Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Summit Place Guesthouse 4 stars

15 Summit Way, 7806 Constantia, South Africa

#8 of 19 B&Bs and Inns in Constantia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Not good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    very very expensive for what you get I forgot my lunch in the refriderator. Before I left the lady asked me to stay until they have inspected. She apparently inspected the bar fridge and DID NOT TELL ME I FORGOT MY FOOD IN THE FRIDGE!!!!!

    Spacy room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Really nice guesthouse!
    • Group
    • Courtyard Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly accommodating, the breakfast was so nice and so fresh, the rooms we stayed were both lovely, well kitted out with a beautiful view of the garden and the mountain. I would recommend this an would stay again. The location is also really nice for Constantia and surroundings, but a bit far / further away from theain touristy bits.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    A well hidden secret
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I disliked

    A well hidden secret! Very well located. Super-comfortable bed. Totally quiet. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast. Superb outdoor pool. Wi-Fi all over the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely stay and will return here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was good, my only complaint was bacon was always over cooked and had the texture of billtong.

    Lovely property and garden. Really helpful staff. Pool area and beds were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    A lovely venue for a relaxing stay in Constantia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage with lounge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Beautiful big, very well appointed accommodation in our garden cottage. Delightful staff to talk with who proved very helpful in every way. An excellent location. We enjoyed being able to sit on our patio and admire the garden.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pay extra for breakfast and a little far away from city life and recreational activities

    the place is clean and neat and tidy and beautiful and green and accomodating and staff is lovely and kind. It is just heavenly Great place for all to spend Christmass at

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Loved our four days at The Summit and will definitely stay here again if we return to Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything - the accommodation was excellent. Spacious room etc. Beautiful gardens. Excellent, friendly, knowledgeable staff. The owner was often at the property and was able to offer suggestions about where to visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.5
    Wont be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very cramped The curtains were not heavy enough. Light shone through and as they have the outside lights on the whole night our room was very bright. The room had a very strong odour of cleaning fluids and when discussed with staff they said there was nothing that could be done. Not a good nights sleep. No offer of discount for the discomfort

    The rooms were comfortable Pretty and well maintained garden and pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful short stay with an excellent location to visit Constantia and coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful guest house with comfortable quaint rooms, friendly helpful staff whom are more than happy to accommodate. Instant restful place amidst winery region with mountain views set up like a home away from home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    The perfect place to relax and have a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great!

    The staff were friendly and more than happy to go the extra mile. The rooms were great. The ambience was great with the rooms all near the pool. The breakfasts were delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    I live in Cape Town, and there is no doubt that I will come again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nkumbi, the manager, and who was there during my entire stay was phenomenal and what an asset to this little guesthouse. Extremely polite, charming, friendly, helpful and non-intrusive. She was great and made the stay so comfortable. And the other staff I met, perfect! Apart from that, my short stay was so peaceful and good for the soul in perfect surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic outlook and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of privacy, as the windows towards the view have other guests walking past.

    Fantastic location and view, friendly competent staff. We like the position and he fact tht we could walk through the vineyards to Groot Constantia. Rooms are spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location but a bit overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast options were pretty basic especially considering it is not included in the room rate.

    Summit Place is a nice guesthouse in a safe and pleasant area, it has some lovely views and a beautiful garden, including a pool. The room was on the small side with nowhere to sit other than on the bed. There is plenty of parking spaces but the wifi was a bit iffy in the room. The staff were great, really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice staff, very quiet, clean place! Perfect for families, couples and those who want to enjoy a relaxed getaway. Very close to Constantia Groot, the oldest winery in Capetown.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice place, coffee in rooms not so nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some filter coffee or at least Nescafe Gold Sticks in the room with sufficient milk, would have been nice. This establishment is classy but gives you Nescafe Classic Sticks for Coffee. No aircon in master pool room. Glad i was not there on a 40degrees day . Overall a nice place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Very Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just being picky now and a personal preference, but the pillows could have been slightly softer.

    Had a lovely stay at Summit Guesthouse and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff were friendly, the suite very clean and comfortable and the breakfast delicious. The swimming pool and gardens were delightful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Super stay - would definitely go to Summit Place again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service at breakfast could have been more efficient.

    Had a lovely stay. Management was extraordinarily good - friendly, informative, helpful. Lovely garden and swimming pool were an added plus. The ambience was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Stayed here last year for the last three days of our trip as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing disliked

    Stayed here last year for the last three days of our trip as close to airport. Good location nice property and great staff. Can get to Cape Town or Houts Bay very easy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.3
    everything was good about the summit the bonus been you felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing really perhaps the fact you are not quite able to walk anywhere other than peddlers and co which we felt was a very poorly run bar/restaurant

    everything was good about the summit the bonus been you felt very safe there

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.3
    The property is located in very quiet area.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is located in very quiet area. For business trips, one can work. The limited number of rooms is good as one does not many people moving around.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    WOW!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing to comment on was the fact that you always had to get in the car.There were no restaurants within walking distance.You could walk to visit vineyards though during the day.

    We really enjoyed our stay here and would gladly stay again.The whole place was fantastic, a wonderful pool to enjoy and well kept gardens and grounds.Robyn and all her staff were very attentive, helpful and knowledgeable about the local Constantia area.The breakfast was excellent, more than enough to eat and lovely coffee Definitely one of the best places to stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing stay in stunning Constantia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault our visit to Summit Place. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Constantia, the staff were superb and couldn't do enough for us. Would love to visit again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Real holiday relaxing stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing.

    This is a great place! We stayed in the pool rooms and it's great to wake up and jump in the pool to do some laps. It's a good size really clean pool. The rooms were comfortable and everything was in the right place. The staff and the owner are wonderful. We felt at home and we felt safe. Thank you so much for everything!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    10
    A beautiful, tranquil gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave! also had some issues with the booking.com website but with the help of Summit Place, we overcame that problem.

    This is a perfect setting to relax in or use as a base to explore the area. From the moment we walked in we felt very welcome. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were beautifully equipped and very comfortable. We were offered a different cooked breakfast every day, and on the nights we didn't want to go out to eat we could either ring a delivery service using local restaurants or bring things in to prepare ourselves in the room using the microwave and hob in the room. The pool is good for a refreshing dip, the gardens are glorious with an attractive fountain. We were able to walk to the well known Constantia vineyards easily. Our room was on the Terrace, but others were around the poolside. We will definitely return when we go to South Africa again, and if like us you go on an organised tour, it is an ideal place to spend a couple of days after the rigours of a coach based tour to chill out and refresh before returning home.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful designed, comfortable and beautiful, careful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful designed, comfortable and beautiful, careful and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable room and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely comfortable room and very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was amazing and the rooms were really...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was slightly out

    The breakfast was amazing and the rooms were really comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in Constantia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, clean & comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    The view and surrounding were very peaceful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Pool Side Master Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and surrounding were very peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Very happy family time. We were perfectly happy to just stay at Summit Place and enjoy the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful setting, privacy and excellent, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful guesthouse. The team were so friendly and helpful. Service was great. Beautiful gardens and views around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Welcoming Owner and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Welcoming Owner and staff. Nice garden with outlook to Table Mountain. Room and general areas comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    The location and proximity to walk around the vineyards and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and proximity to walk around the vineyards and the wonderful friendly welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff and lovely informality guarantee a relaxing enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom need of refit and room a little dated

    Location is perfect and gardens and pool excellent. Stunning views of table mountain

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    First time in. Instant Ian and very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of our room first time in Constantia and very

    The kitchen staff and the garden

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Very helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble and we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble and we were greeted and felt like old friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Great guest house in a great part of S.A
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    A gem in Constantia and close to Cape Town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero

    Gorgeous property. Comfortable . Friendly owners and staff. Amazing views of Table Mountain

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    My second outstanding stay. If the first experience wasn't great, I wouldn't be writing this !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Peaceful and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff. Super breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    The WiFi is still slow but it works
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi is still slow but it works

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    I really enjoy my stay , was quiet and clean . the breakfast was delicious
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing was so pefect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location!! Loved my walks around the area!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Best Guest House we have ever stayed in Many Thanks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent service !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service !! Beautiful facilities, and great views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Quick, short, comfortable, hassle-free stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    Friendly and efficient staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    High recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Most friendly staff!!!! Always ready to help!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    The receptionist Nkumi very friendly & helpful. Excellent service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have breakfast was running to a meeting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Great spot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little cold

    Great spot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Cozy Constantia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Summit place is a cozy getaway. The facilities are excellent and staff are warm welcoming and friendly. I extended my stay from 1 night to 3

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ceiling fan or window that could be opened for fresh air

    Very comfortable bed. Spacious bedroom with coffee and tea facilities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    WiFi was weak.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pool Side Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was weak.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    OctaCape the greatness of vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Side Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of all was perfect

    Breakfast whether English or just pancakes it was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    The setting is superb, beautiful and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The setting is superb, beautiful and peaceful. Stunning view of the mountain. Perfectly located for all your needs. Rooms were spotless, with crisp white linen. Friendly staff all round. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    10
    We stayed at Summit Lodge for 10 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at Summit Lodge for 10 days. It’s situated in a quiet leafy area below the mountain, well secured, superb service with staff friendly who were accommodating at all times.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    Nice spacious accommodation, large garden and parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had the smallest bedroom but then I think this was all that was left when we booked.

    Nice spacious accommodation, large garden and parking. Only used as a base as we were out all the time. Nice area and close to some wineries.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small rooms Electricity in room did not work Shower floor had milldew on floor No place to put luggage in room No privacy in room directly adjacent to shared pool No fan or air conditioning Supplied Ricoffy which is a chicory mix, instead of pure coffe expected of a 5 star guest house Tables nit proerly set

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.1
    Good room, good breakfast, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Compared to other properties we stayed at this one was too expensive. Also the mini bar prices were too high. The pool was far from clean, murky water.

    Good room, good breakfast, nice location. Service was good.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely breakfast. Super friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    What was ther NOT to like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    What was ther NOT to like. We had an awesome stay. Staff extremely frriendly & helpfull

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    6.3
    Nice pool and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room small and not very private, too close to breakfast room, noisy very early in the morning when we were still trying to sleep!

    Nice pool and garden

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast was meant to be served at 8am and it was still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was meant to be served at 8am and it was still been prepared.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    Warm welcome excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcome excellent service

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    8.3
    The airco was hugely noisy so we switched it off and were v...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The airco was hugely noisy so we switched it off and were v hot

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    4.2
    Got woken up early, 5:40 and then 7:10 by noise made by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Got woken up early, 5:40 and then 7:10 by noise made by staff. Could hear all noise in adjacent room.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    Really loved the welcome and friendly manner of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have liked a bath :)

    Really loved the welcome and friendly manner of the staff. The location was perfect for scenic walks.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    7.5
    lovely surroundings, very cheerful, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely surroundings, very cheerful, helpful staff. it is under new management and they are doing a great job. We wish them well.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    7.1
    Location, views of Table Mountain, gardens, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor was basic, perhaps not 4 star. Breakfast an add on and not first class

    Location, views of Table Mountain, gardens, friendly staff

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: