Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cape Diamond Boutique Hotel 3 stars

Corner of Longmarket and Parliament Street, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#132 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A spoon if used for yoghurt the previous day still had yoghurt stains are house-keeping.

    The staff were super helpful and had a warm welcoming attitude.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think the guest before me might have smoked in my room? Other than that. Fabulously surprised with the value for money.

    Such a fabulous surprise!!! Loved loved loved the funky location, friendly staff and the rooms were really comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My shower was EXTREMELY dirty had to show the managers the "mud sort of dirt " i collected from the corners of the shower which was pretty DISGUSTING. Ate the same sore of breakfast for 5 consecutive days Carpet had a funny odor

    The room was good, Bed was very comfortable and extremely clean, Location is perfect not so far from the night life and extremely quiet when you wanna relax

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a nightmare as it wasn't explained prior to arrival.

    Rooms were clean and well-sized. I must also compliment the breakfast and the restaurant in general.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    above

    Very little. I was sent to my room which was the wrong room and was under construction. The night porter was under the influence. It was terrible. The receptionist did not talk- he shouted and it was 4 in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were rude especially the lady called Agget or something to that effect who was on reception duty on`Saturday morning. the room we were allocated had a bad odor , like wet carpet odor, room 207

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet brush. Basin water was cold, only the shower had hot water.

    Breakfast was awesome! Rooms were comfy and clean. Free unlimited WiFi was great. Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels where rather tired, which made the smallish room feel not as smart as one one would expect. The lady on reception was not very welcoming , and spent time talking with others leaving me wondering what's was going on.

    Wonderful friendly staff at breakfast room. Very central, and yet room was very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never received feedback on my request made with the booking. I phoned 3 times and was guaranteed after the third call that we would have two single beds. We ended up with a double bed. They were not able to change when we booked in and did not offer any form of compensation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were given was 101 this room and any others on each floor adjacent to the lift are to noisy due to the lift doors and people talking and waiting for the lifts especially at night.

    Situation of the hotel central and near all amenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny! Could barely fit a double bed and had no where to put our luggage. Had to use stairs for last level because elevator didn’t go to 8th floor and no porter was offered to assist us.

    Comfortable bed Nice little balcony

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with 6years child there was only double/queen bed but no place for child to sleep, despite booking says room for couple and 6years baby. Bed would be too small for all 3 of us. The manager Indian lady (I think her name natasha) refused to assist me until my wife really tore them and they gave us room with couch which could use bed for my daughter

    Central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud! You can hear the elevator very clearly and all the people walking around. There is a some traffic outside and of course you can hear ever car that is driving.

    In the center of town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to fight to get better rooms for my family. We actually changed rooms 3 or 4 times before we were okay with it. Parking is a nightmare. That has to be sorted out. Parking allocation does not make sense at all. Definitely not value for money. I sent special request through Booking.com which they claim they never received. If you list properties on your site, I think you should check them out first and rate them yourselves. The experience has left me very disappointed and not sure whether I'd want to book through your site again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath (hello we have water restrictions), toilet is small, room smells like sewerage. Worse experience. Lift door bangs the entire night !

    Location very close to all amenities and staff always friendly and excellent room service !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Informal arrangement in respect of parking, no allocation of specific parking bays, and the lift within the hotel needs modification.

    Room very practical, neat, and the hotel in general very orderly and and a sense of personal safety within the parimeters of the hotel. A sense of discipline in the hotel and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double room with a double bed. When I got to my room there were 2 single beds. When I called to enquire about this ibwas told i did book a double room but house keeping had already left so u could not change my room or have it converted to a double bed. I Was not happy about this.

    The surrounding and location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO SHOWERS in the rooms??? That is a basic facility. I had to book a different apartment around the corner to be next to be next to my friends

    The location was absolutely central for the purpose of our visit ... walking distance to all amenities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. The hotel stinks and the customer service is even worse. I am nothing recommending it to anyone I like.

    Nothing at all. The hotel stinks and the customer service is even worse. I am nothing recommending it to anyone I like.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was bit of a shock to realise that the payment was for Accommodation only and not for breakfast. Also, $70 a night for parking is a bit high.

    The Staff were very friendly and helpful. It is centrally located, so we could walk to a number of places close by even though we had a car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better Hospitality. They let me wait for more than an hour after I had already secured my booking to check in and was unable to assist me to check out on a good note when I had only delayed my check out by an hour due to an important meeting going on longer than expected. I had to pay R350 to get my bags. The person at reception could not produce the policy on which he was basing the fine on after I requested to see it. The manager also needs to develop her leadership skills and get inducted to the hospitality industry. I will be back in Cape Town this weekend but will not be staying at the Cape Diamond hotel.

    I am not impressed with the hospitality and inability to think on their feet of the staff at the Cape Diamond Hotel. I will not be returning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We initially booked a room with a double bed but when we got to the room we found two single beds pushed together!..we decided to leave it as is because we didn't want to make a fuss...next time I just hope that does not happen.

    Well I liked the staff and the service they gave.I had a bit of a problem with my booking but they helped me nicely and my booking was kept.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility doesn't meet the standard of a hotel. The booking agency is very terrible. The male receptionist is very rude even on the phone. The wooden tiles are looking bad. Guests queries take long to be attended to.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The immediate environment (especially towards the Company Gardens), is not so great anymore - beggars... But there's nothing that the hotel can do about that!

    The hotel is only about 3 blocks away from the Hop-on-hop-off bus pickup point in Long Street. The hotel offers good value for money. Lovely breakfast (although with the room I booked, I had to pay extra for the breakfast)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had coackroaches in my room and that feedback was given to the receptionis. Parking its a nightmare, maybe you should have someone parking cars for guest.

    The food was good and the staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very small size of rooms. No watch in the room for time display. Shower area too small. Lack of outside view and small windows.

    Good location. Service of staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the fact that when i arrived in my room,i got two single beds when i had requested a double bed. I was told il be sent to another room with a bigger bed,only to get there to a smaller room with a big bed. I appreciate the fact that the stuff was very accomodating and my needs were met,we ended up getting the 1st room,the two single beds were converted to a double bed. Something that couldve been done before we arrived,it wouldve saved everyone time as i had to go up and down to find a good room. What i also didnt like is the fact that i was woken up very early by housekeeping,waaaay before my check out time and therefore making it very uncomfortable for us to sleep in and enjoy our last few hours at the hotel.

    I honestly like almost everything about the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst property u could ever stay no sleep noisy staff are not willing to help , all they want is to take your money. Location u get harassed by bums and druggies

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The way the employees deal with food. They used their hands on everything instead of using gloves. Especially people on kitchen and the waiters. Flies over the yogurt/fruits during breakfast.

    See through kitchen. Attendants at the restaurant were friendly. Well located close to the places I had to go everyday (Hospitals, labs, shops, restaurants,etc.).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 - There was a stinch in the halls when on the way to your room. 2 - They didn't even follow a single request I put in when I booked the room about 4 MONTHS before checking in. I really found that ridiculous!

    I like that the receptionist helped me with the problem I had (they double debitted my credit card)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window view was an opposite wall, I understand that some rooms will have a wall view but does it have to be so grey? Also the food was very expensive here and breakfast not included in room price. We ate elsewhere each morning and night as a result.

    Azaad, the hotel worker, was always smiling and offering to help, this place is so central, a short walk from Bree Street and Long Street, 2 great locations for bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At arrival front desk attendan was very bad. He demand for the c.card I made the booking (even this was not explain at the booking info). He didnt want to give us the room even we show ID info and even Booking customer support confirm all was OK. It was absurd because we couldnt cancel the booking (there was cancellation fees) but he didnt want to give us the room because we didnt have the credit card I used to make the booking. Finally I had to access my booking account to change the c.card info. At the end I spend more than 1 hour to fixed the absurd intolerance of the fron desk guy. Very bad service.

    Room quite big and modern

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Just the instant coffee in the room was a bit tasteless. But we enjoyed the tea

    The staff were very friendly and ready to help at any time. The room was nice and very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay at The Cape Diamond. This was our second visit to this hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive We were given twin beds There was a door between the 2 rooms sa I was able to hear the neighbour's music, foot steps etc. my previous stays were much better before

    The bathroom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are flimsy. It is not nice not to be able to sleep because the neighbours just talk to each other.

    Friendly staff Packed sandwich for a very early start

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I book a room with king bed as I was with my wife but I was given two twins which were uncomfortable I wake up in between beds , phone was not working at all in the room .parking is night mare

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not easy to find . The floor in the rooms was had blocks that came loose and I stubbed my toe on it more than once . There where cockroaches crawling down the walls .

    The customer service was awesome .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location, cold shower, parking not conjusive

    Comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place for aweekend away

    N

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    flexibility of staff in organising replacements for gluten allergents.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smallish

    The food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi login instructions wasn't clear, I prefer a written instructions as well.

    Is a wonderful place, clean and great location for a cbd person

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff especially the short lady

    The breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a shower though, but everything else was perfect

    Everything was perfect just how I prefer it. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awesome...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff,not smiling or friendly

    the bed was extra comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The loud noise from nearby, during the weekend.

    I mostly like the friendliness of the staff, which were very helpful at all time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed like the hotel was just built to make money off its location and nothing else. Hospitality zero.

    Close to town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent special thanks to Noxi at breakfast and food services, she is very good and took extra care of her customers. keep it up.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Conveniently located

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to pay seperately for breakfast and parking

    The location is superb and teh staff friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Food was amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it and it was my first time going to a hotel.... realy enjoyed myself.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect, you get what you pay for, thus no bad points for this rate and location.

    Excellent value for money central hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't working properly

    Everything except the wifi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window didn't close properly and with the strong wind it was very annoying

    The service and cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really good service and felt really safe as a woman travelling alone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The escalator wasn’t working. The bedding was sub standard. The room that I wanted wasn’t the room that I got.

    The roof top

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms, clean and well located. The downstairs bar was good and convenient for a drink. Reception staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to see more electrical outlets. Travelers these days need to recharge their batteries, literally, at the end of the day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    State and room

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room; old lift: mouldy shower; air spray in passages overwhelming. Very expensive indeed for little value

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the lift that came on every few minutes

    The room with the balcony and amazing view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No menus in the room for room service.

    The food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    improvement needed

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept slipping between two single beds .Was on honeymoon

    Nothing .Was disappointed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel the staff was very patient and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Awesome stay, super friendly staff and extremely accommodating. Great service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was superb

    Centrally located

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the service was great ,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, location location!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to move from the 8th floor to the 3rd floor as there was a strong sewage smell of the 8th floor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    all ok

    all ok for the price

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: