Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Commodore Hotel 4 stars

Portswood Road, Waterfront, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#93 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 400 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water temperature in the shower kept fluctuating between the selected temp and scorching hot which was very unpleasant. Also, the undercover parking is either under construction or not very well planned because the elevators do not go to the basement. You need to exit the building on the ground floor and walk around to the stairs to the basement -it's fine if you're just going out, but with heavy luggage and rainy weather, it was a bit annoying. Given, we could have brought the car to the front of the hotel to load luggage, but it just seemed like more of an effort.

    The hotel is situated within walking distance of V&A. Great room with a comfy bed and tea/coffee facilities. The hotel has a wide selection for breakfast, however vegan/vegetarian options are limited. The hotel spa is good but you should try and make a booking early if possible, else you will need to work around the available spots.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    Really bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon/heater in the rooms are one of those really noisy wall mounted units. Don't plan on sleeping if you need to run the heater or aircon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose the option on our booking form to be picked-up from the airport and also requested spa packages and prices but nobody came back to us. We phoned hotel as soon as we landed in Cape Town for answers and women (shuttle services) answered phone that was very unhelpful and rude. I didnt even bother to ask if she could help us with shuttle services as she clearly was not in the mood to help us and was very inconvenient.

    Room was magnifesent en extra good quility bedding and towels. Staff friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Convenient and centrally located hotel with good services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath tub - but also no water, due to Cape shortages/restrictions. Maintenance work in entry lounge on my final day.

    Breakfast menu with specialty coffees available. Coffee press in room. Hotel’s proximity to Waterfront.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cardio equipment in the gym could have been better.

    Excellent friendly service. Great room service and buffet breakfast. Our room had great views and was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely communal areas, disappointing rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a cracked window in our room which we complained about on day 1 mostly due to the fact that it was dangerous. They said they would fix it the following day but when we left after 5 days it was still the same. Shower gel also seems to be as scarce as water too’

    Great breakfast, bar and communal area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is close to waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before I left my home, I asked to request for airport transfer service. But no one came to pick me up....So I called the hotel. They said they did not make reservations of my transfer and rearranged for me. I waited more than one hour at Cape Town airport at night😔 That's horrible....

    The hotel is close to waterfront. The breakfast was great!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    A perfect place to enjoy the most beautiful city in the world from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone and all the facilities exceeded my expectations. I stayed there at the start and end of my travels. The hotel is extremely well appointed regarding location, restaurants, excursions etc. The transport they arranged for us was quick, clean and efficient (Enslin was a delight and I promtu travel guide). I wouldn’t hesitate to make this booing over and over again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the water crisis we were surprised that there was no mention of saving water. In the bathrooms there was mention of doing 'the right thing' and using a bucket during shower, but there weren't any buckets.

    Lovely stay, views of Table Mountain from balcony, well-trained staff, nice buffet breakfast. Always a speedy response to requests. Above all the location was excellent for going to Robben Island, MOCAA, restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Pricey if booking at short notice but still worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stellar location, excellent breakfast, helpful staff and cozy rooms. V&A waterfront is easily walkable and the location is in a very safe part of town. We went near the end of peak season and booked rooms only a month or so in advance so ended up paying a bomb but no regrets at all. If we had gotten a lower rate for the rooms, I would say the value for money is also amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Location is great, very close to the Waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom needs renovation. That would also help in saving water usage. From the hotel bar's terrace a lot of noise is coming until late at night. Room at the terrace side therefor rather uncomfortable if you need a good night sleep. It would already help if e.g. rubber stops would be put under the metal chairs and the terrace would would be closed from e.g. 23:00 hrs.

    Location is great, very close to the Waterfront. Breakfast is very good Staff is friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    At R5000 per night this is not value for money. Elsewhere R5000 per night gets you luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very mediocre breakfast that did not vary in 4 days. Very noisy air conditioner that we had to switch off at night - resulting in a hot room! Very noisy fridge that we switched off at night resulting in no cold drinks!

    the location is excellent. the staff and service are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    They should stock the mini-bar prior to arrival.

    The Location of the hotel is perfect for waterfront and hop-on hop-off bus.The view from our room was outstanding and the breakfast was great.The reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay in a lovely hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location next to the V and A Waterfront. Could walk around the area safely at night. Very comfortable room with comfortable king size bed. Really liked the bar and the pool. Huge selection at breakfast - every taste catered for. Staff very helpful, polite and courtesous. We loved our stay and would recommend the Commodore

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect, so no dislikes :o)

    The location of this hotel is just amazing. We had a room which overlooked Table Mountain and the waterfront - a real treat. Staff are so polite and the quality and variety of the breakfast was second to none. I would definitely have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. Loads to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    2mins walk from V & A Waterfront, seemed safe walking back at night, clean, pleasant, quiet and well appointed hotel. Could have done with 4-5 nights there to see more of Cape Town. Three day bus ticket and i-venture pass seemed good value and worth doing, incl trip down to Cape of Good Hope

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel - shame about the pool and some refit attention to detail needed. Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed between 10am and 3pm - supposedly due to the water shortage in capetown. However, as the only waste of swimming is evaporation (which is very small compared to running baths or watering gardens..) it was a big loss to the facilities and our enjoyment. No advance notice and no information from Hotel on this before arrival. Other hotels in the area were not imposing this restriction . The pool is not heated. The bathrooms in the rooms and the hotel reception area could benefit from a refit.

    Concierge, hotel Service, Hotel location and rooms... a really traditional feel for an older building ... nice and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    4.2
    Location and view fabulous .... everything else very very mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are seriously past their sell by date, built in furniture is tired. The shower was disgusting ... black mould very evident on silicone. The room furniture had stains on them. If toilet roll was half used they didn't top it up. We used the tissues and they were never replaced. The tissue frontage fell off on day one and behind it was unbelievably filthy. Breakfast was way below average. So not a 4 star hotel and at R 4,500 per night! I complained on the morning of our second day and absolutely nothing was done to address the issues. When we checked out I mentioned this fact and they looked at me blankly, so obviously my complaints fell on very deaf ears.

    The beds were very comfy! Location and view was superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.8
    Location is excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In a time where drought is a threat to all S-Africans, the water/shower facilities are a disgrace. The old (technical) facilities are causing major losses of valuable water. Rooms not clean, dust, hair and many dirt traces Aircon is old style US - Thru-The-Wall - too noisy to use at all Hotel is worn out

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall a very pleasant and fun stay. Seems to be a very quite hotel, not alot of partying going on.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The maid service needs to be more aware of getting rid of old glasses and cups that are dirty. The business center needs ethernet cables so you can use your own laptop to print from their printer. You have to use their computers.

    The staff were all very friendly, breakfast was great with great service. The hotel restaurant had very good meals, and was very fast. It is very close to the Waterfront with shopping, restaurants, theaters, and many other things.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Clean rooms. efficent staff but not as close to V&A as decscribed on website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The description made it appear closer and easier to get to the V&A waterfront than it was. It looked as though the propery eas right next to the front which we required for my disabled mother.

    Cleann hotel, freindly efficent staff. We where allowed an extra 2 hours in one roomuntil 12:00 which allowed us to be in more comfort until our taxi arrived at 15:00 to take us to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    Will definitely not go back to this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were constantly and openly hinting for tips. The rooms were low quality and extremely small. Had to ask for bar fridge to be filled. COMPLETELY overpriced.

    Distance to the V&A waterfront

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the door to the bathroom. The door don’t stay open.Very hard to pull and close. The aircon needs to be upgraded. No nibbles in the room and water. Compare to all the other hotels I went to this one was not comfortable and I paid much more then the other hotel rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    All the whole fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Regularly reported that the sauna wasn't working properly. Felt we were treated as idiots as to whether a sauna was working or not!!! Kept saying they were going to sort it but never did. They would have been better to say it was closed - that way we wouldn't have been disappointed evry time we tried! Because of the drought the swimming pool and the steam room were not working but that was understandable in the circumstances.

    Good choices for breakfast. Liked being able to order omelettes to our requirements

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location, exceptional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, overall a very enjoyable stay.

    The staff were fantastic, Tyrone at breakfast was very attentive and knew what we wanted before we did!! Rooms were large, beds comfy, but hotel had a dated feel to it. Location was great, less than a 5 minute walk. Gym is well equipped but very small - only one treadmill! Lots of people wanting to use it at 6am maybe gym needs to be opened earlier. Swimming pool is sold as open all year round however was covered for our entire stay although we had two great sunny days were it would have been ideal to use to cool down.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Mucho Excellento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe airport shuttles. Didn't know I had to make separate arrangements for that.

    The staff, the proximity to waterfront, down town and to sea point.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Very Enjoyable, I would recommend and go back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed the stay for both work and leisure.. Nothing negative to add.

    Breakfast was great, close to the V&A so able to walk in about 5 mins. Drop the car at the front and collect when you need it again. Great view from the room. The staff were also very friendly and good at their jobs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Rooms were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traveled with my two grandchildren who are 16 months and 18 months. High chairs were not very clean and one was broken. Hotel needs to invest in new high chairs.

    Rooms were very nice. Dining staff very attentive. Guest services very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    The location was perfect and a very easy, safe walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only negative experience we had was with one of the travel desk operators at the hotel - we had booked in 3 different tours a couple of days in advance to ensure we were able to attend the ones we wanted. Although we had confirmed all was fine with the travel desk operator, on the day of the first tour, she had sent away the tour company advising them we were booked on a different day. We had been sitting in the lobby for over half an hour and as no-one had shown up, we asked the travel desk when the tour company would be arriving. We were then advised she had sent them away. So after some frustrating discussions, we managed to get the travel desk operator to shuffle all 3 of our pre-booked tours to different dates to ensure we could still do the tours we wanted, as we only had 3 days left in Cape Town to do them. It was quite frustrating but in the end happy that we were able to do the tours we had originally planned.

    The location was perfect and a very easy, safe walk to the V&A Waterfront for shopping, dinner and drinks. I would highly recommend staying here, and would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Perfect Stay, once again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry have to leave your his blank.

    Everything. Stayed here many times and it was perfect as always. Staff are extra special and genuinely take time to help.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.8
    Location Right Next to the Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money is very poor. Rooms are not worth the pay. No USB ports, ripped towels, coloring from bathtub was coming off, very loud due to roadworks, service at the bar is very bad, unfriendly waiters

    Location Right Next to the Waterfront

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.0
    The hotel needs a revamp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a revamp. It's dark and out dated When I requested a family room I did not expect that a mobile single bed to be wheeled in, in an already tight and cramped room. For the rate charged, I was disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Comfortable, good location and excellent choice.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we did not like. The hotel has good energy and we will definitely stay there again.

    Bed was a bit hard---- but probably we are used to our own bed at home. Room noisy at times-----people, deliveries and early morning buses. This was acceptable---- you get noise everywhere---- you are not on a farm!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.5
    Close to the V&A Waterfront, Amazing Breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were a bit disorganised at checkin. My room wasn't ready and I had to wait almost an additional 2 hours, which is a bit unfortunate given the early checkout time.

    The breakfast here is amazing and easily my favourite thing. On Sunny days you can sit outside on the terrace. There are numerous porters as well who are very friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Believe it or not...My money was stolen from the safe!! I have read such a review about this hotel before but I thought there is no way it happens with me... but it did!!

    The bed is comfy The location is convenient

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the location was excellent, right next to the V&A waterfront. The gym was well equipped and the bar was well stocked :D

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Awesome stay at Commodore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exiting the hotel driveway by car can be frustrating as the traffic does not allow you to exit easily (I ended up waiting 10 minutes at the driveway exit waiting for a gap in traffic to exit the driveway and get onto the road).

    The closeness to the V & A Waterfront was a huge perk. The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. A huge thanks to Harold & the team for all their assistance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    4.6
    Staff steals from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff steals from rooms and the hotel acknowledges it but doesn't do anything about it. For the money you pay, it's not worth it at all.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.3
    The Commodore is good, but could be better considering it's price.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed mattress seemed past it sell by date. The A/C sounded like a Boeing taking of, was far too noisy. Servicing of the room room was ok.... but still found crumbs on the side tables.

    The breakfast was superb, plenty of choice with good service. Free parking was a real bonus. Front of house staff were polite and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    6.7
    Good location just around the corner from the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not so supportive when it came to booking a late checkout despite the hotel not being full which meant I had to roam the streets for six hours before my flight. Poor effort on their side

    Good location just around the corner from the waterfront. The rooms are nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna and steam room was not the best. Steam room was too hot it was unbearable. Hair found in shower drain on our arrival.

    Breakfast was nice. Staff were pleasant. I love how the staff top up complimentary water and snack. Hotel was nice and clean. I would recommend. Close to the waterfront.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would of been nice if there was some fresh flowers in the room (especially as we where celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversay). The balcony was covered in dry (old) bird droppings, hadn't been cleaned in a while

    Wonderful location and great views from our room. Very comfortable room with all the necessities provided

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no negatives about this trip of ours. Thank you

    The friendliness and assistance of staff was of the highest quality. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    Great 3 days by the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast foods on the buffet not always as hot as they might have been. Dining room staff who did not smile.

    Convenience of location. Comfortable bed and pillows. Friendliness of staff. Range of food available at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    For Safety and Comfort, THIS is IT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The faucet was leaking.

    The bed and extra pillows! The view from the room was superb! The staff had been very accommodating and speedy in response. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were all very attentive. Loved the coffee!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small hotel caters to large tour groups and the public placess are always overcrowded

    The breakfast was beyond expectation. The rooms were small. Location was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.5
    Next to Waterfront
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi was not free and very few Mb/Gb. It was very expensive and not enough for use easy, especially for business.

    Staff was amazing; they are very friendly and good humoured.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    8.3
    Great Location, close to Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    With a room on the top floor, we hoped for amazing views, unfortunately room 6010 view was limited and we were one of only a few rooms on that floor without a balcony. Other rooms on this floor I am sure would have had fantastic views

    The location in the Waterfront region was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom , although clean , was a little tired looking around the taps , and tiles .

    Good location , nice decor . Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Great location, great rooms and great service A+
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was stunning, gorgeous wrap around balcony with views to Robben Island and all over Cape Town. Decor was lovely, great bar staff and lovely breakfast. 2 minute walk to the Waterfront Shopping and restaurants. Fantastic

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    A gem of a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It was perfect

    Nothing, I didn't like! It was fantastic. Great Location, excellent staff, Breakfast was scrumptious. Rooms were lovely and Housekeeping was great too

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Waterfront experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old lifts with some of them not working or not working properly Loud ventilation in the bathroom (a bit irritating even with closed door)

    Good location Nice room with good bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner unit in the room was too noisy to leave on for long making it harder to sleep as the outside temperature was very high during our stay

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only problem.is with day housekeeping..the sheets were not pulled straight ..just left as we slept on it and covered neatly with the coforter...maybe supervisors.should check. Night housekeeping excellent.. it.does not make a mpression to tourists if their rooms were the same.

    Comfortable rooms and very clean..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    2.5
    The staff where rude and unaccomadating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where rude and unaccomadating. The room was filthy - sheets and towels were dirty, the amenities in the toilet were half used from the previous person and left open, the floor and bathroom was disgusting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    2.5
    Our room was immediately above the staff car park and goods...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was immediately above the staff car park and goods inwards, extremely noisy especially late at night and early in the morning, just when you need to sleep!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    The Commodore is well positioned and has an excellent 'vibe' as soon as you walk through the door!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was disappointed that there were no Scones at breakfast. There were numerous other pastries, but no good old fashioned Scones.

    Bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom in our suite was exquisite

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.9
    We were booked into a superior room but were given a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were booked into a superior room but were given a disabled room which flooded as soon as we turned on the shower. The alternative room we moved to was of an inferior quality. We received no recompense.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    10
    Excellence and charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Commodore excels in everything. A few steps from the V & A Waterfront (but not in the midst of its bustle) its location is privileged. Recently renovated with extremely good taste, the hotel kept its maritime charm. Room (and beds) are very comfortable; excellent breakfast. Good wi-fi reception.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi is limited so, as in my case, be careful downloading photos!

    Lovely reception and breakfast areas. Good choice of breakfast. Good sized bedrooms. Less than 5 mins stroll to Waterfront with its great shops & restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    5.0
    Poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money. Rooms look tired, small and check in was a disaster, had to change rooms 3 times till we got what we booked for. Moved to the Royal hotel down the road next day, 5 star, ten times better value for money. Rooms more than double the size and modern. Staff excellent. Give this Commodore hotel a wide miss, totally overpriced and overrated.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    It was a very pleasant experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The helpfulness of especially the concierge staff, valet service and willingness by the staff in the restaurant to please the guests. Nothing was too much for them.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.2
    An enjoyable and vibrant stay even though it was expectedly crowded at New Year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The photo of the view over the Waterfront cannot be seen from the 2nd floor down, this could be rectified in the wrire up.

    The position of the hotel was perfect for visiting The Waterfront and short taxi rides to Kirstenbosch, Constantia, Table Mountain, other areas of Cape Nature and the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.5
    Week long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Shower in the bath in room 2031 was small and very hard to move around in for well built persons. Queuing for the hot breakfast was slow on a number of the morning. When the window was opened for fresh air, it was noisy either traffic, or deliveries, or staff members.

    There was a good cross selection of food for breakfast. It's close proximity to V&A, but not in it. Staff very courteous, helpful and friendly. Room had a nice view of Table Mountain, Lions Head and Signal Hill.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.3
    New Year's Eve in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, varied breakfast, spacious room nicely decorated, spacious bathroom. I liked especially that we could have an à la carte dinner at New Year's eve as none of the better restaurants at the waterfront could accommodate us due to late booking. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the waterfront and therefore in an ideal location. The hotel has a professional in-house travel desk which arranged all of our excursions.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    4.0
    Shocking Just Shocking .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival , I was created by very unfriendly front desk staff . Got into my room and noticed , no mini bar as advertised ...told I must request it . Took the staff around an hour and 30mins to stock it . The gentlemen stocking the mini bar , simply dump the refreshments on the dressing table and left . Requested needle and tread , took house keeping three attempts to supply me with a needle that was not broken . Requested gown ...waited and hour for this . The room itself was meant for a paralysed person , I get that it was peak time of booking ..this should have been pointed out to me . The bathroom ...looked like something out of a caravan. On complaining about my experience I was again dealt with such contempt and disregard for what I was saying . Surely this is not the level of service one expects from the like of the Commodore . I being passionate about local tours , I will make a point to let all my mates know about my experience and ensure that I publish this on the relevant social networks ...All I expected was a little bit of courtesy, felt as if I was simply side-lined because I was a local ....terrible ...for just over R12000.00 and around R2500 spent on dining and drinks ....I feel ripped off ...before naming and shaming I would like to know how management of the hotel will compensate me for my horrible experience ....The highlight of the evening news years eve , when my wife and I were accosted by staff member on entering the premises , asking if we were guest he seemed to block my wife from entering ...no guesses what he was thinking ...seeing and Indian Man with Coloured lady .....quite frankly and I extremely upset about this ...given my earlier experience ...Michelle my wife simply said don't even bother to talk to management about this ...we will get similar treatment " stop complaining " ...The entire evening was just spoilt ...My wife I a dignified lady and I assure you while you understood the reservations the staff member had ...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.4
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room I paid for is as good as a small standard room. This was the biggest NO for me. The front staff or whoever was calling me after I checked are rude. It also took ages to get a cartoon channel for my kids.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.3
    Please cater for strictly halaal. Otherwise lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please cater for strictly halaal as well. The hotel was perfect except for dietary requirements. I will stay here again if strictly halaal is also catered for. Thank you

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.9
    Great people, service and location but don't trust the pics!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a 4 star hotel the room was very small. I was disappointed that the website gallery was so deceptively enticing; in reality the room was nothing like the the pictures represented. I could have paid half the price for a similarly sized room at the Waterfront City Lodge. I will not be staying at The Commodore again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.9
    Best Hotel Staff in Years
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in room poor quality picture. Snow on most channels and beading coming off shower door

    I have travelled a great deal and can honestly say, these are the most friendly staff I have ever had the pleasure of interacting with. From front desk to cleaning staff, they were simply amazing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    enjoyed the stay very much. ideal waterfront location and looking forward to visiting again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise insulation of the doors to the rooms insufficient. Thick carpets absorb noise made in passages, but doors don't block noise made by fellow guests, especially when other room doors open and close .....

    Rooms were comfy. Everything was within the expectations. Good variety in breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Very enjoyable will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy air conditioner.Guests having late drinks in courtyard ,could be annoying if you want an early night {9.0 clock} and your room faces that way,it did get quiet after 10.

    Location,Breakfast,Staff,Decor,Comfortable bed.could see it was newly renovated.Was pleasantly surprised after being reluctant to pick another hotel as our favourite hotel was full.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Simply Amazing ! Excellent Customer Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What wasn't there to like? They were absolutely amazing

    Mark Ritson the manager was excellent and clearly the welfare of his guest is paramount to him. So booked online with booking.com for 2 adults, 3 children aged 7, 9 & 10. Called 24 hours before arrival and I was informed that the family room was 3 floors above the standard room; meaning our children would be separated from us. This was because booking.com failed to communicate that it was one family with 3 children under 10years. This meant I had to pay 500 rand per night to have adjourning rooms. I spoke to the manager who asked that I forward my email comfirmation from booking.com to him. He then decided to give us 2 family rooms so we could have adjoining rooms with our children at no extra cost. The hotel refunded the extra charges of 1500 rand to us. I don't know what we would have done. This is what I call customer service. We're so grateful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    3.8
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lost my car at the valet parking and gave me the wrong car on three different occasions taking at least 25 minutes to get the vehicle. Room was dusty and the plug cover was laying on the floor. Breakfast was average but the coffee is horrible. Very expensive for an average room.

    Location is great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    Great family setup.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hotel is a bit overpriced for its standard. The reception area could do with a little bit of revamping 😀

    The fact that the hotel is 3 minutes away from the V&A Waterfront could be emphasized in the preview. The staff is friendly and willing to help 👌🏾

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: