Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thanda Safari 5 stars

D242 Road, Bayala,, 3915 Hluhluwe, South Africa

#7 of 26 hotels in Hluhluwe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 24 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Ease of access to location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tented Camp
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant lacked ambience; Meals basic; No gas heater in tent; Staff loud - could be heard in tent

    Ease of access to location; Informative Game ranger & Tracker; Affable staff; Comfortable tents

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    A great Bush retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Tent with Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My jacuzzi did not work but all else was perfect. They must make it full board thou

    It was perfect, the Bona, the Bush tents were amazingly comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Luxury tent was stunning with its private deck and plunge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tent with Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for late check out to 12. Told ok but we had to vacate the room and sit in the common area - although there were only two other people in the camp and no new guests checking in. Rather mean given the 12000 we had paid for one night.

    Luxury tent was stunning with its private deck and plunge pool, and supper in private boma (the extra R800), bed incredibly comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Everything was perfect at Thanda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tented Camp
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect at Thanda. The game drives were amazing. We were able to see 4 out of the big five, and other animals like giraffes and cheetahs. Enjoyed the pool and stargazing with my friends around the bonfire at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    An incredible bush experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tent with Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The camp was a little tired but they are closing for 11 days in April to do the needed upkeep. I am sure it will be back up to the 5 star standard as all the facilities are great!

    The guide, Dumi, was amazing. We have done many safaris and never had sightings like we had with him. The tents make it much more a bush experience although they are very luxurious! We would definitely return and recommend it to our friends.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    6.7
    not value for money at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tented Camp
    • Stayed 2 nights

    for a 5 star lodge I though the food including breakfast was really very poor. the second day it did get better, the selection was poor and quality not good at all. coffee was also very bad resorted to drinking tea. for the price I expected the facilities to be in far better condition, chair on the tent deck was broken, cushions worn through and faded, poor water off colour. I recently went to another 5 star lodge in another area which was cheaper and quality and value for money exceptional. I felt the game driver was only focused on finding the big 5 animals and didn't share information or stories about the reserve, the birds and plants. again previous drivers were far more informative. he spent more time talking to his tracker then us. no double beds only twins

    lovely private game reserve with limited number of game vehicles driving around the reserve. game sightings were excellent and close. facilities and tents were lovely, private and spacious

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Most fantastic night in the bush! Can't wait to come back😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tented Camp
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We saw all 5 of the big 5 on our first game drive - such a magical experience! The bush dinner was also so special😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tented Camp
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To focus more on the cleaning of towels - have marks

    Awesome staff and accommodation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    All of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tented Camp
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it.Amazing place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Staff was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tent with Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was wonderful! Experience of a lifetime

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    9.2
    We stayed in the Jubela tent with a plunge pool on the deck...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the Jubela tent with a plunge pool on the deck - wonderful. Our driver, Arlo, and guide, Mdibe, were very knowledgable and we saw lots of wonderful animals.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    10
    Everything, really
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only scared to meet a leopard when walking back to our tent at night! :)

    Everything, really But especially the safari guides, the 2 private games per day, the food (we even had kudu for dinner), the rooms, being alone in the wild, etc

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    9.2
    Location, great driver/ tour guide Musi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food can be slightly improved for a 5 star private reserve.

    Location, great driver/ tour guide Musi! Nice personal.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    10
    We liked everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We liked everything

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    9.6
    Staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were excellent

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: