Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sylvan Grove Guest House 4 stars

49 Sylvan Grove, 4319 Durban, South Africa

#45 of 152 B&Bs and Inns in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 68 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Very nice stay and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager of the location has been friendly all the time and very helpful. In particular I've forgot a book in the room and she provided to ship it for me at my home address. I'm really thankful for that Amanda. Overall the location is nice, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable guest house close to Gateway Busamed hospital.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to upgrade TV to full DSTV sevice. Limited channels excludes all the afrikaans,discovery and history channels.

    The proximity of the property to Gateway private hospital makes it an affordable overnight place when you have somebody in hospital

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Water main in the street broke, therefore no water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water main in the street broke, therefore no water. Not Sylvan Grove’s problem, but it was still an inconvenience. The manager kindly gave us bottled water in the morning as well as a bucket to take water from the pool in order to flush the toilet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    An amazing experience where the hosts are always super friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was under the impression that there would be kitchen facilities in the room and was disappointed to find out otherwise. Finally, whilst it may seem like the property is walking distance from the beach it really isn’t. The walk takes about 15 minutes and roads do not have sidewalks.

    Sylvan Grove is a lovely BnB to stay at for a few nights in uMhlanga. The swimming pool is very convenient and consistently warm. The bedroom we stayed in had a huge double bed which far exceeded expectations. As for extras, the ground coffee included in our room every morning was a lovely touch which added local flair to the experience. Breakfast is cooked every morning and they even catered for vegetarian options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When searching online I stated 2 adults but when the booking was done it only confirmed for one use. Therefore had to pay extra for my partner to tag along. It was not clear to me that the prices advertised was for an individual and not per room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast, fresh fruit salad, nice crisp table linen. Although small, comfortable room, with fan, aircon, microwave, plates and cutlery, fridge with honesty bar, complementary tea and coffee. Again small but spotless bathroom. Nice distant sea view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location, affordable, fantastic one to one attention.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wi-Fi was sometimes ok, but can definitely be improved. Since i was there for work reasons mostly it was an important asset for me.

    Amanda, the manager was totally amazing and very helpful in all respects, very relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Excellent, peaceful, luxurious but homely guest house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was spacious, Amanda the manager was super friendly and helpful , the breakfast was great, so is the wifi, I had an excellent time at the property and would absolutely book here again. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    9.6
    Good position for sea front and airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good position, a short drive to the sea front. The room was very comfortable with good facilities. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Easy access to Durban airport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Home from home on the Ridge...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and very friendly and helpful staff. Close to great shopping and beautiful beaches. Loved the added luxury of locally grown coffee for my morning brew!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    The superb choice for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was very comfortable, well equipped, and the matress was perfect. Thanks for letting us feel so welcome and for your friendly service! We'll will be back! Thanks

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.3
    Ideal location for our visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clicking noise from electric fence. Thought initially it was a dripping down pipe from The big thunderstorm, but on closer inspection realised was the current pulsing. Guess though in the interests of safety it's necessary.

    Ideally located for our brief visit to the Sharks board and airport. Had a early departure and kindly made us a packed breakfast for the road. Also security guard was helpful late at nite rebooting the router for wifi access after a massive electric storm downed the connection

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    great.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast.the eggs and bacon not nice at all.

    the warmth of the place and the owner is very sweet,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The welcome, well managed and great Breafast choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable and great views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Accomodating staff, lovely room, great location and plenty...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accomodating staff, lovely room, great location and plenty for me to eat at breakfast (vegan)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Amanda went the extra bit for us and we are very greatful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving

    Amanda went the extra bit for us and we are very greatful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amanda and her staff are exceptional. Really very friendly and they go all the way! Beautiful location and lovely rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location and very clean could do with a bit of an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and very clean could do with a bit of an update though

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location for a vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location and friendly service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean. Well maintained.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Great short stay. Cant fault.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much wrong. Perhaps needs a make over in my room.

    Location. Breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Excellent, coudn`t be beter. Well done, keep going for gold, Amanda you very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Every thing was absolutely excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    The staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Very comfortable beds and Quiet location with amazing views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic in every way
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic in every way

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Cute place, nice location, good taken care of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine, nothing to complain about!

    Very nice manager, very comfortable room, nice view, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff failures to deliver on promises made

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    great value fir money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    grouting in shower needs mould treatment

    helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Good location and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Amanda the hostess was extremely accommodating at all times

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Awesome !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really loved it !! - close proximity to everything and great staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEDBUGS!! I am still itching. Ugly bitemarks on my back.

    Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Owner/manager very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner/manager very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room ia a bit small. No study desk in the room

    The staff is friendly. Room was tidy. Secure parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent B&B for stop-over near airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great welcome and introduction to property and room. lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.5
    well established and well organised Guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good reception, good location for us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.8
    Very nice stay for the price!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor internet connection.

    I loved the friendly staff, the very delicious and full breakfast and the nice surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    I loved everything, from nice big and clean room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    I loved everything, from nice big and clean room, comfortable bed, great location, very good breakfast but most importantly amazing host and staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.3
    Lovely, clean, comfortable family room that has two bedrooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely, clean, comfortable family room that has two bedrooms which can sleep four adults. We had a little patio that overlooks a lovely pool area. Great shampoo & conditioner & two-ply loo paper. Honesty-bar & snack fridge and a microwave. DSTV showing movies and sports channels. Off road parking (with a security guard at night).

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    9.2
    Stayed for only one night but was kindly directed to best...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately, from about 7pm until possibly an hour and a half on, staff in the back of the property were having very loud conversations which was a bit disturbing for the peaceful setting of this guesthouse.

    Stayed for only one night but was kindly directed to best places to eat and efficiently had the facilities in the room pointed out to me. Breakfast was delicious and nicely presented. Amanda was very kind and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.6
    We stayed 4 nights to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed 4 nights to explore the area. Our room was at the first floor and we spent quite some time at the balcony enjoying the ocean view. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was brilliant with lots of freshly made choices. Management and staff were incredibly nice and helpful. We received lots of recommendations for restaurants and things to do - even for our next stop at St. Lucia. We felt very save and would definitely stay again!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    5.0
    Clean, comfortable accommodation, that is 7 mins away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The parking is a bit crowded also the gate closes quite quickly. The sign outside the establishment could be a bit bigger so that upon arriving you can make it out from the surrounding houses around it. Being summer there were a lot of bugs and were given a corner gorund floor room with no interleading door so were caused some inconvenience walking through the rain. No umbrellas were provided.

    Clean, comfortable accommodation, that is 7 mins away from Gateway Shopping Centre and 10 mins away from Umhlanga's main beach. The breakfast offering is quite large and there was always ample soap and clean towels. It was quiet and the staff were always friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    9.6
    Bedroom was beautiful, completed with sea view and balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Longer stay.

    Bedroom was beautiful, completed with sea view and balcony. Very convenient for the airport, beach and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Lovely choice for breakfast and very tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Lovely choice for breakfast and very tasty. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and welcoming and the french toast was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly and welcoming and the french toast was so delicious :) Best I ever had :)

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.3
    Swimming pool was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was ok, but lacked something special

    Swimming pool was great

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable and spacious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable and spacious

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    Handy for a one night stop with easy access to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Handy for a one night stop with easy access to airport. Close to local bars and restaurant s.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    We felt right at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We felt right at home. Will certainly be staying again.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Host was friendly
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Host was friendly Breakfast excellent Rooms clean everything req from a room was available bar fridge with necessities

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Privacy.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: