Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Centurion Hotel 4 stars

1001 Lenchen Avenue North, 0046 Centurion, South Africa

#8 of 10 hotels in Centurion

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Thank you to the staff for making it a wonderfull experiance.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Riverside Luxury King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction at the mall is spoiling the current view. This is also polluting the lake. I suppose it is not Hotel managements responsibility.

    Very well situated for shopping entertainment and business Very friendly staff and management. The atmosphere at the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Very refreshing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lakeside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lake is dirty , but maybe not hotel responsibility. Would be nice if town council can clean the lake.

    Food is very nice . The staff is friendly and helpful. My room did not have gowns but laundry manager was happy to provide us with gowns. I would love to revisit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and clean but a little expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lakeside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Each morning between 7 and 7:30 at least two staff several minutes apart open doors and noisely close room doors while checking rooms. I was woken up by this awful noise each morning. Starting one end of corridor and moving to other end. Repeated a few minutes later. I have slept in many hotels around RSA & in Europe and have never been woken up by doors being repeatedly closed by staff. Airconditioner was noisey. Room rates are expensive considering the bathroom needs modernising as does the airconditioner.

    Very friendly, polite and helpful staff. Clean hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.8
    Generally a very comfortable hotel and the staff members make you feel very relaxed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Riverside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I tried to get a copy of my invoice the night before checking out as i had an early departure the net morning but this was not possible as I had to wait until at least midnight due to the system limitations.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    See above
    • Couple
    • Lakeside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one (1) bottled water in the room and only one (1) rusk in the tray and we were 2 guests. Loose hair were found in the bath tab, not good. For that price per night at least you could have the full DSTv available.

    Sunday lunch was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    I'd definitely recommend this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lakeside Standard Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Large and clean rooms. Breakfast is pretty decent. There is a gym and a swimming pool. Very friendly and helpful personnel; I asked for a late check out (because of a delayed flight) and that was no problem. WIFI is free and works fine. The hotel is closed to a mall with a lot of good restaurants. I will definitely book it again if I would come to Centurion again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    4.2
    You have the most friendly and courteous staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lakeside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The entrance to the hotel is too dark and claustrophobic, it's not an open, airy, welcoming and bright space. I got depressed the instant I walked in 2. When I visited, the whole 3rd floor did not have any telephone connection, and when I reported, it was courteously explained to me that I just had to deal with it, there was nothing that could be done. 3. The bed I slept on had squeaky noise whenever I turned, sat or moved on it. 4. a portion of the curtains in my room had a torn lining 5. I did not have local news TV channels, and had to rely on the normal TV news slots on SABC and E-tv channels (which collided with my schedule) 6. The shower bath arrangement is too tiny and claustrophobic 7. Food at breakfast, the following morning, did not lift up my already dampened spirits. The yoghurts tasted weak, baked beans watery and half cooked, the green tea I ordered tasted like water with a tint of some herb. I was not happy with the quality of your food, especially the above mentioned, they tasted like cheaper/ inferior quality of what should be served.

    You have the most friendly and courteous staff. They are such a pleasure to engage with and do make one feel welcome and valued as a guest

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast courses were satisfying especially the main course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riverside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not enjoy scrambled eggs cause they were salt free.

    Breakfast courses were satisfying especially the main course.liked crispy bacon enjoyed it.tried mushroom nd liked it too.coming to supper the idea of braai nd pap was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    The room was comfortable and quiet despite the number of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lakeside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was a bit of a disappointment. We waited 45mins for two toasted sandwiches. The dinner menu seemed very limited if you did not want the buffet option.

    The room was comfortable and quiet despite the number of guests and we had a peaceful night's sleep.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    6.3
    Quite comfortable - but not special!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lakeside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception weren't very inviting. Restaurant service and food were not up to standard. There was only one armchair in the room - for 2 people?

    We liked the view from the room. Also clean and secure

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    The staff is incredible. The hotel is very clean and the food is great! True value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Riverside Executive King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Our stay was truly enjoyable!

    The staff was very friendly, helpful and extremely polite and respectful. If we ever return to Pretoria, this will be our hotel of choice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Hotel has seen better days and may need some refurbishment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Riverside Executive King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel has seen better days and may need some refurbishment. However, staff is overwhelmingly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, relaxed, good staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lakeside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit old, but clean and comfortable

    Comfortable, relaxed, good staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    I’d stay here again, good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Riverside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the view, the staff, the atmosphere in the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    The matress/bed was uncomfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lakeside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress/bed was uncomfortable. However linen was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    View
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Riverside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom

    View

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Staff very professional, efficient and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Lakeside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff very professional, efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    4.6
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lakeside Standard Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are uncomfortable and old

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    4.2
    Breakfast - very wide choice of items.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast - poorly lit, dark room; crowded - find people have taken one's table when fetching items; staff rushed to plates, cups, glasses, etc before one has finished; Poor coffee. Room - stuffy. Bathroom starting to look worn, toilet seat won't stay up. Small TV. The reception staff were not particularly friendly. I felt the accommodation was over priced.

    Breakfast - very wide choice of items. Wifi Internet ok.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.9
    The Staff were very nice, courteous, helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast needs to be IMPROVED a LOT. The Eggs were great, however the sausages were burnt and stale and some other food and they remained the same for the 4 days we stayed there.

    The Staff were very nice, courteous, helpful and friendly. The room had an amazing view. The facility was in great proximity to the mall and many facilities were within a walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.2
    the location and general ambience is really very nice - the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    parts of the hotel seem a little dated like the AC's, which are quite antiquated and noisy. But in general not much wrong about the place

    the location and general ambience is really very nice - the Bar staff were really excellent

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    5.8
    Room is spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Aircon not good and noisy... expected that a four star hotel would have a fridge at least to cool water etc...

    Room is spacious. To shower was good with good pressure.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    The food, customer service of Bruno restaurant, rooms are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The front desk is manned by people who do not communicate with each other effectively. You give a person a request and you are informed the system is down will act on it as soon as the system is up. When you check the person has gone for the day and you start narrating to the next person and if you reach an agreement with one person the next person will question the customer on how that agreement was reached. In short the communication breakdown between the front desk personnel makes the atmosphere a court room where you are interrogated instead of being helped in a friendly manner. The way I was treated made me feel very humiliated.

    The food, customer service of Bruno restaurant, rooms are clean, the visity is conducive to relaxing and excellent location

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    5.0
    The food wad good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a friendly reception at t the reception desk, the card key didn't work. I had to go back to reception twice! In spite of the fact that two names were written on our reservation; the receptionist thought it was one person, therefore one nougat in the room and only one bottle of water!?

    The food wad good. The porter was very friendly with our luggage.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    3.8
    On my arrival I paid for a additional night stay with my...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    On my arrival I paid for a additional night stay with my card. The room card never worked so on 4 occasions I could not get in my room. The reception had a problem with payment and refused to give me a new one in front of other guests. Very poor and unprofessional service.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    3.8
    We arrived on Saturday to find out we where booked in for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived on Saturday to find out we where booked in for Sunday even though the confirmation e mail was for Saturday. We paid for the room, went to the room and it stank of doom, there was also a doom can in the hallway. We then went to go ask for a refund and we were told by Peter and Shirley no because i did not have my id on me. They were very rude !!!

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    Wifi worked really well, nice patio / swimming pool area...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wake-up call 20min late on last morning, booked lakeside room and got riverside

    Wifi worked really well, nice patio / swimming pool area, modern gym, pick-up service from airport

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    10
    Just awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just awesome

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    2.9
    none
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive and not neat it is in a dingy place and there were some insects flying in the lift

    none

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    7.1
    no minibar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no minibar

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    Good location close to the train station and a big mall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location close to the train station and a big mall. very large clean comfortable room, very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.4
    Reception staff was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor WIFi

    Reception staff was ok

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.0
    - Near train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Stinky river beside - High prices for hotel taxi - Sharp nail in chair

    - Near train station - Near mall - Tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    2.5
    facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    facilities

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mosquitoes millions of them

    Location

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: