pass (which would be the usual courteous and customary behaviour). Club members appear to have priority to the point of being obnoxious! If guests are not welcome at the course please just let us know before we book.

    Elegant hotel in beautiful surroundings. We ate very well in the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Perfect! Every time!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff willing to assist in any way possible. Absolutely amazing! -Rooms are clean, spacious & bed comfortable -Delicious food and wine at restaurant (lunch/dinner) & a filling breakfast selection -Welcome drink, from the estate, on arrival -Spa facilities on the estate

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel and restaurant experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a wonderful time at Steenberg Hotel! The staff members were incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient. Our room was beautiful and luxurious, and the turn down service perfect. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and immaculate - it was a pleasure to wander around in the gardens. We had dinner at Catharina's - a wonderful experience with exceptional food. The vegetarian menu is brilliant and it was such a treat to enjoy a vegetarian fine dining experience! I can highly recommend this hotel and restaurant to fellow travelers!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful setting in the Cape Winelands
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is extremely expensive even by Cape Town standards and as a result the value for money score is very low. The room key was difficult to use (I had to call the staff to open our room most of the time) and we were required to accept (signed a document) a liability of about R4000 in the event that we lost the keys.

    The accomodation was great and the position in the winelands was superb. The food in both restuarants was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Stayed at the hotel for a special weekend away whilst in Cape Town. The staff and hotel was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Premier Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry was to expensive. For a couple that had to save to stay at the hotel, having to take laundry into town to wash was annoying.

    The tapas at the bistro was amazing. One of the best meals I have eve eaten.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    A thoroughly delightful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From initial reception to booking out the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our upgraded room was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was splendid. The complementary wine tasting was interesting and the food in both restaurants was exceptional. I only wish we'd had a longer stay and would certainly return to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic, wonderful service, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can not fault anything.

    The attention to detail the staff gave was great, they would organise everything during your stay, the on-site restaurants are just stunning and the Spa is must. The hotel team there are just simple amazing, very genuine and so lovely. The hotel and location is really spectacular, the hotel team just pushed it to another level.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Great food and property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was okay, but should have been faster at such a premium facility. VPN consistently failed to work through it too, which may have been a wifi setting they have. Some of the furniture = antiques, which many will find charming but I would have preferred all new furniture.

    Beautiful property, great staff. Amazing food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Large and very pleasant rooms;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect. No points for improvement, except maybe less cold water in the pool :-)

    Large and very pleasant rooms; beautiful location; great service by most wonderful people; exquisite food. A place I will definitely return to !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    We dropped a little bomb and requested that our family of 25...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We dropped a little bomb and requested that our family of 25 pax join us for breakfast. The service and attention to detail the freindliness of the staff was 10/10

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel. Great stay. Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need a few more amenities for children. Just something to keep them a little occupied now and then.

    Great hotel. Lovely grounds. Very relaxed. Staff very helpful. Golf was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    Total luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great service, very nice design, the hotel has a garden and 3 owls. Rooms are big and have nice style as well. Breakfast was superb. Very friendly and helpful personal.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay. Would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast would have been extra.

    Personal touches. Aware that it was our honeymoon and surprised us with rose petals on bed and sweet treats. Very kind.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, marred by a very poor main kitchen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the main restaurant...........it was very poor. The Sunday Brunch, which in hotels of this class is usually so very good, was little short of appalling! Tinned pears at breakfast???????? Dinner was equally bad! I joined friends who had stayed before and spoke also with other guests for whom this was a return visit; they ALL spoke of the deterioration in and disappointment with the food, compared with previous visits. The wine was of great quality, particularly the Silverthorn, bottle fermented sparkling wine, which can be compared favourably with Tattinger :) We dined on one evening at the Bistrot and that was excellent.

    The place place and the ambience!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    We have stayed here many times over the last few years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have stayed here many times over the last few years. I'm always taken aback at how much I love this place. The staff and service are amazing and so personal, we always feel we are coming home. The rooms are beautiful, always immaculate and maintained. The gardens are stunning and the grounds are so tranquil. The location to wine farms and amazing restaurants could not be better, also being on the top Golf estate is a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.3
    Fabulous boutique hotel .....a couple of tweaks would make it perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like being rung up twice at 10 every morning to ask if we were coming to breakfast for 1030. First time we were asleep and second time I was in the bath .so annoying treating you like kids. If we want breakfast we will come, if we are not there it means we are not bothered! No bar ....and both nights there was a function in Catherinas so there was no where to go for a drink. Bistro insists you are seated by 7 pm as kitchen closes 8 pm. ....Why? So if you miss this time that's it nowhere to eat or drink ...which happened to us!

    Comfy beds, calm decorations. Golf course ...although temporary greens were a shame but it was explained to us. The setting is beautiful. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite - Manor Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints from our stay.

    Amazing scenery. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The room was beautiful, spacious and very tidy. The staff are friendly and always happy to help. Overall a fantastic experience

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Simply the Best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the Steenberg was perfect. From the warm and friendly arrival until the 'sad to go' departure; the stunning location, their professionalism, attention to detail, excellent service and great facilities underpin this fabulous hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    AbFab
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi wasn't great, hopefully just a temporary glitch due to fibre-optic installations in the area.

    Warm, friendly and professional staff are an real credit to this hotel. Nice, cosy room, I enjoyed being the first to sample the stylish new bathroom :) Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No activities other than wine tasting & playing golf. Wished there were other activities like horse riding, doing picnic,library, cooking lessons.

    Delicious food,cleanliness,nature, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    A gem amongst the vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We celebrated our wedding at Steenberg this past weekend and the staff went above and beyond to make it special for us. The high level of service and friendliness of staff was consistent across everyone we interacted with. Food and accommodation was wonderful, and wine tasting experience was very special. Thoroughly impressive - we will be back for sure!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    I didn't actually attend so I'm writing based on...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't actually attend so I'm writing based on feedback. The staff were very friendly, and our employees were treated like rolayty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely property with super helpful staff and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely property with super helpful staff and great restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting, great staff, good food and wine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting, great staff, good food and wine!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bistro was not at previous standards - chefs suggestion too rich

    Friendliness, staff, comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect wedding venue / couples break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel with lovely staff and facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Over priced!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy - especially from the front desk - noisy until around 11.30pm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautifull place ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu very limited

    Beautifull place ; views and awesome service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    It was as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shade or under cover parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Excellent overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Golf was expensive

    Golf course was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    A very pleasant 2 nights before I leave South Africa for...
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very pleasant 2 nights before I leave South Africa for good. Thank you very much. Good luck to all the staff Diana de Basto

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in awesome environment!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.0
    Stunning old Cape world style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent cuisine and service/ambiance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place and super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi has potential - rather poor signal. I was expecting a SPA which wasnt available.

    Amazing place and super friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    All perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Exquisite, thank you, and right on a beautiful golf course
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exquisite, thank you, and right on a beautiful golf course

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    What a magnificent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a magnificent hotel. The staff are exceptional. The bird and animal life is precious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    The setting was unbelievable !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Khoi Khoi Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting was unbelievable ! We stayed in the Khoi Khoi Suite worth every penny!! The service was just perfect with every need catered for !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better key design

    Amazing grounds and staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Very luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A complimentary mini bar would have been nice at these prices!

    Very luxurious. Staff very friendly. We liked the resident owls! Great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Great stay - just too short !!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Setting and friendly staff and clean accommodation and attention to detail

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay, didn't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't have been better, every aspect of our stay was top notch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Perfection in Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite - Manor Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to complain

    Perfection in Paradise

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Pure Indulgence with a great ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic staff, beautiful grounds and rooms, tip TOP facilities including pool and Golf course

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.7
    Wifi was a drama.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was a drama. Bathroom floor extremely slippery. Very dangerous. Only South Africa outlets. Breakfast poor.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the main building is rather small. Complicated key to open the door of the room.

    Food is excellent. People very nice. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    10
    Catharina restaurant should be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Catharina restaurant should be improved. Bistro 1682 is wonderful. Fantastic food and atmosphere!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    A perfect stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect scenery - perfect service - perfect comfort. Awesome!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    staff lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    internet speed almost non existent at times

    staff lovely amazing setting and grounds 2 restaurants both great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Room and staff were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was average compared to the rest of the offer

    Room and staff were excellent!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.6
    Both hotel and the restaurant are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water in the fridge is not free :(

    Both hotel and the restaurant are amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Peaceful spoil
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, views and service and definitely the wine!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    The hotel and its surroundings is located beautifully in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was really nothing bad at our stay; WiFi is free but an improvement on the WiFi connectivity needs to be done if this is your requirement while staying there.

    The hotel and its surroundings is located beautifully in the heart of Constantia. We were fortunate of having a room in the 300 year old adjacent building to the Manor house but with all the 21st century luxuries. The grounds are a picture book. The restaurant on the property added a modernity that was very welcomed. The food, be it breakfast or the most delightful Sunday Lunch. The chef served incredibly delicious food on the buffet. The staff of the Hotel are very attentive, helpful and cheerful which made the stay extra special. We had the good fortune of playing a round of golf at the Steenberg Golf Course which was spectacular! A must! A perfect little holiday celebrating our Anniversary.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.9
    The location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The day I had to leave I discovered the Ariel of my car was taken off by the parking valet and just left in the parking lot ! I was so disappointed that I forgone the anticipated wine tasting 😔 As they spent around 30min trying to locate the Ariel

    The location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    You get more than what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You get more than what you pay for. Staying in a vineyard with historic building is amazing. Breakfast is excellent with stunning view. Restaurant for dinner is world-class. Very impressive indeed

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.6
    Sunday lunch was fantastic and the live music really added...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sous vide pork belly at dinner was a little over cooked on the outside and had dried out slightly.

    Sunday lunch was fantastic and the live music really added to the atmosphere. Our table server at dinner was very knowledgeable about the food and wine and very friendly. At dinner the pea soup starter was devine! My partner's fish of the day dinner was superb. All the staff were friendly, helpful and smiled.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    10
    the service was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    the service was exceptional..It exceeded my expectations and needs..the facilities were 10 of 10..the golf course was a great track and the golf school has the most knowledgeable instructors in the business..Best value for your money in the world..

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.1
    Great Scenery, warm staff, exceptional wine tasting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms look much larger and more attractive on the website pictures. Was not good value for money. However we were moved to a room that we were happy with.

    Great Scenery, warm staff, exceptional wine tasting

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    9.6
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very relaxing. We enjoyed the quiet, the beautiful grounds, the two excellent on-site restaurants. The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. They put us in touch with a local guide with whom we arranged a perfect two-day holiday.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    10
    The best customer service we have ever had we were looked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was excellent

    The best customer service we have ever had we were looked after from the min we arrived right up until we were dropped back at the airport. We will definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Paying for bottled water. You should expect that for free in a 5 star hotel. Free water arrived at turndown which was too late.

    Lovely staff. All went the extra mile and clearly enjoyed their work. Rooms well appointed. Lovely grounds/gardens. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Checking in is a nightmare. The hotel wanted copies of both of our IDs, several forms need to be signed, a manual imprint of your credit card is also taken, you pay separately for the accommodation immediately up front and you are expected to also sign a blank credit card slip, in case you damage anything or don't pay for extras (according to the check in clerk).

    Beautiful clean hotel.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: