Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cape Standard Guest House 4 stars

3 Romney Road, Green Point, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#137 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful staff, would do anything, book anything and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add.

    Very helpful staff, would do anything, book anything and the recommendations were amazing! Besides, the room was clean, spacious and the breakfast was good. Staff made it an awesome experience! Felt instantly welcome in SA!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Delighted
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    For now I loved everything.

    The room are neat , tidy, and very clean. The place is so cozy. My sister and I loved it they have a simple yet elegant style. Their wall art is amazing except I didn't like the bathroom art,'hides". Matthew gave us a very warm welcome and he was helpful. I will go back there anytime.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location for exploring green point, with exceptional staff and communal areas + parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with extra length beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little sparse in decoration but a very good size and good facilities.

    The breakfasts were excellent and the staff were consistently friendly and attentive. They really did accommodate for all our needs. Lovely communal areas and sunny courtyard for breakfast. We didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked very nice. Off street parking was a great asset. Quiet street meant a good sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Great stay in a lovely guest house with fantastic service by staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The staff, and Margot and Matt in particular, were extremely friendly and helpful. In particular, they allowed us to check out at 4pm instead of 11am so that we could stay in the room until we had to leave for the airport. The breakfast was really good and we enjoyed our freshly prepared omelettes. We enjoyed being in the property and sitting outside in the decked area. The property was in a good location and it was only a short taxi ride of less than 10 minutes to the V & A Waterfront. We were also able to walk from the property to several cafes on the main road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful oasis in the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was nice, though getting to the next coffee shop or bar was a bit of a walk. The only minor downside was a bit of noise and smell of bacon (we are vegetarians) from the breakfast area in the mornings - but all the rest really made up for it!

    We spent three nights in a spaceous, beautifully furnished and clean double room in the first floor overlooking the garden. Our overall experience at the Cape Standard was really great: relaxing by the pool in the beautiful and quiet garden, lovely breakfast with eggs any style, and extremely helpful and friendly staff. We absolutely felt like home and very well taken care of. Location was very quiet and rather residential.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    relaxed, quiet, classy and cozy atmosphere! exactly my place to stay in cape town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    more butter at the breakfast buffet! :D

    very friendly, sweet, quiet and homey guesthouse in a great location with nice, cozy rooms, very classy interior and relaxed atmosphere!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a 2nd time staying at The Cape Standard and as with the first time it was excellent. The staff are extremely polite and helpful. The manager recommended some excellent restaurants and dealt with all the reservations. The guest house has a very pretty garden and pool area which is lovely to sit in and relax. Breakfast, served outside, has a good choice and served by attentive staff. We have stayed in the main part of the guest house and, this time in the lodge. The accommodation is nicely decorated with large comfortable beds and a great bathroom. We hope to return to Cape Town in 2019 and will certainly stay here for a few days again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable little guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice and comfortable enough. Some bits feel a bit tired but this is minimal. Overall I'd say just a bit more attention to detail and this place could be great.

    A nice little guest house. Great staff (Justin especially), pretty comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Generally felt that it was a nice homely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could have had a better outlook. It was also a bit dark and small. The TV was not great. The breakfast eggs were not great.

    The homeliness of the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Good guesthouse close to Greenpoint / Seapoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture is the room is a bit outdated. Still carpet in the room. Swimming pool was covered during our 4 day stay so we couldn't use it.

    Overall good guesthouse but compared to what we have seen during our 3 week trip in SA, this one was rather an average accommodation (price/quality). Breakfast was nice, rooms and beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Walking distance from V&A Waterfront. Offered us another available room at the back of the accommodation rather than the one we booked with terrace (close to the front side of the accommodation as works are still in progress at the other side of the street). Close to Greenpoint & the Seapoint promenade which is a nice area. Late check out was offered which was highly appreciated since we were taking our flight back home. Thanks Margot, Matthew, Simon and the rest of the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    Great stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction work outside made it tricky to park or move my car and was annoying to wake up to but not the properties fault. There was no tb channels but I don't really watch tv so for a solo traveller a docking station may have been better

    Beautifully decorated and very friendly staff, would definitely come back! Room was secluded and breakfast was amazing. Easy location to get around and safe area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended for a stay in Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa with Balcony and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Great guest house in Green Point an attractive, residential area of Cape Town. About 30 minute walk to the Waterfront. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Added bonus was a small kitchen which if we had been staying longer would have been really helpful. Good breakfast and very helpful, friendly staff. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Nicely decorated small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with extra length beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be better, there was not so much choice and quality good be better. I also often got different things than I ordered. It was also very noisy as they are building something on the other side of the street and we were not informed about it. It also made it hard to park the car as half of the street was blocked by the workers. They also worked on Saturdays so only Sunday was quiet. The hotel is very centrally located but you still always need an Uber to go out somewhere also for food and drinks.

    The garden of the hotel as well as the living room was really nice. There is nice art as well. We also got great tips for things to do, also things that you wont necessarily read in a travel guide and for restaurants. They also helped with reservations which was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely quiet place in green point
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was a bit sketchy at first but by the time I left it was working fine. Otherwise no complaints at all!

    This place deserves a high score. The manager was very friendly and helpful, as were the staff. It's in a quiet location away from the city centre but only a short cab ride away from waterfront and centre. Lovely decor and fantastic breakfast. I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    A place with loads of charcter, personal approach But with some downsides....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - bad acoustics , especially the down floor. - the shortage of sockets and unhandy position of them. - for me there is missing some sweet food in the breakfast, Some pancakes, cakes, croissants.

    The atmosphere of the hotel is marvellous. Very tastefull and welcomming. the playlist in the breakfastroom. Vers Nice concept. helpfull staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    can't think of anything.

    The staff was extremely helpful sorting out our program for the week, even helped with restaurant reservations. The B&B is spotless and very nice. Breakfast was very tasty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place, even better service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities are great - clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The location is pretty good, close enough to the waterfront and other restaurants on main road. But what really makes the stay here stand out is the service - Paddington was around all the time to help with anything we could imagine, and always with a big smile on his face. Thansk for making our stay in Cape Town even better than we had hoped for!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Good location. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location for us was good. It gives easy access to The Waterfront. The staff were helpful and welcoming. We even had an email prior to our trip asking us what we might wantvtovdocwhikstcin Cape Town and offering both useful suggestions and advice. That was very helpful. They also made arrangements for some of the trips and expeditions we had whilst staying there. In addition they provided good recommendations for places to eat plus useful local advice. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was good and provided a variety of different foods.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Well located Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house is about a 30 min walk from the V&A or a short drive by taxi (take note, prices vary, a lot). The staff were fantastic and we would like to say a special thank you to Margot and Paddington for making our stay most enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Room was lovely, very good bad en spacious bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Balcony and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was lovely, very good bad en spacious bathroom. staff super friendly and very helpful. Location was also good. We absolutely would stay here again and I recommend it to everyone!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    We just stayed one night at the Cape Standard Guest House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with extra length beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    If we hadn't receive the upgrade, I guess the price would have been a bit higher compared to that of other guest house in the direct neighborhood. Again, the breakfast was nice but some fresh juice and a Cappuccino would have made the breakfast perfect. Unfortunately, the internet did not work in our room.

    We just stayed one night at the Cape Standard Guest House. We were in need of some relax because of some unpleasant events that had happened right before our stay at the Cape Standard Guest House. Margot immediately understood the situation and helped were she could in order to make our stay as pleasant as possible, upgraded our room,in order to allow us more privacy, provided us with beach towles when she found out that we wanted to go to the beach etc. And she succeeded. The guest house is nicely decorated and offers a beautiful courtyard were we had a leaxing afternoon with some delicious white wine from the mini bar and some relaxing music playing in the background. The breakfast was really good except for the coffee and the packaged juice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Very friendly and helpful staff, quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will need a car or taxi to get you to all the main attractions in town

    Very friendly and helpful staff, quiet location. Lovely garden and pool. Room was nice and very clean and we enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Best home base for exploring fascinating Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of a thing to complain about.

    Clean, comfortable place to stay in a good neighborhood. Welcoming hosts who provide excellent advice on local attractions. Excellent breakfast. Best home base for exploring fascinating Cape Town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great little hotel in the Greenpoint area of Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    Great little hotel in the Greenpoint area of Cape Town. Super friendly and helpful staff. Stylish rooms and spotlessly clean. Delicious breakfast. The staff recommended we use Uber to travel back and forth into the centre and out to restaurants in the evening (as it was dark by 18.00). It worked out at about € 1 - 2 a trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Great Location Comfortable Beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I was cold until the last day because I didn't understand how to use the heat (??) control - it seemed to be programmed. The last day someone warmed up the room nicely for me. There was no "Do Not Disturb" sign to put on the door and a few days I wanted to just chill and be left alone. There is construction across the street so the noise was a bit unpleasant and getting in and out of parking difficult with construction vehicles everywhere. I found the bathroom fixtures "awkward" - you couldn't really use the sink without getting water all over yourself and the the tub didn't have a safety bar to help you get up easily.

    It's a great location. The bed was very comfortable! The Internet connection was great the first few days and then something happened - maybe the construction, maybe too many people accessing it - making it weak and hard to access.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    My room was really private, with it's own patio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from inside the house and the construction outside (there's a building being constructed just across the road) during the day was annoying. But this all went away during the evenings thankfully.

    My room was really private, with it's own patio. Personal touches like a iPod docking system in my room were great. The property doesn't look like much from the outside, but once you step inside its a whole new world. Beautiful patio area and they served amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful stay. The staff were so helpful - gave us tips about where to drive and what to see, booked us in to a top restaurant when we hadn't planned dinner in advance. The breakfast was delicious and so nice eating in the gorgeous outdoor space. Real comfy, friendly, intimate guesthouse with the service and quality of a boutique hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    A wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Staff were fantastic.Particularly Margot who was very efficient and went out of her way to help make it a wonderful holiday. Also Paddington who was friendly and helpful. Location excellent. Breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Lovely helpful staff, relaxing atmosphere and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    David and his staff were extremely helpful, recommending and booking us some super places to eat and places to go depending on the weather. The Cape standard is very relaxing and informal, but with all the amenities you would get in a hotel. The location is idea for exploring both Cape town and the fabulous beaches and must mention their staff, especially Paddington who made our stay with them a great experience. Highly recommend you visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.2
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with extra length beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and calm Guesthouse in a perfect spot! Very kind and helpful stuff. Awesome view, great breakfast, beautiful garden, pool and interior! We loved our stay here and would recommend it to everyone visiting CT

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Perfect Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation was just perfect! The staff was lovely and nice, it was obviously they love their job. The facility, the furniture gives the feeling of being at home, being welcomed. It wasn't overload but clear, had everything you need and the bed was really cozy, the garden so nice. The Breakfast was so yammi, especially the small selfmade fresh smoothie-drink of fruits and vegetables you get every morning. I really enjoyed my room, called the "Annex", it was just next to the main house but a bit more hidden, with its own balcony. It's obviously for me to cone back to Cape Toen and when, I will stay again at this wonderful place ❤

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.3
    A very well appointed apartment and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room hadn't been cleaned when I arrived and the neighbour helped me make my own bed! The location will be fine in a year or two but hard to get to and lots of building going on in front of the apartmemt.

    A very well appointed apartment and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic and very special place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No negatives. It's a great place!

    This is my fifth visit to the Cape Standard Guest House and the place only gets better. I like it so much that I would feel guilty staying anywhere else! But why would a new person choose to stay there? 1. Location: Situated just on the edge of Cape Town central it is near to the coast, near to the big stadium, near to the lovely Waterfront area and near to Sea Point with its stunning sea water open air swimming pools (I like to jog down to the pools about 1.5 miles away and swim and then jog back). It is within walking distance of good restaurants and is well located if you want to drive out of Cape Town to see the Cape Point National Park. There is free safe car parking outside too. 2. Rooms and Ambiance: The hotel has lovely large quiet rooms with walk in showers, free Wi-Fi, kettles, tea and coffee facilities, big wardrobes and a desk. Beds were comfortable and the whole place is spotlessly clean. Breakfast is either in the lounge or on the decking outside in the garden. (and it is fabulous with fruit, muesli, rolls, hot breakfast (if you want) and unlimited tea or coffee.) There is a nice decent sized small pool and an area for sunbathing too. 3. Service: What a friendly bunch they are! Margot (the manager) greeted us with a cheery welcome and upgraded our room, Paddington (a waiter and more) served us, checked everything was OK and just went out of his way to be helpful. And David (the owner) chatted to us, talked about his business and really made us feel at home. He tells me that they turn away ten bookings a week - so book early! Price: We paid 7812 Rand for four nights (£115/night) for a double room bed and breakfast. It isn't cheap - but try to find cheaper and you may not enjoy the same quality - or sense of safety and security. I wholeheartedly recommend Cape Standard! Complain to me if you aren't delighted!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    For the prefect time in Cape Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Here I can only mention 2 things: 1.) Not a real door for the bathroom, but only a glass door. 2.) Since this was our first gues house in South Africa the Cape Standard raised the bar so much that we always have been a little disappointed with the ones we stayed in afterwards :-)

    The welcoming experience was amazing. We arrived quite early and the staff already welcomed us super friendly. We even got a breakfast offered! Speaking of breakfast: this was also a very nice experience. The selection was not super wide, but all the food seemed to be of high quality and tasted phenomenal. The staff that served the hot breakfast was super friendly and nice all the time. From day one this location put us into holiday mode – something that normally doesn’t happen that fast. If the weather was okay it was possible to have breakfast outside. The outside area of the guesthouse is lovingly styled with beautiful plants. It was so pleasant to have breakfast there. In fact the whole guesthouse is styled really lovingly and just looks amazing. The pool area was also nice. It is so nice there that sometimes we wished we had some more days planned for Cape Town just for staying at the guest house. The rooms are also lovingly styled. Only downside was the fact that the bathroom did not have a real door, but a glass door with big gaps at the top at bottom. That bed was comfortable. The rooms were clean. Like already mentioned all the staff was super friendly and cared really well. They helped us with finding and booking nice restaurants and made really good recommendations on what to see and check out in Cape Town! Compared with all other guest houses we had on our trip this was by far the best one. Never did we experience a hospitality on such a high level. Awesome experience! We totally enjoyed our time there. We would definitly book this again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice area, vlose to the airport, fantastic personnel, not so nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I got was disappointing. I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the airport and because the rooms looked very nice. However mine was in a remote area, accessible only through bushes and a broken stairwell. The bathroom was not very nice either. The toilet paper holder was broken, there was hairs of previous tennants... so this I didn't like. I guess other rooms will be nicer but it is frustrating to get the worst room just because you are travelling alone...?

    The personnel was very friendly and very helpful! I was allowed to stay longer in my room due to my late flight, the breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.8
    Just great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast could need a little more variety. We stayed 10 days and it was the same every morning. To be fair - we were offered upon arrival that we can always ask for something else which we didn't do.

    Very nice and attentive staff in a stylish & centrally located guesthouse with a lot of love for decor and detail. Great pool deck in a lush subtropical garden that makes you forget you are in the middle of the city. We would go back any time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only problem we had was that there was a shade or blinds missing from the bathroom window, so the shower was slightly overlooked by the pool area and surrounding flats. Easy fix though :0) and didnt worry us too much

    Prefectly placed for visits around Cape Town, in particular the Waterfront. All of the staff were very friendly and made us feel extra welcome. The outdoor space was perfect for sitting in the evening after a busy day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Relaxed place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool seemed to need some cleaning treatment. Watch out leaving wine in ur room. Some of the staff have a alcohol problem. WIFI was very weak.

    Friendly, helpful management and staff. Beautiful set up and arrangements. Delicious breakfast. Great Art decorating rooms and public areas.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    Good location, comfort and outstanding hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 18 nights

    The location is great: quiet neighbourhood, close to Main Street and its cafés, restaurants and shops, and within walking distance of both the city centre and the sea front. My room was comfortable, and the bathroom spacious, with lots of natural light from 2 windows and a big open shower. The outdoor area, comprising a sundeck and swimming pool area, is surrounded by lush vegetation that makes you forget that you are actually in the middle of a city. Great place to relax! The breakfast was good (they even catered for my gluten and lactose free diet), and the hospitality outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    The guesthouse was lovely, very clean and well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with extra length beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guesthouse was lovely, very clean and well decorated. The staff were excellent, we had a lot of requests and they could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Good location shame about construction works opposite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with extra length beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works opposite the hotel resulted in a lot of noise from 8am each day, except Sunday. Construction of a huge apartment block will mean this is likely to go in for months. Ok if you are not in the Guest house all day. Not good.

    Staff were very helpful. Location was excellent easy walk to sea front and Waterfront area. Reasonable selection of restaurants within walking distance. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    6.7
    Basic accommodation but wonderful garden and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are very basic (bed, small wardrobe, small table) and quite small, especially if you have a lot of luggage. We had a room on the ground floor so heard everyone coming in and out. More of a problem is the building site directly opposite which start work at 7.00. Looks like it will go on for a whil so might be worth asking for a room at the back. Also had no electricity one morning but this may have been a one-off.

    Wonderful deck and garden with reasonable sized pool, sun loungers and shaded seating area. Good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Green Point is also a good place to be based

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.5
    Perfect for short business stays or people just needing a place to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could be a problem - space is limited. No small fridge in the room. The wood deck and staircase needs attention. The staircase is narrow with shrubs hanging over the rail which makes handling your luggage a bit of a challenge.

    For work in Cape Town CBD, this is the perfect spot! Traffic was not a problem to or from this location - into town in the morning and out of town in the evening. There is a late night general store walking distance and the V&A Waterfront is literally just around the corner. Free WiFi worked perfectly - I could stream my own TV shows in HD without a problem. Shower area is big. The bed was very comfortable! I was in a very private room completely isolated from the rest of the property.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.8
    Staff go the extra mile to make holiday enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No curtain in the room (#1) - the window could be seen by other guests in adjoining bldg. A fair distance (30-min walk) from shops & restaurants (we used Uber)

    Breakfast to order, as well as buffet items Quality linens Extraordinary staff, sincere and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there is something we have to say, maybe the cleanliness of the bathroom, it's not dirty but could be just a bit cleaner... It does have a great size and shower!

    The staf was really lovely and helpfull. When we arrived late at night we wanted a small bite, they arranged a wonderfull snack/mail for us:) We both have Some food allergies, but they arranged delicious treats for breakfast for us:) Lovely rooms and area's as well!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Great place at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with extra length beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The guest house is at the top of a hill (about 2 blocks), so some people might consider that when planning a stay. (But you'd mostly take a cab, anyway!)

    The lounge was a nice place in the evening for socializing with the other guests. Lots of breakfast options. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was wonderful - friendly, helpful, accommodating. The location (Greenpoint) is in an upward transition, pretty safe and not far from most attractions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Very good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We enjoyed staying at Cape Standard and would always recommend it. The guesthouse is very well situated and the rooms are very beautiful and modern. We had a very enjoyable stay. Big thanks to the team, which was very supportive in recommendations and bookings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    Nice and sunny guesthouse with a friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Currently there is a construction site opposite and you can here the noise at least from some of the rooms. On one day there were a lot of garbage bags stored under the stairs to the Annex room - not a pretty sight when you want to go to your room.

    Pretty and cosy dining room and sunny terrace. Rooms are nicely furnished and very clean. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Awesome long stay at Cape Standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jonathan and Margot were so helpful, very friendly and so welcoming! Jonathan went out of his way to help us resolve our departure flight check in issues. Thank you both so much!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    A perfect place for business executives & holidays alike and value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The willingness of the staff to assist.I had asked that they don't disturb me for the day in preparation for Stats Exams(Masters)and they went beyond my expectations by keeping the facility quite.. Commendable👏🏽

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    By no means a 'Standard' vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room overlooking the gardens and pool. Jonathan was very accommodating and the staff were friendly. Great location as only a 15 minute walk to the V&A waterfront.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly, professional reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, professional reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    An absolute gem. So beautifully done, welcoming and helpful staff, made my fist stay in CT a delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place was just right. An outstanding house of guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed

    Everything was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful guest house in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful guest house in a great location. Staff were friendly and informative and they do a good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Stylish, friendly, helpful, comfortable oasis in Greenpoint...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stylish, friendly, helpful, comfortable oasis in Greenpoint area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Staff are super friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    very good stay in cape town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with extra length beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was very nice

    very nice pool and garden with an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Unbelievably helpful and kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievably helpful and kind staff. Very good breakfast. Nice location, comfortable and classy terrace. Very priceworthy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice place but didn't meet the standards of its price. The garden area and the staff make up for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place needs a refurbishment.

    The garden is a true heaven, the music is calm, the vegetation is tremendous. Best place to chill and read a book!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    All good, wifi in room did not work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi poor

    All good, wifi in room did not work

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Amazingly helpful and friendly staff, great decor and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazingly helpful and friendly staff, great decor and very relaxing feel to the place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Cosy Capetown guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Lovely atmosphere and super friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Lovely place staff excellent would recommend thank you all X
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Lovely place staff excellent would recommend thank you all X

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.2
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room furniture is very old, the safe box is broken, little drops of hot water, the breakfast is very limited.

    The staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful staff who were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful staff who were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful little hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was excellent. The staff were brilliant, 10 out of 10!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff always ready to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely staff always ready to help. Quite a pity that some of the area was under constuction.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    We had a marvellous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, nice close to green pont, only 10 min walk to the shop, nice and quiet location, good room and bathroom. Nice and spacey

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Central location in beautiful Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was outside but it was safe.

    The staff service and the locatoon were the best about the guest house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing service and great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service, the personnel and the owner were amazingly friendly and generous. Thank you very much for this great stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Staff were excellent, bathroom was good size and bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy

    Staff were excellent, bathroom was good size and bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money and fantastic service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we disliked.

    Comfy, clean accommodation with fantastic service. Customer care here means everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    The electric outlets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The electric outlets.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: