Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sweet Orange Guest House 3 stars

1 Bellevue Road, Sea Point, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#201 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 92 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must pay for xtras like Wifi and DSTV. Sitting with other guests round a table. The food especially theceggs and bacon were bad and there were no mire cheese left and the rolls were hard and knives could not cut through rolls. There were no optoin other than rolls. No bread avaliable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast can be improved it was very limited I didn't like the way we were treated when checking out. I felt we could have been at least offered a place to shower . we were there to run and the race

    the room was comfortable spacious and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely wasn't what we expected. We booked a room in a guesthouse, instead we got a room on a separate house a block away. Wifi was payed separately and they charged us full rate but only could use it in the main house. We left a day earlier. Best decision ever.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to sit and wait for check in as the previous people had overstayed but the owners were very apologetic and of course not their fault. We just had a bit of time on the terrace in the sun whilst they cleaned so all good.

    Lovely guest house a short walk from the main street. We stayed in the 'Cottage' around the corner which was a lovely little apartment with small terrace. It was just perfect for our needs and a great location to explore. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the area by the pool was a great place to have breakfast in the morning. We only stayed one night otherwise we might have made use of it to chill out and cool off but not big enough for a swim. All in all just what we needed. :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy in the mornings when the staff arrive, wooden flooring tends to make it worse so not great if you plan on sleeping in.

    Location is fantastic, comfy bed and easy check-in process. Had my clothes pressed and returned in no time at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wooden floors,the noisy staff,the poor breakfast,the fact that they say price for room include breakfast on the add when you get there you have to pay,you must also pay for dstv but ad says its free

    Nothing it was horrible lots of noise and waited long to be checked in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ticked free off street parking, but was told I had to pay when I arrived Was shown a nice room initially but was lead to a not as nice one above the kitchen, said next time they'd give me another.

    The staff who worked there where very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not happy at all as there was no one to meet me on arrival. I'm a lady on my own, in Capetown for the first time. I had to wait 45mins before anyone checked me in. Had no attendance from staff thru out... Wasn't happy at all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'cottage' was apart from the house (a street away) and was dirty, i.e. the bed linen had not been changed, floor not washed, the lid of the kitchen rubbish bin was soiled, the so called outside where one could have a barbecue was filthy and full of cockroaches!!!!! Tea bags and sugar were loose. Need I say more. The staff knew we were not happy and were surly. The door did not have a latch inside, i.e. could be opened from the outside by staff at any time. Breakfast was most certainly not up to the wonderful reviews we read of.

    The bed was reasonably comfortable but upon arrival we had to point out that the linen had not been changed and was dirty. Clean linen was put on but was not ironed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    just better pillows

    great staff and location , rooms very roomy with great breakfast- use of the fridge to store some meals and freeze bidons for cycling was a bonus will stay again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was way to small, bathroom door couldn't open completely. Taps in bathroom were broken. Room was dusty. Breakfast was only served from 8 am, which means I already left for the day, with no alternative arrangement possible. Very poor. Chips is room was three times the price it would be in any other shop.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we arrived at night and went to the adress we had booked. No one opened. standind on the street in cape town at one o clock at night with our baby I had to phone them with my German cell phone (which will cost a fortune) to find out that they are expecting us at a different adress a few streets further which no one ever told us

    the house is very nice, as the room is too. the breakfast was very nice and the staff as well. we were allowed to use the fridge and the kitchen to prepare baby food. perfect for us. special thank to Melody

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay for something as basic as wifi in this day and age is cheapskate - like paying for a toilet :-)

    Cleanliness, comfort, value and location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable room. Friendly, thoughtful and helpful staff - Norene and Nwabisa were lovely. Super breakfast. Storage of bikes and bike boxes was managed for us with no fuss. Excellent access to buses.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place, very kind staff, safe area, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything (clean, comfortable, friendly, really good breakfast, location is good)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 single beds made 1 bed plain yoghurt with a fruit salad

    area quite safe

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. We had a car and was even easy find a parking around (free parking)

    breakfast was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not get the invoice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No toast available for the cooked breakfast.

    Comfortable with a good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise in the guest house, I could hear everything when I was sleeping as there is wooden floors. It was not a peaceful sleep

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been free internet

    The bacon was crispy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was varied and excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower floor basin was cracked

    Bed was extra comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegan options were missing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a point of improvement, the location needs secured parking.

    Close to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was above the kitchen so was a little noisy

    The room was really big as was the bed. Very comfy and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room opened up right to the central space of the house so it hindered our privacy.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC. Wifi password not provided.

    I liked our bed, shower was really Nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Extremely Friendly Staff. Exceptional Views

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal breakfast table

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful outdoors breakfast,and lovely decoration.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wi-fi No wash cloths

    Good location, close to v&a

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paid wifi, not that we needed it but its customary at all hotels&b&bs

    The friendly staff and the quiet surroundings

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, we stayed in the 'cottage', which turned out to be stuck in at the back on another property down the road. No secure parking, street parking only (if you could find a spot). We felt mislead. Through our extensive trip around the Cape and South Africa in general, this was the only sour lemon.

    The staff at the main property. The main house is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was rather too small as compared to other rooms in the same lodge.

    I liked the place's proximity to Sea Point Main Road. All restaurants were within walking distance

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Besides there should have been a kettle in the room, the passage definitely needs carpeting, as every step on the wooden floor sounded like elephants clumping down the passage at night. We also missed having a window. There was an outside door but that needed to be closed.

    The place is clean but old. Maybe a backpacker's luxury but we weren't overly impressed.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have to pay for anything additional ie DSTV etc. Not sound proof

    Close to Sea point business. Staff very friendly. Charming old guest house.Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    My room wasn't ready when I arrived, I was repeatidly told it Will be and I have to wait, and they waiting on other linen, I left, came back and room still wasn't ready, more waiting, by this time I'm already late for my event, because I stayed for business purposes, the room was eventually ready, room smelled likely wet mold,there was no hot water, it took ages to get hot. By this time I gave up already.

    I liked nothing.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked the colourful layout of the guesthouse, it makes one feel welcome and at home. The facilities were nice and clean, with friendly staff to cater for your needs.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Better Coffee & Tea facilities Wifi is an extra cost but is very slow

    Very good staff nothing is to much trouble at anytime.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfast table is too small

    The area

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.. All good

    Guest house was quirky while still being comfortable. Breakfast fantastic out in the garden next to plung pool with birdsong.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Cottage. Not at pool or wifi

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't enjoy the noisy floor boards

    The room was very clean and I enjoyed the bed

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! And we got an upgrade!

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice friendly service. Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really liked the professionalism of Bridget and Moses

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bathroom was only sepatated by a small curton and a glass wall. on the ceiling it was open - not very private.

    staff

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: