Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Summerwood Guest House 4 stars

28 Jonkershoek Road, 7600 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#8 of 76 B&Bs and Inns in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 124 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Great property. Generally unfriendly and unwelcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a boutique guest house, the staff (with the exception of the manager who was excellent) were generally not very friendly and welcoming. If one doesn't care about friendly staff, then one can always stay in a Marriott rather than a small guest house. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    A lovely relaxed stay at Summerwood. we will most certainly be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better placement of a mirror in relation to the hairdryer plug would be helpful

    The spacious ground floor room with terrace was well appointed and very comfortable. The weather was extremely hot and enjoyed the use of the pool and relaxing in the garden.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful place with an outstanding breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice guesthouse close from Stellenbosch center in a peaceful neighborhood. The outside with the pool was fantastic, the room very clean and confortable. The breakfast was exceptional !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    Ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of things weren't working in my room but were soon fixed. I believe the whole property is having a makeover very soon which will really help. I did love it there though and will definitely return.

    The breakfasts were amazing - so much variety and beautifully presented.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful 24 hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything the staff are very friendly, Rodney invited us to stay after we checked out. Then looked after us all morning, we felt very spoiled. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay here. Good pool,large bedrooms, delicious breakfast, would highly recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The garden setting is charming with sun beds and umbrellas. The staff could not be more helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    Lovely guesthouse in Stellenbosch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rattling door, doors barking so can be a little noisy and rooms close to each other so can hear other guests.

    Excellent facilities. Accommodating staff. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Super stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located in a quiet residential area. Property is everything you could want:secure, comfortable, well equipped rooms, swimming pool, gardens, lovely breakfast. Staff are so helpful and caring. Wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Very nice B&B with everything you need and want
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price level is a bit higher than for high rated B&B's we have stayed in during our trip. It may be Stellenbosch that is expensive but 2x what we paid in e.g. Hermanus seems a bit steep

    The house was very nicely furnished in modern design. It gave a fresh look to it. The pool was nice and clean, good with a dip in the morning!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent facilities in a beautiful property, staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent facilities in a beautiful property, staff were very friendly and helpful with restaurant bookings. Used the hotel bicycle which was free to explore Stellenbosch which was useful. Lovely breakfast and would definately recommend this hotel. Excellent stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice comfy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed 1 nigh in Stellenbosch. Summerwood was a great accomodation. We loved the brand new bikes, which are very nice for exploring the area. Good tips on where to wine and dine by the staff. We forgot our 2 pet seals upon departure, but they were happy to watch over them a few days before we picked them up again. Great service!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely stay at Summerwood Guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes it was a little noisy because of the street and all the dogs barking. But not too bad!

    Our stay at summerwood was very nice & relaxed. The lady who looked after us during breakfast was so lovley and nice. We even got a bottle of sparkling wine for the birthday of my boyfriend. Everything is very pretty & decorated with love for details. The guesthouse is good located to visit the winefarms. Thank you very much Summerwood Guesthouse Team

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable, well-appointed B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we wanted to book out there was no-one on duty and we had to wait around until the receptionist arrived from shopping.

    The facilities were extremely comfortable and well-appointed. The receptionist, Rodney, who greeted us on arrival was very professional and went the extra mile for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Just a fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast

    Just a fantastic place to stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxing setting

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not really clean during our stay.

    Very nice accommodation. Nice and friendly staff that helped us at any time. Very nice breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast. Wine and other drinks available for extra costs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place, perfect for a stop over in stellenbosch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms slightly more modern perhaps. Just personal taste.

    It was quiet and everyone was really friendly. Comfortable stay and good quality venue.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Excellent guesthouse to enjoy your stay in Stellenbosch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property in a great location in Stellenbosch. I would definitely recommend Summerwood Guesthouse!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.9
    Location is quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is quiet. Good parking. Nice pool area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Thank you very much for making us feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard and the stairs to the room were not pleasant. We were not informed prior to booking.

    Yes

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic guest house for a perfect few days exploring wine region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was spacious and beautiful - massive bed! Breakfast was incredible Staff extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Sublime Summerwood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave. Thank You!

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Highly recommend staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely relaxing environment-Rodney and Tim were extremely accommodating!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.1
    No bulb in bedside lamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bulb in bedside lamp

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    Great location, good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very helpful. Location was great and the home cooked breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.5
    Real relaxation and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely guesthouse where you can really have some down time. Has a wonderful relaxing feel to it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    An excellent guest house with all amenities you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth a comment

    Staff very helpful good selection for breakfast and use of swimming pool and sun beds

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    The staff, especially Rodney went out of their way to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, especially Rodney went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    What a wonderful B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a wonderful B&B. Staff were friendly and so accommodating. We will be back for sure!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    10
    Great B & B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful surrounding And very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Perfect for visiting kids at varsity as well as sight seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are beautifully decorated. Beds very comfortable. Lovely breakfast. Well positioned.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Incredible attention to detail!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible attention to detail! Absolutely fantastic place and people, probably our favourite accommodation of our whole trip

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Really enjoyed my stay will defnitely visit again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complains!

    Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    Room 2 is private with own patio and on the ground floor (we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We specifically requested a double bed in our room prior to our arrival - this was not provided. The curtains in the room difficult to slide and it was a mission to open and close.

    Room 2 is private with own patio and on the ground floor (we prefer ground floor rooms). Room was clean and beautifully decorated. Good variety of breakfast options.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.5
    Wi like the location on the Girl recession very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi did not like the cleaning off the beed room to much ants in Our room on bed my wife was eaten by ants and never seen so many ants bout apart from Thant I will recommend it.bout not for this priece

    Wi like the location on the Girl recession very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought the bath sheets were a little small and the breakfast buffet a bit disappointing. Cooked breakfast delicious

    Everything. A very beautiful and relaxed weekend. Most helpful and lovely staff. Would love to go back again

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    8.3
    The room was nicely decorated, the bed comfortable and I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There appeared to be a nest of small ants in the room, which made it impossible to keep any food. They even made it into the bed. My flight home wasn't until 10pm and checkout was at 11am but the guesthouse charges R500 for guests that wish to use the pool area after checking out. Friends that stayed at nearby guesthouses were invited to use the facilities for free after checking out.

    The room was nicely decorated, the bed comfortable and I had a pleasant private courtyard. The pool area was nice. Wifi worked well.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    10
    The location was fantastic being walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was fantastic being walking distance to Stellenbosch and a short drive to most of the vineyards. Cape Town day trips are easily arranged. The best thing is that it's peaceful and easy to come and go. The staff are great and willing to help in anyway possible. The honesty bar is a fantastic feature.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    The guest house was sumptuous and we felt really spoiled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The guest house was sumptuous and we felt really spoiled. Large rooms, beautiful bathroom, attentive staff, and about ten minutes gently walk into the centre of town. Could not ask for more

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.2
    Everything is so professionally done and this guesthouse has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is so professionally done and this guesthouse has all the finishing touches one would get in any 5 star hotel. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are truly delicious.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    9.2
    Rooms are great - the whole place is really nice - people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is a problem - not enough bays and difficult to turn/reverse out into a busy street

    Rooms are great - the whole place is really nice - people are friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.2
    Big rooms with patio, nice bath with separate shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room #2 is next to the service/kitchen entrance, a lot of noise in the morning before breakfast.

    Big rooms with patio, nice bath with separate shower.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    8.8
    the suggestions of the staff where to dine or go out, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beware: there are rooms with noise here.. The room on the first floor on the back has a waterpump right next to it that makes a very noisy sound regularly during the day (and not always only on the time the staff says it works)

    the suggestions of the staff where to dine or go out, the helpfullness with reservations. The interior design is beautiful & modern. The pool is very nice, also the breakfast.We were given the attic room, which is beautiful and very comforable

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    6.7
    Room was big and light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As everyone else has said the breakfast was simply terrible, pastries dry and clearly out of a packet, juice was strange, cooked breakfast... I can't tell you as I wouldn't bother touching it. Also there was a smell of smoke that periodically wafted into the room - seemed to be coming from outside - someone obviously smoking and it drifting in which wasn't pleasant.

    Room was big and light.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    9.2
    Everything except after hours help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could not raise anyone that was willing to help us on our DsTV after hours. The result was that during our stay, we did not have television. It was not a must have, but it would have been a nice to have

    Everything except after hours help

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Very pleasant grounds and accommodations, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very pleasant grounds and accommodations, excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    10
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative to point out.

    Helpful staff. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. Nothing negative to point out.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    We had an amazing stay, everything about Summerwood...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had an amazing stay, everything about Summerwood guesthouse is perfect, the location, the atmosphere and excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    7.9
    being woken up at 7am by a noisy next door neighbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    being woken up at 7am by a noisy next door neighbour

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    7.5
    The fact that there is an extra charge because your arrive...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that there is an extra charge because your arrive with a late flight.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    9.6
    Beutiful place and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beutiful place and great staff. Walk or uber into town or drive yourself round the vinyards. Book it.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    6.3
    Loved the breakfast
    • Group

    Fridge in room not stocked, pay for extra coffee, no daily replacement of soaps, etc in room. Not good enough for a 4star.

    Loved the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.6
    The rooms are very spacious and it very luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are very spacious and it very luxurious. The property is beautiful

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.3
    Friendly welcome, spacious clean rooms and personal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to not to like.

    Friendly welcome, spacious clean rooms and personal attention.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.6
    Everything except the parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is a problem - not enough parking

    Everything except the parking

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    9.6
    Nice neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Nice neighborhood

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    9.6
    We felt very secure,its a nice and quiet place, everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We felt very secure,its a nice and quiet place, everything was perfect.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: