1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Free State hotel reviews
  4. Bethlehem hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Crown Guest House

Reviews of The Crown Guest House

16 Kroon Drive, 9701 Bethlehem, South Africa

#15 of 25 hotels in Bethlehem

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 28 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.0

  • Location

    9.0

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2021

    7.0
    Suited our purpose perfectly as an overnight rest for a long road trip. Pity we missed breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to main road to Durban. Rooms spotless. Off street parking. Some beautiful furniture - antique

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast The staff The rooms are very clean and everywhere

    Our stay at the property was very welcoming and calm. The staff also we’re also welcoming. The breakfast was Devine. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2021

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was incredible and the neighbourhood is very safe.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2020

    8.0
    Overall we had a lovely stay and our host was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was difficult to regulate the water temperature in the shower.

    Breakfast and location was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2019

    8.0
    Nice place to stay for our one night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Only a one night stay as part of our journey but a very comfortable place to stay. Tidy clean rooms and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2019

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay. Will definitly book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hairdryer in the room

    Excellent location Very friendly staff Rooms clean and confortable

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2019

    9.2
    Bed nice and clean one room reserved instead of two
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apparently the owner is overseas with a friend attending to reception, very friendly but not up to speed with managing of reservations. Hopefully thing will be better when the owner is back in the saddle.

    The place is clean, very easy reachable, nice parking. The bathroom is nice and spacious, the room not that spacious with a very nice bed and clean bedding.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    9.6
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They may need to renovate the room we were in a little.

    Service was excellent and professional.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2021

    3.0
    Not welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above

    Cooked breakfast was served a little late. We were not given a choice of cooked breakfast. We were told what was on offer. Sorry, I don't eat a tower of stuff with a hamburger pattie for breakfast. The statutory juice, cereals etc. were laid out. No friendly staff around. A gentle came out at one stage, introduced himself briefly and went back into the kitchen. A few minutes later one of the staff came out and announced in Afrikaans what was on offer. Luckily I understand. I pity any foreign people visiting. Overall not a welcoming experience. One thing I was thankful for is that they accepted my late online booking. At least I had a bed for the night and a shower the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2020

    4.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Electric fance, security on our parking lot or surveillance

    Presentation of food was good. But I found egg shell in my omlet that spoil my breakfast. I nearly vomited. Someone bumped into our car no security or camera surveillance for cover the parking lot.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    4.6
    Very Poor Customer Service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didn't give me an invoice upon arrival and departure and were very rude over the phone when I requested that they send it. To this day I don't have my invoice No utensils in the room No microwave in the room No plate etc.., yet they do not provide alternative dining places which are accessible when they are not there... The yogurt that were issued at breakfast were 1 day away from expiration and upon opening 2 of them, they were already gone bad They could do more and fit in showers instead of baths The breakfast was not nice. The bacon tasted old and hard, couldn't even cut through it as it would break... Customer service goes beyond having a physically fit facility to stay. The service you will get, especially from the reception lady who answers the phone and does the admin is very poor and embarrassing to say the least. If you want a decent place to stay followed by horrible customer service - Please select this place to stay. I am interested to hear how they will respond, I bet they are going to be defensive and not fix their issues

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2021

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2021

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2019

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2019

    8.5
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2019

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    7.9
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in February 2019

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: