Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse 4 stars

9 Barkly Road, Sea Point, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#186 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 103 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot as the temperature increases and with no windows for natural ventilation one was forced to use the table fan provided, however there was no easily accessible electric point to use with the fan. In addition no iron was provided. This was expected just like the hand dryer that was provided. In addition the room was not as reasonably priced as shown online because of unexpected extras like community tax and WiFi charges. I believe this should have been declared online so that a proper comparison can be made.

    The staff were very helpful and always willing to led a hand. They were always smiling and very personable. Had information at hand to give their clients. They were very knowledgeable about the area. The quality of the breakfast was very good and we all enjoyed it and often it was personalised. They made you welcomed. The location of the property is nice and off the busy road but still accessible to the transport network and above all very safe. The room was cleaned every day and housekeeping made sure that as a client, I was made comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially given a room with slatted bathroom doors.... I didn’t like this at all. I asked to change rooms and they agreed. I don’t believe toilet doors should be slatted but rather a solid door

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small - could not open 2 suitcases at the same time Had superior room with private balcony. Sunchairs did not work.

    Breakfast was perfect Staff very friendly Guesthouse furnished individually, cosy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms look like they have recently been redone, but everything seems to have been done bearing costs in mind. The plugs wriggle and like in our case my phone stopped charging since the plugs don't fit securely. The bathroom fixtures were slightly loose and to fit onto the toilet you have to wedge next to the bathroom fixture. Everything was still acceptable at this stage, but I am not sure for how long.

    Everything was decent and comfortable. Relatively simple, but good and very clean. There was no mention beforehand that Wifi, TV, warm breakfast etc are all at an extra cost. Didn't mind that, but it would have been good to know. Very unusual to have to pay for Wifi these days!? Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were good. Location was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we arrived late for check in 2300 h, we had to call someone to check us in and come to the Guest House. No one working there was able to give us any travel tips, or whats happening in the area. Got lots of helpful tips from other guests who were there.

    Great breakfast, even though it was 1 common shared table. The ladies in the kitchen were always smiling and gave good service! Unfortunately to book day trips, thats something you would have to do on your own by internet, preferably before you arrive as many attractions are booked full, far in advance (Robbens Island).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we're not too keen on the large breakfast table shared with all guests as you must get up to stretch over someone to get the butter/jam/milk, etc, or constantly call to the far end of the table for items to be passed. Small 2-4 seaters would be a big improvement.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little parking available on the narrow street. The Wifi is charged additionally. The breakfast was disorganized and not very well presented. The breakfast table (only one longish table) was overlaid and produce not very visible to all guests and consequently guests had to walk around the table and disturb other guests reaching for bread, butter etc. There were no juices or water. Hot breakfast orders were not taken by the staff but it was assumed that everyone wanted the same. The cottage was well equipped but for the lack of drinking and wine glasses (only one of each).

    The cottage was pretty, well-kept and colonal. The bedroom was lovely, clean and comfortable and accommodation well situated for shopping and the Waterfront.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints. It was a great experience!

    I really enjoyed my stay at Sweet Berries Guesthouse. There were a lot of pros- I loved the view of the ocean, great staff (Tait & Bridget #2 were very kind and helpful), beautiful decor and comfortable space to relax. It was also very close to the hop-on hop-off bus route which made sightseeing very easy. I would stay here again if I ever visit Cape Town in the future.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at the breakfast could have been better; do not have your eggs poached (unless you thoroughly enjoy vinegar). Note that wifi costs 40R extra.

    Great interior decoration, jaccuzi, super super comfortable bed, helpful staff (especially the guy that let us in). Extensive breakfast. Nice bathroom with large shower. Walk-in closet!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was all alone in the house across the guest house. I had problems with the lights one night but there was no staff present to address that

    The room and washroom were very clean. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been a little less grumpy. It felt a bit like they thought they were doing me a favour. And, I was looking forward to staying in the guesthouse with the rooftop hot tub...instead I was plonked into the holiday flats across the road without being asked how I felt about it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff rummage through personal belongings and steal,thinking there entitled to your belongings,keep your bags locked

    management were professional and willing to help

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will skip the checking in part. Nearly suffocated from a room with no window and was supposedly an upgrade, it was extremely hot and you're expected to survive only on the fan with no fresh air whatsoever, no watdrobe for clothes. The empty pkts of some toilettries which I think were left by previous guests, by the time we left they were still there. All breakfast items cramped on the same table you sitting in, ,no space to move...didn't work for me..If you ask something from the lady host, she's so quick to get all defensive we decided to keep quiet. Maybe I just have a different version of what is expected of a 4 star establishment.

    Bathroom looks like still new and I liked the distant seaview

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They need to make sure kitchen is fully equipped and utensils and coffee machine cleaned prior to arrival

    Lovely house and central location - very secure

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, No free wifi, not great value for money. Location was not great, staff were not overly helpful or chatty.

    Room facilities were as expected and to a good standard

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't manage to turn on TV but I was so tired that I didn't try struggling with it.

    I had an amazing stay at the Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse. Breakfast was fresh and healthy, it is situated at a walking distance from the ocean and a bus stop is right in front. I highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Its uneventful place .... if you have agirl frind . U will enjoy ...the house is nice and simply ... Memory was super she helps yu with everything yu need and thanks to Moses,Paula ,linnet for nice breakfasti will definetely come back

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are massive and sleeps like a dream. Breakfast variety is amazing. with cold meats, cheese, everyday a different special treat, and then eggs, with veggies and bacon or sausages, freshly squeezed orange juice (everyday a freshly squeezed). Staff is super friendly, fun and always willing to help, even in times of need. There was a day I needed help, and was not even a guest there and they helped out incredibly. Thank you, Sweet Group

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Person waiting for us for check inn complained that we where late and he had to wait. Out of our control unfortunately. Our room was on the ground floor and very noisy as all guest traffic and breakfast room right outside the door. Also had a group who decided to jacuzzi at 2:30 am, so no chance of sleeping until they where done partying! So if you lucky, could be great, if not, no one on site to do noise control..

    Room was well fitted

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing, the terrace on top with the ocean views, and the attention to detail

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Electricity in our room was out twice in our short stay. I would recommend to advise the client that dstv is an extra cost before they arrive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Decor amazing. Such an African feel, with lots of interesting artwork. Peaceful location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AIRCON WOULD BE NICE IN ALL THE ROOMS, AS WE HAD AIRCON IN OLIVE SWEET

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place to stay. Very nice apartment . Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DSTV bouquet is not worth watching, very poor choices.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very close. So at times I felt as if I did not have total privacy

    Great service , lovely view and comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    you always have to climb up the hill to get there by foot

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Safe location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi slow

    Location, helpful staff, breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv, no aircon, no parking, no coffee in room, no one to assist, not accessable - steep stairs

    View

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service

    I enjoyed every minute of my stay and will not doubt to come again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact that the staff wanted to charge for wifi

    The location and availability of wifi

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no free wifi

    good breakfast and nice jacuzzi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I could have got a lot more for what it cost to stay here. No aircon, pokey bathroom, pokey room in a shared house. I didn't realise I was not getting something worthwhile for R1300 a night when I booked.

    The bed was comfy, got some good sleep. The shower was nice.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I should have checked the location - it was slightly farther away from the sea front than I would have liked but I assumed everywhere in Sea Point was basically sea front, so my own fault! But if you're after a 'sea front' holiday, go a little closer to the sea front. Sounds obvious... great location for drivers, and for walking to local restaurants etc.

    Moses was delightful! What a helpful chap and always friendly and easy going.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No tea / coffee in rooms Door to bathroom not a solid door Breakfast food on a common table, don't mind sitting at a common table but it is difficult to access the food. It would be better if the food was laid out on a separate table

    Friendly Staff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not as it is shown in the pictures! Everything is an add on. Don't be fooled nothing is free. Lots of add on. I guess that is just Cape Town

    Nice large room and lots of space

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The service was awesome! From the beginning till the end, everything was perfect!

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The outdoor sunning terrace and shower was a bonus!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful place and excellent staff!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Please equip the roms with aircontioners

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a fabulous time at sweet ocean - the rooms were great - the staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were superb

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very authentic place with a nice atmosphere and great people! Definitely a place to come back to :-)

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: