Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunward Park Guesthouse & Conference Center 4 stars

242 Kingfisher Avenue, Sunward Park, 1459 Boksburg, South Africa

#7 of 16 B&Bs and Inns in Boksburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 60 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and helpful in many ways .
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a problem about my room door which did not want to open . Now and again I had to ask them to come and open for me. They told me that the door key is having a problem which they knew about for sometimes. They said it will be fixed the following day which did not happen until I vacate

    The staff was very friendly and helpful in many ways . The room was clean with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    The one thing that make me go back to Sunward Park guest...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The one thing that make me go back to Sunward Park guest house, is the friendly and helpful staff. The professional way in how the treat their guest from the time you arrive until you depart. The comfort of the rooms. definitely a place that i will recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel with a few minor issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The lighting in the room was extremely poor. The shower was basically unusable as the distribution of water in the hotel meant that the hot water scalded you if someone else opened a cold water tap. Therefore we resorted to using the bath. There was no bar fridge or room telephone - which meant you could not have any room service.

    The room was spacious with a large comfortable bed. Plenty of cupboard space and his/hers wash basins in the bath room and a large bath. Breakfasts were good and the staff in the kitchen were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Expectations Exceeded.
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are friendly and welcoming. Facilities are clean, well kept and quiet. Manager was very accommodating to my requests. Will definitely stay here when travelling to Johannesburg again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.3
    Neat well furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very cold and unfriendly, they do not even offer guestsbany greeting. I felt completely unwelcome. Will never stay there again nor recommend it to any one I care about!!

    Neat well furnished. Quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is secure and has all the amenities you need. Rooms are spacious and clean.

    A most enjoyable stay. Very friendly staff and nice sized rooms. Breakfast was great and there was plenty of parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    I had a nice stay and would stay there again if I was in the area again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Employees can be better informed how to check in a customer and inform the customer CORRECT WiFi details and information on where the breakfast room is and the security code of the gate.

    Nice room, only a little noisy during the early morning as my room was situated on the road side.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt like a swim in the pool, but, it was not too inviting with a dead bird and other leaf matter that needed cleaning out. This was over the first two days we were there.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Safe atmosphere. Good breakfasts. Handy location for us, as were visiting friends in the area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Best guesthouse I stayed at in the world with top staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything save for the telecomms reception that were poor in certain section of room...moving to other side of room we had ckear reception.

    Friendliest and most helpful staff after travelling around the world and beautiful, clean, spacious rooms with all amenities we needed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    The overall warm feeling within the guest house and outside.
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Weavers
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall warm feeling within the guest house and outside. The friendliness of the staff and the warm welcome. Our wedding photos was taken at the guest house on the 9th of Sept 2016 and it is absolutely gorgeous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    You choose your breakfast.The room was spotlessly clean.The staff warm and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay and will definitely book there in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed my stay and will definitely book there in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    it was great
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    non

    neatness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    The fascility actual looks like the preview which is a first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misunderstanding of rooms capacity

    The fascility actual looks like the preview which is a first.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    My favourite guesthouse on the East Rand!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent guesthouse, close to restaurants and the airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly

    The place was peaceful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.0
    Our Company will not use Sunward Park Guesthouse & Conference Center again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was late with breakfast one morning and I could not have breakfast before leaving for my meetings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    dstv in room didn't work
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 1 night

    dstv in room didn't work

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfort and convinience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are always comfortable and I can come in at anytime without a fuss.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Staff were Friendly and welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi was a little slow

    Staff were Friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed the breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beautiful room 22

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Entrance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Excellent on all grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome linen!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    easy access, good value. will tell others about this. happy customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good value. Happy people make it a nice place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.3
    The mattress not very nice, keeps sinking in in the middle
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress not very nice, keeps sinking in in the middle

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Awesome service in the middle of the night! Thank you so much guys.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Top service, after being left alone by another hotel these guys saved us en let us in at 2:00 in the morning. Outstanding staff and service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    Luxurious accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was more than I expected. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    7.5
    No hot water in the morning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    7.5
    enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    check out time

    comfortable rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Home away from home
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, smiling faces. Get away feeling. Lovely venue.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent accomodation.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough milk at coffee sation.

    Executive suite is nice and spacious. Proximity close to restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.1
    There was plenty to like about this guesthouse: clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Both the booking advert and the in-room guide say all rooms have safes. But they don't, which is not good!

    There was plenty to like about this guesthouse: clean and comfortable; staff friendly and helpful; beautiful garden. A good enough location if you need to be that side of Jo'burg. Good value overall.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    the whole experience at Sunward Guest House was excellent,I...
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    the whole experience at Sunward Guest House was excellent,I would find it hard to find much fault from the management down. We were made to feel like family and nothing was too much trouble from start to finish in our 16 day stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.2
    very well maintained & nice vibe in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi sometimes goes missing.

    very well maintained & nice vibe in the room. Facilities & open space is very nice. Lot of area to chill & relax.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    5.8
    Room 3 gets all the noise from the kitchen early morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room 3 gets all the noise from the kitchen early morning. Also advertised a family room but we got a stretcher for my son to sleep on, for a 4 star establishment that is not acceptable!!! Also didn't have a remote for us for the gate, so we had to find a staff member everytime we wanted to go out.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    6.7
    The lady who showed me where my room was, was very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not get orientated on how I should open the door and when i asked that white man he was not so nice, i explained to him if i were told i wouldn't need to speak to hi. Also I informed them on arrival that I will be back late as I was attending a family cremation, they never gave me a remote to open the gate, I had to buzz so many times and waited for someone to open for me for a long time. Knowing SA is not so safe I was very scared being a female driving alone. The lady who eventually opened told me she was alone

    The lady who showed me where my room was, was very pleasant. The breakfast was good and the room was also clean

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    10
    Breakfast is perfect and you can choose among many options.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Doors could be a bit more insulated against noise

    Breakfast is perfect and you can choose among many options. Very nice rooms with full equipement. Beautiful garden. Good location next to a shopping mall

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    9.6
    Comfy bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No plug so I couldnt use the bath

    Comfy bed Beautiful decor and ambience Loads of cupboard space Full DSTV

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    7.5
    No tea or coffee facility in room
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee facility in room

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    8.8
    Great breakfast.
    • Couple

    No coffee/tea facility in the room.

    Great breakfast. Comfortable clean room. very spacious shower.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    10
    Nice clean bedroom and good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice clean bedroom and good food

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    9.2
    24 hour service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    24 hour service. Facilities. PRice

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    8.3
    I would recommend to other guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location

    I would recommend to other guests

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    I liked the comfortable bed and the breakfast was five star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy neighbor , I could here the TV next door I stayed in room 21.

    I liked the comfortable bed and the breakfast was five star quality!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Nice people and comfortable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice people and comfortable place.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    The strands of the places I'd very good
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The strands of the places I'd very good

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    10
    Beautiful appointed and well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful appointed and well run.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Sunward Park Guesthouse & Conference Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: