Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Stellenbosch Hotel 3 stars

Corner of Dorp and Andringa Street, 7600 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#23 of 37 hotels in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 722 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant overall, in a beautiful building. I would have liked to know more of the history of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in an attic room, which was adequate, but small, and difficult to navigate with the slanting roof.

    The food and service were excellent and the bed was comfortable. The staff were exceptionally friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel. Excellent staff. Recommend highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The musty smell in one of the bedrooms.

    We had booked an apartment but when we arrived they told us there was a leak in the apartment and offered us three rooms in the hotel. Staff were apologetic and went out of their way to help us. The rooms were great though there was a musty smell in one which they tried to fix. Breakfast was excellent and our laundry was done free of charge. The hotel is centrally located and is quaint. Staff were brilliant and all in all an excellent place to stay in beautiful Stellenbosch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed the stay, staff very helpful and professional.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food served in the restaurant at dinner was highly priced for the food we ate, and was definitely not nice.

    Loved the apartment style room, felt like home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    It was really great and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to go to Stellenbosch.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Please just be aware of the parking lot intercom not working properly and the refrigerator in my room was very noisy.

    The staff was really friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was really good with a variety of options. Overall I had a great experience at the Stellenbosch Hotel. It is central to a lot of restaurants and activities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smells mouldy. Room not very soundproof, but keep in mind it is a very old building

    The location is great. Walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants and it is safe to walk even at night. The staff at the hotel is super friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom is comfy, clean with everything you need. Free parking is included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    see above comment

    The only thing is location Breakfast below average and no smoking policy in front of rooms on ground floor ,smoke keep coming into rooms while guests are smoking infront of rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful environment, historic landmarks and brought back memories from my student days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Loved the ambiance, the food, the environment and the staff's warmth. We could walk in the evening and it is safe. Restaurants in area very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Cosy little Hotel with friendly staff, excellent Retaurant, in beautiful - central Stellenbosch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little noisy( the rooms are not 'sound-proof') - a 'French door' opened up to the Courtyard, below outside, which did not close tightly. It was a little difficult to log-on to the wifi. and internet.

    The staff are friendly and helpful and our room was cosy. The restaurant and breakfast was excellent. The hotel is ideally situated, right opposite the venue we attended for a friends party and in a busy street and beautiful part of Stellenbosch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    The gentleman who showed us to our room realised the ceiling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower temperature control was unreliable and the bathroom towels were small and inadequate

    The gentleman who showed us to our room realised the ceiling height was a bit low for me (I'm quite tall) and moved us to another room without us having to ask.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location and very comfortable. Great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We were given a 2 bed apartment which was a pleasant surprise, very spacious and a lovely balcony looking over the centre of town. There was a real buzz about the place and a great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit cold( bacon, sausage and eggs)

    Friendly staff. Comfortable bed.Clean room. Excellent location, within walking distance of restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Location was good, in the middle of Stellenbosch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very loud! Could here everything that happened in the next room. Airco also made a lot of noise. Bed was uncomfortable as well.

    Location was good, in the middle of Stellenbosch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyed and would be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One should be prepared that if room overlooks the streets, there would be street noises from early hours - but the vibe is very nice

    Nice soft beds. Appreciated the gesture from management after a nearby restaurant's overnight renovations disturbed us the first night - showed their dedication to clients' comfort. Near to so many restaurants and sights one does not even have to get into a car

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    A convenient but noisy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ground floor accommodation was convenient but very noisy. On some nights the noise continued to late as the only place for visitors to use was the courtyard outside our bedroom. In view of this I would not stay here again in season. Parking was limited and it took time in the morning to get on the road. Bathroom was particularly cramped.

    Meals were excellent. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    A Good Overinight Stay in Stellenbosch
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no 24hour food service, I needed food so I had to settle for KFC. This is not unique to the hotel, looks like all restaurant kitchens in the area close at 10pm. The TV in my room had poor signal. Otherwise a good place to spend time !

    I had two single beds. It was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. The breakfast was great, it’s not your usual large hotel set up but, there is something special about this place! I liked it a lot! Passages and rooms were also very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel would definitely book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have stayed a few nights in this hotel as one wasn’t enough!

    Lovely hotel! Great breakfast, clean rooms and such friendly staff. Perfect location! Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Our overall stay was excellent, we can not fault anything. Will definately be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were friendly, the room and bathroom well equipped and spotless, the location is excellent. The breakfasts were delicious, and the dinner at the Stellenbosch Kitchen was outstanding. I can recommend the Lamb Shank.... Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Exceeded our expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING11

    Everything! The location is perfect, the staff went out of their way to help us, the rooms were lovely and spotless, and the food in the dining room excellent. We hope to return one day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    Quaint little hotel, centrally located - not recommended for business travelers at all.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a business hotel - so see my feedback in that light. A business traveler expects an early breakfast option - here, the breakfast area only opened at 07:00 with no room for negotiation. The rooms are also close to the road, and noisy. The rooms are also small, with very tiny access via staircases. The parking lot is cramped.

    The service was friendly, and the location was good - centrally located in the heart of Stellenbosch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    What a great find and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was a 10/10 experience

    The location and charm of this centuries old hotel building, but yet modern and clean bathrooms. Bed was very comfortable, location is brilliant, the restaurant is supurb and the style of the hotel is charming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Well run hotel in the centre of Stellenbosch with a fantastic restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a fantastic position in the centre of Stellenbosch with great underground parking. The restaurant is exceptional and we ate there both nights of our stay. The room was comfortable and had all the required facilities including a good tv with all the channels and effective air conditioning and a fridge. The staff were always smiley and welcoming. The wifi worked well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel. Will eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant (and staff) are a let down. a struggle to simply make a dinner reservation, be told that they are "doing you a favour" to accommodate you yet half the tables were empty (not surprised after all that). Staff were continually clustered together in groups chatting (and even taking photo's of each other!). Food was decent but really not living up to the hotel itself. A pity.

    Staff were super friendly and accommodating The wifi works and is very fast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    A lovely relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This lovely old hotel, at first sight an old style hotel with some modernisation, has a charm of its own which grows upon you. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Every member of staff we encountered was not only polite and helpful but obviously happy. The breakfast buffet was well organised and we were pleased to see that, unlike some hotels, the prepared fruit was covered to protect it from flies. This didn’t happen every morning but, to be fair, we never saw a single fly or insect. There was a lovely faint smell, presumably from the small table candles, which must have kept them away. However, the self -service cooked food was not very hot and fried eggs, when ordered took a very long time to arrive. The staff were all friendly and helpful although service varied from very good to forgetful at times. Whether sitting inside or on the terrace, breakfast was a pleasant, unhurried experience. The Stellenbosch Kitchen was as good as on previous occasions so we had dinner here three times. We had dinner here with friends on the evening we arrived. The restaurant was very busy, giving a lively, buzzing ambiance. The food was excellent as always, especially the lamb shank and the gnocchi. The service was very friendly although a little slow. However, this didn’t worry us at all as we enjoyed a long, leisurely evening. A couple of days later we again had dinner here but this time on our own and outside on the terrace. Both the seafood risotto and the aubergine burger were excellent as was the service. On our final evening we enjoyed a one course meal inside the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful place in the heart of Stellenbosch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My particular room was in the courtyard, so anyone can look in if I didn't keep the curtains closed. But this didn't bother me, I know some friends who wouldn't like it. But the room was great nonetheless .

    Beautiful old historical property, friendly staff and very close to the popular attractions in town. Great restaurant part of the property is a bonus. There's also secure onsite parking with easy access in and out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Staff were outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room small and cramped Aircon was a portable one and made a lot of noise and took up space in a already small room Aircon didn't work one night which was very uncomfortable given the heat Bed was very uncomfotable

    Staff were outstanding Location outstanding Food very good and service excellent in the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    It was a very happy experience. We would highly recommend this hotel. It deserves a higher rating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would like to see a full length mirror in the bedroom.

    This beautiful hotel was situated in the historical area. The hotel is originally built in the 18th Century. We love the history of it. The staff were so helpful and friendly and the breakfast spread was amazing. The restaurant is very nicely designed. We will stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely time in Stellenbosch
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The layout in the room can be quite constraining. For example, due to the wooden beams, it can be challenging to reach to the fridge. This is however something small though.

    Location is very good, probably one of the best in Stellenbosch!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Great staff shame about the lack of sleep on one of the three nights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3rd night i stayed, the first 2 nights were ok, the electric generator outside room 3 ticked on and off from 3 to 6 am ..... really noisy

    The staff and the location. They were great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    I survived it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    unable to sign in to internet inspite of one hour of trying with front desk. Bathtub very slippery; almost fell....no handholds. Apt was not as advertised as it was to small. Apt for two had only one chair to sit at table. Light above stove not functioning AC blew on head when in bed. Would never stay in there studio apt again

    location friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Stellenbosch worked it's magic - as it always does for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no garden or decent area to relax. Lift only goes to second floor of three.

    Brilliant staff from manager, reception, to maids and especially concierge (car park organiser)! Brilliant location in middle of tourist quarter.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    The staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small and dark. Mattress very hard

    The staff is very friendly. Apparently the room that we booked online was classified as a "petite"room and in the "loft area", but luckily for us, we were allocated a different room. This room was in the courtyard however still very small and dark for the amount that you pay. The hotel is very central, but we will not stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    great location and good choice of breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Seating in the living room was inadequate, there was one 2 Seater sofa and two hard chairs that you couldn't sit on for long. Ideally there should be another 2 Seater sofa.

    One bedroom backed unto hotel corridor and had no air conditioning so was hot and stuffy at night. There is only one air conditioning unit in the apartment which is in the lounge. Kitchen had no cooking utensils and therefore having a Hob was useless.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    5.0
    laocation good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    apartment smelly and a bit worn,they told me at reception that i booked with aibb and therefore not allowed breakfast. they did make a mistake and later corrected it

    laocation good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    The room was fine and used for sleeping in. For that purpose it was fine. We received value for mone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the parking but they can't do anything about it.

    There's not much they can do but parking is a bit of a bother. Everything else was as I expected and I enjoyed my stay very much. Staff was very friendly and the room reminded me of a nice Parisian hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    Fine for a quick stay, wouldn’t choose here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit disappointed, the room was really tiny on the ground floor with a tiny window that looked on to a wall. Little natural light in the room, and quite old furniture.

    It was in a nice location in the centre of the village. The breakfast was nice; a buffet with a large variety of fresh food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    it was amazing. Will definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping staff not so friendly. Pity there isn't a garden or pool area on the property.

    breakfast particularly croissants excellent. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous property with an amazing team ensures 100% guest satisfaction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one single thing needed to be improved. 10 out of 10 on everything.

    The staff are all amazing and 100% focused on the guest. The deluxe twin room #2 is huge in comparison to most hotels and the beds are very comfortable with premium bedding. The bathroom with a large bath and even larger shower is simply stunning. Wonderful breakfast and free wifi included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Manager was very friendly, check out was 11am but we where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager was very friendly, check out was 11am but we where aloud to keep out car untill 4 pm in carpark. And like me, Kaiser Chiefs fan!!! Our room was uppcraded becouce uor aircon wasn’t working 👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellent welcome with friendly and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of drinks was high in comparison to other outlets in close proximity. Would prefer eNCA and CNN TV news channels. The balcony floor had not been properly cleaned as bird droppings were evident

    Excellent welcome with friendly and efficient staff. Brilliant location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cooked breakfast was not very tasty - a bit bland - although the croissants were delicious.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful & the hotel is very conveniently situated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Well located comfortable hotel with excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcome by the staff, parked the car in the free underground secure car park. No problems with space, I was driving a corolla. My room was on the ground floor just off the courtyard, comfortable room, huge bathroom. Tea & coffee facilities in room and a fridge. Restaurant attached to the hotel was really good too, service attentive, great selection of wines and the food delicious. Breakfast good choice and delicious. Well located in the town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded my room to a "deluxe" apartment...we did not receive the deluxe apartment. Don't tell me the deluxe apartment is available, make me pay for it and then put me in a normal apartment. And when I raised this with reception they ignored me. Pathetic.

    Breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    Central location , parking on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Step stairs to the rooms , lift only went so far. Bathrooms in need of an update in comparison to other hotels we’ve stayed in and general lighting poor . We weren’t offered breakfast specials just the buffet as seen

    Central location , parking on site

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    We loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the 2 bed apartment, which sleeps 4. When we returned from our night out, we had to move the mattresses into the living area as the smaller of the rooms was too hot. There was hot air blowing through a vent in the room and we didn't know how to turn it off. It wasn't the air con, it was a vent.

    We loved everything. Mostly the location and the breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.6
    Breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room under the roof, seemed like a staff room – loud traffic from the roadside. Our car was in the underground parking parked in, and it took 30 Minutes for the incompetent clerk to find the car keys to move the car. The general manager solved the problem in a few minutes.

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    its well situated.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the property is okay.... depends on the room/apartment allocation and the sort of visit you have; leisure or business.... we were. not allocated the correct apartment and when they tried to correct it,it actually made it worse...at the end upon check out we were compensated for one night which we appreciated but if you think about it the harm was already done for the whole weekend on check in...money can't buy back time .... on the positive side the staff were helpful

    its well situated. near to shops and restaurants...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being in the center of town, it was a bit noisy at night. Our gate fob unfortunately only worked on the gate furthest away from our apartment and not on the gate by our closest stairwell.

    We stayed in the three bedroom unit and it was perfect for our family of five, with enough space to be comfortable and the extra bonus of a washing machine and dryer in the apartment. The location of the hotel is very central with excellent restaurants and cafes in the area. We were able to park our rental car safely in the downstairs carpark. Breakfast was nice with a large enough selection of hot and cold food to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    Should have booked somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "Luxury" room right on street was noisy and was not Luxury. No lounge facilities. Entrance to hotel through a dingy passage! Should have had water saving notice in bathroom. The Cape has extreme water shortages.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay away from the bustle of everyday stress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since our last visit, the rooms have been beautifully upgraded, breakfast is superb and the hotel is situated centrally for strolling to lovely restaurants and shops. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    The entrance to the hotel is a bit shabby .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance to the hotel is a bit shabby ...walking down the corridor. They could definitely improve on that. The smell too in the walkway was not great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    With its centre of town location, the Stellenbosch Hotel met all of my expectations for my trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable.

    Friendly, attentive staff. Clean, attractive room with a comfortable bed and an efficient shower in the on-suite bathroom. Very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    Horrible cold night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is cold, aircons don't heat up rooms anymore..old stuff.needs replacement.change location of aircons,not on our bedheads.How do you sleep with noise right above your head??Considering the prices you charge..it's ridiculous.have thicker warmer blankets please. You know stellenbosch is cold, do the right thing and protect your customers.

    The shower is well designed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.4
    4 Days in the Cape.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment we were assigned needs to be updated..seriously big time..We stayed at the Stellenbosch hotel twice prevously so this was really a dissapointment for us. We decided to "upgrade" to the bigger room than we had before...serious mistake. The photos on Booking.com is really good but in reality the rooms are terrible.

    Property is fine it was the room that we were allocated that was the problem. On Booking.com it was described as n luxery apartment..ugg 2 single beds with dilapedated furniture is no luxery. Staff though did their utmost to help us and relocated us to their Coopmans huis hotel as Stellenbosh hotel was fully booked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Due to being put in an unsuitable room,we had to move hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the bath was yellow and ran cold. The TV did not work and we ended up moving hotels as there were no other rooms available

    The manager dealt with our problem very well. He arranged for a room in a sister hotel and came to check we were satisfied the next day. A very good piece of service recovery and he is to be congratulated for it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Arrived as guests & left as friends .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived as guests & left as friends ... The staff are amazing & so accommodating. Great food & accommodation - wouldn't actually look for alternate accommodation should we need an overnight stay in Stellenbosch again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location with friendly staff and clean rooms.Breakfast very dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed had a hollow where you automaticly roll to the middle. Both days at breakfast one morning at 9 the next at 9h30 only scraps remaining of bacon and mushroom and both occasions the food was cold.

    The staff is very friendly and the etablishment is clean. Excellent location. Very central.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    In a great location for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment had chipped paint and a chipped countertop. The boiler dripped in the night. These may seem insignificant but for the price we were unimpressed. There is nothing remarkable about the accommodation, which you would expect for the price. Could do with better furniture on the balcony

    In a great location for sightseeing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Anniversary treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay there was thoroughly enjoyable.

    I am not a big meat fan but enjoyed the most delicious lamb Shank. My wife loves prawns and her prawn risotto was equally delicious. On arrival, we were advised that our room had been upgraded. We expressed appreciation as unbeknown to them it was our wedding anniversary. A short while after booking into the room, a waiter arrived with a tray containing champagne and some treats. It made us feel very special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Everything just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stay was too short :)

    Everything just perfect. Pricing amazing reasonable, food excellent and most important, staff exceptionally attentive, friendly and accommodating. Very centrally located in Stellenbosch. Room very spacious and comfortable bed. We extended our stay by one night and a plan was made, even with the hotel fully booked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Very well located in Centre of Stellenbosch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but service let it down a bit. When asked for glass of water was told it cost 30 rand. Even though fruit juice was included in breakfast (though I wasn't taking it). Asked another waitress and she brought me a glass of water without questions. Waitress took eggs order (for two people, both scrambled eggs but with different additions), she then came back five minutes later to check it, then 20mins later breakfast was served and they got everything wrong....

    Very well located in Centre of Stellenbosch. Room was large and nicely decorated in keeping with old characteristic style of the hotel. Large bathroom with good quality shower and fittings. Friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Cappuccinos at breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ask to keep your car keys to move your car if necessary as there aren't enough secure parkings for all guests. Not a good idea from a security/damage point of view?

    Cappuccinos at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A real pity that the restaurant is not open throughout the day.

    Very quiet despite the central location. Staff very helpful and very friendly. Restaurant food and wine were just as expected in this part of SA, so well worth the visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.3
    We love Stellenbosch Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioners / fans in bedrooms

    Great Chef and restaurant - Good breakfasts - Friendly and helpful staff; especially reception - Great location; balcony opens onto street with huge oak trees and street filled with restaurants and bistro's. We love it!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little noisy, due to the traffic. The hotel debited our credit card with the full amount, not 50%, 2 months before arrival when the agreement was for 50% 30 days prior to arrival.

    Great location in the heart of Stellenboch. Parking is safe and secure. Lovely room and bathroom.. Lovely jolly staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.9
    Position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our air conditioner did not work for the whole time we were there - over the hottest days of the year. Parking is terrible- underground & very limited. You have to park other people in & leave your keys at reception. Kitchen poorly appointed- no microwave bowls so could not cook in it.

    Position.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.3
    A good option for Stellenbosch
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking arrangements a tad inconvenient; curtains in bedroom don't block out light from social area; service in the restaurant is uneven.

    Perfect location; good free internet access; room is comfortable; I like having a tub in the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    Loft rooms too small & too expensive - service and food excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not informed that we were booked into a tiny loft room with not enough space to walk upright around your bed. We did bang our heads against the roof twice. The aircon was old, noisy and could not cool effectivly. At R1,700 pppn it was a lot too much to ask!

    Staff, service and Restaurant food was excellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    4.2
    High on price, low on delivery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture and decor was old and tired as was the building itself. The "king" bed was 2 uneven singles pushed together. The TV couch was uncomfortable and too small. The bathrooms were not practical - no shower in the ensuite and 2nd bathroom extremely small. The property was not cheap and the value for money was terrible.

    The location and the pillows were the only things I liked about this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.9
    Charming hotel with small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We saw two rooms. Both were quite small. Needed to use the air conditioning because the outside sounds were noisy. The dining room was very noisy and the sound reverberated. It was full our first morning with a bus tour.

    Very helpful staff. Enclosed parking. Location was perfect in centre town, close to sights. Breakfast was extensive. Room was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    My stay was very pleasant, will visit the hotel again.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast bacon not nice, too soft and looks bland and unappetizing. Pastries was good and fruit and cheese also good. Room 7 has a sour smell when you enter if it was closed, not enough milk with complimentary coffee in room, lamp on small table has no bulb in it.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, location is very good, the restaurant is good and convenient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Very impressed with the cleanliness.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner was quite noisy. Didn't affect me but may be a problem for other guests.

    Very impressed with the cleanliness. All the staff members were extremely helpful and friendly. Location was ideal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    5.4
    won't be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the size of the room we were put in was ridiculous, we complained and we were put into a bigger room. Just the chance that they took. also the parking issue is ridiculous after booking a parking we still had issues

    reception lady tried her best

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    Well-priced, comfortable, and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location is in town center (which is a plus), but as a result it was a bit noisy some nights

    Wonderful staff, great breakfasts, comfy rooms, excellent wifi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    5.4
    Didnt stay just very disappointed outside hotel was advertised 1600rand plus minus & wepaid 2000
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many entrances confusing for elderly people

    Rooms to small & difficult to find parking no one outside the hotel to direct one to parking underground

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again- location is superb and room was great. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry wrote in wrong column!

    Breakfast ok but a little tired looking(scrambled egg a bit watery from sitting too long) at 10 15 when we came down. Would prefer to order tea and coffee rather than fetch it ourselves and there were no napkins on the table- we had to ask for them. But generally it was fine

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: