Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Boston Guest House 4 stars

12 Lincoln Street, 7530 Bellville, South Africa

#17 of 22 hotels in Bellville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 133 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing will definitely not go back needs a lot of work/maintenance done.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front intercom not working, nor the side gate Very run down Bad stale smell in room No hot water Light in bathroom not working TV in room not working Window in bathroom could not close

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    The stay was in a suitable and quiet place for the time I needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They waited for me to tell them what I'd like for breakfast before they started preparing. The wait for food was not long though.

    Atmosphere was warm and welcoming. Bedroom cosy and warm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Awesome
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing all was on his place neat and the aircon was working definitely bonus I would definitely go there again and recommend it to all friends and family

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Everything else was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Credit card details given at time of making booking on bkg.com - guesthouse can't do manual credit card transactions had to do an EFT and phone the guesthouse to make arrangements international call. Then breakfast paid for but not noted so they were not aware of the breakfast booked. New staff is understandable but at additional costs to the client painful!

    Everything else was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    It was really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, our name/surname was not on the list even though we called to confirm the booking the morning. Please provide the Wifi password to guests on arrival.

    The bathroom is very spacious. The TV worked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Good for overnighting if arriving late in CT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find the aircon remote but at least there was a fan as an alternative.

    Close to the airport. Comfortable bed and awesome shower. Parking on the property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't dhown around the facility. We saw a pool on the site but we saw it on the site. We weren't told where we would go for iron

    The facility

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    The Staff is friendly and the place is nice and quiere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not get other channels.Most disappointing, we shouldn't bath because of shortage of water.The Manager did not show us a friendly face on our departure.

    The Staff is friendly and the place is nice and quiere.Nect time breakfast must be included on

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    4.2
    not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the mattress was double on a king size base - hit my knee several times -very slow serves - on day 2, they were still busy cleaning room at 14.00

    not really anything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    Was not as good as I expected at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived at 3:30am booking was not logged and we were told to stay till 9am since checkout is at 9am. We were also asked to pay R795 p/d instead of the R645 per day for two days. We then refused to stay another day and book somewhere else. We went to an office also where the lady working at the lodge also sleeps there it was very uncomfortable. Our booking letter was only confirmed and delivered in the morning after we arrived. We just paid and left out of frustration.

    Place is clean and accessible

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    The vintage/antique look and the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The vintage/antique look and the garden. I also loved the bathroom we had. Generally the place was rather nice. So was the lady who received us and no one's us in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    The Boston - charming and quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I prefer more in room coffee with milk.only on portion per day. prefer other coffee. the tea bags were repacked for the room - guess its a cost save. They should have a sign in bathroom regarding the shower curtain - I messed water on the floor and sadly had to use the lovely white towels to avoid damaging the wooden flooring. I would have liked someone around early morning - like 7am when we left so that we knew what to do with keys or check out procedure.

    The staff were very busy but not sure with what on arrival so felt almost lost with regards to procedure - there was no forms to complete? The staff are friendly. The rooms are clean. Would have liked to stay for Breakfast but we left very early each morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Vintage place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water so we went down looking for someone to assist. It was really weird finding only locked doors (including the one of the Reception where the contact phone number was on a wall, in case of need..), no phone working, no bell to ring, etc, no way of contacting anyone. As place has this "vintage"flair, at night, all dark, no one to contact... it was almost like in a horror movie. Luckily, with our mobile phone, we could reach someone. However, it was an international call made on rooming, so not cheap. As they could not fix the problem, they moved us to another room with hot water working properly, but where the windows could not close fully.

    The toiletries that were not expected, the high quality of the very new bedding and towels (great!), the easy ride to the airport. The place is an old house with a very old/vintage decoration. On the first room, the bathroom was a very spacious old fashion one. The second, already renovated, quite modern.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.0
    lovely looking house but staff not very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    when we entered the property didn't like the staff lounging around using there cell phones looked very unproffesional.didn't like the bath in our room to high to step into. dirty linen and insects in the linen box in the twin room.no towels in room on arrival

    nice gardens nice dining area good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Southern Comfort in Cape Town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location for Cape Town not the best, but I was doing Business in Bellville so ideal.

    Very nice Lounge, and my Room was more like a Suit. Very nice, comfortable and Clean, with everything I needed, including the all important Wi-Fi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    The staff very friendly and willing to assist where need...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they can provide a bath hole stopper incase one uses a tab to bath. Refrigerator is too small.

    The staff very friendly and willing to assist where need arise. Room with nice view, twin beds were comfortable WiFi free on arrival, the staff gives you enough time to sort yourself before paying for accommodation, to me that is trust.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    4.6
    A very nice facility , calm but no chair and table in the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A very nice facility , calm but no chair and table in the room. You probably considered your guests as sleepers. Some of us we travel for business and/or school so we need a comfortable place. Really? the money we pay can not cover bed and breakfast? Paying extra money for breakfast is something you have to think about.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Comfort, Private, Friendly, Up Market & Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon was directly above the bed.

    I had the best room in the house! I loved the spacious balcony as i was with 2 other friends who had another room so it was good for entertaining and relaxing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    2.9
    Not clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean towels and carpet and the seat full of stains On 4 days time they did not clean the room, nor changed the towels One channel tv No electricity for 2 days (not able to charge phones, no aircon, no tv) Swimming pool not ready for use Very noisy, also during the night Broken bed Bed was very small No information on services in general ( breakfast included or not, no electricity, no internet) One night no safe parking place for our car Not able to pay our nights by card

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    6.7
    Somewhat Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Croissants? Only toast every day. Definitely not a 4-star (Lorraine's at Lincoln)! Had to request for towels and bedding to be changed. The room was not daily properly cleaned. Had to pay additionally for breakfast, even though booking was made for bed and breakfast, which did not reflect on the booking, at a 50 % discount. Marketing techniques were brilliant, (two people are currently looking and only one room is still available). The guest house is not passionate about their hospitality, nothing in the room reflected any pride (unique branding for a 4-star?), i.e. Lorraine's at Lincoln / Boston Guest House.

    If I knew the grading was not 4-star then I would have been prepared, but I prepared myself for a 4-star and therefore I was really disappointed. However, the staff tried their utmost to accommodate us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was leaking in the room and it was not the full DSTv package

    The bedding was amazing and the manager and staff were so welcoming. The room was comfortable and I would definitely go back again the place was clean and well looked after really beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.3
    A highly recommended stay over that I will definitely use again
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean under the bed and there were hairs on the bathroom floor when we first booked in.

    They bed was wonderful and the linen of the best quality. The food was excellent and overall the owners went out of their way to make our stay special.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Recommended!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    The receptionist lady was very kind and was like a real hostess! We appreciate her supportive way of communication.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and great place to unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cold milk i prefer hot

    The omelette was nicely done

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    It's was fantastic
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can remember. Everything was good.

    The room was amazing. We loved it alot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Short but sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like a double bed in the room..if it's possible.thank you

    The warm welcome from the admin staff and workers..excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, nice atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky wooden floors

    Friendly staff, nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathrooms

    Comfort of the place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Had a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is noisy, not being able to get iron in my room . That I don't like at all.

    Comfortability, accessibility privacy good hospitality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Accessibility, kindness of staff and helpfulness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Secured

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Privacy ,balcony and cleanliness and helpful staff ,Mathews

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I stayed for one day, it was a pleasant stay!! I will certainly stay at Boston Guest House again. The people were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    The best!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could sit outside with our music

    The staffs friendliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful and enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    the hospitality was good and the service was basically excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    3.8
    Poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services was bad. Furniture was in bad condition

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    2.5
    regretful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was just bad

    So Bad. Lied about the distance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    I won’t be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not allowed to have breakfast as I didn’t book it in advance .. no option to add it to my booking payment as well😡

    Good facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    No comment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guesthouse was unaware of the booking for my Client. He had to pay them upfront

    No comment

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing, comfortable and safe!! Well done to you guys!! Will definitely be back for another stay!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't experience any problems or discomfort.

    Bed was comfy, breakfast area was relaxing and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine.

    The friendly service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was little noisy other than that live the decor

    Liked the whole setup. Would definitely recommend it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.3
    The room was true value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff had no hospitality manners. I felt more like a stranger than a guest.

    The room was true value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.2
    Not so great , I was expecting more than what I saw .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture , cutlery

    Not really , the furniture is too old

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    9.2
    Its was a great place and I loved it there!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to get to the common lounge to use the wifi

    The rooms were exquisitely clean and well maintained

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    it was really a good stay ,the house's security was good, the place was quiet,workers were quiet
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed was not being done that well the kettle seemed as if it was leaking

    the staff was patient, soo patient

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.4
    Place is beautiful but the room was very small for 2 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi code should be given to guest when they arrive.

    No breakfast served. Kitchen was closed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Staff customer service
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have ur own restaurant inside quest house catering food e.g Sunday lunch

    Staff customer service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Revival renewal refreshing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think 10 is too early for check put time

    I think the photos about the site does not do the place justice. It was more then what I expected.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Bed and pillows were very comfortable,the place was clean...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were very comfortable,the place was clean and staff were very friendly and accomadating.Will defiantly be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.9
    It was fine nice relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the pool was not clean

    They need to get a restaurant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.7
    The sleeping arrangement
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to inform house keeping to clean the room

    The sleeping arrangement

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    3.8
    not a place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't clean the room for the whole week

    Only the staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.5
    I had a wonderful stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishings in the room were not up to Standard and the maintenance second grade.

    The bed was really nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    5.4
    Okay for a short stay.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a bit old and clunky. Rooms are a bit too close. Not very private. Well overpriced.

    Nice garden. Good reception. Quite relaxed staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    Quiet and tranquil .Loved it !.Perfect resting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have loved a stand alone shower(chuck the bath).The parking is a bit cramped.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    mattresses slept very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no alcohol available. no fridges in bedrooms.

    mattresses slept very comfortable. exit and entrance control good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A discount on future stay such as the previous time arrangements.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    A very good experience, we will definitely be returning to this establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For eight (8) rooms there should be 8 off road parking bays.

    Mervyn was an excellent host. Outstanding furniture. Excellent general ambiance

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.1
    its ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    please wash the showers, the tiles and shower floor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    5.4
    Staff was friendly.
    • Couple

    The fact that we got 2 single beds instead of a double bed. The dstv was off. When we left no1 thanked us for our stay

    Staff was friendly. Got a warm welcome

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    Staff members were very nice and welcoming
    • Solo traveller

    Paint smell-they were busy painting just outside the kitchen on Tuesday, the wet paint wasn't so good

    Staff members were very nice and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.6
    The room was completely clean, bed was comfy and the bath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our time spent there was too short. Would have loved to stay longer

    The room was completely clean, bed was comfy and the bath was amazing .

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    Lovely place, in a safe area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely place, in a safe area.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    8.8
    Cleanliness and the decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking.

    Cleanliness and the decor.

There are also 66 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65