Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thanda Vista B&B 4 stars

8 Susan Street, 6600 Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

#34 of 55 B&Bs and Inns in Plettenberg Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 34 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    The owners J.P. and Petro are lovely friendly hosts and let you know all about the local attractions. The rooms are spotless and the bathrooms very nice. The Breakfasts are top class and would be hard to beat anywhere else. The views whilst you are having breakfast are super and even better from the room top patio area. All in all we spent 3 lovely days at Thanda Vista and would recommend it to anyone who visits Plettenburg.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host is very friendly and have a lot of information about the tourist places in the city. The breakfast experience was wonderful. It's the best B & B you can find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked every thing!

    Very professional. Very thoughtful touches to make one feel at home. Very kind farewell gift. Lovely comfortable bed and lovely pillows.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What a great stay at Thanda Vista! Stayed here during December 2016 and loved it. Extremely great breakfast, close to the beach and JP and his wife were very informative about local attractions in the area as well as which restaurants were the best. Will definitely return in 2017.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I will recommend this place any time to friends and family

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very well equipped but slightly small.

    Very attentive and informative hosts.Outstanding breakfast and views from dining area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location on edge of town - but not a problem as local taxi service was inexpensive and prompt

    Clean and comfortable - and very helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners JP and Petrol were lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent welcome by JP providing information on what to see and dining options.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are very pokey for the high rate we paid. We travel all year round all over the world and Thanda Vista rates very low, if not the lowest, on our list of value for money. Sorry!

    The cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The property was extremely clean and very comfortable. Amazing breakfasts! Wow. The owners also gave us so much information on where to go, where to eat etc., they also made reservations for us. Extremely kind helpful people.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our host, JP, was amazing, informative, attentive, everything had been thought of, even the weather forecast at breakfast! Can't fault this accommodation we highly recommend a stay there.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are a bit noisy but no problem at all.

    The owners do everything they can to make you feel welcome and enjoy your stay! They give you many good tips to do in the area. Plettenberg bay is a place you should spend at least two or three days. WiFi is fast ! And the view is absolutely fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't fault it!

    Location,cleanliness, breakfast, rooms all excellent. Owners really helpful as regards helping us make bookings for places we wanted to go and even gave us a printed weather forecast each day! Quiet and peaceful too.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I really liked everything

    The staff, that I think is the owner was very kind and eager all the time to help us in everything. He really wanted to make us feel like home

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hospitality of JP(owner) who is very informative, his wife & staff made the stay very pleasant, well deserving of its 4 star rating I'd definitely go back again,bringing with family & friends

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The guesthouse is a bit outdated, room was quite small (smallest we stayed at in our trip).

    Delicious breakfast Made to feel welcome by really lovely hosts, who couldn't do enough for us

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Host was so friendly and welcoming. He was very knowledgeable about the area, recommending places to visit and local restaurants. Breakfast was excellent and the view from the breakfast room was amazing. Loads of lovely touches such as having a small national flag on your breakfast table, so you could spot other travellers from your home country. Recommend this guest house for all the lovely thoughtful touches and being really easy to locate as you travel along N2.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was a little worn and in need of replacement. The room was a bit small.

    Friendly staff, the breakfast was good, clean room incl towels. The loction of Thanda Vista was good. The restaurants and the beach was 5 minutes drive.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving!

    This is a difficult review to write as it is impossible to fully convey just how special this B&B is. I have not experienced this kind of attention to detail combined with such a personal level of service in any other establishment. Everything was perfect, if you try to think what would make your stay more comfortable J.P and Petro have already implemented it. The best accommodation we have stayed in during any of our visits to South Africa. Go there.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    JP was a very welcoming host and made me feel very comfortable. His suggestions of tourist attractions and restaurants to visit were top notch. A truly enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very personal service......The owner JP went out of his way to make sure we found the right restaurants and things to do during our stay!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good walk into town

    Very friendly owner Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bar or pool to sit at

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi could be stronger, had problems with the signal.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a lovely place, the owners Couldn't do enough for you. Would def stay there again

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic attention to detail

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The willingness of the owners to do everything to make our stay memorable.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Enjoyed the breakfast with the view. Many tips by the owner of things to do around Plett.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts with a great view. Impeccable room with all amenities

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bedroom was a bit small.Others had good sea view.

    Friendly and helpful hosts.Easy parking.Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Wonderfull service and great hospitallity. JP & Petro are fantastic hosts

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny room...no place or chairs to sit. This was a previous private house turned into a B&B.

    Nice staff. Super clean. Nice amenities.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lack of fresh air in the lounge.

    The warm wellcome by the owner and the breakfast at the open windows.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    friendly staff and location

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: