Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunnyside Park Hotel 4 stars

Princess of Wales Terrace, Parktown, 2041 Johannesburg, South Africa

#60 of 90 hotels in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 126 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    a little tired.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enough water in the room, water bottle was put on the dresser and not in the fridge, the bar fridge empty, the room service was poor, not enough lighting only one bed light

    the breakfast was poor. the receptionist was shocked that i shared a room with my partner who is a woman. she kept on asking if we were sure that she did not have another room then, asking if we are married. all very weird

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Meh
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s disappointing for the price and location. If you turn off AC there’s funky smell, and all negative reviews all point to this smell but management clearly not keen 🤷🏽‍♂️...the mercure hotel across the road is real value for money.

    Not much! Just functional

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely lovely place!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely lovely place! The staff were professional and had a good sense of humor. I had a bit trouble with my credit card payment and the staff were very patient and understanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    A known entity. Breakfast service is slow and they need to focus on improving this.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Gate House Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I don't like the fact that I am always made to feel like a criminal when they require a card deposit to cover extras from somebody who has been there frequently. Most 3-5 star hotels allow you to settle any additional charges on check out. If you spend above the deposit amount during a week, you have to go and deposit additional funds. This can be inconvenient and also embarassing, especially when you are at dinner with clients!

    I've stayed there many times and so you know what you get and the check in staff etc. are friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    i had a wonderful stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Gate House Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i liked the hotel

    peaceful and quiet environment ideal for someone on an academic trip with lots of reading and studying. clean hotel with excellent employees, wonderful food, excellent internet connectivity/wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, nice hotel, did not get room which I booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked and paid extra for a room with a bath and got a room with a shower without a balcony, the ad on Booking.com said I booked the old stables room which leads outside and has a bath and we did not get that room.

    Liked the hotel and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Food was not good at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Environmental

    Food was not good at all. Carpet in the is old and does not complement the general condition of the room in terms of bedding and other amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in Johannesburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gate House Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 separate days and our first room needed repairs. Our 2nd room was fine.

    Excellent breakfast. Good location for our requirements. It is a vintage hotel so you can see the luxury of the 1890's in the older area with fires burning in the 2 fire places in the lounge. The staff is friendly. Grounds are lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful historical hotel reminiscent of days gone by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Gate House Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left my phone charger there and had tpnhave a lengthy argument and then still leave before house keeping "found" it. I am waitingnfor it to be couriered to me as it has a specific attachment.

    The staff were so helpful moving us to another room when we had no hot water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.4
    A little more attention to detail required especially cleanliness aspect in rooms and common areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Gate House Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpeting in the passages and the rooms was old and dirty. The lift is very old and requires attention.

    Bed was very comfortable and the shower was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    Not too pleased with the cold water!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had no hot water in the room for 3 days, despite raising it with the front desk. This isnt acceptable, as JNB was very cold. In addition, check-in was a problem for the 2nd time in a row. The last booking.com was for 2 rooms, but the hotel only reserved 1. This time the booking.com was for 2 rooms and the hotel had reserved 3 rooms! I think you need to sort this out!

    The staff are always friendly, but not always efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    Location to University, Hospital, Constitutional Hill great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Renovations to passages, lobbies underway and below standard. Extraction not working in bathroom. Rooms was spacious but in need of upgrade. Breakfast buffet comprehensive but bacon, livers, and haddock all badly overcooked.

    Location to University, Hospital, Constitutional Hill great. Reception areas, gardens, facilities have been well maintained/restored on this historic national monument status property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    wonderful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wonderful staff. I enjoyed the beautiful garden and pool... and found the food delicious. Very easy to uber to and from this venue, I never had to wait long.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    We had a lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely stay!! The Sunnyside is a beautiful old hotel. We enjoyed lunches outside on the deck. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet and overlooked the pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Could not wait to go home !
    • Couple
    • Gate House Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was given incorrect room on arrival. The bin in the room had orange peels in it. The curtains did not close as they were not hooked on. When we got to correct room, fridge was not plugged in and cold. The shower had disgusting mildew in it. The sliding door was jammed so badly I could not open it !

    The staff - Florence in restaurant. Matthews porter and Catherine in reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.2
    Dissatisfied
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very very shabby. Hotel needs a total revamp. Run down and not worth the money. When you book thru booking.com they give you the worst rooms. Pass this one and can get much beter value elsewhere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful, historic home from home with service and luxury, centrally located, safe and secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The shower tray had a slight leak which wasn't really a problem, just more an inconvenience as it seeped onto the bathroom floor and meant my bathmat needed wringing out! Make sure you park away from the trees, overnight. There are flocks of birds which fly to the trees at sunset to roost and you may need to wash you car. But seeing/hearing them is a must!

    My room was large, well-equipped, well-appointed and clean. Most of the rooms have just been or are currently in the process of being, updated. There is a safe for valuables, tea/coffee-making facilities, satellite TV (with lots of movie channels) an the breakfast buffet offers a wide selection of options either already prepared or freshly made. The staff are friendly without being glib or patronising and they couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. I needed the maintenance person a couple of times and it he was there literally within 3 minutes of ringing reception. I stay at this hotel every time I am in Joburg and, whilst this isn't very often and I am a local so I'm a little biased, it is great to have a consistent experience every time I visit. The Riviera Mall is a short distance away with restaurants, cinema and shops and it's a short drive (30 mins) from the airport. This was my best stay to date. I travel a lot and stay in many hotels and The Sunnyside definitely rates as one of my favourites. I recommend staying here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay in a charming old hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food in restaurant.

    This is an old hotel that has been kept up extremely well. The rooms are very comfortable, the gardens pretty, lounges with open fires are inviting and cozy. I will stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location to Wits University
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is most convenient to all the Wits University campuses for conferences or/and academic visits. It is conveniently located close to the main highway for access by motor vehicle. The historic origins, and the historic pictures on the passage walls add a special touch to the atmosphere at this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic staff couldn't be nicer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wedding party blasting loud music in the ballroom below my room woke me and kept me awake. Staff apologised but I was tired the next day.

    Fantastic staff couldn't be nicer. good cappocino for breakfast. Lovely fires in the lounge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Nice atmosphere with a bit of history
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't really think of anything.

    Really nice hotel. Have stayed a number of times over the last ten years. I like the atmosphere and the history of the place. Going through some refurbishment to upgrade room facilities (like putting in aircon). Rooms at the front have good view of the grounds which are well-maintained and add to the overall appeal of the place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel for a Business Traveler
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room service is excellent - prompt and well served. It is an added bonus that the breakfast that is included in the booking can be ordered via room service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    Shabby and run down, not worth a single star let alone 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bedroom was awful. Carpets with holes in and filthy dirty. Occasional chairs filthy and huge stains on them, wallpaper falling off bathroom wall and bath dirty. Window sill had mud on from previous occupants shoes. No bar fridge. Walls have stippled plaster that was filled with dust in all the crevices. The room stank of stale smoke. Utterly disgusted that the hotel can sell rooms like this and claim to be 4*. If the grading council saw these rooms they would fail them immediately. The hotel dining room was also very dirty. The railing separating bar from dining was covered in dust and food spills, the carpets threadbare and the upholstery filthy. We had dinner in the dining room and had to send the meal back as it was awful. After complaining about our room we were moved to the new section and accommodated in a lovely large and clean bedroom. All rooms should be of this standard if 4*. To get to breakfast we had to pass the pub which was a smoking zone and always over powered by the stench of cigarette smoke which wafted into the lounge where children sat - unacceptable. Overall very disappointed with the hotel and if it weren't for the location I'd be reluctant to return.

    Breakfast selection very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    Situation
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvets were too thin, forgot to replace coffee etc in the room, Food very poor especially from the bar menu. Terrible poor quality yogurt at breakfast .

    Situation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Not bad but a bit dated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were still being renovated so it was hard to close the doors quietly. So you could always hear when people were entering/leaving their rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.1
    Your senior porter was able to park my car and ready to bring it closer when leaving.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather book direct for better rate. Also room needed changing for ease of access. Advance request was given but initial room had step Access.

    Car and porter service because mobility limited

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.9
    Awesome old school hotel
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpets getting old and need replacing and or deep cleaning. There was a quilt placed over the bottom of the bed that looks like it has never been cleaned. After kicking that off everything else seemed fine.

    The hotel is very old but has been renovated and wings added. The service was great. Good Breakfast with a Pancake Machine! A big thumbs up to Jackson the waiter who went out of his way to help.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.3
    Maitre'd to pay attention in dining room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better control over serving staff!

    Dining room disorganised: used plates not removed rapidly and to find a free seat I had to scout around to ensure bags etc were not hidden under tables. Plates from the grill area cold; toaster not working.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Brilliantly amazing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were quite friendly and welcoming. Service with a smile

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Very good hotel, nice room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location isn’t central, the dining room is dirty and the service in the dining room wasn’t good.

    Very good hotel, nice room service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Had a great feel about it, very luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great feel about it, very luxurious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    THE RESTUARANT WAS WELL AND GOOD FOOD WAS GIVEN TO US THANKS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I THINK THE PLACE WAS WELL WELCOMING AND FRIENDLY.

    THE RESTUARANT WAS WELL AND GOOD FOOD WAS GIVEN TO US THANKS.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Gate House Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are cosy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Convenient situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No help with bags - general staff disinterest , dead flowers on breakfast table , no waitress to be found to bring milk .

    Convenient situation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Perfect for a business woman traveling alone
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for a business woman traveling alone

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    The hotel has lots of character and style compared to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has lots of character and style compared to typical modern hotels costing far more. If I have the chance, I will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Friendly,clean,comfy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gatehouse Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred to stay in an older part of the building.

    The olde world charm of the original building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gatehouse Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi did not work.

    Old world charm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Very good Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gate House Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balcony was not clean

    The staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location to St John’s College, comfortable stay and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extractor in the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Excellent staff top breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Gate House Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet

    Clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    bath towels had holes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath towels had holes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.2
    not what we expected
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bad attitude at the reception on arrival. poor communication

    Kitchen Staff was great, one of our colleagues were happy with her room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn’t cleaned properly every day and the coffee/milk wasn’t fully replaced each day.

    Beautifull old building with friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Excellent overall stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi service in my room was very tenacious. It would drop and disconnect regularly

    Excellent staff and service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location. Helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice place, good location but a little expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N / a

    I had a great room - very quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of trees in the parking lot - your car might be very dirty at the end of your stay.

    Great location. Old-school decor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Comfort, efficiency and friendliness of staff, quality of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all

    Comfort, efficiency and friendliness of staff, quality of breakfast and location to wits astro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The friendliness of the staff at the Hotel, bar and restaurant was amazing. Especially the very professional Ms Louisa Suavage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Comfy beds,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abit noisy at night, especially from the road. Wifi was variable, reception staff very average

    Comfy beds,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.5
    Classy hotel in a decaying Johannesburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice ambience, one can sense many years of history and tradition; very classy. Neat and tidy front desk - a rare thing in Johannesburg.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    6.7
    Sheets on the bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets on the bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    A night to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance between parking, reception and rooms.

    The bed and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.3
    Great location for my purposes. Very pleasant with friendly staff and a comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was not working properly. The shower head had a defect and resulted in the water spraying onto the bathroom roof and wall.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    No problems and left happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms at bit tired

    Staff were amazing Comfortable beds Loved the hotel in general.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.9
    a very nice place.convenient and safe most of the things were available and the food was super nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ironing material was not there, and the bar fridge too. we expected to have such material in our room.

    nice room service

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    4.2
    A small oasis in a nightmare town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinner menu limited. After 3 evenings, you tasted it all.Quality is good though.

    A small oasis in a nightmare town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    7.5
    friendly and helpful staff in a slightly tacky surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entertainment area is fraiyng a bit on the edges and the shuttle service was not reliable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    How it obtained four stars beats me. Hotel looked worn out and dated.

    Staff were very accommodating and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    8.8
    Engaging staff especially at reception very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hard bed

    Engaging staff especially at reception very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent service, great location you do not need to have a car and its good accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have a bar fridge and snacks in the room.

    Receiving help immediately after request. Great service from all department.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    5.4
    Bed very comfy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water Coffer was not good

    Bed very comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.5
    The Hotel is situated in a quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no aircon in room 221. Hot water takes long to come out. The lift was not working efficiently.

    The Hotel is situated in a quiet area. Breakfast has a fair variety. The staff is friendly and ready to assist.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.2
    Over the last forty years I have stayed about 25 times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was limited per day

    Over the last forty years I have stayed about 25 times. Hotel always comfortable, service and excellent and the tradition maintained

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.3
    Christmas lunch was excellent,good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There does not seem to be good communication between departments,we had a payment dispute that took a while to sort out,that put a damper on our stay there

    Christmas lunch was excellent,good value for money.The hotel staff were very helpful,and the place was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    7.1
    Our daughter was graduating at nearby Wits University.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. No Fridge in our room yet the money paid is too much. It's overpriced. Limited T.v Channels. Carpet old. 2. The staff members were generally nice except one old man at the Dinning Hall who was rude to me. I reported him and it was sorted out with the Manager who apologized.

    Our daughter was graduating at nearby Wits University. The location was very good and we liked that it was in a quite place. Minimum traffic and streets clear of criminals.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    7.1
    Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shutle doenst work. Shutle should be free to the guests to enable them to visit sourounding areas o the hotel as some hotels do namely: southernsun, etc. This is a good example. The said shutle from the hotel is to expensive, i tried to catch and i couldnt afford and i had to call taxi from the parkstation

    Hospitality

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    5.8
    Conference faciltiy on site.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Aircon does not get cold. Towels need replacing. No bath mat for showering in the bath. Could not open any windows. Old and not up to what you would expect elsewhere. Only found out afterwards they have better rooms!!

    Conference faciltiy on site.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.1
    As this was a business trip, it was a convenient and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although a nice hotel, it was fairly characterless and I feel a bit expensive for what it was offering.

    As this was a business trip, it was a convenient and comfortable stay. Breakfast was good and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.7
    The hotel grounds are beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It looks like it could do with a good clean!!!! Carpets were a bit grubby and dirty! Air con did not work in our room, it was very uncomfortable!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The hotel grounds are beautiful! An older hotel, which is great! Love it! Staff VERY FRIENDLY!!!!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    7.9
    I was put in room 72, an excellent room, however it is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was put in room 72, an excellent room, however it is located below the reception area which has a wooden floor, and through the whole night I was woken due to the noise of somebody moving around above...

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    5.0
    The hotel is well-situated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    As returning corporate guest, was quoted rack rate when enquired as to booking. Check-in and -out takes too long. Staff speaking to each other in own language, which guests do not understand, while assisting them. Room service ... food is not of good quality, takes too long to be delivered. Barely lukewarm when it's delivered.

    The hotel is well-situated. The porters are always helpful and friendly.

There are also 50 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: