Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Glen Apartments 4 stars

10 Chilworth Road, Camps Bay, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#79 of 387 Holiday rentals in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 74 apartment reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Paid WiFi

    2.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for WiFi

    Friendly, helpful staff. Arrived at 11 pm just my daughters, someone arranged to meet us and help us with our bags. Felt safe. Secure parking Very good location with some sea views Daily cleaning service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was not working, the bedding was not clean, the pillow had a blood stain on it. And the second room had a damp smell to it.

    The washing machine and tumble dryer were a big hit since we have three kids under the age of 5

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing just a dirty house which we as clients are always threatened by water restrictions letters every where and to many unnecessary rules like you cant smoke within the premises. beds where not clean literally that we even found ants all over the beds which where made by a pizza box under the bed. Worse they don't refresh the apartment the next day even towels. I had to call reception every day they expect us to use one set of towels. I will never book there.

    Nothing is nice only a nice building with a view otherwise bad service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was filthy, we asked reception to inform housekeeping a number of times but they never showed up. On arrival we were told WiFi was unlimited in the apartment but that too never existed 🙄. We used same linen and towels for 6 days straight

    The place was good on arrival but ended not so good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only paid wifi in the apartment. Free WiFi around reception area.

    The staff reacted quick to our complains and has been very friendly. Nicely equipped apartment with a big balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in upstairs bathroom very poor and the room was very hot, unable to open windows and air con not working. Bit of a walk to apartment. Balcony disappointing. We had paid for the apartment in advance but when we arrived the payment could not be traced by reception.We had to pay again and that took up a lot of time. We were then able to confirm the original payment and again a lot of time was taken up arranging the refund. Also there is a notice in reception giving a price for taxi transfer to the airport at about SAR250 . When one of the guests decided to book this there was no one in reception until he was leaving in the morning when he was told the notice was out of date and the transfer cost was SAR600! He had no time or means to arrange an alternative transfer. I have emailed Glen apartments about this - no response! The booking information says WIFi is available. IT IS NOT and this caused us major problems at times.

    Quite roomy apartment and three bathrooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in took forever. Room was not with black out curtains.

    The room was huge (1 bedroom) and nicely kitted out. The parking and rooms were very safe / guarded. GREAT location - so close to Camps Bay but set back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few maintenance issues to be resolved.

    I loved the location, brightness of the apartment and the fact that it is modern. The pictures of the apartment were a true reflection of the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1-Bedroom Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This accommodation is not suitable for business travel. There was no secure Wifi - paid for or free, and the location was extremely bad for Cell phone signal - mostly non-existent. No front desk services means that you have to supply everything you need, and no room services for food and drink. Definitely would not recommend for short-term business stay

    Big bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was not at all as the pictures on Bookings.com We asked for 2 King Size and only got a Queen and two single beds. Not enough coffee pods in the rooms for 4 guests No water provided Blocked basin

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have booked this apartment and needed 3 bedrooms. One of the bedroom was not separated from the living room. We had the chance to get a wonderful upgrade in a great villa. Thanks to the team very service oriented.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two out of three apartments we rented at the Glen had items stolen out of the rooms. The security looked good with a 24 hour guard on the main gate but my Michael Koors sunglasses were stolen out of my room and $250 out of my daughters suitcase in her apartment. . Somehow, someone got into the apartments and went through our belongings. The Glen apartments were slow to respond to my calls I phoned four times and emailed explaining the situation. Now a month later they contacted me and are investigating.

    The apartments were nicely appointed all very different style of decor. My family rented three apartments. Parking was good. We could walk down to the beach 10-15 minute walk. The access the the Sandy Beach Hotel was a plus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not included in price.

    Service was great! Good location. Accoss the apartment is a partner hotel that had a great sunset view and is a perfect diner location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It doesn't include internet, you have to purchase it separetely, which we did, but it only worked for a couple of hours, although we had bought the 24 hr package

    Great apartment, very nice location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of Arabic TV channels specially news. Driving road is mountain road. Rest are excellent.

    Kitchen facilities. Cleaning services. Reception attitude. Security system and staff. Size of the apartment. Parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service. Room never cleaned or tidied. No one at re spit on to assist. Dirty towels

    The apartment was beautiful and private. Loved the plunge pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very soft which ended in back ache :(

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free upgrade

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free WiFi - not ok for a place like this.

    Great appartment with stunning living room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not available in apt’s

    Location fab, great staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working Fridge not working Holes in the towel No curtains on some of the bedroom windows

    Location The interior design

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 1-Bedroom Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only liquid soap to use no solid soap was avaible

    Safety well trained and professional staff .The security of the property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no Cleaning on Sunday

    Die Lage

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Loft
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proper heating facility should be available. The heater provided was not sufficient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could supply a bit more toiletries.

    Space

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main bedroom was a bit small but otherwise apartment was very comfy

    Location and view is great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not included.

    Very clean and spacious. Fitted well with appliances. Close to beach, camps bay restaurants and the Glen forest walk

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Paid WiFi

    Everything and Reception/Host was outstanding!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool seating and umbrellas

    Everything. Staff couldn't have been more helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom to be better lit

    The bed was great, as was the space

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi is not for free in the rooms. Most hotels provide their guests with free Wifi...

    The rooms are clean and are designed with latest features

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet never worked

    Home away from home

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1-Bedroom Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Space of the apartment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No free internet in the room - only in reception area which is closed at night so one has to sit outside.

    Room size was great, location was good, access to club area at Bay Hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the bed was super comfy it was a standard double and was too small for two grown adults, one who is nearly 2m tall and his feet hung over the end and could hardly turn.

    Location was great, reception was lovely, room clean and spacious with all amenities required (washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, coffee machine, DSTV, etc.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The basin pipes In one of the bathrooms had a terrible leak. It was impossible to use.

    The view from the apartment was breathtaking, and the apartment Was stunning.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice apartments with all the facilities and kitchen apparel you could ever need. Really nice, modern place. Very conveniently located around the corner from the beach-front.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We ended up staying at The Crystal not the Glen, thanks to Tenai the wonderful receptionist who attended to us on our arrival. Beautiful views lovely apartment. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower pressure in main en suite pathetic - a mere trickle of water!

    Excellent location, comfortable beds, well - equipped kitchen, lovely layout, qualitative furnishings!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Their Sister property in Hermanus, our group were robbed in the Hermanus Apartments poor security and poor service.

    It was a Gorgeous apartment in very close proximity to their sister property the Camps Bay Retreat, lovely staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Interior of unit nowhere nearly resembled the photos on Booking.com. Inferior cheap furniture, dirty carpets and couches , safe did not work.

    Location, security.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    poor internet connectivity maybe as we were covered by forest and mountain

    spacious Apartments with fully equipped state of art appliances, well decorated clean and comfortable. Located next to some amazing restaurants and beautiful beach !!!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is no wifi whatsoever in the whole apartment, There was loadshedding but no candles There was no hairdryer and we had to buy one There was a VERY noisy family living beneath us who live there all the time. be prepared to be woken up every morning at 5am!!! There was no nesporesso or any other coffee machine. we had to buy instant coffee

    the apartment is pretty and in a good location

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Within 10 minutes of check in my husband found an ants nest in one of the bedrooms. The DVD player didn't work. Despite being told that we would be informed of possible load shedding, we were left in the dark with 2 young children - there was no one on reception to help and we had to drive in the dark to buy candles.

    Our apartment was spacious, light and had nice furnishings. There was a great view of Table Mountain from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location is perfect. The apartments are well finished. Well furnished and equiped with even more than I expected. Staff was wonderful. Beat place to stat in capetown

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The fact that WiFi was not included.

    Apartment had a beautiful view and was very spacious and well appointed. Close to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wifi in room No cleaning on a sunday

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The pool

    The view

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff and great facilities on your doorstep! Hope to return soon

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice size apartment with pool in complex. Access to Camps Bay Retreat was a real benefit.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    the environment was peaceful which is what we wanted.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The noisy school children in the morning waking us up!

    The space and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    School traffic.

    Good location. Home from home with excellent quality furnishings and equipment,

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Drilling at 8am

    Location and self service

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The apartment was lovely and very well equipped and easy walk to camps bay

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: